View Full Version : Pre Season games

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

13/12/2010, 3:15 PM
We've a game against Sligo lined up for the 9th February I heard at the weekend. In Flancare I think, we're also hoping to fix up games against Derry and Pats apparently. Not sure if they're home or away games. Another benefit of having the same manager in place for the new season is these things can be arranged in good time.

Cabs88
13/12/2010, 3:47 PM
Squad news, friendlies being arranged, countdown to the new season begins!!

13/12/2010, 4:02 PM
Great I love a good preseason schedule against premier league clubs.

L.T.F.C.
13/12/2010, 5:05 PM
I must say it has been one of the better off-seasons in recent years.

13/12/2010, 5:43 PM
So far so good. I think they're quietly optimistic of a good year but this is the League Of Ireland, it's best not to look too far into the future.

13/12/2010, 7:33 PM
We've a game against Sligo lined up for the 9th February I heard at the weekend.Nice one, was hoping we'd have a trip to the Flansiro next season.

19/12/2010, 5:28 PM
Nice one, was hoping we'd have a trip to the Flansiro next season.

yeah that was confirmed to me last nite sligoman!! nice one! heard that we r playin pats on the 12th of feb in flancare too! its all takin shape now!

04/01/2011, 12:53 PM
Im just after been told that were playing Derry City in pre season and that it was confirmed by Stephen Kenny anybody know anything on this?

04/01/2011, 9:50 PM
Im just after been told that were playing Derry City in pre season and that it was confirmed by Stephen Kenny anybody know anything on this?
i remember a month ago longfordian mentioned that thats great news.. three friendlies so far...

04/01/2011, 10:18 PM
anybody got the exact dates yet , sligo is the 5th im sure on that one , st pats some people are saying the 12th but seems to be some doubt over that and now sligo , its a good looking schedule should help the turnstiles just tick over until we kick off for real

04/01/2011, 10:58 PM
Pats Setanta Cup game hasn't been fixed yet. Could be 14th or 21st

If its the 14th the Longford game is unlikely to be on the 12th

05/01/2011, 3:17 PM
thanks mate

05/01/2011, 3:21 PM
any idea when the draw for the leinster senior cup dose usually be that cant be too far away now eithier?

06/01/2011, 1:00 PM
all 3 friendlies confirmed on the Towns fb page this morning but no dates yet more details to come it said.

writerbk1969
09/01/2011, 5:01 PM
Can anyone give me a contact for the Longford Town Supporters Club? Doing a book on the LOI and want to contact them about maybe a little spot in the book.

10/01/2011, 1:16 AM
Can anyone give me a contact for the Longford Town Supporters Club? Doing a book on the LOI and want to contact them about maybe a little spot in the book.
writerbk1969 Im involved in the supporters club myself send me a pm and I would be glad to help.. I am doing research into the history of LTFC since the 84-85 season so have a lot done already so far...

14/01/2011, 3:29 PM
Longford v pats confirmed for Feb 18th in Flancare

14/01/2011, 5:53 PM
God I really hope we have 1 before that i cant wait over a month , btw lads peter hynes has just signed 4 limerick

L.T.F.C.
15/01/2011, 10:36 AM
UCD vs Longford Town, 30th January 8pm, Foster's Avenue Pitch, which can be viewed here. (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Foster's+Avenue,+Stillorgan,+Ireland&sll=53.344104,-6.267494&sspn=0.113141,0.308647&g=dublin&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Foster's+Ave,+Stillorgan,+County+Dun+Laoghai re,+Ireland&ll=53.303759,-6.210676&spn=0.00177,0.004823&t=h&z=18)

15/01/2011, 11:28 AM
UCD vs Longford Town, 30th January 8pm, Foster's Avenue Pitch, which can be viewed here. (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Foster's+Avenue,+Stillorgan,+Ireland&sll=53.344104,-6.267494&sspn=0.113141,0.308647&g=dublin&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Foster's+Ave,+Stillorgan,+County+Dun+Laoghai re,+Ireland&ll=53.303759,-6.210676&spn=0.00177,0.004823&t=h&z=18)
fine field for me heffers

15/01/2011, 6:39 PM
fine field for me heffers

I was in fosters avenue at least six years ago for ucd v us in the good old days of paschal runnin buses to friendlies...

15/01/2011, 6:52 PM
That was the game where Mad Tom elbowed the linesman, yeah? Good times! See ye on the 30th so. Bit of a strange time though; didn't think Foster's Avenue had lights.

15/01/2011, 7:04 PM
That was the game where Mad Tom elbowed the linesman, yeah? Good times! See ye on the 30th so. Bit of a strange time though; didn't think Foster's Avenue had lights.
yeah thats the one pineapple... saw what you said on the ucd forum about that. what year did that happen?

15/01/2011, 7:11 PM
Has to have been a year we were in different divisions, which'd make it either 04 or 08. I think we played ye in Longford in 08, so that'd make it 04.

L.T.F.C.
15/01/2011, 11:11 PM
Just to clarify, I'm not entirely sure on the time, the phone line was crap.

Tallanted
17/01/2011, 4:29 PM
Less than 2 weeks til real football!!!!!!!!!

18/01/2011, 1:32 AM
Has to have been a year we were in different divisions, which'd make it either 04 or 08. I think we played ye in Longford in 08, so that'd make it 04.

