View Full Version : New LOI Book

Pages : 1 2 [3]

27/12/2010, 1:57 PM
Seemingly all easons in Dublin have it. Starting it today. Kettle is on; biscuits at the ready.

gufcfan
27/12/2010, 6:49 PM
Really enjoying the book. 10 or 15 pages left to read. Some excellent insights. Felt a little let down by the Galway United chapter, but only because I would have known everything about the tie already, apart from a couple of insights from Ski and others. Overall, a great book. Would recommend to anyone with even a passing interest in Irish soccer.

oriel
27/12/2010, 9:00 PM
Im picking out chapters, after the Dundalk one, I read Galway`s first adventure into Europe, was a bit sceptical why it was included, but was a marvelous read, some great stories in that one.

Pineapple, you said you didn't ask ask in Hogis Figgis/Waterstones on Dawson, I changed the habbit of a lifetime and asked, probably reason i got it so handy.

I think I posted this before but at the Spurs game there was a very funny line from the game, this was actually in Glenn Hoddles book. Long story short, was 1981, H Block hungers strikes in full swing, parts of Dundalk area are less than 5 miles to the border, considerable tension, Spurs team understandbly worried, game on, match night, Spurs players out warming up as 18,0000 settled in, PA man, the late great San McGarritty, 'ladies and gentlemen, can I have your attention please', Spurs team froze, thinking a bomb scare...................................PA continues............................'Bovril will be on sale at half time'

27/12/2010, 9:03 PM
Pineapple, you said you didn't ask ask in Hogis Figgis/Waterstones on Dawson, I changed the habbit of a lifetime and asked, probably reason i got it so handy.
Was in Waterstone's today (don't think I can walk past a bookshop without going in for half an hour, to be honest) and it was there alright. So yeah, maybe I should have just asked, but feck it, it's in the pile now either way.

27/12/2010, 11:11 PM
Finally started it today. So far so good.
I'm a little suspicious of the Dunphy stuff during the Rovers v Man U chapter at the start... he's not very nailed on about the specifics of the game. Rico in the otherhand is. Eamo sounds like a lad who convinced himself that he was there.

28/12/2010, 11:22 AM
sounds really good its hard to find a good football book can this be bought in easons might get my hands on it.

outspoken I got the book in easons in longford so u should ave no bother in purchasin it there were plenty of copies left when I was there last!

SwanVsDalton
28/12/2010, 5:28 PM
Frustratingly couldn't find it in Easons, Derry, before Xmas. Asked a guy if they had it, he gave me a gormless look before saying: "Football, is it about southern football?" "Yes," I replied, "so Derry City are in it." He looked at me even more baffled after that. The heart breaks.

Bizarrely enough managed to find it in Waterstones, Belfast - it was brightly displayed front and centre in the new releases section. I'm sure this has more to do with Waterstones' better selection but still a little odd. The Easons in Belfast didn't have it either.

Looks a great read anyhow.

geezer
28/12/2010, 5:49 PM
either, tried a few times

gufcfan
28/12/2010, 6:21 PM
either, tried a few times
Most bookshops have it Geezer. I went across the road and bought it. Easons staff couldn't be arsed to look for it. Asked if they had the book, checked on computer... said yes. I replied that I had looked in the sports section and that I couldn't find it. "Well if you look again and don't find it, we probably don't have it then."

Hard to find anything of quality amongst the mountains Premiership footballer biographies.

sparky12345678
28/12/2010, 9:38 PM
I got one in hodges and fidges 2 or 3 days before xmas 4 the lil bro....it was in the irish soccer section (upstairs to the right of the counter and right of the soccer section). When i asked they seemed to recognise it even though i didnt now the name of it (i think one of them even said something like "if theres any left", dno whether thats a good thing or bad thing lol)
had a nice flick through looks interesting....hope he reads it and i can steal it for myself (im a massive collector of books!). It definitly looks like a must have for any irish fan of soccer or even local eh anecdotes etc.
and looking forward to a follow up....

29/12/2010, 1:59 PM
Frustratingly couldn't find it in Easons, Derry, before Xmas. Asked a guy if they had it, he gave me a gormless look before saying: "Football, is it about southern football?" "Yes," I replied, "so Derry City are in it." He looked at me even more baffled after that. The heart breaks.

