View Full Version : 1st Division Odds
21/02/2011, 12:19 PM
Havent a clue who we have signed now that things changed :(
21/02/2011, 12:31 PM
Havent a clue who we have signed now that things changed :(
Have the guys (Rogers, Fabio, Ryan, et all) that were playing friendlies for ye all left again?
21/02/2011, 12:35 PM
I don't know. Just know that Mick was meeting the squad Saturday to let them know who he can keep for first division.
Red Army
21/02/2011, 12:41 PM
What do you mean by things changed? financial problems?
El-Pietro
21/02/2011, 12:42 PM
We were only bemoaning how poor choclate wrists was the other night when he pulled off an absolutely amazing save.
He is still the weakest link though.
James McCarthy ex-Cobh was on the bench the other night.
hes worse
21/02/2011, 12:46 PM
What do you mean by things changed? financial problems?
No, he had a few players on verge of signing if we had gone premier and since that is not the case he can no longer sign them. Conan Byrne is the one I was most excited about. Our budget was upped for premier and now back to where it is.
blue til i die
21/02/2011, 12:47 PM
How does everyone see themselves lining out this season.
Burns
Coady, Browne, Murray, Long,
Quinn, Sinnott, Barrett/Dunphy, Wilson,
Murphy, Kiely.
Subs: Breen, Rafter, Keane, Byrne, Chin, Dempsey, Nolan, Carey.
Good strong starting 11, a few with a good bit of experience. Fairly young subs bench but Breener should average out the age :D
21/02/2011, 1:05 PM
Ryan (either one, hard to know at the moment but i'd prefer Barry)
White....McCarthy......Purcell......Frost
Breen.....O'Leary........Judge......Tracey
...........O'Flynn........Sheehan..........
Subs:
Hynes
Coleman
Quinn
Coughlan
O Callaghan
Broughall
Ryan (again depends who starts)
That is a very strong starting 11 if you ask me and there is some very good options on the bench. Would prefer to see Coughlan or Quinn (going on how they seem to be performing in pre-season) start than tracey but I would think Scully will start Tracey.
monsexile
21/02/2011, 1:25 PM
Conan Byrne is gone, not sure about Bobby Ryan, Shanahan and McNamara were playing for other clubs over the weekend so I assume they're gone. Pretty sure Fabio, Rogers, Barrett have signed and will add updated info tomorrow on the blog.
21/02/2011, 1:27 PM
I haven't the heart to ring Mick to find out.
21/02/2011, 1:47 PM
Interesting that we are still 2nd favourites but Shels and Waterford have swopped places.
You would have to put both ahead of us in reality.
I predicted yesterday we'd be back in United Park in November for a playoff. Would probably take that now However Cork's 1st eleven also look strong and Monaghan shocked me and others last season.
We failed in 9 attempts to beat the top 3 last season so that will be the real test.
21/02/2011, 1:57 PM
Ryan (either one, hard to know at the moment but i'd prefer Barry)
White....McCarthy......Purcell......Frost
Breen.....O'Leary........Judge......Tracey
...........O'Flynn........Sheehan..........
Subs:
Hynes
Coleman
Quinn
Coughlan
O Callaghan
Broughall
Ryan (again depends who starts)
That is a very strong starting 11 if you ask me and there is some very good options on the bench. Would prefer to see Coughlan or Quinn (going on how they seem to be performing in pre-season) start than tracey but I would think Scully will start Tracey.
Tracey hasn't played much in pre season and by the look of us i'm fairly sure Scully will be going 4-2-3-1
Ryan (turns out Dave is out for six weeks now so it could be hard for him to win his place back)
White....Purcell....McCarthy.....Frost
...........O'Leary....Judge
Sheehan..........Quinn...........Breen
...............O'Flynn.....................
Bench Options:
Hynes
Coughlan
Tracy
Coleman
O'Callaghan
Lyons
Broughall
Bhandaker
Other Ryan
It actually looks pretty decent on paper :eek:
21/02/2011, 1:59 PM
Finding it very hard to look past Shels for the title, though maybe that's just because they've got more ex-UCD players than most.
And it also sets them up nicely for another hilarious promotion fail. :)
21/02/2011, 2:02 PM
Forgot all about yellow. The main thin going for us this season will be the players on the bench or back up will do a job also by the looks of things.
Again last season we did bottle it in the big games and that will be the thing that needs to change. At one stage if we had won we where going to close the gap on Derry to 1 point and then before we knew it we where down to 5th.
21/02/2011, 5:41 PM
Actually put Gary on the left cutting in and Breen on the right.
Gary Sheehan looks like he could score 40 goals this season, razor sharp.
21/02/2011, 5:53 PM
Finding it very hard to look past Shels for the title, though maybe that's just because they've got more ex-UCD players than most.