It was 04 alright,Barry Ferguson scored a peno.

18/01/2011, 12:48 PM
List of our pre-season games here. Football starts on the 25th January in Newbridge!

http://www.ltfc.ie/fixtures/?competition=friendly&year=2011

No mention of the Sligo game. Wonder what happened to that? Might be played after the other games I guess.

18/01/2011, 4:58 PM
Wow nice little schedule their especially Bohs but hope we do ad sligo to that list would be nice to play them

18/01/2011, 9:48 PM
I knew about this but choose to keep quiet on this until this got in the public domain.. I saw in the daily mail today that Mick Lee has being asked to go back on a second trial with carlisle utd. I heard this last week in town. I am very surprised that he has gone on trial considering he has signed a new contract. I assume if he goes we will get money for him. Is that correct?

18/01/2011, 10:09 PM
If he's under contract I'd assume we would. He may have just agreed to stay on and not actually signed yet. Hopefully the club ensured he did sign it if Carlisle are interested. We should get some compensation for him either way given his age but we'd get more if he's signed a contract.

Town Legend
19/01/2011, 12:36 PM
He has a contract til October so I'm assuming we'll get some sort of compo. Fair play to him though if Carlisle sign him....their manager was well impressed with him on his first week trial.

L.T.F.C.
19/01/2011, 3:26 PM
I knew about this but choose to keep quiet on this until this got in the public domain.. I saw in the daily mail today that Mick Lee has being asked to go back on a second trial with carlisle utd. I heard this last week in town. I am very surprised that he has gone on trial considering he has signed a new contract. I assume if he goes we will get money for him. Is that correct?

19/01/2011, 4:27 PM
I'm Delighted for Michael , I know its not a done deal yet but as Town Legend said above Carlise manager Paul Abbott was very impressed with him and wants him back on a second trial , i cant imagine the deal wont happen now if he puts in a simlar performance second time round.

Of course I'm disappointed we are losing such a great player but who are we to stop him from bettering his career across water , fair play to ya Michael and best of luck.

19/01/2011, 5:42 PM
Just saw this on their site, sounds like he did well over there alright. Hopefully it can work out for everyone.

http://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10361~2268964,00.html
Maybe a mod could move these last few posts to the ins and outs thread btw, kind of going off topic.

19/01/2011, 11:32 PM
apologises longfordian for posting on this thread just thought it would save space for further threads.. good piece on him in todays longford leader. I didnt realise Mick was born in Dublin when did he move to Longford to live??

howsyourtouch
20/01/2011, 12:19 AM
fair fecks!

20/01/2011, 12:28 AM
apologises longfordian for posting on this thread just thought it would save space for further threads.. good piece on him in todays longford leader. I didnt realise Mick was born in Dublin when did he move to Longford to live??

Oh no problem Marty it's just to keep the Internet spinning on its correct axis! No trace of a Dub accent on young Lee so I'm guessing he didn't spend long there?

Tallanted
20/01/2011, 10:03 AM
A very strong preseason line up, will be great prep for the new season

Cabs88
20/01/2011, 2:52 PM
dont know for sure, but might be to do with the lack of maternity hospitals in Longford?!

howsyourtouch
20/01/2011, 6:01 PM
dont know for sure, but might be to do with the lack of maternity hospitals in Longford?!

was thinkin the same myself

21/01/2011, 11:12 PM
from general forum:

Sligo. They wanted 900 quid off us to play, presumably to cover their bus or whatever, so we called it off. If you added that onto the cost of the match officials it'd cost us a pile of money and we'd probably only get a couple of hundred out.

sligo rovers friendly is definitely not going ahead this season. pity..:starved:

Tallanted
22/01/2011, 6:52 PM
I can hang on to beat them in the cup :cool:

howsyourtouch
24/01/2011, 2:25 PM
so wait, we were going to have to pay for the pleasure of playing sligo rovers?? ahahahahahahahaha, let them jump! they must be doing anything for money up there these days! what kind of a ****ing bus costs 900 euro to go from sligo to longford and back for what, 6 hours? pull the other one! they would probably try and scam some of the money from the gate aswell, they have previous with that!

24/01/2011, 9:53 PM
Ahh well that's a shame but like tallanted said let's get them in the cup then theyl be sorry :)

25/01/2011, 10:27 AM
me and massop10 will be at the friendly tonight. tommorrow I will put up the team and goalscorers for those that cant make it! interesting to see what sort of shape the lads will be.. I assume JP McDonagh will be playin for newbridge town tonight!

25/01/2011, 2:14 PM
Going to try get down later myself to it, depends on what time I get out of work. Will be at UCD Sunday anyway.

25/01/2011, 9:27 PM
Former Athlone Town player Dave O'Riorden plays for them too. They lost 2-1 against Willow Park in the LSC a few weeks ago

25/01/2011, 9:48 PM
Lost 1-0. Missed a load of chances by the looks of things from extratime's updates. Cousins out...Looked we had a few trialists involved including a couple of foreign lads and Daniel Reilly.

Town Legend
25/01/2011, 9:51 PM
A bit early to be looking for Cousins head! We're first game into pre-season and Newbridge are well into their season so fitness would be on their side.....results don't matter in pre-season really. I remember last season Newcastle got hammered 5-1 at Leyton Orient and went on to stroll the Championship.