View Full Version : Cycling 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

15/07/2011, 7:59 AM
Why did ITV only show the GC caption down to 8th today, when they've been showing up to 10th so far?
From what I recall they've always shown top 8 on page 1? Actually I'd be 99% certain. They were mentioning Roche, but not including him on the graphics, in the second page until a couple of days ago, if you want something anti-Roche stuff from ITV.

As has been said, Roche did well to limit his losses. I'd say he was starting with a bit of advantage over some of the climbers coming up from behind. But that's stage racing. He should be alright today, and then tomorrow the next big one.

Hard to know whether Dan Martin would've had the freedom to do anything - the two "leaders" really struggled. Mind you, their super domestique was given freedom to ride so maybe he would've been let do something if he was able.

15/07/2011, 10:45 PM
Watched a great stage win by Hushovd into Lourdes today. No change to GC leaders though. Tomorrow is a big day I think.

16/07/2011, 7:34 AM
Have I mentioned how much I love Thor!!!

16/07/2011, 11:17 AM
Not at all!

Have thought you were fairly indifferent to the Viking god. *swoon*

Battery Rover
17/07/2011, 8:28 PM
Watched a great stage win by Hushovd into Lourdes today. No change to GC leaders though. Tomorrow is a big day I think.

Think there are four very big mountain stages this week in the Alps including an Alpe D'Huez finish in Stage 19 of the 21

19/07/2011, 10:42 PM
I've come off the fence - Andy Schleck, what a dick. They should ban descents into the finish because I'm a mard arse who can't decend (or words to that effect). Him and Contador already complaining about tomorrow. It's pretty simple, slow down if you think it's dangerous. Voeckler is being too unbelievable. So it looks like it's Cuddles or sammy sanchez I'm left to want to win out of the contenders.

Another poor day for Roche, but maybe far enough down to be allowed in the break tomorrow, if he has the legs obviously.

Another fine day for Thor - maybe another one tomorrow!

19/07/2011, 10:51 PM
I believe Voeckler. I particularly liked his "I'm on the same legs I was on 5 years ago and there's no way I could've stayed with Armstrong" comments. Think the stats back him too. That stage the other day with the Schlecks jsut loking at AC was a joke. Attack him ffs!!!

Anyway, hope Evans wins. Sems like a good guy. Like that he's attacked twice on 'transition' stages including a great descent today. Think he'll win it with a good time trial

Real ale Madrid
19/07/2011, 11:33 PM
Is it not reasuring to see Voekler still up there? Evans was someone whom I thought was always very consistent also, it would be good for the sport to see him win.

I don't think Contador has it in him to win, he almost looked desperate today, even though he made the day today a lot more interesting than it normally could have been.

20/07/2011, 7:43 AM
Is it not reasuring to see Voekler still up there? Evans was someone whom I thought was always very consistent also, it would be good for the sport to see him win.
I guess I should give Voeckler the benefit of the doubt until after tomorrow and Friday. It wasn't that he stayed with them in pyrennees, but that he was quite so comfortable that had my eyebrows raised.

Still can't believe the stuff Schleck was coming out with. If nothing else, he's setting it up for Evans to attack him today on the descent.

20/07/2011, 10:43 AM
I guess I should give Voeckler the benefit of the doubt until after tomorrow and Friday. It wasn't that he stayed with them in pyrennees, but that he was quite so comfortable that had my eyebrows raised

The flip of that is that he was so surprised too. As if he was blessed they didn’t attack each other

Its not like he’s a no hoper either. He’s been top ten in mountain stages before too.

Glad to see Roche attack yesterday, even if he didn’t get away. I think today is the last hope for a break away

Real ale Madrid
20/07/2011, 2:12 PM
Glad to see Roche attack yesterday, even if he didn’t get away. I think today is the last hope for a break away

Only listening on the radio - but Roche is in a breakaway of 3 along with the man who beat the barbed wire Hoogerland and Kevin De Weert and these 3 are chasing the main breakaway of the day. Currently about 2.30 behind the leader Ruben Moreno who has gone clear. Roche's group are about 5.30 clear of the peloton - might move back into the top 20 if nothing else.

21/07/2011, 8:58 AM
I have mixed feelings about Voeckler remaining in yellow. Didn't he only get his big advantage in the first place because Hushovd got the peleton to slow down after the car crash in week 2, allowing Voeckler's break an additional time advantage?

The Schlecks are tedious beyond belief. I'm cheering for Evans, even if he is a big drama queen.

I can't get worked up about Cavendish, it's too repetitive at this stage, even if it is brilliant. Hushovd has been the most entertaining rider so far.

