View Full Version : Tonights Latest-Tuesday 2nd Nov

Dillonman
02/11/2010, 12:13 PM
Playoffs tonight lads. Whats everyones thoughts?

Galway v Bray
Waterford v Monaghan
Cobh v Salthill

Weather is appaling all round the country, is there a potential for any of these to not go ahead etc?

eL Bettor
02/11/2010, 12:13 PM
No heavy rain in Waterford yet anyway.

**FrOsTy**
02/11/2010, 12:15 PM
Dull day in Waterford! Dry at the moment! Yet with a small bit of surface water from last nights rain! Game will go ahead on a slick pitch with high winds I would think! Will suit our on the deck game better than Mons blind the defender by kicking the ball into the floodlights approach!

Fester
02/11/2010, 12:25 PM
Come on Cobh!!

02/11/2010, 12:43 PM
Absolutely awful day here in Galway. Terryland seems to be in great nick so I'd expect the game to be played but if it keeps going like this you wouldn't know.

02/11/2010, 12:44 PM
Shock as weather in Galway is bad.

blue til i die
02/11/2010, 12:53 PM
Its raining in dublin too....incase anyone wanted to know. :D

The pitch in the RSC is pretty class at the moment so should let both teams knock the ball around if they want to.

Starting to get nervous about the game now, if we play like in the second half against Shels we should have enough.

Dillonman
02/11/2010, 12:56 PM
Tere was some crowd from Waterford at that Shels game the other night! Off topic abit!

02/11/2010, 2:03 PM
Damn I wish I was on my way to Galway! The only way to recreate the feelings of joy or dissapointment that I would feel at the game would be to bet all of my money on Bray. Then a win will still result in me going loopy while a loss will still leave me distraught.

Without checking met.ie (how lazy!) I'm going to say that it's dull and showery all over the country with a bit of wind.

EDIT: As for my thoughts.. the games are pretty tough to call. Waterford certainly have momentum going into their match. Would like to see Cobh back in the league as well.

Mr Maroon
02/11/2010, 3:59 PM
It's clearing up a bit here. Rain has stopped for now.

The Lilywhites
02/11/2010, 4:07 PM
Monaghan referee Paul McLoughlin reffing tonight's Waterford v Monaghan game?

MMVIII
02/11/2010, 4:40 PM
Aye, weather has cleared up in Galway, at least from what I can see from the college. Going to pop along to this game tonight. Are Galway fans expecting much of a crowd? Ditto Bray fans?

redobit
02/11/2010, 5:43 PM
Good luck Cobh.

02/11/2010, 6:03 PM
Aye, weather has cleared up in Galway, at least from what I can see from the college. Going to pop along to this game tonight. Are Galway fans expecting much of a crowd? Ditto Bray fans?

Numbers from 130-200+ being mentioned in the Bray forum.

Kildareman
02/11/2010, 6:35 PM
Abandoned the planned trip to Waterford due to the bad weather.

But best wishes to Monaghan.

02/11/2010, 6:51 PM
Early fireworks in Galway according to extratime. From the away fans, not on the pitch ;)

naoise kennedy
02/11/2010, 6:57 PM
bray match live on galway fm..........

naoise kennedy
02/11/2010, 7:03 PM
bray match live on galway fm..........
galway 1 up... sheppard

02/11/2010, 7:15 PM
galway 1 up... sheppard
which sheppard scored??

02/11/2010, 7:17 PM
Big brother

Aaron
02/11/2010, 7:17 PM
1-0 Monaghan, Lynch

naoise kennedy
02/11/2010, 7:19 PM
the only one thats does anything in galway........karl

bluewhitearmy
02/11/2010, 7:25 PM
Salthill 1 up.

Kildareman
02/11/2010, 7:29 PM
2-0 mons ...tierney

its now back to 1-0....??

Buller
02/11/2010, 7:30 PM
Come on Galway & Cobh!!

naoise kennedy
02/11/2010, 7:52 PM
shields off for bray and shane o neill on .........

Buller
02/11/2010, 7:58 PM
2-0 mons ...tierney

its now back to 1-0....??

It's still 1-0 on livescore now.

02/11/2010, 8:02 PM
Just gone 2-0 now.

bullit
02/11/2010, 8:09 PM
waterford pull 1 back

02/11/2010, 8:13 PM
1-2 here in waterford

Aaron
02/11/2010, 8:28 PM
3-1 Monaghan, Philly Hughes

Kildareman
02/11/2010, 8:29 PM
3-1 mons hughes again

02/11/2010, 8:30 PM
3-1 to the magic mons.

02/11/2010, 8:37 PM
Congrats to Mons!

mons are goin up i reckon.

Kildareman
02/11/2010, 8:38 PM
Well done to Monaghan. Great result.

