View Full Version : Limerick's Licence And The Level Playing Field That Is The League Of Ireland

Pages : 1 [2] 3

SwanVsDalton
15/02/2011, 9:56 PM
Far from it!

How's that? Sure ye won't bankroll a multi-million pound league revamp, you must be a barstooler...or a member of the FAI.

15/02/2011, 10:01 PM
There was no A League when Shels were relegated, I've no doubt they would have dumped us in it if there was. Derry and Cork had to form new clubs to get into the First Division (no matter what their fans will tell you), Bohs haven't gotten away with anything as such, they've just tidied up their ship in time for the 1 time in the year when the FAI bother to check up. I fully agree that the FAI need to make sure clubs are running properly all year round, and to use points deductions where this isn't the case. But Galway were booted out of the league because they had players left unpaid going into a new season, Kildare decided it wasn't worth carrying on, and Cobh were in a heap and still aren't eligible for a First Division licence 2 years on. Big clubs generally survive quicker because they have more fans to exploit to drag them out of it.

Galway left no players unpaid get your facts right first.

legendz
15/02/2011, 10:01 PM
Limerick seem to be well run in the last few seasons. They also deserve to be commended, along with Finn Harps and Shelbourne, for fielding an A side when there is no stipulation to do so. It does seem the FAI have it in for the club. Limerick need to remember though the FAI did all they could to facilitate Limerick 37's introduction to LoI football. They maintained it was important for the game in this country that Limerick has a team in the LoI.

Town Legend
15/02/2011, 10:54 PM
How's that? Sure ye won't bankroll a multi-million pound league revamp, you must be a barstooler...or a member of the FAI.

Shhh I'm actually from Waterford and go by the initials JD....keep that between the two of us!!!

15/02/2011, 11:41 PM
So Limerick are supposedly being asked to stump up 220k (or, I assume, they have to show that they have it in a bank account) before being granted a licence.

Drogs' board came out a few weeks ago and said they required 200k or else they couldn't see the club going on as a valid concern. Could this have been the same thing - they submitted a budget and the FAI said "we need to see the money first" so they had to scale down their operations to an amateur set-up?

16/02/2011, 12:18 AM
Or maybe Limerick made a secret pact to fundraise for Drogheda and then renaged on it.

16/02/2011, 12:22 AM
Or maybe Limerick made a secret pact to fundraise for Drogheda and then renaged on it.

Wouldn't be the first league club we gave a dig out to in the last twelve months...

gordongekko
16/02/2011, 12:32 AM
There's a lovely horse would beg to differ.

There was no player left unpaid. If you have some NEW info that no one is aware of please tell us what it is.

Monkfish
16/02/2011, 12:33 AM
Wouldn't be the first league club we gave a dig out to in the last twelve months...

Hope they remember that should we play them in the near future..........not the hope they will! :D

16/02/2011, 12:42 AM
There was no player left unpaid. If you have some NEW info that no one is aware of please tell us what it is.

Not actually going to get into it, fair enough I'll take your word.

This thread be about Limerick! :)

gordongekko
16/02/2011, 12:50 AM
Not actually going to get into it, fair enough I'll take your word.

This thread be about Limerick! :)

Thats grand i did not mean to be trolling. But just to set the record straight agreement was reached with all players. The 2 footballing creditors who had not signed the agreement on time were non playing staff and this issue has now being resolved.

The Fai appear to be a little heavy handed with some clubs this year and soft on others but fingers crossed both Limerick and Galway United both get the result we are looking for.

16/02/2011, 12:51 AM
Galway in the first would suit us grand to be honest. (no offence) :)

Although you'd beat us handily in Terryland obviously!

gordongekko
16/02/2011, 12:55 AM
How would it work with the odd number of teams?? looks like one of us wont be around come friday evening :(

16/02/2011, 12:58 AM
I genuinely assumed Cobh would be bumped up but apparently that aint happening now

Who knows what the FAI will do, could have 15 teams playing one another two and a half times each by the end of next week.

