View Full Version : Budget 12/2010
03/12/2010, 1:24 PM
Actually I'm just posting the Fine Gael (http://www.moneyguideireland.com/budget-2011-fine-gael-alternative.html) and Labour (http://www.moneyguideireland.com/labour-party-budget-proposals.html) proposals, but this might as well be a general budget thread.
If you merge them, in a coalition government with FG at the helm and a large Lab contingent, but amend the higher income/corporation taxes to increase by 1%, I'll storm the Dail tomorrow. :)
Reality Bites
03/12/2010, 1:34 PM
Actually I'm just posting the Fine Gael (http://www.moneyguideireland.com/budget-2011-fine-gael-alternative.html) and Labour (http://www.moneyguideireland.com/labour-party-budget-proposals.html) proposals, but this might as well be a general budget thread.
If you merge them, in a coalition government with FG at the helm and a large Lab contingent, but amend the higher income/corporation taxes to increase by 1%, I'll storm the Dail tomorrow. :)
As per my thread below on Default, surely the only option is to reject budget and set up procedure for default...Budget is an exercise in kowtowing to our European masters with their needless and excessive interest rate on loan...if Gilmore can match his indignation in the dail yesterday with the strength to reject Budget well then that is the single most important issue up for debate!
03/12/2010, 7:05 PM
I don't think FG and Labour are willing to admit that we need to default yet. I'm not sure they will until it's too late. I'm not sure they'll ever admit it.
04/12/2010, 4:42 PM
You can't announce your intention to default. We won't know til it happens. Though I'd say we would be a year from it at least.
06/12/2010, 4:58 PM
Lowry caves in, and the budget is passed.
http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1206/budget.html
06/12/2010, 5:00 PM
I'm shocked and stunned. He's so trustworthy!
Link to article: http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1206/budget.html
culloty82
06/12/2010, 5:17 PM
The bigger story must be Lucinda Creighton though - surely Kenny must kick her out of FG if she does abstain or vote in favour.
06/12/2010, 5:34 PM
Lowry caves in, and the budget is passed.
http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1206/budget.html
Just been listening to the odious shoite on The Last Word.
He's just doing what's right for the country.
In other words the Gaming legislation will be passed before the end of this Dáil and he'll get his Tipp Vegas
06/12/2010, 5:46 PM
The bigger story must be Lucinda Creighton though - surely Kenny must kick her out of FG if she does abstain or vote in favour.
Had a seminar cancelled on Friday just gone and she was to lecture at it. Was dying to get stuck into her, figuratively, over her codology the last year. If she doesn't vote with her party she'll lose the whip. I can see this being another FG crisis. Toolage.
How could she vote against it with any credibility now? Surely she has to abstain at this stage, it would be ridiculous to vote against it just because she thought it would make no difference.
As for Lowry- he is scum. And so are those that vote for him.
06/12/2010, 8:03 PM
How could she vote against it with any credibility now? Surely she has to abstain at this stage, it would be ridiculous to vote against it just because she thought it would make no difference.
As for Lowry- he is scum. And so are those that vote for him.
If she doesn't walk up the No aisle tomorrow night, her electorate should make an example of her at the polls. "Abstaining" is the cowards way out, and voting for it (in all but technicality) to me.
We need a new government with a fresh budget. The country is funded until after the next election, so a blueshirt voting for an FF budget, instead of their own budget in a few weeks, means her position within the party is untenable.
We don't want this budget, we don't want this government to implement this budget. This is a time for those overpaid robots in there to stand up and fight for this country tomorrow night, and the only way of doing that is by walking up the No Aisle.
06/12/2010, 8:24 PM
Completely agree.
06/12/2010, 10:37 PM
Legalisiation of Drugs is the answer. With the Netherlands preparing to slaughter their cash cow it's time for us to step in as Narco-Tourism central. Think all the jobs that will be created. Think of the tax revenue. Granted I may be late for work the odd day...
now youre talking. I might even come home then!
07/12/2010, 9:57 AM
Hmmm... yeah right... Ireland or Canada, Ireland or Canada, Ireland or Canada?
After spending two weeks there last winter I can honestly say you'll be buying me a pint in Saskatoon before I get you one in Dublin you crazy man.
Fr Damo
07/12/2010, 1:53 PM
Rumours abound that public sector pay will be maxed at 250K and RTE were falling over themselves going through the semi sates and what it would mean to the CEOs of those companies.
