View Full Version : Irish stars receive death threats.

ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2011, 5:53 PM
http://www.u.tv/News/Bullet-death-threats-mailed-to-Celtic/deda36b7-32a8-48d5-a57c-6970d66d0dbc

At least by implication. Hardly surprising, but depressing enough.
Guessing their employer was the reason.

seanfhear
09/01/2011, 6:23 PM
http://www.u.tv/News/Bullet-death-threats-mailed-to-Celtic/deda36b7-32a8-48d5-a57c-6970d66d0dbc

At least by implication. Hardly surprising, but depressing enough.
Guessing their employer was the reason.
In fairness there is not much point in sending bullets without sending a gun. What is the recipient to do ? Hurl themselves at the speed of a bullet at the bullet.

On a more serious note. Who knows what kind of a header is sending the bullets ?

ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2011, 6:30 PM
Hence use of the word, 'implication'.

09/01/2011, 6:43 PM
In fairness there is not much point in sending bullets without sending a gun. What is the recipient to do ? Hurl themselves at the speed of a bullet at the bullet.
A short length of pipe of appropriate diameter, and a cigarette lighter would probably do the job if they were being that cooperative.

On a more serious note. Who knows what kind of a header is sending the bullets ?
The various news sites all seem to be posting minor variations on the same wire article. Nothing in any of them. Intercepted in a post office in Antrim though.

peadar1987
09/01/2011, 6:52 PM
Scum. Pure scum.

They should never have signed for Celtic! ;)

seanfhear
09/01/2011, 6:56 PM
A short length of pipe of appropriate diameter, and a cigarette lighter would probably do the job if they were being that cooperative. You have given this some thought and I hope not to be getting any bullets from you as you would include "helpful" instructions.

The various news sites all seem to be posting minor variations on the same wire article. Nothing in any of them. Intercepted in a post office in Antrim though.I am not going to go out on a limb to support the NI football team but untill/unless some proof is produced as to who sent the bullets then I won't jump to conclusions.

09/01/2011, 7:05 PM
You have given this some thought..
I'm an engineer. My brain does this automatically. It gets kind of annoying at times.

seanfhear
09/01/2011, 7:22 PM
I'm an engineer. My brain does this automatically. It gets kind of annoying at times.
Ah I see

Back to the bullets maybe its some kind of sophisticated decommisioning (you know, without losing face)

ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2011, 7:26 PM
A surreal spin Sean. Perhaps UTV got a little carried away, citing the subject as such.

The Fly
09/01/2011, 7:29 PM
Ah I see

Back to the bullets maybe its some kind of sophisticated decommisioning (you know, without losing face)

I doubt it, the words 'loyalist' and 'sophisticated' don't really mix.

09/01/2011, 7:47 PM
Sectarianism around the old firm? Well I never.

Sullivinho
09/01/2011, 8:19 PM
Return to sender.

09/01/2011, 11:30 PM
No bullet for Paddy?

The Fly
09/01/2011, 11:57 PM
He doesn't get on for Norn Iron yet. :p

10/01/2011, 9:31 AM
from Neil Lennon's twitter feed (it really is him): http://twitter.com/#!/OfficialNeil/statuses/24409844853252096

Quotes attributed to me in today's Sun are taken from old stories. I've made no comment on recent reports regarding bullets.

Gather round
10/01/2011, 11:03 AM
I am not going to go out on a limb to support the NI football team but untill/unless some proof is produced as to who sent the bullets then I won't jump to conclusions

Aye, it would be a surprise if a current or past international (their rivals for starting places or the next manager, maybe) were sending ordnance through the post. It could be like Cluedo: Sleeping Brunty or Gargoyle Dowie with the lead pipe in the trophy cabinet.

ArdeeBhoy
10/01/2011, 11:09 AM
Hardly footballing rivals (even a certain goal-keeper happy to affiliate himself to the UVF (last seen living in a caravan in Largs) wouldn't have stooped so low?);rather more those of the viewpoint, as highlighted in the UTV comments section.

Crosby87
10/01/2011, 11:45 PM
When I saw the title I thought this was going to be about Bono and The Edge due to their connection to that awful Spider Man play on Broadway. Seriously, longest 2 hours of my life. I would have supported said threats 100%.