21/07/2011, 9:02 AM
I have mixed feelings about Voeckler remaining in yellow. Didn't he only get his big advantage in the first place because Hushovd got the peleton to slow down after the car crash in week 2, allowing Voeckler's break an additional time advantage?
No, he got it because he attacked. He's a far more agressive rider than any of the main GC lads. Crashes happen every stage. Always slows the peleton down. part & parcel of the game

The Schlecks are tedious beyond belief
Latest moan was Frank saying Contador was attacking because 'he's nervous'. He doesn't get that Contador is attacking because he wants to win the bloody thing.

21/07/2011, 9:55 AM
I didn't think they were particularly slowed - that break was going to stay away anyway.

The Schlecks are tedious beyond belief. I'm cheering for Evans, even if he is a big drama queen.
I was on the fence about the Schlecks until this week. First there was the half hearted attacks and then the whinging about the descents. All bikes have brakes ffs! But I'd still pick one of them ahead of Contador to win, notwithstanding Contador being forced onto the attack. Always had a grudging admiration for Cuddles even during his wheel sucking years - sits better with me to see riders clearly on the limit rather than cruising it up cols. Now he's shown he can win too. So Cuddles my favourite too.

I can't get worked up about Cavendish, it's too repetitive at this stage, even if it is brilliant. Hushovd has been the most entertaining rider so far.
It's still awesome when you see Cav put the hammer down, imo. Although you only really appreciate it when they have a side on, like they generally do on the champs elysees.

I wouldn't have the man love for Thor that some others have, but can see why they do! Much better to see that riding for the stage wins rather than 6 intermediate sprint points though.

21/07/2011, 10:13 AM
In fairness he wasn't just doing it for show, he was doing it to win the green jersey.

And yeah, I'm biased

21/07/2011, 11:42 AM
Just finished "Racing Through the Dark" by David Millar there last night. Thoroughly enjoyed it although Millar does come across as a bit of an arse at times. His descent into doping and later road to Damascus were very interesting, although it's depressing how few previous dopers have said anything much about it. It seems that at least up until quite recently that the attitude pervaded in a lot of the peloton that the clean riders were nearly more of a problem than the dopers.

He has a right swipe at Wiggins, which didn't really feel necessary, if anything it felt like something tacked on that he may well later regret. Would still recommend it though.

On a different note- go on Roche! In a break that's at around the 9 minute mark currently.

21/07/2011, 11:45 AM
Roche away in a big group (19 riders) with 8 mins on the peleton,3 big climbs ahead of them today,107 kms to go.

21/07/2011, 1:27 PM
Just finished "Racing Through the Dark" by David Millar there last night. Thoroughly enjoyed it although Millar does come across as a bit of an arse at times. His descent into doping and later road to Damascus were very interesting, although it's depressing how few previous dopers have said anything much about it. It seems that at least up until quite recently that the attitude pervaded in a lot of the peloton that the clean riders were nearly more of a problem than the dopers.
Been mulling over getting it. Not to be all cyclingnews clinic forum about it, but it does kind of grate with me that he still seems to love Vino and Contador. He confessed his own, after getting busted, not sure he grassed too many others.

I think he's apologised to Wiggins, while saying part of it is because he'd love to be at sky too :rolleyes:

If you're looking for a follow up, I can recommend "Slaying the Badger" about the '86 tour, and Hinault and Lemond.

21/07/2011, 1:36 PM
It seems that at least up until quite recently that the attitude pervaded in a lot of the peloton that the clean riders were nearly more of a problem than the dopers

As one journo recently tweeted; "if the cyclists moaned as much about the dopers as they do about the dope testers we'd all be better off"

21/07/2011, 1:37 PM
In the book his comments about Vino were that he was devastated when he heard he was doping because he'd been such a fan of his and it brought home to him how much his own doping had hurt all the people who supported him.

He also indicates that he contacted ASO and the UCI several times about goings ons in his Saunier Duval-Prodir team after the comeback and names everyone involved.

He did shield a few of the people at Cofidis though for some reason.

Edit: Cheers for the recommendation Macy, was thinking of getting that at some stage. Might chance Laurent Fignon's book as well. That said will give cycling books a break now after Rough Ride and then Millar's book.

21/07/2011, 3:03 PM
Edit: Cheers for the recommendation Macy, was thinking of getting that at some stage. Might chance Laurent Fignon's book as well. That said will give cycling books a break now after Rough Ride and then Millar's book.
Yeah, the Fignon book is on my list too, haven't got around to it yet though. The Millar book is excellent too. Ned Boulting's book has got some good reviews as well.

