View Full Version : Drogheda

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

18/01/2011, 5:32 PM
I assume he means covering the costs of the St. John's Ambulance service, not the ambulance specifically.

18/01/2011, 5:39 PM
I just can't see pulling this money in in the next 2 weeks. Not sure why they'd need every penny by then mind you, if they'd even got halfway surely it'd be worth sticking at it.

18/01/2011, 5:45 PM
Will all this mean we get a three nil win in our first game??

TOP OF THE LEAGUE. :cool:

iceman
18/01/2011, 6:58 PM
Club are saying they have 25 signed-up - Id have my doubts though.

Buile Shuibhne
18/01/2011, 9:50 PM
The 200k figure is a requirement of Licencing apparently?

The urgency of the matter comes into focus because under FAI licencing regulations, League of Ireland clubs must have "a firm commitment of €200,000" and this is required before the January 31st deadline.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0118/1224287833113.html

18/01/2011, 10:01 PM
Never heard of that before unless they're referring to the letter of comfort the directors sign?

18/01/2011, 11:16 PM
Yeah, I just saw that on the Irish Times site too. Never heard about that 'firm commitment' of 200 grand before.

Spudulika
19/01/2011, 5:35 AM
Is this not a case of "why should be bother, we were in the Champions League and close to a big win". Drogheda has not treated its sports teams very well, despite the population and location.

White Horse
19/01/2011, 8:03 AM
Is this not a case of "why should be bother, we were in the Champions League and close to a big win". Drogheda has not treated its sports teams very well, despite the population and location.

Drogheda is a strange town. Too many still look to the mothership down the M1 for employment and entertainment.

I admire those who tried to turn United into a unifying vehicle for the disparate local population. However, despite some initial promise, it hasn't worked.

It is difficult to sustain a LOI club in a town that doesn't have a sense of identity or pride.

Snoop Drog
19/01/2011, 8:49 AM
Drogheda is a strange town. Too many still look to the mothership down the M1 for employment and entertainment.

I admire those who tried to turn United into a unifying vehicle for the disparate local population. However, despite some initial promise, it hasn't worked.

It is difficult to sustain a LOI club in a town that doesn't have a sense of identity or pride.

Ha- Get it all out of your system. Just because the people of Drogheda have grown weary of the club, does not mean the town lacks identity and pride.

And I am not getting drawn into a "my town is better than your town" argument...

White Horse
19/01/2011, 8:54 AM
Ha- Get it all out of your system. Just because the people of Drogheda have grown weary of the club, does not mean the town lacks identity and pride.

And I am not getting drawn into a "my town is better than your town" argument...

I'm certainly not trying to drawn anyone into such a ridiculous argument.

I just don't understand how a town "grows weary" of it's club to such an extent as in Drogheda. It suggests a larger malaise.

Snoop Drog
19/01/2011, 9:17 AM
Perhaps the casual onlooker might determine that, but to those who have been exposed to a club who seems to endlessly have its hand out, while delivering little to the town (which has been the case, unfortunately, for much of the life of DUFC), such weariness is understandable. The club in its various guises has not always made good its debts and this has left a certain pessimism among much of the business population.

It is dangerous to judge a people by their reactions to a "fetish" sport like LOI football..

19/01/2011, 9:22 AM
I just don't understand how a town "grows weary" of it's club to such an extent as in Drogheda. It suggests a larger malaise.

Yup, because as we all know, the phrase, 'LOI fans' is synonymous with 'lots of people.'

marinobohs
19/01/2011, 10:36 AM
I'm certainly not trying to drawn anyone into such a ridiculous argument.

Given the many "deadlines"and last minute saviours Drogheda have had in recent years I can understand a certain weariness settling in among fans that have fundraised and given generously on a number of occassions. I suspect (hope) that fans - many of whom have carried out trojan work -will sigh and once again try to save their club.

