View Full Version : 1st Division Odds

Pages : 1 [2] 3

17/01/2011, 8:44 AM
I wouldn't be certain that Barry Ryan would start in goals either.
I know nothing about who else ye have in nets, but I'd still be shocked if Bazza didn't start for ye. Still a very decent keeper in the Premier, let alone the First.

17/01/2011, 9:21 AM
Barry's brother Dave has signed for us again - he's been our first choice keeper for a few years. I think Barry is officially our goalkeeping coach now.

Town Legend
17/01/2011, 12:01 PM
25-1 is good enough value 4 the town alot of optimistic players and fans think we could be up there for promotion but I think we will just have a steady season and finish around 6th

I don't know who them fans are Outspoken....probably the barstoolers but I know a lot of the real Town fans and all their expecting is a decent finish in the league in or around mid-table. If we finish ahead of Salthill, Mervue, Athlone, Wexford and Finn Harps it will be an improvement. We're no where near promotion candidates.

Quayman
17/01/2011, 12:30 PM
Limerick or Cork for me will be the ones to watch followed by Shels, Mons and Waterford in no particular order.

The Lep
17/01/2011, 12:50 PM
9-4 Waterford
5-2 Limerick
7-2 Shels
7-2 Cork
11 Mons

I would have said Waterford would win it this season but its a close call between the top 5 in the betting if they step up from last season.

17/01/2011, 2:59 PM
I've not seen such optimism since the 89th minute of that Limerick game in 2008.

Shels abú!

legendz
17/01/2011, 3:11 PM
It should be another good season in this Division. There's definitely 5 clubs in a strong position to challenge for promotion. It'll be great to see more put up a better fight but it does not look likely. The FAI should have a look again at the promotion/relegation play-off. 8th from the Premier should not be involved while 4th from the First Division should be added.

CSFShels
20/02/2011, 4:55 PM
We probably look a decent prospect at 11/4 now.

20/02/2011, 5:05 PM
That's where I'd be putting my money, if I had any. It'll take a good team to beat ye over the season.

20/02/2011, 6:49 PM
Sticking my neck out here but, in my opinion, this is a better Harps side than we had in 2007 (when we were promoted).
McHugh is on fire and in fantastic shape, O'Grady and Forker are looking better and better in midfield every game and Mailey and McLaughlin are in great form at the back too.

Our real worry is up front, if we lose McHugh we could struggle as the other lads are nowhere near his level. In saying that, I reckon Kev is now showing his best form since 7 years ago.

Time will tell though, pre-season can be a deceiving hoorbag.

20/02/2011, 6:53 PM
The First is a good bit stronger than it was then though imo. Due to Cork and Shels demotions largely but with wages coming down the "smaller" clubs can build better squads.

20/02/2011, 6:58 PM
Shels and Waterford are looking like definites for the two automatic promotion spots

20/02/2011, 7:12 PM
The First is a good bit stronger than it was then though imo. Due to Cork and Shels demotions largely but with wages coming down the "smaller" clubs can build better squads.

Is it though?
Cobh had a cracking side and to a lesser extent so did Shels, Dundalk and Limerick.

20/02/2011, 7:18 PM
Shels where poor that year and Limerick where no great shakes either if memory serves me right. Dundalk had a decent side alright I think. Cobh weren't anything brilliant either but where an efficient team and Davin O Neill played excellent for them that season.

20/02/2011, 7:20 PM
Harps are my Monaghan of this year.

The First is stronger than it's been in years.

Sticking my neck out at this very early stage I'd go:

Waterford
Shels

gap

Cork
Harps
Limerick
Monaghan

Big Gap

Longford
Wexford
Athlone
Mervue
Salthill

It's still a bit early though. :)

sixesandsevens
20/02/2011, 7:31 PM
I think Monaghan will be there or there abouts again with Waterford and shels. Surely this time shels have the quality to make back to the premier

legendz
20/02/2011, 7:44 PM
Last seasons First Division was very strong. Without Derry, this season's league won't be as good as last but it'll still be tough. For the passing interest I have in watching Limerick, not being my club of course, there'll be some good games to look forward to. Mainly the two Munster derbies and Shel's, I'll see about the two northern teams, they could be in for a good season.

20/02/2011, 7:46 PM
The First Division is much, much, MUCH stronger this year than it was last year.

legendz
20/02/2011, 7:53 PM
I don't agree. I was impressed with all the top 6 from last season. Derry are gone, the division is less one good team. Up until late in the season, Limerick and Cork still had an outside chance of making the play-offs.