And it also sets them up nicely for another hilarious promotion fail. :)
We'll see who has the last laugh...
Probably Athlone as they knock in a last minute winner to hand the title to Waterford.
21/02/2011, 5:56 PM
There'll be much to celebrate in Athlone if they can still field a team by November.
hes worseMcCarthy may very well be worse but Tommys has signed him and made Greg club captain due to popular demand.
story here (http://www.corkcityfc.net/home/2011/02/21/mccarthy-signs-ohalloran-appointed-club-captain/)
El-Pietro
22/02/2011, 8:50 AM
McCarthy may very well be worse but Tommys has signed him and made Greg club captain due to popular demand.
story here (http://www.corkcityfc.net/home/2011/02/21/mccarthy-signs-ohalloran-appointed-club-captain/)
oh im well aware - i got the mail from FORAS about it - not pleased with that piece of joyous news
monsexile
22/02/2011, 11:13 AM
Mons squad announced:
http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=398
Barrett, Rogers, Fitzgerald, Haran, Foley among new recruits.
Red Army
22/02/2011, 12:29 PM
Hope Shels or Harps come up this year. Mons will be only mid table
qwertyger
24/02/2011, 6:09 PM
Cork looking good this season! Cant wait to see them in mervue 2nd game of the season. Dont get home very often to watch them..
legendz
06/03/2011, 11:10 AM
I'm not a fan of Cork but hopefully they will get back to the Premier. Like newly promoted Derry, they do bring good crowds to the league. With the possibility of three clubs coming up this season, I hope Limerick and Waterford are among them.
LK37oldskool
06/03/2011, 12:55 PM
After losing Gary Sheehan for possibly most of the season and with O'Flynn getting himself banned for the next 3 games at least Limerick's odds have seriously dropped.Could be playin catch up again this season.
CSFShels
06/03/2011, 1:29 PM
What is Sheehan's injury? O'Flynn's suspension probably won't be for the next 3 games. It is usually the game immediately after and the first 2 games of the following month, meaning he'll most likely miss the game against us. Sad to hear about Sheehan's injury but delighted neither player will play against us.
Darkglasses
06/03/2011, 2:38 PM
What is Sheehan's injury? O'Flynn's suspension probably won't be for the next 3 games. It is usually the game immediately after and the first 2 games of the following month, meaning he'll most likely miss the game against us. Sad to hear about Sheehan's injury but delighted neither player will play against us.
Bad leg break I heard?
LK37oldskool
06/03/2011, 2:53 PM
Yup,leg break.Was operated on in Letterkenny,not sure if he's home yet.O'Flynn got a straight red for an alleged head butt,so he'll def miss next 3 games.
bluewhitearmy
06/03/2011, 3:26 PM
Steve misses 4 he was already suspended for Salthill.
I wouldnt be surprised if Gary didnt play again this season.
CSFShels
06/03/2011, 7:57 PM
Jesus, looks really bad for Limerick already, would be surprised if Hynes kept yous going for goals in the meantime.
06/03/2011, 10:27 PM
Steve misses 4 he was already suspended for Salthill.
I wouldnt be surprised if Gary didnt play again this season.
5 I think??
Two games followed by three for the headbutt??
Gary is by all accounts out for the season, leg broke just above his shin, in a cast from his ankle up to his thigh.
Jesus, looks really bad for Limerick already, would be surprised if Hynes kept yous going for goals in the meantime.
In therory, the likes of Paudie Quinn, Garbhan Coughlan and Chris Breen should also have goals in them aswell.
In theory. :bulgy:
Gary was a MASSIVE part of the gameplan, you only had to look at pre season to see it, I would have fancied him to knock in fifteen or twenty goals no hassle, he could have had two or three the other night.
We've three home games against a terrible Salthill team, an apparently better than expected Longford team and a fairly bad but fairly stubborn Wexford team with the Cork and Shels trips sandwiched in between.
Personally, if we come out the other end of that having won the three home games and not taken an embarressing hiding on the road, I'd be delighted, 10 points from the opening six games wouldnt' be a complete disaster, get Stevo back, get him scoring and worry about a replacement for Gary in June.
There's no automatic 3 game ban for a red in our league. It's an automatic 1 game ban for the next game, and then the disciplinary panel reviews it to add extra. He might well get the 3 games but it probably won't be the next 3. It'l depend when the disciplinary panel meet to discuss it.
bluewhitearmy
07/03/2011, 5:55 PM
5 I think??
Two games followed by three for the headbutt??
Gary is by all accounts out for the season, leg broke just above his shin, in a cast from his ankle up to his thigh.
In therory, the likes of Paudie Quinn, Garbhan Coughlan and Chris Breen should also have goals in them aswell.
In theory. :bulgy:
Gary was a MASSIVE part of the gameplan, you only had to look at pre season to see it, I would have fancied him to knock in fifteen or twenty goals no hassle, he could have had two or three the other night.