The problem is the amounts of money clubs are seeking/needing are becoming ever larger (see Bohs etc) and are often beyond the fund raising amounts possible, especially in the current economic climate. Quite simply raising 200K in a couple of weeks in January is close to Mission Impossible. Given the small amount of people with an interest in LOI and the fact many/most/all have been well tapped up already there is a strong possibility the well may have run dry.

Dont get point RE Town. Suspect we are talking here of Drogs fans and not town population, many of whom were disinterested when Drogs were doing well.

White Horse
19/01/2011, 11:14 AM
It is dangerous to judge a people by their reactions to a "fetish" sport like LOI football..

Painfully true. :doctor:

S&M magazines would be an appropriate place to advertise the league.

19/01/2011, 1:02 PM

Thanks White Horse only for Dunleer the poor folk of Drogheda would be lost....

I can understand the weariness of Drogheda town when their club lurches from crises to crises, but i firmly believe that a brief taste of success has resulted in even the hardcore supporters not wanting to endure mediocrity. Regardless of how much it is claimed Mr Hoey et al did for the club in the past his continued involvement is/was bizarre in the context of previous problems - he may now oversee the final end of his club.

€1000 is a lot for any person to free up at any time - Dundalk sold a fraction of targeted co-op shares at €100 per share in more positive economic times!

19/01/2011, 3:12 PM
"another chapter in the pointless rivalry between Springfield and Shelbyville." ;)

orielabu
19/01/2011, 3:42 PM
Largely on the basis of the numbers supplied by Lim till I die and Iceman, and making crude estimates for some missing items, the annual accounts would look something like this;
Expenses:-
Players 20*50*36 =36k
Staff: 450 * 36 = 16k
Physio: 150 * 33 = 4k
Officials: 750 * 17 = 12k
Travel: 400 * 25 = 10k
Insurance: 15k
Training: 10k
Audited Accounts: 10k
Medical say 10k
Sundries say 25k
Annual Expenditure Total 148k….say 150k
Income:-
Gates 250 (average) *8*17 =34k
Season Tkts 100*100 =10k
C & B Subs say 150 *5*50 =38k
Car Park…c 30k
Bingo…c 30k
Mobile Phone Transmitter Rent…say 10k
Ground Advertising…say 40 hoardings *250…10k
Bar Profits…say 30k
Sponsor (Club)…say 25
Sponsors (Match day) 17*500…8k
Total Income …200k
SURPLUS (200 less 150)…50k
With numbers like these, what is the problem?

iceman
19/01/2011, 4:07 PM
Largely on the basis of the numbers supplied by Lim till I die and Iceman, and making crude estimates for some missing items, the annual accounts would look something like this;
Expenses:-
Players 20*50*36 =36k
Staff: 450 * 36 = 16k
Physio: 150 * 33 = 4k
Officials: 750 * 17 = 12k
Travel: 400 * 25 = 10k
Insurance: 15k
Training: 10k
Audited Accounts: 10k
Medical say 10k
Sundries say 25k
Annual Expenditure Total 148k….say 150k
Season Tkts 100*100 =10k
Car Park…c 30k
Bingo…c 30k
Mobile Phone Transmitter Rent…say 10k
Bar Profits…say 30k
Sponsor (Club)…say 25
Total Income …200k
SURPLUS (200 less 150)…50k
With numbers like these, what is the problem?
Would seem to make sense. The bingo is definately bringing in €40k, got that figure from the guy that runs it. Theres alse Billboard rental from the two large billboards at the rear of the away terrace. The C&B currently has about 270 members , some are paying double subscriptions. Add in Lotto sales and Goal Time raffle , should look like healthy reading.

corkery
19/01/2011, 4:21 PM
"another chapter in the pointless rivalry between Springfield and Shelbyville." ;)

Well said.

19/01/2011, 4:40 PM
Season Tkts 100*100 =10k
Sponsor (Club)…say 25k

All wildly optimistic for an amateur set up Drogheda.

