View Full Version : Ins, outs, rumours?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

howsyourtouch
17/11/2010, 5:47 PM
id say it would have to count on whether he is finished his degree in DCU or not,if he is in college in dublin it makes sense for him to play up there aswell!

Rocky77
17/11/2010, 7:35 PM
He finished in college in May just gone

19/11/2010, 9:08 AM
I'd still expect to see some of them back next season. It happened last year as well with other clubs that players names appeared on the list but they ended up back at the same club.
I would suspect there's some signing on fee, albeit a fairly small amount at this level, which could explain it.

howsyourtouch
19/11/2010, 4:51 PM
are we signing two lads from athlone? some skelly lad and mark nolan?

does anyone have any more on this?

19/11/2010, 6:01 PM
ohh no not skelly , better get a spare midfielder cause hel be suspended all year hes only a mouth

19/11/2010, 6:14 PM
That Skelly lad isn't a bad player from what I remember. Definitely Athlone's best player when we played them in Flancare this season.

19/11/2010, 6:37 PM
wasnt austin skelly the top scorer with athlone last season with ten goals? mark nolan is pretty well rated too.. athlone must be losin the majority of their squad too to other clubs.. if fabio is available i would take him at an instant.. tony cousins was asst mgr at drogs when fabio was there..

19/11/2010, 6:59 PM
wasnt austin skelly the top scorer with athlone last season with ten goals? mark nolan is pretty well rated too.. athlone must be losin the majority of their squad too to other clubs.. if fabio is available i would take him at an instant.. tony cousins was asst mgr at drogs when fabio was there..

i think he went to athlone because of the player/coach role wasn't it

from what I seen of skelly hes not bad

19/11/2010, 7:00 PM
i think he went to athlone because of the player/coach role wasn't it

from what I seen of skelly hes not bad

yeah thats right i assume with brendan place gone this no longer applies to him...

20/11/2010, 2:46 PM
Skelly was full of mouth alright when he played Limerick but he actually looked like a decent player. Scored against us (on two occassions possibly) and finished well up in the goal scoring charts.

20/11/2010, 3:58 PM

Mark Nolan is quite a good player but fabio o'brien is a complete has been wouldnt touch him

20/11/2010, 7:31 PM
confirmed on the general forum earlier on the signings thread:

des hope and austin skelly have signed for longford!!

courtesy of athlonetown man. opinions anyone?

21/11/2010, 1:10 PM
des is an decent defender (i'm thinking of the right guy yeah? ) and Austin ain't bad either and does chip in with a fair few goals, i think they are certainly better than some of the lads we had/have currently

Cabs88
21/11/2010, 1:16 PM
according to this, skelly has scored 10 goals in 23 appearances last season, not a bad return!

http://www.soccerway.com/players/austin-skelly/85045/

21/11/2010, 1:27 PM
according to this, skelly has scored 10 goals in 23 appearances last season, not a bad return!

http://www.soccerway.com/players/austin-skelly/85045/

especially when you play in a crap side, imagine what he could do playing for long....... oh wait..

21/11/2010, 6:05 PM
Des hope is a good signing he should definitely strengthen that back 4 of ours as for skelly not his biggest fan as we all know but if he behaves himself then who knows what he could do 4 us.

21/11/2010, 6:23 PM
Just spoke to Des on fb he signed 4 us on thursday night and said he cant wait to get going and thinks we will have a good season also spoke to skelly who said he signed for us on Friday and can't wait to pull on the red and black and give it 100% and hopfully chip in with a few goals.

howsyourtouch
21/11/2010, 11:30 PM
so i got here first with this info!? looks like im winning that micky measuring competition on here! :p

22/11/2010, 10:56 AM
Just spoke to Des on fb he signed 4 us on thursday night and said he cant wait to get going and thinks we will have a good season also spoke to skelly who said he signed for us on Friday and can't wait to pull on the red and black and give it 100% and hopfully chip in with a few goals.

Did they say it's a dream come true and that they were boyhood Town fans?

22/11/2010, 12:30 PM
Did they say it's a dream come true and that they were boyhood Town fans?

seen as a stepping stone to the international squad no doubt

22/11/2010, 12:47 PM
Anyone want to be cool and post the names of the people who are definitely staying for next season so and then we can keep copying and pasting the new names onto it?

26/11/2010, 3:45 PM
Was chating to Kevin Cronin last night he is not staying with us , he dsnt know about Gary yet hes still undecided and he told me that Jason Oladale is permanent not a loanee as some suggested and he is staying.

26/11/2010, 4:24 PM
Well I think we can all agree that the Cronin's would be absolutely no loss whatsoever. Absolutely useless.

Frank76
02/12/2010, 11:18 AM
Two good signings for ye there in Hope and Skelly. I hear you are also after our young keeper Schlingermann. I'm sure he'd only be brought in as a back up keeper as he's still only learning hos trade.

02/12/2010, 6:09 PM
Wouldn't be a big fan of shligerman he was at fault for victors goal when we beat athlone in flancare this season and yes he is young and every keeper makes mistakes but he just dsnt tick all the boxes for me

03/12/2010, 11:28 AM
I'd love to get that lad in from what I've seen hes very good for his age

03/12/2010, 12:02 PM
Wouldn't be a big fan of shligerman he was at fault for victors goal when we beat athlone in flancare this season and yes he is young and every keeper makes mistakes but he just dsnt tick all the boxes for me

Oh dear.

You're judging a lad on one performance?