21/07/2011, 9:58 PM
I read The Times' guy's (Whittle?) book "Bad Blood". Very much an anti-Atrmstrong rant, but I liked it.

Dodge, I appreciate that Voelcker attacked but I'm sure I read that at Hushovd's orders the peleton slowed the chase for safety's sake. More fool them I suppose, but still...

However, he's been a credit to the yellow jersey. Eurosport (Harmon?) were shouting "Go Tommy, go Tommy!" from 3k out today.

Alpe d'Huez tomorrow I think. What's on Saturday? Is there an individual TT to come?

21/07/2011, 10:02 PM
Saturday is the TT. Tomorrow seems them over the Galibier again, then up Alpe D'Huez

22/07/2011, 1:18 AM
Don't really have much interest in cycling (none at all actually), but changed channels last night just after midnight, and saw Schleck and some other guy out in front with 8.1km to go. I said to myself that it surely couldn't take long to go 8.1km, and I'd stay up and watch it. I was still there...what, 45 minutes later?

First time I've really watched it since Stephen Roche was contending, and I'd forgotten what an absolutely gruesomely difficult sport it is. Voeckler was unable to even move having crossed the line.

22/07/2011, 9:01 AM
Fair play to the schleck's - perfect tactics. And kudos to Cuddles too, for getting in there and pulling back the time. I thought Voeckler was a bit disingenuous in suggesting that Rolland helped to any great degree. And why the feck wouldn't he anyway, given his team leader was in Yellow.

Best comment on the stage goes to Boardman on the ITV podcast (which probably only those watching on ITV will get) that he knew Voeckler had put in enough effort, because he had to lifted off his bike!

22/07/2011, 9:17 AM
I don't think Boardman has a second career in commercial voiceovers waiting.

22/07/2011, 1:56 PM
On Voeckler.. I think the break certainly benefited from the crashes behind. On the other hand a crash wiped out 2 of the 5 attackers. I think overall it probably helped him. That said he's been superb so far.

22/07/2011, 5:59 PM
Great stage today. Feeling pretty good about my punt on Evans at this stage but who knows what the energy levels are like among the contenders.

22/07/2011, 7:10 PM
Amazing stage, amazing race. Brilliant stuff

Apparently they went up Alpe D'Huez 5 minutes slower than the 90s times....

22/07/2011, 8:22 PM
They still averaged 34kph though, if I heard that bit right. In my triathlons on the flat I average 33kph over 40k! My max speed EVER is 57kph down a hill and I was planking myself.

57 seconds. Come on Cadel. I'll be in transit to Mallorca while it's happening.

Real ale Madrid
24/07/2011, 10:44 AM
Surprised no one commenting about Evans' superb time trial yesterday, a great tour , and a happy ending.

sixesandsevens
24/07/2011, 4:46 PM
He was fully deserving of his win really, the way he rode throughout the final stages was fantastic... Even he does interview about as well as Michael Jackson.

25/07/2011, 10:28 AM
After how good the racing was, I found myself a bit underwhelmed by how easily Cuddles took it in the end. It was kinda how 2008 should've finished for him! Some of the comments have been a bit harsh, given he was up there in the first week and won a stage - his reputation pre-world championship still lingers when he's turned himself into a race winner. Schelcks are just too happy with first and second loser - I don't think they'll ever win it now.

Disappointing showing from Roche - kinda reminds me of Wiggins last year, although Roche hardly had the same pressure to talk a good game? Be interesting to see how he goes in Spain.

Overall, a really brilliant tour. I'm not naive to believe it's 100% clean, but it's certainly the cleanest it's been for years and I believe/ hope the scourge of epo (the real donkey to thoroughbred game changer) might finally be behind us. The times for the Alpe stage compared to the late 90's and early 2000's makes fairly grim reading for those years, especially given it was such a short stage this year (iirc 5 minutes slower than 98 and 99?).

25/07/2011, 10:57 AM
http://bikepure.org/2011/07/a-cleaner-tour/

The Bike Pure people seem happy enough with it.

Don't forget Roche was injured coming into it. His indo diary always facscinating. I personally think he's better suited to try and go for stage wins rather than hang on to leaders group and finish top 10-15 in GT

Spain will be interesting. I'm hoping for a big big result from Dan Martin there too

25/07/2011, 11:45 AM
Don't forget Roche was injured coming into it. His indo diary always facscinating. I personally think he's better suited to try and go for stage wins rather than hang on to leaders group and finish top 10-15 in GT
It was the injury and the effect on his form that I was getting at really. He kept the expectations high himself. I'd agree though - better a stage win than a decent but non podium, anonymous GC ride. Or shift more focus to the week long stage races rather than build totally around July.