19/01/2011, 4:44 PM
Also the 150k shortfall from the statement yesterday is still the same figure as in the statements before xmas

The anticipated deficit of € 150,000 – described in a club statement as the ‘most optimistic’ figure

:bulgy:

People of Drogheda, there are CLOWNS running your football club, do not give them any of your money! :ball:

19/01/2011, 5:03 PM

Ach i dont know Stu, i was being more critical of Dundalk's co-op sales if anything, i dont think any more than 80k was raised which was poor.
But sure where would you be without rivalries, pointless or not, - you know you would miss Shams fans telling you where went wrong at Bohs and how great they are now!!

19/01/2011, 5:59 PM
Ach i dont know Stu, i was being more critical of Dundalk's co-op sales if anything, i dont think any more than 80k was raised which was poor.
But sure where would you be without rivalries, pointless or not, - you know you would miss Shams fans telling you where went wrong at Bohs and how great they are now!!

haha!! true enough, the masochist that i am.

19/01/2011, 6:32 PM
Would seem to make sense. The bingo is definately bringing in €40k, got that figure from the guy that runs it. Theres alse Billboard rental from the two large billboards at the rear of the away terrace. The C&B currently has about 270 members , some are paying double subscriptions. Add in Lotto sales and Goal Time raffle , should look like healthy reading.

Wow, 40k in a couple of weeks? At a public meeting a couple of weeks ago, the person that runs the bingo stood up and told everyone there it was breaking even.

Theres no goal time raffle anymore either.

CAB membership will probably go down as a result of the recession this year too.

I must admit, im very confused on how our costs are so high compared to other first division clubs. But one figure that has been left out is the rent paid to the FAI for United Park. I have heard that they have even put up the rent on this. If the c*nts would just give us a break on that, im sure it'd be a great help!

Dont really know whats going on tbh, but the lads that are now running the show come across as decent lads. I actually don't know any of them really but from hearing them speak at a meeting a few weeks ago (i wasnt at the one on monday) they came across with their heads screwed on and just needed a break to get the show up and running.

It's going to be a very tough job for them though. Someone mentioned that the people of Drogheda were now 'weary' from it all. That couldn't be more true in my opinion.

Its mad. Examinsership seemed to take alot out of people, not just physically, but emotionally. We've never recovered from examinership. It left a bitter taste in various peoples mouths like local businesses that lost out (I actually know of 1 supporter who hasnt been up since examinsership because of teh way the players were treated during it - thats the sort of stuff since examinership)

But its not only that, but alot of die hards (lads who used follow us during first division days) have stopped going aswel. Various reasons for this, but one that keeps cropping up is that alot of supporters think they were treated like cr@p during the glory days, and they were prepared to put up with it at the time cos of the success, but then when it went t!ts up the club came crawling back to them, looking for money,etc - but they havent been back since.

Same with some local businesses who were treated badly during the glory days.

We have to somehow get over this part of it all!

As I said, some decent lads involved now. the 200k is going to be impossible too! But hopefully if we get a few quid towards the 200k, we might be prepared to move on from here!!

Btw would love to see a breakdown of our costs compared to other first division clubs!!

iceman
19/01/2011, 8:02 PM
Was'nt at the meeting a few weeks ago Cosmo but at the one before that in the clubhouse the guy that runs the bingo (MD) was asked how much it was making and the figure he gave without any hesitation was €40k.
I do know that there is a Garda licence issue with it now so maybe that accounts for the fall in income.
Also know for certain that the guy running the chipper van is paying rent as well that runs into a few grand a season. Maybe thats why he puts his prices up on matchdays :shock:

19/01/2011, 10:53 PM
Its mad. Examinsership seemed to take alot out of people, not just physically, but emotionally. We've never recovered from examinership. It left a bitter taste in various peoples mouths like local businesses that lost out (I actually know of 1 supporter who hasnt been up since examinsership because of teh way the players were treated during it - thats the sort of stuff since examinership)

But its not only that, but alot of die hards (lads who used follow us during first division days) have stopped going aswel. Various reasons for this, but one that keeps cropping up is that alot of supporters think they were treated like cr@p during the glory days, and they were prepared to put up with it at the time cos of the success, but then when it went t!ts up the club came crawling back to them, looking for money,etc - but they havent been back since.