CIE
Coillte
ESB
RTE
DAA
+ a few more are all on more than 250k pa and therefore are in line for a reduction. 66% in the case of P McManus at ESB. Is this optics or can the Government actually succeed?
Don't see how they wouldn't succeed. FG have said they'll limit it to 200k, Labour have said 190k
That will be for new hires. Those already there will not be affected I think.
Edit: I was referring to the semi-states here.
Fr Damo
07/12/2010, 2:37 PM
RTE seemed pretty sure it ment pay reductions for those on 250+ already.
Guess we'll know soon enough but there aren't many semi states hiring and offerring pay of 250k at the moment.
07/12/2010, 2:58 PM
187 Euro is the JA/JB rate next year.
07/12/2010, 4:31 PM
A lovely imaginative budget from such an intelligent group of people.
That Jackie Healy-Rae and Odious Mick are the power holders here makes me sick to my stomach.
We are so so close to the end I can only thank God that it's finally budget day.
07/12/2010, 4:56 PM
Of course no-one'll have the balls to vote against it and kick off the election.
I'm off to refuel the barge.
07/12/2010, 5:04 PM
Good call.
Lenihan bumbling along on the last word. Matt asked about the salary of the President and the answer that was forthcoming was that that would be a matter for the Presidential election.
Just wow.
He's now proud of the fact that he did his best. Also he's proud if the people of Ireland for supporting the budgets.
The Government has taken the correct decisions. It's a cult.
07/12/2010, 5:10 PM
Cult of non-personality?
07/12/2010, 6:25 PM
When do all these budget measures actually come into effect?
Fr Damo
07/12/2010, 6:29 PM
as is typical of their planning,
Fuel Immediatly
Socail welfare I guess 2011
Income tax 2011
Stamp duty God knows when
Travel tax come March.
You couldn't make it up.
I can't wait for the 2% increase in vat they are talking about in years to come being implemented on a friday afternoon of their choice. Probably the week before the EUFA final. Good a time as any!
Comic Book Guy
07/12/2010, 6:35 PM
Not one bit surprised, it seems to me that as per usual the top earners get away scot free while the most vulnerable are cut. Does anybody else here think that Zanu FF have laid a booby trap for the next government?
I'm pretty sure we'll be back here next year talking about the 2012 budget being the most severe in our history. IMO Zanu FF have failed to tackle the exorbitant wages of the top earners in the semi-state, they have failed to tackle the wastage in the numerous unnecessary quangos as well as meaningful cuts in politicians pay,they have failed to hit those who can pay the most.
All of this will no doubt be left to the incoming government who may implement these measures and more only for Zanu FF to jump up and down and play the populist card and be returned to power by the sheep of this land?
To finish off as I was walking home I noticed a plaque on a wall of a house dedicated to the memory of a person who died on hunger strike in 1920 during the war of independence. I thought to myself 'what did you die for? A bunch of gob****e, corrupt gombeens, traitors, self-serving sleeveens, that's what this person died for.
07/12/2010, 7:06 PM
Vote Results:
1. Yes 82, No 77
2. Yes 82, No 78
3. Yes 82, No 77
4. Yes 83, No 27
FG abstention on the last vote, but the Budget has passed through the Dail, and is now sent to the Seanad.
07/12/2010, 8:09 PM
Did Creighton get a telling off to vote in the second one?
07/12/2010, 8:25 PM
When do all these budget measures actually come into effect?
Usually Jan 1, but things like fuel and fags are next day.
07/12/2010, 10:16 PM
So who here watched Noonan mill Lenihan out of it. It was cruel TV. Loved it.
Spudulika
08/12/2010, 1:20 AM
Still trying to figure out how Lenihan thinks he'll get away with it. Simply means another FF government, absolutely nothing to make the country more attractive for foreign investment or local start ups. I really feel this budget is another measure in which FF are trying to destroy the country for the party's own good, and they'll make out like bandits with the loot.
08/12/2010, 4:41 AM
Noonan kept his cool while landing punches. The real battle was between Doherty and Coughlan. Making his first major speech, he started out at high volume and quickly reached Ian Paisley level, for the rest of his 40-minute rant, including referring to the Munster Independents as "gombeen politicians".
08/12/2010, 7:15 AM
Doherty ruined it all when he came up against James Reilly. Awful performance.