Bizarrely enough managed to find it in Waterstones, Belfast - it was brightly displayed front and centre in the new releases section. I'm sure this has more to do with Waterstones' better selection but still a little odd. The Easons in Belfast didn't have it either.

Completely OT, but the lack of a decent bookshop here in Derry is something that infuriates me every time I'm back.

29/12/2010, 2:18 PM
Not saying this as a defence of Eason's but a lot of their stores are franchises so as a result they would stock locally what they consider to be more relevant whereas the Eason's owned stores would stock everything they can. Wither way good to see this selling so well. Very glad of it to be honest.

SwanVsDalton
29/12/2010, 2:27 PM
Completely OT, but the lack of a decent bookshop here in Derry is something that infuriates me every time I'm back.

Big time - Bookworm is sorely missed.

Not saying this as a defence of Eason's but a lot of their stores are franchises so as a result they would stock locally what they consider to be more relevant whereas the Eason's owned stores would stock everything they can. Wither way good to see this selling so well. Very glad of it to be honest.

Absolutely, but that's what frustrated me. Easons, Derry, is coming down with local books that wouldn't be sold in any other Easons and there's obviously a local interest angle for this book. But in the local franchise of an Irish company they hadn't even heard of it. Yet I could get it no problem in an English franchise in Belfast, where most Linfield, Glens, Crues and Cliftonville fans wouldn't give it the same time of day.

29/12/2010, 3:52 PM
finally read the book this morning.. paul keane knows his stuff and the attention to detail is staggerin.. really lookin forward to readin part two of it. that shels book that was released last year cant be bought elsewhere. has anyone any unwanted copies of it that I can get the lend of or buy it off ye please?

29/12/2010, 4:00 PM
outspoken I got the book in easons in longford so u should ave no bother in purchasin it there were plenty of copies left when I was there last!

ohh great thanks mate

KianD
29/12/2010, 9:50 PM
Got this for christmas (father bought it online, Book Depository rather than Amazon I think), not got a chance to read it yet though.

Yard of Pace
30/12/2010, 1:41 AM
Who is Paul Keane? Does he write for a newspaper?

Great to see so much praise for the book here, it's brilliant. Funnily enough, a book review in the Indo gave it 3 out of 5. Can't quite understand that. And labelling it as for purely LOI diehards does it a massive disservice considering even the most ignorant of barstoolers would recognise a lot of the names of the foreign teams, and maybe even some of their players...

marinobohs
30/12/2010, 12:11 PM
Who is Paul Keane? Does he write for a newspaper?

Great to see so much praise for the book here, it's brilliant. Funnily enough, a book review in the Indo gave it 3 out of 5. Can't quite understand that. And labelling it as for purely LOI diehards does it a massive disservice considering even the most ignorant of barstoolers would recognise a lot of the names of the foreign teams, and maybe even some of their players...

Anything that does not mention "man U" "chelsea" or Premier League is way, way to specialist for the football "experts" at the Indo.
Actually thought the book should have wider appeal to anyone here (and possibly abroad) with an interest in footie but then again I dont limit my reading to Wayne Rooneys biography (Vol 3 15-18 years) or Ryan Giggs cookery book :o

oriel
01/01/2011, 12:32 PM
I thought the Waterford v Man U chapter was brilliant, gave a great background to the Waterford side finishing bottom of the league in the mid 60`s, then going on to win 6 titles in 8 seasons up to 1973, what a team they must have been. I would love to read more about how good they were as that was some achievement.

The aggregate defeat v United was fairly big, but Man U were European champions.

gufcfan
01/01/2011, 10:17 PM
Will definitely pick up the next book.

02/01/2011, 5:06 PM
I think we all will. Gave it to a Shels supporting mate living in London and his Kiwi housemate seemed intrigued by it. That's pretty widespread appeal I reckon.

02/01/2011, 9:06 PM
I've thrown up a review of it here (http://brandyblogs.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/europeans-dreams-so-hard-to-beat/). It should be on the blog on here as well.

03/01/2011, 11:03 PM
I've thrown up a review of it here (http://brandyblogs.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/europeans-dreams-so-hard-to-beat/). It should be on the blog on here as well.

Fantastic review mariborkev

Spudulika
04/01/2011, 5:28 AM
Halfway through it right now, but for dividing attention between work, travel and a 1 year old I'd be calling it unputdownable. Some very clear "missed chances" in it, as well as some great memories. I loved the piece on Athlone. Highly recommend this to anyone who likes football, not just LOI football.