ArdeeBhoy
12/01/2011, 2:22 AM
No bullet for Paddy?
In the latest update, his was, er, intercepted in the post in Scotland.
Fair play to them for that.

Just another example of Irish people are treated by 'their own', simply by virtue of their nominal religion/culture. And employer.
You'd wonder why McGinn & McCourt would ever bother to go back to play in the North, given that's where these packages originated....

The Fly
12/01/2011, 3:54 AM
No bullet for Paddy?

In the latest update, his was, er, intercepted in the post in Scotland.
Fair play to them for that.

In true Paddy style, even his mail managed to elude a couple of sorting offices before it was found nestling at the near post.

12/01/2011, 7:12 AM

What sort of a comment is this?

When was the last time bullets were sent through the post to a Rangers official or player? When was the last time a Rangers player received death threats due to the club he played for? When was the last time a Rangers fan was murdered simply for wearing his team's colours?

It's as if you perceive some sort of equivalence between 'fans' of Rangers and Celtic. Let's be clear - there is none. 'Lazy' and 'unhelpful' are the nicest things I can think to say in response.

:ball: PP

Not Brazil
12/01/2011, 10:09 AM

It transcends far and wide.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/world-news/celtic-rangers-old-firm-bigotry-in-canada-15045326.html

I hope the deluded, moronic, flatearth "hard men" who sent the bullets in the post to Messrs Lennon, McGinn and McCourt are apprehended and charged asap.

They are enemies of the Northern Ireland International football team.

ArdeeBhoy
12/01/2011, 11:01 AM
Fair play, NB.

Not Brazil
12/01/2011, 11:07 AM
A very Happy, Peaceful and Prosperous New Year to you and yours AB.

ArdeeBhoy
12/01/2011, 12:26 PM
Will take it in the spirit intended, NB. And to yer good self & folks.

Well, at least until late May....not that that, even remotely matters.

12/01/2011, 5:48 PM
It's as if you perceive some sort of equivalence between 'fans' of Rangers and Celtic. Let's be clear - there is none. 'Lazy' and 'unhelpful' are the nicest things I can think to say in response.

Celtic and Rangers - "two cheeks of the same arse" as i heard it so eloquently put recently.

on the issue itself - it is clearly just some random, idiotic, insane nordy* instead of a sinister vile plot hatched in some Orange Order somewhere.

*im not for one moment suggesting that Ian Paisley sent them.

12/01/2011, 6:56 PM
...on the issue itself - it is clearly just some random, idiotic, insane nordy* instead of a sinister vile plot hatched in some Orange Order somewhere. I'm not entirely convinced this is the work of the particular hue of nordie scobe we're assuming was behind these jimminy-japes.

In my (extremely limited) experience of northern loyalists they have sweet feck all interest in the norn iron team or anyone who plays/has played for them. Lennon'd have a bigger profile for sure because he manages Celtic so he's plausible -but McGinn? Don't make me laugh. It wouldn't surprise me in the least if the six-toed mutant ghoulbag behind this stunt came from (using inverted commas to emphasise this is the broadest, widest possible) "OUR" side of the fence. Way more to gain when a particular logic is applied and followed through.

12/01/2011, 7:32 PM
It wouldn't surprise me in the least if the six-toed mutant ghoulbag behind this stunt came from (using inverted commas to emphasise this is the broadest, widest possible) "OUR" side of the fence.

The BBC (or was it channel 4) suggested this as a possible source on the news tonight - that northern Irish nationalists may be unhappy with the choice of players to line out for the NI team.

ArdeeBhoy
12/01/2011, 8:55 PM
Celtic and Rangers - "two cheeks of the same arse" as i heard it so eloquently put recently.

Clearly the speaker was pretty ignorant on the subject.

The 'conspiracy' theory is a bit more plausible re.the bullets in terms of Irish uber-nats, but given the response in the Northern fraternity in comments sections and the like, the unionist constituency seemed remarkably defensive on the issue.
And albeit a while ago, they do have 'form' in this respect where Lennon, O'Neill and numerous other Celtic players have been targeted in attacks in Glasgow. Not to say Rangers players don't receive 'attention', but nothing to the same extent.