02/11/2010, 8:39 PM
FT in all 3 games

Mons win, Galway win and Salthill win

02/11/2010, 8:42 PM
A trip to Monaghan this week it is then. May the best side win!

I think we may have made a mistake in playing a full team on Friday. It sounded as though Galway fared better as the game went on and Chris Shields came off after 45 mins which I'd assume was related to the knock he picked up against Rovers. We'll also be without our two first choice centre halves for the Monaghan ties now after the sending off of Mitchell. Well done to Galway, hopefully we'll see ye again next year.

naoise kennedy
02/11/2010, 8:49 PM
A trip to Monaghan for me this week then. May the best side win!

I think we may have made a mistake in playing a full team on Friday. It sounded as though Galway fared better as the game went on and Chris Shields came off after 45 mins which I'd assume was related to the knock he picked up against Rovers. We'll also be without our two first choice centre halves for the Monaghan ties now after the sending off of Mitchell. Well done to Galway, hopefully we'll see ye again next year.

Agree,, it sounded like we were not in the game at all.. i hardly heard kelly and shaw being mentioned,, no real chances created.. well done to galway..

kingdomkerry
02/11/2010, 8:56 PM
How exactly do the playoffs work. Galway and Monaghan win. So does that mean galway are safe and bray play monaghan for a place in the premier and waterford stay down?

Salthill stay in division one and cobh stay in A league?

02/11/2010, 8:57 PM
Yep, that's how it works.

wonder88
02/11/2010, 9:19 PM
Just back from Terryland, great to be staying up and could have won by 2 really. Seamus and O Donnell on top in midfield and defence for the most part solid. Sheppard again caused problems for Bray and delighted he got the goal. Crowd of 1480 probably 80-100 from Bray and fair play to the ground staff for having the pitch in such good nick after all the rain.

02/11/2010, 9:24 PM
Salthill stay in division one and cobh stay in A league?

Salthill and Cobh have to play a second leg on Saturday.

02/11/2010, 9:29 PM
Oh what a nite. Still in pub in waterford, don't think we will leave tonight. Hard luck waterford, lovely fans who looked after us and a group of them stayed to applaud our lads off hutch after they had come back to warm down. Others ensured my son got to around safely cos he had to go earlier. Total legend fans. Thank u.

Kildareman
02/11/2010, 9:37 PM
Galway stay in the Premier.
Monaghan play Bray in Gortakeegan on Friday night with the second leg at the Carlisle Grounds on Monday 8th.

PartySaint
02/11/2010, 9:42 PM
Galway stay in the Premier.
Monaghan play Bray in Gortakeegan on Friday night with the second leg at the Carlisle Grounds on Monday 8th.

YES, 1 more live game before the season is over (cant make the cup final)

GalwayRed
02/11/2010, 10:01 PM
Job well done by Galway tonight. They were the better team throughout the match and could have won by more. Sheppard was excellent, derek o brien apart from the sitter he missed put in a very solid performance. Bray weren't quite at it tonight to be fair. The play off final should be interesting now. Congratulations to Monaghan. A very well deserved spot in the final after the effort your lads have put in this season and best of luck on Friday.

02/11/2010, 10:05 PM
Was at Terryland tonight. Galway deserved the win, I don't remember Bray really having a decent chance.

Kind of a strangely subdued atmosphere about the game considering it was a playoff on the new stand side anyway. Maybe because the teams knew they had a second chance.

Crowd seemed bigger than the 1432 that was announced. I came in on kick off and the new stand (holds 1500 I think) was pretty full and there were plenty of people around the ground.

Mr Maroon
02/11/2010, 10:08 PM
Was at Terryland tonight. Galway deserved the win, I don't remember Bray really having a decent chance.

Kind of a strangely subdued atmosphere about the game considering it was a playoff on the new stand side anyway. Maybe because the teams knew they had a second chance.

Crowd seemed bigger than the 1432 that was announced. I came in on kick off and the new stand (holds 1500 I think) was pretty full and there were plenty of people around the ground.
The new stand is always subdued unfortunately.

Yeah, I thought 1432 seemed a bit small too.

blue til i die
02/11/2010, 10:19 PM
Home from the game. Gutted. :(

Mons deserved the win no questions. I hate Philly Hughes so much but he's good at what he does. Stonewall peno turned down then philly dives for a free kick that he sticks in the top corner. There's no justification in appointing a Monaghan based referee for such an important game with monaghan playing. Only three games in the country tonight and they send him. It's a joke. Not sour grapes at all, we werent good enough but some of his decision were laughable. 2nd goal definitely offside and the free at the end was a joke too.

Anyway, good luck to Mons against Bray.

legendz
02/11/2010, 10:46 PM
Cobh have it all to do away to Salthill on Saturday. I hope they can turn in around.