20/02/2011, 7:56 PM
A lot of the teams in the division have strengthened significantly since last season. As a whole it definitely looks stronger.

20/02/2011, 7:56 PM
Limerick and Shels both have much better sides then they had at the start of last season.

Harps look much better.

Waterford had a fairly flaky centre back, they've signed Kenny Browne.

Cork are unrecognisable from the team that started last season.

20/02/2011, 7:58 PM
Waterford
Shels,
Cork,
Limerick,
Harps,
Monaghan

I wouldn't put much points wise between those teams at that. Last season one or two losses could put you out of it or right back into it going into the last few weeks. There wasn't much between Shels, Limerick, Monaghan, Cork and Waterford last season and I think all have strengthened nicely.

CSFShels
20/02/2011, 8:00 PM
I was more worried about Cork than Waterford. What is everyone's enthusiasm towards them based on? I've no doubt they'll be there or there abouts but they don't stink of favourites to me.

20/02/2011, 8:02 PM
I was more worried about Cork than Waterford. What is everyone's enthusiasm towards them based on? I've no doubt they'll be there or there abouts but they don't stink of favourites to me.

Waterford where a decent side last season but i think they have strengthened really well where it was needed. Cork had an excellent base for a team last season and if they cut out the silly mistakes they will be a very good side this year.

20/02/2011, 8:04 PM
Personally I just think they're a rock solid unit and have been for a few years all the time knocking on the door. Hendo has been there and done it before aswell.

Whereas Cork have a jury still out manager and a chocolate hands in goals.

CSFShels
20/02/2011, 8:06 PM
Waterford where a decent side last season but i think they have strengthened really well where it was needed. Cork had an excellent base for a team last season and if they cut out the silly mistakes they will be a very good side this year.
I dunno, I'd have placed Cork above them in the worried about stakes. The way I see it us and Cork will be the top 2, with Limerick and Waterford right behind us fighting all the way. Don't think any 2 sides will pull away and be assured promotion from early on. Maybe 1 side will take it by the scruff of the neck but 1 max.

legendz
20/02/2011, 8:08 PM
Sure we'll see as the season goes on. I wouldn't read a whole lot into pre-season.
Agreed on Shels, Limerick, Monaghan, Cork and Waterford. It'll be close between that 5 again and Derry not being there make it a bit easier.

20/02/2011, 8:09 PM
How Vinny Sullivan settles with Cork will be very important aswell. If Cummins does himself a fairly serious injury at any stage, based on last year, they might aswell just forfeit games.

20/02/2011, 8:14 PM
Sure we'll see as the season goes on. I wouldn't read a whole lot into pre-season.

I'm looking at the squads rather than the pre season to be honest.

Limerick for example, last seasons first game they lined up:

Dave Ryan
Boyle
Deady
White
Cahill
Tracy
Kelly
Judge
Kavanagh
Clarke
Tierney

This season it will probably be:

Barry Ryan
White
Purcell
McCarthy
Frost
Breen
O'Leary
Judge
Sheehan
Quinn
O'Flynn

With an actual bench of decent players to back it up.

It's a pretty drastic improvement, Cork would show similar.

legendz
20/02/2011, 8:53 PM
Cork and Limerick will kick on alright, I'm not denying that. Waterford and Monaghan similarly did well like that last season, kicking on from the season before.

20/02/2011, 8:58 PM
How does everyone see themselves lining out this season.

For Harps id say something like:

Gallagher
Doherty
Mailey
McLaughlin
Coll
Harkin
O'Grady
Forker
Bonner
Brolly
McHugh

with good options off the bench too.

20/02/2011, 9:00 PM
Hard to know but I'll guess at

Rouse
O'Reilly
Hope
Deans
Lee
Brady
Salmon
Hyland
A Roche
Skelly
Cowan

CSFShels
20/02/2011, 9:06 PM
Delaney
Haverty
S Byrne
Paisley
Boyle
C Byrne
Mulhall
D McGill
Cassidy
Corcoran

Subs: Skinner, Ryan, B McGill, Clancy, Sullivan, Mulvenna, Hughes

I think the strength of our bench will be our key asset this season. I'd be surprised if any other side in the league could match it. Really impressed with what Matthews has done with our squad this year. Super strong from front to back, even if we are maybe missing that one top class striker. I had to leave Gareth Dawson and Ray Scully out of that squad and all, Matthews will have some headaches this year assuming James, Corcoran, Sullivan, Scully do end up signed.