Predator
12/01/2011, 9:01 PM
In my (extremely limited) experience of northern loyalists they have sweet feck all interest in the norn iron team or anyone who plays/has played for them. Lennon'd have a bigger profile for sure because he manages Celtic so he's plausible -but McGinn? Don't make me laugh. It wouldn't surprise me in the least if the six-toed mutant ghoulbag behind this stunt came from (using inverted commas to emphasise this is the broadest, widest possible) "OUR" side of the fence. Way more to gain when a particular logic is applied and followed through.As you admit, your experience of loyalists is extremely limited. There are certainly loyalists who are supporters of the IFA team, who would have enough knowledge of certain players and their backgrounds. These kinds are often the type who support Rangers and have a hatred of all things Celtic. I wouldn't rule the possibility out.

The BBC (or was it channel 4) suggested this as a possible source on the news tonight - that northern Irish nationalists may be unhappy with the choice of players to line out for the NI team.I have never heard of anyone, in my experience, that holds a grudge against Paddy McCourt or Niall McGinn (or Neil Lennon for that matter), for playing for the IFA. Obviously doesn't rule out the possibility, but I would highly doubt it.

12/01/2011, 9:13 PM
I hope the deluded, moronic, flatearth "hard men" who sent the bullets in the post to Messrs Lennon, McGinn and McCourt are apprehended and charged asap.

But McCourt received no bullet in the mail, how do you know there was one sent to him too?;)

ArdeeBhoy
12/01/2011, 9:26 PM
It was picked out in the Local sorting office to Celtic Park.
And only made the news 24 hrs. ago.

12/01/2011, 9:46 PM

I was only messing there. Didn't realise McCourt had received one too when I made that post.:shame:

The Fly
12/01/2011, 9:59 PM
But McCourt received no bullet in the mail, how do you know there was one sent to him too?;)

I feel a little sorry for Paddy, they didn't think enough of him to send his first-class.

Gather round
12/01/2011, 11:29 PM

Gather round
12/01/2011, 11:34 PM
In my (extremely limited) experience of northern loyalists they have sweet feck all interest in the norn iron team or anyone who plays/has played for them

Alas there's plenty of evidence of people with NI paramilitary links attending football matches- overheard conversation, flags, even songs and web postings at a pinch. It'd be amazing if they didn't given their obvious numbers in the population as a whole locally.

It wouldn't surprise me in the least if the six-toed mutant ghoulbag behind this stunt came from (using inverted commas to emphasise this is the broadest, widest possible) "OUR" side of the fence. Way more to gain when a particular logic is applied and followed through

I have no idea who did it, other than that they posted from Ballymoney (a predominantly unionist town). But if pressed I'd guess Rangers fans were more likely than Celtic.

As you admit, your experience of loyalists is extremely limited. There are certainly loyalists who are supporters of the IFA team

Your description reminds me of when the Irish Times used to advertise a separate, lower price in the 'Sterling area' (ie, Britain) ;)

I have never heard of anyone, in my experience, that holds a grudge against Paddy McCourt or Niall McGinn (or Neil Lennon for that matter), for playing for the IFA. Obviously doesn't rule out the possibility, but I would highly doubt it

Apart from the guy who's thanked you for this post, you mean? Not that I'm suggesting he sends people ordnance in the post, like.

ArdeeBhoy
12/01/2011, 11:49 PM
As it was me who thanked the Pred there, not sure what you're implying?

And The Irish Times still does that, which you'd know if you ever read it....

13/01/2011, 2:43 AM
Clearly the speaker was pretty ignorant on the subject..

not at all. Actually i think he's pretty spot on.

ArdeeBhoy
13/01/2011, 8:51 AM
Well, as PP says I would highly dispute that.
Have you even been to Celtic or Ibrox, or for that matter, Glasgow??