Usually Jan 1, but things like fuel and fags are next day.
Stamp Duty changes come into effect today as well. They're rushing through the social welfare changes as well so that become full year rather than changing in March.
How come the CEO's of semi states can't have their wages touched for "contractual reasons", but every other level of the public sector can take two pay cuts at the stroke (no pun intended) of a pen?
And btw, RTE are creaming themselves over it as most of the big "stars" are independant contractors not salaried employees (and I believe several of them are paid through a company, who they then take a salary from, thus avoiding tax - remember that when they bleat about fairness or attack civil servants)
08/12/2010, 1:35 PM
Following on from Brian Lenihan's famous comment that there will not be a deposit drain in Ireland 'because Ireland is an Island', this utter gobs goes on to justify the terms of budget - 'we all have to pay ... because we have a country'.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZeijZc7CbdY
The most galling aspect of the budget speech to me is the way he mentioned how much of a hit the Taoiseach and ministers (but not TDs) have taken. Even today he came out with more figures to say the Taoiseach now "only" has 100k "take home pay". As if the difference between 100k and 140k means anything?
Difference of €40 a week makes a huge difference to those on minimum wage though
08/12/2010, 4:05 PM
"I appreciate that this is a big ask for anyone half-way through the year"
Is it any wonder that we are in such a mess if our minister for finance thinks we are half-way through the year in December.
Unless they are of course using the fabled calendar of Lynmassdevhaugh which dictates time to be periods of ethereal existence as decided on an ongoing basis going foward to be the only solution to our problems.
Spudulika
08/12/2010, 6:12 PM
Bonnie, give the man a break, we should love him all the more for this. By year he means season - so fair dues, he's looking for the LOI vote! Then remembered, oh feck, sure isn't it a summer season now. I can't take him seriously thanks to Nob Nation.
08/12/2010, 6:12 PM
"We have a country"
We use to own a decent part of it before he decided to mortgage it away.
And then Fine Gael will ride in to sell off the rest of it, starting with 9% of the land - which is mainly forest, ESB and Gas.
A complete new twist to the 'nightmare before christmas'.
08/12/2010, 9:25 PM
Bonnie, give the man a break, we should love him all the more for this. By year he means season - so fair dues, he's looking for the LOI vote! Then remembered, oh feck, sure isn't it a summer season now. I can't take him seriously thanks to Nob Nation.
Nob Nation's the reason? :P
Geysir. Don't worry. Labour won't let them do it. Don't worry.
08/12/2010, 10:31 PM
I always worry when a man in a suit comes on the screen and says don't worry.
08/12/2010, 11:05 PM
Well. I wasn't wearing a suit or on VB.
Watching O Cuiv makes me wonder sometimes... why didn't the British army just sort out Dev when they had the chance in 1916?
08/12/2010, 11:52 PM
Don't confuse O'Cuiv with Dev, Dev wouldn't have resorted to telling the peasantry to string themselves up with their rosary beads while the political masters sold the sovereignty of the country and made the people pay for the deal.
Though it wouldn't surprise me if FF arranged to have Dev's bones dug up and paraded them around the country after christmas.
Spudulika
09/12/2010, 6:59 AM
Well, it would work. DeV had one of the great share scams and made his family, and FF, rich with it. So maybe he can deliver something similar from hell - a scheme to rip off more yanks.
09/12/2010, 7:59 AM
His name alone makes me think of my grandad's vitriolic distaste of the man. Reminds me of my dislike for Haughey and De Poor oul Bert. Fgsfgugdhfhggfhggdhuhjkkkjgd.
Nob Nation's the reason?
Well Gift Grub was part of Bartholomew's appeal, imho. Certainly played up to the loveable rogue rather than the reality anyway in a lot of peoples heads.
09/12/2010, 8:45 AM
That's very true. As much as I loved Gift I hate that very thing you just mentioned.
Though Noonan's return to the front bench in FG gave us one of the funniest Gift Grubs ever.
09/12/2010, 8:47 AM
Don't confuse O'Cuiv with Dev, Dev wouldn't have resorted to telling the peasantry to string themselves up with their rosary beads while the political masters sold the sovereignty of the country and made the people pay for the deal.
Though it wouldn't surprise me if FF arranged to have Dev's bones dug up and paraded them around the country after christmas.
No, I suspect Dev would have defaulted on our debt.