16/02/2011, 8:39 AM
We had a 9 team division once before, I think it was St Francis that folded and left the gap too late for anyone to fill it.

Town Legend
16/02/2011, 10:14 AM
We had a 9 team division once before, I think it was St Francis that folded and left the gap too late for anyone to fill it.

Correct Mr A.....was the 2001/2002 season.

http://www.soccerway.com/national/ireland-republic/division-1/2001-2002/round-1/tables/

BigfeetBigsocks
16/02/2011, 10:24 AM
Will Someone Please Think Of The CHILDREN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Y4wE1e9WkKs/Sbhg_J7NweI/AAAAAAAAABY/3xDX0n7cNu8/s320/740.jpg

16/02/2011, 10:27 AM
Would I be correct in thinking that this is a bit, erm, scandalous??

My main issue would be if they are only asking Limerick to front up or put in place strong guarantees, rather the fact that they are asking benefactors to front up. They should've put this in place for all clubs proposing benefactors donations as part of essential income since the FAI were caught with their pants down with Cork and non binding guarantee's.

If they're only asking Limerick, then it is scandalous. If they're asking all clubs budgeting for donations, then no it isn't.

16/02/2011, 10:29 AM
Will Someone Please Think Of The CHILDREN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Y4wE1e9WkKs/Sbhg_J7NweI/AAAAAAAAABY/3xDX0n7cNu8/s320/740.jpg
Have you a point, caller?

sheao
16/02/2011, 11:35 AM
How would it work with the odd number of teams?? looks like one of us wont be around come friday evening :(

You just never know what to expect with the FAI do you.

harpin
16/02/2011, 12:12 PM
I hope we budgeted for compensation received from the FAI with regards the Barcelona friendly :devil:

lfc at heart
16/02/2011, 12:39 PM
Lads this is all speculation, can someone come on and tell us the ACTUAL reason Limerick might not be getting a licence that way maybe people can come up with a solution, so far ive read 4 pages of pure ****e as people don't know the reason and are making up what they THINK it is

Shannonsider
16/02/2011, 12:52 PM
Basically from what I've been told Limerick showed a big increase in their budget for the upcoming season and the F.A.I want proof of where this money is coming from and another Sporting Fingal won't occur say if Limerick's main income (Pat O' Sullivan) pulls out during the season etc.. Behind a few top Premier teams i'd say Limerick are the best run club in the country from what i've seen and the F.A.I have given them this conditional license provided they proof this budget can be achieved and another club won't go bust. I'm very confident of them getting this full license and Limerick's chairman Pat 'O Sullivan is dedicated and wouldn't put the club at risk. People can come up with conspiracy theories because of the Barcelona game but I think the F.A.I are just making sure another club doesn't go bust after showing an investment in their budget from a club chairman and not from the clubs direct income.

16/02/2011, 1:02 PM
Not to query that scenario - cos I've no idea what the conditions are - but it doesn't seem to make sense that the FAI would query Limerick as the next Fingal (to the extent of not formally granting them a licence) and not challenge others (e.g. Bohs or Drogheda) who have had very recent financial problems.

16/02/2011, 1:20 PM
I would guess it is because Drogheda and Bohs have submitted projections that are not as dependent on a single benefactor.

Who knows though? Little of what has gone on recently has made a great deal of sense.

16/02/2011, 1:33 PM
Given that no-one seems to want to buy Dalymount, and no-one wants to buy Drogheda shares, I'd argue that Limerick's one benefactor is one more than either of the other two!

harpin
16/02/2011, 1:41 PM
Given that no-one seems to want to buy Dalymount, and no-one wants to buy Drogheda shares, I'd argue that Limerick's one benefactor is one more than either of the other two!

Yes and we also had said benefactor last season

legendz
16/02/2011, 2:27 PM
Has there been any update on Limerick's move to a new ground? I think that is imperative for the future of the club.

lfc at heart
16/02/2011, 5:29 PM
have Limerick a sponsor this year,

16/02/2011, 5:34 PM
Dozens of them.