Same with some local businesses who were treated badly during the glory days.

We have to somehow get over this part of it all!

Cosmo,

To be fair that is true of a lot of clubs- I know that a lot of the lads who did loads at Derry in 2000 just didn't have the same hunger for it when it appeared as if we were heading towards bankruptcy prior to the whole double contracts fiasco. At the end of the day a lot of people put their reputation on the line when asking other people to give money. When clubs **** all the goodwill up against the wall and end up in the same position a decade later it just isn't worth doing it again.

As crowds fall and there are less and less younger people going to games/involved in their clubs then the pool of volunteers is just exponentially smaller.

Guinney
19/01/2011, 11:24 PM
Good post, laughed when I read that. I'll actually miss the 'Big Louth Derby this year' and as a Dundalk fan I sincerely hope Drogheda survive this, despite my inherent dislike of Shelbyville :)

19/01/2011, 11:31 PM
Good post, laughed when I read that. I'll actually miss the 'Big Louth Derby this year' and as a Dundalk fan I sincerely hope Drogheda survive this, despite my inherent dislike of Shelbyville :)

What makes you think you're Springfield? Turnip or Lemon or Delicious cousin?

19/01/2011, 11:40 PM
Lemon.

They wanted to marry cousins and drink turnip juice!

http://media.skateboard.com.au/forum/images/13210.jpg

20/01/2011, 9:10 AM
But one figure that has been left out is the rent paid to the FAI for United Park. I have heard that they have even put up the rent on this.
Probably to pay for the improvements. :p

20/01/2011, 5:07 PM
Probably to pay for the improvements. :p

Do you really believe that with delaney and company?

I do agree though that we should pay back any money that the fai invest in united park through rent, but when its paid back, the rent should go to some nominal fee like 1euro or something.

But with the club on its knees, you'd think the FAI could give us a break for a year or two before we get back on out feet.

I still can't understand how our costs are supposed to be so high though, when compared to other loi clubs. The lads were asked at a public meeting a couple of weeks ago for the breakdown of these proposed costs by a supporter, and they wouldnt give them to him.

I asked myself today before commiting to contribute to a share as I want to see where my money would be going (not like after examinership). It seems to be like top secret fbi stuff!

Btw Mariborkev, point taken - wasnt suggesting it only happened to us!!

Just hope we can pull out of this!!

21/01/2011, 5:14 PM
The lads were asked at a public meeting a couple of weeks ago for the breakdown of these proposed costs by a supporter, and they wouldnt give them to him.

I asked myself today before commiting to contribute to a share as I want to see where my money would be going (not like after examinership). It seems to be like top secret fbi stuff!

Just on this again. The lads runnign the show now have agreed to meet anyone willing to buy a share and discuss the proposed breakdown of costs with them! Hopefully that'll help get a couple of more pople to buy a share!

shantykelly
21/01/2011, 5:18 PM
discuss? or give detailed analysis to? would be wary of committing to anything cosmo unless you're 100% sure where it's going.

chigg89
21/01/2011, 5:55 PM
But with the club on its knees, you'd think the FAI could give us a break for a year or two before we get back on out feet.

Are you serious?give yous a break for a year or two?please say this is a joke!why would they give yous a break until yous get back on your feet?I wouldn't invest any money into this setup!its just not going to work!too much money needed in too short a time and yous will probably just end up back at square one in a few years time!looking for more money from fans and more sympathy from the FAI and the public.

orielabu
21/01/2011, 6:50 PM
An integral and most enjoyable part of most of my adult life has been spent watching Dundalk beating the s**t out of Drogheda. I stress most…there have been enough unexpected variations in the Louth Derby during the past near-50 years to keep the interest alive and the pulse racing in the build up to the next local squabble.
So why am I going soft…hoping (no demanding) that the Drogs survive…not wanting to see an old enemy cease to exist…berating their supporters for not rallying to the cause.
It would be criminal if the present generation of Drogheda supporters would allow the efforts of the past near-50 years to be flushed away.
Please, please make it to the starting line. We haven’t finished handing out hammerings to you guys…not by a long shot.