Spain will be interesting. I'm hoping for a big big result from Dan Martin there too
Yeah, really looking forward to seeing how Martin goes. Hopefully they'll build the team around him, or at least give him freedom if Daneilson or VV are team leaders.

25/07/2011, 4:17 PM
Evans (http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/9171/Video-Evans-speaks-about-career-evolution-Tour-de-France-victory-and-more.aspx)getting a bit of stick for not speaking about doping (towards the end of the article).

I think the criticism is a bit unfair. I can see why Evans, in the biggest moment in his career wouldn't want all the headlines to be about doping rather than about what he and his team had achieved. Also, anything he said about less doping allowing him a better chance to win might be construed as an attack/ innuendo on the people who've beaten him in the past and could be seen as very unclassy.

That said, the omerta around the issue has done cycling no favours in the past, so maybe it's not enough for him just to 'give a good example'. He probably should have come out and said "I'm clean and always have been, so I've proved it can be done, and the biological passport is definitely a good thing" and avoided anything too specific.

25/07/2011, 6:14 PM
They are a bit damned if they do, damned if they don't. No matter what they say it'll never be enough.

For what it's worth I think he's clean - a dirty rider wouldn't have lost some of the times he has in the past if nothing else. Plus Sassi was his coach. On the negative side Rominger is his manager.

26/07/2011, 9:42 AM
Matt Brammeier's upcoming races: Kristianland Criterium, Herentals, San Sebastian, Eneco, Hamburg, Plouay, TOB, Pairis Bourges, Paris Tours. !

26/07/2011, 9:56 AM
Some decent races there alright. hard to gauge how HTC feel about his season. He's been the archtypal domestique, and usually first to really crank it up in the chase for Cav (or Goss)

He also tweeted that he hopes to go to World Championships too

Real ale Madrid
26/07/2011, 10:09 AM
Matt Brammieir's upcoming races: Kristianland Criterium, Herentals, San Sebastian, Eneco, Hamburg, Plouay, TOB, Pairis Bourges, Paris Tours. !

I'm heading to the criterium in Herentals on Thursday night if the weather is ok. Might try and post a few pics if I can get anything decent.

27/07/2011, 10:52 AM
http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/9202/Matt-Brammeier-Interview-Debut-season-Irish-championships-and-HTC-Highroads-future.aspx

Interview with Brammeier

03/08/2011, 10:37 PM
Dan martin 2nd today in stage 4 of Tour of Poland which notches up a few more UCI points. He's in 4th with harder stages to come so looks to have a decent shot at defending the title and should be in good shape for the Vuelta.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/races/tour-de-pologne-upt-1/stage-4/results

04/08/2011, 6:46 PM
Highroad gone. Never warmed to the team, but still pretty shocking that they couldn't get a sponsor. http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/htc-highroad-disbands-after-failed-sponsor-search

05/08/2011, 9:03 PM
Martin wins the stage and takes yellow in Poland: http://www.cyclingnews.com/races/tour-de-pologne-upt-1/stage-6/results

Sagan is a good sprinter though and if he can take bonuses in the sprints he can still win the jersey back on that last stage.

06/08/2011, 7:47 PM
Martin second overall as Sagan does enough in the sprints. Disappointing, but still a very good result. Roll on La Vuelta.

Brammeier wearing 1 in the Eneco Tour.

16/08/2011, 6:14 PM
Big long bit on Martin ahead of the Vuelta: http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/9408/Dan-Martin-Interview-Vuelta-a-Espana-will-show-if-general-classification-targets-are-realistic.aspx

Looking forward to this.. we should learn a lot about Martin's potential. Hard to know what to make of Roche, not sure he has raced since le Tour at all.

18/08/2011, 12:06 AM
For fellow Free To Air TV heads, itv4 are covering the Vuelta - 2 hours live, half hour highlights (looks like at 7, unless clashing with the football). I suspect it'll be similar to their california coverage, but still a good addition.

19/08/2011, 11:32 AM
Roche speaks ahead of the Vuelta- is unsure of form. (http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/9453/Roche-feels-fresh-but-unsure-about-form-heading-into-Vuelta-a-Espana.aspx)

22/08/2011, 5:08 PM
Roche leads home the peleton to take 5th and a UCI point today.

23/08/2011, 3:40 PM
Martin takes third on today's first real mountain stage :) Another 4 UCI points. Sitting 11th overall.

Bad news is that Roche dropped some time to the main favourites.

Report: http://www.cyclingnews.com/vuelta-a-espana/stage-4/results