Main jersey one to be announced next week afaik.

16/02/2011, 5:38 PM
have Limerick a sponsor this year,

This (http://limerickfc.ie/commercial/sponsors2010.html) is them as it stands. They may have changed for the new season, not sure.

L.T.F.C.
16/02/2011, 5:41 PM
Behind a few top Premier teams i'd say Limerick are the best run club in the country from what I've seen.
I wouldn't say that.
Also, out of curiosity what is the timeframe in the CIDP for the new stadium?

16/02/2011, 5:45 PM
AFAIK they've been furiously working towards the Longford Town church gate collections, don't print any programmes, bus in a load of Dubs model but these things take time and in fairness to Pat and the lads they started from a very low base. :ball:

bluewhitearmy
16/02/2011, 5:46 PM
I wouldn't say that.
Also, out of curiosity what is the timeframe in the CIDP for the new stadium?

Out of interest why not?

16/02/2011, 5:55 PM
AFAIK they've been furiously working towards the Longford Town church gate collections, don't print any programmes, bus in a load of Dubs model but these things take time and in fairness to Pat and the lads they started from a very low base. :ball:

That's a scurrilous post.. they drive themselves down.

CSFShels
16/02/2011, 7:38 PM
Out of interest why not?
Did Limerick not make a loss last year?

bluewhitearmy
16/02/2011, 8:03 PM
Did Limerick not make a loss last year?

Didn't realise you and L.T.F.C were the same person.

I don't know you said you had something that showed we did if you show me them then we did.

Shels break even then or make a profit btw?

OneForTheFuture
16/02/2011, 9:01 PM
I think I read Shels made a profit. Small but still...........

16/02/2011, 10:00 PM
No.............as i said before limerick and before them limerick 37 made profits

17/02/2011, 8:35 AM
posted this on the prize money thread. COuld easily be that the FAI are trying to get the money upfront from Limerick to pay for the court case too

It was put to me last night that there's a feeling within the league that the money saved by the FAI in prizemoney for the league, is being ringfenced for the LImerick friendly court case. The FAI statement at the time did mention the case would affect grass roots football (or similar).

INteresting thought. If the FAI are paying out less prize money than they get in affiliation fees, something's not quite right

17/02/2011, 9:20 AM
The stipulation made to Limerick from what i believe was secured on the same day(Monday). Don't see why there is a delay in granting the licence. Surely it could have been given the next day and not have to wait till Thursday. Why the stalling?

17/02/2011, 9:29 AM
I'd imagine that might just be a question of logistics. Don't the licensing committee have real jobs? probably can only meet Thursday

lfc at heart
17/02/2011, 9:31 AM
well to day is the day, make or break time

17/02/2011, 9:36 AM
I'd imagine that might just be a question of logistics. Don't the licensing committee have real jobs? probably can only meet Thursday

Very true. Well hopefully it all gets sorted today and the club can go back to concentrating on the season ahead.

17/02/2011, 2:40 PM
wow - not beyond the realms of possibility at all Dodge. Surely they couldnt sink that low, could they?

17/02/2011, 2:48 PM
Very true. Well hopefully it all gets sorted today and the club can go back to concentrating on the season ahead.

Limerick been given extension until monday due to 'third party' delay.

Interesting in context with galway's moans

17/02/2011, 3:00 PM
Limerick been given extension until monday due to 'third party' delay.

Interesting in context with galway's moans

Third Party Delay :confused:

WoodquayBoy
17/02/2011, 3:04 PM
Problem with the machine in the fudge factory?

bluewhitearmy
17/02/2011, 5:41 PM
Id say it is because Pat O Sullivan is out of the country until Saturday or could just be a problem with transferring money ..Said on radio it was a problem beyond the clubs control so id say they have what they need just a little hold up.

17/02/2011, 10:03 PM
Good luck to Limerick ye have shown some backbone to the bullies within the FAI hope all ends well.