20/02/2011, 9:08 PM
Matthews will have some headaches this year assuming James, Corcoran, Sullivan, Scully do end up signed.

Is that Sullivan who was with us last season? If it is, I was disappointed we didn't keep him.

CSFShels
20/02/2011, 9:12 PM
Is that Sullivan who was with us last season? If it is, I was disappointed we didn't keep him.
That is him yeah. Looks a cracking player.

20/02/2011, 9:14 PM
That is him yeah. Looks a cracking player.

He's not the most creative eplayer, but good at disrupting play and guarding the back four. Give him a few years ofdoing that and getting more experienced, and I'd say he'll be very good.

OneForTheFuture
20/02/2011, 9:26 PM
Delaney
Haverty
S Byrne
Paisley
Boyle
C Byrne
Mulhall
D McGill
Cassidy
Corcoran

Subs: Skinner, Ryan, B McGill, Clancy, Sullivan, Mulvenna, Hughes

I think the strength of our bench will be our key asset this season. I'd be surprised if any other side in the league could match it. Really impressed with what Matthews has done with our squad this year. Super strong from front to back, even if we are maybe missing that one top class striker. I had to leave Gareth Dawson and Ray Scully out of that squad and all, Matthews will have some headaches this year assuming James, Corcoran, Sullivan, Scully do end up signed.

Kevin Dawson?

The Lep
20/02/2011, 9:31 PM
What odds will you get for Conan Byrne to be the first division top scorer this season ?

Town Legend
20/02/2011, 9:47 PM
Hard to know but I'll guess at

Rouse
O'Reilly
Hope
Deans
Lee
Brady
Salmon
Hyland
A Roche
Skelly
Cowan

I have the same opinion as Longfordian but I'd have Morley in place of Brady on the wing.....never rated Brady last season and from what I've seen in pre-season not much has changed.....very little skill and I've never seen him get by his marker!!

20/02/2011, 9:57 PM
Yeah just what I've seen of Morley he's played on the left and Aidan Roche would probably be first choice there so I don't know if he can play right wing. Looks a good little player though so wouldn't mind getting him in somewhere.

El-Pietro
20/02/2011, 10:05 PM
How Vinny Sullivan settles with Cork will be very important aswell. If Cummins does himself a fairly serious injury at any stage, based on last year, they might aswell just forfeit games.
i dont think vinny will be starting for us based on the performance against sligo on Friday.

we started 4-5-1 (sorry 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3) with cummins on his own up top, supported by Escude-Candau. I think those two could form a great partnership.

Our starting XI is quite strong now, and if we could get a decent keeper we'll be in great shape. however it looks like were going to have nults in goal for the time being

McNulty

Hoggy/Turner Gav Kav Spillane Danny Murphy

-----------Morrisey Duggan------------
O'Brien - Escude-Candau - Davin O'Neill
------------ Cummins----------------

I think thats among the best sides in the division, and we have Stephen Mulcahy to come back into the team

we have questions over McNulty and O'Neill needs to show what we know hes capable of

I think Morrisey is one of the best young players in the country and will be a star for us this year

The good thing about this season is that 4-4-2 is an option with Vinny in the squad.

sheao
20/02/2011, 10:29 PM
i dont think vinny will be starting for us based on the performance against sligo on Friday.

we started 4-5-1 (sorry 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3) with cummins on his own up top, supported by Escude-Candau. I think those two could form a great partnership.

Our starting XI is quite strong now, and if we could get a decent keeper we'll be in great shape. however it looks like were going to have nults in goal for the time being

McNulty

Hoggy/Turner Gav Kav Spillane Danny Murphy

-----------Morrisey Duggan------------
O'Brien - Escude-Candau - Davin O'Neill
------------ Cummins----------------

I think thats among the best sides in the division, and we have Stephen Mulcahy to come back into the team

we have questions over McNulty and O'Neill needs to show what we know hes capable of

I think Morrisey is one of the best young players in the country and will be a star for us this year

The good thing about this season is that 4-4-2 is an option with Vinny in the squad.

Davin is a proven goalscorer as this level in particular from his time at Ramblers and its that Davin we will hopefully see for City this season .
We over relied on Cummins last term and so ideally not only we will hopefully see him do something similar to last season but goals will be spread around the side a bit more aswell.

Based on pre season performances from what ive seen , Morrissey looks like he is going to come of age this season and himself and Shane Duggan should hopefully make a good central midfield partnership. Like Morrissey, i reckon Spillane could be one to watch this year for us aswell at the back because he is a decent prospect.