We've three home games against a terrible Salthill team, an apparently better than expected Longford team and a fairly bad but fairly stubborn Wexford team with the Cork and Shels trips sandwiched in between.
Personally, if we come out the other end of that having won the three home games and not taken an embarressing hiding on the road, I'd be delighted, 10 points from the opening six games wouldnt' be a complete disaster, get Stevo back, get him scoring and worry about a replacement for Gary in June.
I thought it was just the one game he was suspended for then the three for the headbutt not sue though so you are probably right.
07/03/2011, 9:38 PM
thats alledged headbutt lads regarding o'flynn. Big Pakie Maley hit the ground after several head movements by both and jostling by both, he got straight back up laughing when the red card was shown. Lino standing nearest and ref never saw any of the incident hence Maley not getting any punishment. Lino standing alongside the harps bench saw everything :rolleyes:
08/03/2011, 1:44 AM
thats alledged headbutt lads regarding o'flynn. Big Pakie Maley hit the ground after several head movements by both and jostling by both, he got straight back up laughing when the red card was shown. Lino standing nearest and ref never saw any of the incident hence Maley not getting any punishment. Lino standing alongside the harps bench saw everything :rolleyes:
Um, sorry, but no, he didn't get up laughing. Theres video highlights my man.
08/03/2011, 7:25 AM
It WAS a headbutt, you could clearly see Packies head detach from his shoulders for a split second.
Ok, it may not have been hard but it was definitely a headbutt.
That linesman was also in front of ye lot roaring and shouting at him.
08/03/2011, 7:25 AM
anyway, as much as Im enjoying the Harps-Limerick love in here, can we draw a line under it? It's really getting boring.
08/03/2011, 10:18 AM
Definitely a headbutt. Very little power in it but a definite red. Gallagher had some very mature comments on extratime.ie about the ref wrongly looking to level things up, but he was screaming at the lino at the time (and absolutely rightly so). Mailey and O'Flynn were both on yellows, and a bit wound up after the earlier decisions, so they stuck their faces together hoping the other would be thick enough to react. O'Flynn duly obliged.
__________________________________________________ ________________________________(line drawn under it)
08/03/2011, 4:25 PM
Gallagher had some very mature comments on extratime.ie about the ref wrongly looking to level things up
On that note indeed, for such a young manager had some very mature comments indeed and fair play to him for it. From what I hear Scully was in the Harps dressing room after the game admitting Forkers challenge wasn't as bad as it was made out to be and said it shouldn't have been a red card, also was out having pizza on the pitch with the referees after the game too, which as controversial as some could make it out to be is good to see from both managers.
08/03/2011, 4:49 PM
On that note indeed, for such a young manager had some very mature comments indeed and fair play to him for it. From what I hear Scully was in the Harps dressing room after the game admitting Forkers challenge wasn't as bad as it was made out to be and said it shouldn't have been a red card, also was out having pizza on the pitch with the referees after the game too, which as controversial as some could make it out to be is good to see from both managers.
Makes a change then from last year when I saw him ranting and raving at ref and linesmen - and his players weren't much better - to be welcomed if he has changed for the better
bluewhitearmy
08/03/2011, 7:25 PM
Makes a change then from last year when I saw him ranting and raving at ref and linesmen - and his players weren't much better - to be welcomed if he has changed for the better
:eek: someone ring Sepp Blatter a manger or players complaining to a referee surely this is the first time such a thing has happened.
08/03/2011, 7:57 PM
:eek: someone ring Sepp Blatter a manger or players complaining to a referee surely this is the first time such a thing has happened.
Ranting as in screaming at the ref right in front of him, players sent off, all round losing of head kind of thing...............
08/03/2011, 8:17 PM
Ranting as in screaming at the ref right in front of him, players sent off, all round losing of head kind of thing...............
Um, that happened from both managers. Just he seemed to change into a completely different person after the full time whistle.
09/03/2011, 2:00 AM
So.............Who does have the classier manager?? :D
I predict another ten pages, mods can we have our own sub forum?? x x
09/03/2011, 2:03 AM
Mons obviously!! :D
09/03/2011, 2:50 AM
Between Limerick and Harps.
GTF out of our thread!!
09/03/2011, 7:10 AM
Our manager is fairly new to this kind of thing so we have the classier manager by default. Scully is still a ****.
Mons, signing Rod as your manager just so you can enter the Harps/Limerick debate is just desperate.
bluewhitearmy
09/03/2011, 6:21 PM
League Prediction.
(1) Cork City
(2) Limerick fc
(3) Waterford
(4) Shelbourne
Looking forward to a good season for Limerick fc,with the news that we are going back to the Markets Field I believe that we could be watching Premier Division football their next season.(am I dreaming or what)
Id say so but hope not.