04/01/2011, 9:26 AM
Great review Kev.

Just had an oul lad in work comment in the cover photo.

"Waterford v Man United, They won 3-1 or 3-0, great game, *pointing to the terrace* I was up there. Jaysus I'm showing my age."

That warmed the fluey cockles of a morning.

stann
04/01/2011, 4:48 PM
gave a great background to the Waterford side finishing bottom of the league in the mid 60`s, then going on to win 6 titles in 8 seasons up to 1973, what a team they must have been. I would love to read more about how good they were as that was some achievement.

So good that in honour of them, in order not to take a whit from that phenomenal feat like, we've endeavoured not to win any more titles since. Been tough going at times but so far so good! :wink:

Just want to add to all the praise so far. The book is excellent, a great read for any football fan. Also very much looking forward to a part two if there is one.

BohsFans
13/01/2011, 4:30 PM
Anywhere in town (Dublin) got this?

Tried the main shops + Omni and nothing!

13/01/2011, 6:38 PM

All Easons' have it. Just ask when you go on.

BohsFans
13/01/2011, 7:04 PM
All Easons' have it. Just ask when you go on.

could only see the shels book, are they hiding this one away somewhere?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/01/2011, 7:57 PM

I just bought one this evening in Dubrays book store on Grafton Street (across from HMV). Up on the top floor is the sport section. It was in alphabetical order so was very easy to find. Granted they only have one copy left after my purchase but I doubt they sold that since. Had tried everywhere else before that also.

Paul Keane
08/02/2011, 10:21 PM
Hi all, just a quick note to everyone on the forum who bought a copy of Gods Vs Mortals - thanks a lot! All the feedback, positive comments and suggestions over the last couple of months on this forum was much appreciated. Hopefully a volume 2 will get lift off at some stage in the future.

Anyone who wishes to make contact with me regarding anything in the book or where they can pick up a copy - I'm aware that some shops are currently low on stock - please don't hesitate to drop me an email (pdk123@eircom.net).

Paul Keane.

09/02/2011, 1:27 PM
Have been meaning to comment snout the book since I finished it. My word it truly is a great piece of work.
Having only managed to have been at one game therein I have to say it truly brought the night back home to me.

Sports books of this sort are notoriously difficult to pull off and its made incalculably more difficult because we know the ending.
That didn't matter. Reading through the Shels v Rangers section was just a great example of that. I was getting excited again watching us race into a 3-0 lead and I was thoroughly deflated after that chapter wondering what might have been. An exceptional read. A credit to the author.

Thanks Paul. Roll on Volume II.

bluemovie
09/02/2011, 1:34 PM
Brilliant book. Definitely hoping for Volume Two. Preferably with some of the dodgy trips to Eastern Europe.

PartySaint
09/02/2011, 3:17 PM
I will repeat what i have already said, Its a fantastic read, I recommended it to a friend of mine who has recently bought it and couldn't put it down and has since passed it on to his grandfather, great work, can't wait until the second one

marinobohs
10/02/2011, 10:59 AM
Again, would like to add my congrats to all involved. Great read and brought back some fabulous memories :cool: excellent book and looking forward to Vol 2 (Aberdeen and Kauserslauten PLEASE )

Will be holding on to mine to reread chapters and annoy people with various references to matches reported on (guaranteed to get my own table in the local:o)

Now, do yis remember the time when............

seand60
15/02/2011, 2:37 PM
Yeah when it took ye a week to get to Tblisi I think and another week coming back. Moscow was only half way there!

16/02/2011, 11:34 AM
I have trouble getting the shelbourne book. waterstones sent me an email sayin that the order was being cancelled after me waiting a month and a half to get it. Can anyone suggest where I can order this book or has anyone any spare copies that I can get the lend of pls?If you can help send me a pm.

PartySaint
16/02/2011, 12:48 PM
I have trouble getting the shelbourne book. waterstones sent me an email sayin that the order was being cancelled after me waiting a month and a half to get it. Can anyone suggest where I can order this book or has anyone any spare copies that I can get the lend of pls?If you can help send me a pm.

I know easons in Tallaght have it but not sure if that's any good to you

17/02/2011, 11:51 AM
I know easons in Tallaght have it but not sure if that's any good to you

yeah that might be of help. I will give them a shout and order it over the phone!! thanks for your help partysaint!