From talking and hearing from the players, they seem intent on getting promoted by trying to top the division .
Our squad is a good one and this season should be an exciting one on leeside.

bluewhitearmy
20/02/2011, 10:31 PM
I think we will be the same as last year beat the lower teams which will keep us around the top teams but not doing anything against the teams around us like we struggled against the likes of Mons Waterford and Derry(Cork at home too) last year .

And just on this part of sheao post:

"From talking and hearing from the players, they seem intent on getting promoted by trying to top the division ."

Id say you would hear the same from Us,Waterford,Shels,Monaghan and maybe Harps too doesnt mean much.

sheao
20/02/2011, 10:46 PM
I think we will be the same as last year beat the lower teams which will keep us around the top teams but not doing anything against the teams around us like we struggled against the likes of Mons Waterford and Derry(Cork at home too) last year .

And just on this part of sheao post:

"From talking and hearing from the players, they seem intent on getting promoted by trying to top the division ."

Id say you would hear the same from Us,Waterford,Shels,Monaghan and maybe Harps too doesnt mean much.

I guess that shows you how competitive the first division is and also how difficult a division it is to get out of .

bluewhitearmy
20/02/2011, 11:01 PM
I guess that shows you how competitive the first division is and also how difficult a division it is to get out of .

True.

Would have loved if Shane Duggan had come to his hometown club. Our lads that played in home-based u21 said that Morissey was class too. Like us with O Flynn though how much of a threat would ye be without Cummins.

20/02/2011, 11:25 PM
Latest Boyles odds
2/1 Shels
10/3 Limerick
7/2. Waterford
4/1. Cork
10/1 Monaghan
16/1 Harps
25/1 Longford
50/1 Athlone
66/1 Wexford
150/1 Mervue
150/1 Salthill

21/02/2011, 1:05 AM
Based on pre season performances from what ive seen , Morrissey looks like he is going to come of age this season and himself and Shane Duggan should hopefully make a good central midfield partnership. Like Morrissey, i reckon Spillane could be one to watch this year for us aswell at the back because he is a decent prospect.

Saw them playing for the Irish U-21s the other day.

Morrissey looks like a serious bit of player alright.

Spillane struggled to be honest.

The three lads we had in the midfield for that impressed aswell and will be very important to us. Dave O'Leary (A Cork lad!!) is absolutely brilliant, I wouldn't be a bit surprised if we lost him cross channel midway through the season, Garbhan Coughlan is coming on leaps and bounds and Paudie Quinn we signed from Tralee looks like he could be a great player, arguably the stand out for Ireland on the day (there was a foreign looking right full from Bohs aswell who looked like an excellent prospect) and he's been having an impressive pre season. Jeffrey Judge would have played the other day aswell if he wasn't injured, another very important youngfella for us.

It's looking very competitive alright. :think:

monsexile
21/02/2011, 7:23 AM
Very hard to judge us after the past week's disruptions which had PD level playerson trial and in talks and 3 friendlies off. Our display and lineup against Shamrock Rovers last week was enouraging though. Should know more tomorrow when we get players registered. Either way, Shels, Cork and Waterford look strong on paper. Lims too. Going to be tough division to escape from. Any of those four and ourselves looks stronger at this stage than Drogheda or GUFC.

21/02/2011, 10:04 AM
how much of a threat would ye be without Cummins.

None at all. We have a decent starting 11, bar Nults, but very little in reserve.

That said every club that gets promoted tends to have a stand out 20 goal a season striker. I think all the top teams would struggle if they lost that player.

Far too tough to call this year. While our first 11 is decent, it'l depend a lot on how they settle together. We're a bit short for cover at the back and very short for cover on the wings and upfront.

If we stay injury free, settle quickly and learn how to put teams away we are in with a shout, but it is a big ask. At the moment I think Waterford and Shels are ahead of us based on squad and stability. I'd have us and Limerick on about the same level and it could go either way. Monaghan could be in either group, I don't know how they; react to the disappointments and how the squad will settle and Harps could be the dark horses.

I'm not very confident but at the same time not finishing in the playoff place would be a disappointment. It'l certainly be interesting!

21/02/2011, 10:39 AM
None at all. We have a decent starting 11, bar Nults, We were only bemoaning how poor choclate wrists was the other night when he pulled off an absolutely amazing save.
He is still the weakest link though.
James McCarthy ex-Cobh was on the bench the other night.