CSFShels
21/01/2011, 8:51 PM
I do agree though that we should pay back any money that the fai invest in united park through rent, but when its paid back, the rent should go to some nominal fee like 1euro or something.
Why? Because the people of Drogheda can't run a football club no matter how many lifelines they get?

bullit
21/01/2011, 11:04 PM
Why? Because the people of Drogheda can't run a football club no matter how many lifelines they get?
Aye,they had after all a long enough lead in to the position that they now find themselves in!! How many lessons need to be learned up there??

Snoop Drog
22/01/2011, 9:11 AM
Hmmm..alot of "tut-tutting" from fans of other clubs who should have longer memories.

22/01/2011, 10:33 AM
Hmmm..alot of "tut-tutting" from fans of other clubs who should have longer memories.

Tut-tut :bashed:

22/01/2011, 12:14 PM

http://dcist.com/images/king_tut_dcist.jpg http://dcist.com/images/king_tut_dcist.jpg

22/01/2011, 2:17 PM
discuss? or give detailed analysis to? would be wary of committing to anything cosmo unless you're 100% sure where it's going.

Very detailed analysis - we met them this afternoon and tbf to them, they couldnt have really given us any more information that they did.

The group that are taking over now have nothign to do with the 3 moneymen - absolutely nothing. Theyre only normal supporters like me - but with their head screwed on (well from what i can tell - dont know them at all tbh)

CFSShels, we're one of the oldest clubs in the country - we've been yoyoing ever since the league has been broken into 2 tiers (well since we last got promoted) - its been a constant struggle to keep the club ticking over even since I've been goin up to united park (25 years now) and before im sure- but tell me anyone involved in a loi club that says its not a struggle!

If we can get a bit of a break now, I really do think we can push on from here!

passerrby
22/01/2011, 3:25 PM
would the fai not give you the prize money you might win in the future to help you out........ sorry wrong thread

White Horse
22/01/2011, 5:48 PM
CFSShels, we're one of the oldest clubs in the country

As someone who saw Drogheda FC play in the Lourdes Stadium, well before Drogheda United joined the League, I find your idea of "oldest" very odd.

You are still newbies.

22/01/2011, 6:05 PM
As someone who saw Drogheda FC play in the Lourdes Stadium, well before Drogheda United joined the League, I find your idea of "oldest" very odd.

You are still newbies.

Ah, ye see I knew some bitter from up the road would bite on that - I actually said the country and not the league. We were actually formed in 1919 (but then obviously joined up with drogheda fc who played in the lourdes in the 70's)

23/01/2011, 10:52 AM
Ah, ye see I knew some bitter from up the road would bite on that

Well you are a clever boy!!

23/01/2011, 7:23 PM
Ah, ye see I knew some bitter from up the road would bite on that -

Bitter about you lot??:laugh:

Spudulika
24/01/2011, 6:29 AM
As a lifelong Dundalk fan I admit to always checking for ours, then Drogheda's results, no matter what divisions were were in. Anybody from Dundalk who is glorying in the troubles of any club, let alone a neighbour, should be ashamed and betray their status as "fans" rather than supporters. It wasn't too long ago when Dundalk were the laughing stock of world football, and before that a sore on the eye of Irish football. It's lovely to laugh when you're on the tigers back, when you fall off you're focked.

24/01/2011, 8:52 AM
Has any Dundalk fan posted that they are enjoying Drogheda's current situation??

Newry Lifer
24/01/2011, 9:01 AM
Not nice to hear about any club being in difficulties. Certainly hope "The Drogs" can survive.