13/01/2011, 9:22 AM
People wanted to give Hodgson the same treatment ;)

http://premierleaguebuzz.wordpress.com/2010/12/15/how-long-before-hodgson-gets-the-bullet-at-liverpool/

13/01/2011, 1:23 PM
Well, as PP says I would highly dispute that.
Have you even been to Celtic or Ibrox, or for that matter, Glasgow??

no, no and yes.

ArdeeBhoy
13/01/2011, 2:01 PM
Ah well, somewhere for you to visit....

Predator
13/01/2011, 2:42 PM
Your description reminds me of when the Irish Times used to advertise a separate, lower price in the 'Sterling area' (ie, Britain) ;)I started using the term during the discussion of the CAS case. I often use 'FAI' to describe roI too. It's just a bit of a habit now.

Apart from the guy who's thanked you for this post, you mean? Not that I'm suggesting he sends people ordnance in the post, like.Does he?
Honestly though, I don't think I've ever heard of, or spoken to, anyone seriously wishing ill-will on nationalist players who opt to stick with the IFA. Have you?

Not Brazil
13/01/2011, 2:46 PM
When was the last time a Rangers player received death threats due to the club he played for? It's as if you perceive some sort of equivalence between 'fans' of Rangers and Celtic. :ball: PP

Was it Nacho Novo?

Do you remember that little ditty the Parkhead japesters (it's only a bit o craic!) used to sing about him?

Here's a reminder:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-QX9RnWvCo&feature=player_embedded

Two cheeks of the same arse

13/01/2011, 8:14 PM
Misleading Thread Title.

Reported.

Paddy McCourt, Niall McGinn and Crab Lennon. "Irish Stars." Really??

13/01/2011, 8:19 PM
Was it Nacho Novo?

Do you remember that little ditty the Parkhead japesters (it's only a bit o craic!) used to sing about him?

Here's a reminder:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-QX9RnWvCo&feature=player_embedded

Two cheeks of the same arse

You took your time digging that up. :rolleyes: You'll forgive me if I don't remember it as it's the first time I've ever seen it.

The next time a Rangers manager or player receives bullets through the post or credible death threats or a Rangers fan is murdered solely for wearing their team colours then your jibe will unfortunately have some resonance. Until then, it's nothing but a ****poor attempt at relativist whataboutery.

:ball: PP

Gather round
13/01/2011, 9:32 PM
Until then, it's nothing but a ****poor attempt at relativist whataboutery

PP: it's a bit of a roundabout argument, that. If you invite Celtic's critics to respond to questions with answers detailing the sectarian minority within the club's fanbase, then any reply is pretty much bound to be "relativist whataboutery". Or absolutist arsecheekery, in reality. They're as bad as each other.

ArdeeBhoy
13/01/2011, 11:56 PM
Says yet another person who's been nowhere Celtic Park or Ibrox....

Yes there's a few Neds high on Buckie & blow who follow Celtic and some decent Rangers fans (know five myself, mainly 'lapsed'! At least one said they were "too bigoted") but people should really make the effort to observe the evidence first-hand.

Not just rely on their own very simple prejudices. Which could almost be equated with the very bigotry they're accusing both clubs of.

The self-righteous brigade should just remember the general reaction by UEFA & host city's populace to the last two times each side reached a European Final.
One set of fans won an award from UEFA, the other rioted each time, once when the 'Big screen' failed!
Let you guess which....

14/01/2011, 12:51 AM
Celtic fans sing songs about the Provos and interrupt minutes silences for dead people.

Being better than the darkside doesn't equal being good either. Compare Celtic fans behaviour to normal peoples behaviour innit.

Gather round
14/01/2011, 6:40 AM
Says yet another person who's been nowhere Celtic Park or Ibrox...

I've had a guided tour of Ibrox, actually. If not during a game.

Your rank pulling (as someone who goes to Parkhead basically as a tourist three or four times per year) is a bit silly. I grew up with Old Firm fans- my (then predominantly Rangers supporting) primary school was next door to Cliftonville FC, the next school along was Celtic. I've been watching, listening to and reading about their games- and talking about them to people who actually live in Glasgow- for decades. I don't need to be a regular at St Johnstone or Killie to conclude that the Old Firm as a pair are the problem. Clue's in the name.