03/12/2010, 5:01 PM
I knew id get that response but im sorry im just not a big fan of his.

03/12/2010, 8:07 PM
didn't he win the all Ireland with mayo minors? or got to the final or something too

Cabs88
03/12/2010, 9:47 PM
I knew id get that response but im sorry im just not a big fan of his.

surely for someone looking for a feature in writing on football you cant be making such sweeping statements on players after one game? For what its worth, i think he could be potentially an excellent signing, he was on the books of sligo before playin minor with mayo as mentioned above and was motm in the all ireland semi final.. I think he is exactly the type of player we need, young hungry and wanting to improve, cant be much worse than what we have

03/12/2010, 9:58 PM
I'm just not a fan of goalkeepers that make the switch over from gaa they never seem to work out , we all remember Brendan murphy great gaa keeper awful football keeper And it would be a 3rd signing from athlone I had a feeling this would happen surley we can spread our wings a bit mire an sign a few players from somewhere else

Cabs88
03/12/2010, 10:05 PM
he has played soccer as well as football (and hurling) all the way growing up, and besides, a lot of goal keepers in this country would have some background in gaelic football

04/12/2010, 10:50 AM
shay given was a gaa goalkeeper...

L.T.F.C.
04/12/2010, 1:11 PM
When he was a child, just like nearly every sporting Irish person was involved with GAA.

04/12/2010, 3:54 PM
When he was a child, just like nearly every sporting Irish person was involved with GAA.
And by god, don't RTE love banging on about every sportsman/woman having some history with the GAA, no matter however tenuous. When they're not being like Pravda for FF, they're GAA propagandists. "So you are world table tennis champion, tell us how playing under 12 hurling helped get you to this point..."

Rocky77
04/12/2010, 4:51 PM
Salt and vinegar with that chip?

howsyourtouch
04/12/2010, 5:22 PM
I'm just not a fan of goalkeepers that make the switch over from gaa they never seem to work out , we all remember Brendan murphy great gaa keeper awful football keeper And it would be a 3rd signing from athlone I had a feeling this would happen surley we can spread our wings a bit mire an sign a few players from somewhere else

yeah your right, a goal keeper making the switch over from a game that is all about people using their hands to catch footballs is bound to go bad! i mean like all that going down low for balls along the ground and high fielding off balls coming in from a height in on top off him had to have had a bad effect on a goal keeper, he will never use them type of skills as a goalkeeper at all!!!!

05/12/2010, 2:01 PM
I was talking to a fella from sligo thats in the office for a few days whos involved with them in stewardin and the news in sligo is that Conor O'Grady is heavily linked with a move to us. I dont know if it will be popular after what he did to us three years ago in preseason in the relegation season but it would be a hell of a good move to get him...

Town Legend
05/12/2010, 2:20 PM
I was talking to a fella from sligo thats in the office for a few days whos involved with them in stewardin and the news in sligo is that Conor O'Grady is heavily linked with a move to us. I dont know if it will be popular after what he did to us three years ago in preseason in the relegation season but it would be a hell of a good move to get him...

If thats true and he signs and plays well I can forgive him! Is the transfer window open yet cos thought we'd of announced who we have signed and re-signed by now.

05/12/2010, 3:10 PM
Ah I wouldn't be too worried by what happened in 2007, he never wanted to leave Sligo in the first place and we should have signed him to a contract when we had the chance. He'd be a very good signing but given that we'll presumably be training in Dublin again this year I don't know if that'd appeal to him for the small wage we could offer him. Finn Harps would probably be handier for him.

L.T.F.C.
06/12/2010, 12:47 AM
What did he do?

06/12/2010, 10:56 AM
That would be a serious signing but some how I dont see it happening

Town Legend
08/12/2010, 7:09 PM
Its in the Leader today that we have signed and re-signed 12 players but they gave no names! A bit starnge not to let us supporters know who we have if all is apparently signed and sealed. Anyone know for definite who some or all of these 12 players are?

Cabs88
08/12/2010, 7:22 PM
Its in the Leader today that we have signed and re-signed 12 players but they gave no names! A bit starnge not to let us supporters know who we have if all is apparently signed and sealed. Anyone know for definite who some or all of these 12 players are?

Poor form not giving a few of the names, supporters deserve to know! They are quick to advertise season tickets, you would think they would be as quick let supporters know who has signed up

sorbothegreek
09/12/2010, 9:37 AM
I'll try and get the list this evening off the boss and put it up on the site as soon as i have it.

09/12/2010, 9:53 AM
I'll try and get the list this evening off the boss and put it up on the site as soon as i have it.
And there was me convinced Marty would win the dick measuring contest...

09/12/2010, 10:26 AM
Obviously Hope and Skelly are 2 of them and as far as I know Jayo is staying so thats still 9 unaccounted for , ud presume Michael Lee was one of them aswell but who knows I was very suprised when the names wernt put in

sorbothegreek
09/12/2010, 10:39 AM
And there was me convinced Marty would win the dick measuring contest...

Damned if you do, damned if you don't..

(over my head there for a second and not a good place to spot it..)

09/12/2010, 10:50 AM
I think it's pretty safe to assume Glenn Crowe, Kudozovic, Paul Keegan and Colin Hawkins are all signing for us.

09/12/2010, 8:41 PM
Few names here, a good start to the squad building, keeping hold of Lee, Salmon, Hyland, the Roches and Brady. Cowan will do a job too as will Skelly and Hope.
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=5536af73-9c31-48bf-9cab-464d4eaa1e01