View Full Version : Well done Shams

Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/10/2010, 8:44 PM
Hopefully that's all ye win

ped_ped
29/10/2010, 8:45 PM
Haha, yeah well done Rovers :) Fully deserved, taking the season as a whole.

harleyleeds
29/10/2010, 8:50 PM
nah nah what the ? p.s what was wrong with Bray 2nd goal other than it was against them .

gilberto_eire
29/10/2010, 8:52 PM
The fans fairly ruined that trophy presentation being all over the stage.... players had no space, cup was falling and people grabbing it ruining the pictures.

29/10/2010, 9:19 PM
Well done Rovers.
Great finish to the league.

cestlavie
29/10/2010, 9:25 PM
Well done Shams. Nice to see a new face on the trophy. I do hope Sligo win the cup especially after last year. Share the wealth

29/10/2010, 9:50 PM
Well done Rovers and hope your fans have fun tonight. Congrats.

29/10/2010, 9:57 PM
Well done Rovers for securing 3rd spot.

The Lep
29/10/2010, 10:22 PM
Well done Rovers for winning the league.

29/10/2010, 10:32 PM
Congrats to Shamrock Rovers on winning the league

**FrOsTy**
29/10/2010, 10:37 PM
Weldone to Rovers for winning the league! Deserved to be fair.

Delighted for all the genuine Shams fans! The few hundered that followed them everywhere for the last 16 years in alll the different grounds they called "home".

As for the scum that follow them and the 2/3000 blow ins from the last 2 years, enjoy it, but you wont feel the satisfaction on the real genuine fans.

Sean South
29/10/2010, 10:45 PM
F**cking minnowism here. FTA

European tour 2011:cool:

Ezeikial
29/10/2010, 10:48 PM
Congrats to Shamrock Rovers, especially to those who have worked so hard for the club to take them to where they are tonight

(although it sticks in the craw that a morally bankrupt cretin like N Fenn would lay claim to a league medal)

corkharps
29/10/2010, 11:44 PM
Well done Rovers,an inspiration to those of us dying on our feet!

legendz
29/10/2010, 11:58 PM
Congrats Shamrock Rovers!!
As champions, I hope ye go on to represent the LoI well in Europe next season.
Fair play to Boh's as well, as reigning champions they put up a good fight, brought it to the last day and won 3-1.
Well done to Sligo Rovers as well. Third place is a magnificent achievement. I hope they get to enjoy a Cup win. They have been superb. Sligo only being 4 points off the top, keep that squad together...
Fingal then as well, backed hugely financially but still, first season for the club in the Premier, they've finished 4th and only 5 points off the top. European football to look forward to for the second season on the trot, not bad at all.

30/10/2010, 5:53 AM
The fans fairly ruined that trophy presentation being all over the stage.... players had no space, cup was falling and people grabbing it ruining the pictures.

All we needed was another brolley.

And before you ask, I didn't invade the pitch.

30/10/2010, 6:41 AM
Congrats to Shamrock Rovers, especially to those who have worked so hard for the club to take them to where they are tonight

(although it sticks in the craw that a morally bankrupt cretin like N Fenn would lay claim to a league medal)
Will Fenn get one? Not sure he's played enough games.

Sligo Pilgrim
30/10/2010, 7:12 AM
not to mention Chris Turner

30/10/2010, 7:55 AM
Well done Rovers.

Over the course of a season, you got the points you needed. And as a fan of a team who has languished for many many years (in an even worse state than Rovers), I can imagine that there is an incredible sense of happiness among your fans that you've finally seen your club get off its knees and be strong again.

30/10/2010, 8:35 AM
It's a bit like how Ireland qualified for the 94 WC. A draw away from home, followed by qualification over Denmark by virtue of higher goals scored. Nerve-wracking and tense it is, but it's the highest prize in the game we're after, and we have it.

Ultimately, it doesn't matter how you get there, as long as you do. People don't remember runners-up, they remember winners. We've waited a long time to get back to the top of the game here, and it's hopefully the beginning of domination of the local scene. With the Senior and U-20 league in the bag, now it's time to go for the cup. The challenge then begins to retain them in a few months. It never stops.

White Horse
30/10/2010, 9:13 AM
Congratulations to Shamrock Rovers on rebuilding their club and reaching the pinnacle of Irish football.

Rasputin
30/10/2010, 10:01 AM
Possibly the worst team to win the league in at least a decade.
Talk about stumbling over the line with terrible football, just pipping Bohs who were equally as brutal.
But to Shams fans that wont matter a bit and if I was in their position it wouldnt matter to me either.
Cannot wait for the Cup Final, everything is nicely poised for it.

Fivesilver
30/10/2010, 10:02 AM
. . . and away we go again.

superjohnny
30/10/2010, 10:12 AM
Well done Rovers, best team in the league IMO and should have won it weeks ago.

We pushed you all the way though lastnight :o

Have to say talking to your fans in the pub afterwards you are a tribute to your club. Can see you dominating for years now.

legendz
30/10/2010, 10:36 AM
Congrats Rovers as I've said. It's harsh to be calling them the worst champions of the last decade but here are the facts:

Table based on champions and their points average over the last 8 years / switch to a summer season:

2.6 2008 Bohemians 33 27 4 2 55 13 +42 85
2.2 2005 Cork City 33 22 8 3 53 18 +35 74
2.1 2006 Shelbourne 30 18 8 4 60 27 +33 62
2.1 2007 Drogheda U 33 19 11 3 48 24 +24 68
2.1 2009 Bohemians 36 24 5 7 62 21 +41 77
1.9 2003 Shelbourne 36 19 12 5 52 28 +44 69
1.9 2004 Shelbourne 36 19 11 6 57 37 +40 68
1.9 2010 Shamrock R 36 19 10 7 57 34 +23 67

Shamrock Rovers won the league with the lowest points average since Shelbourne in 2004. Generally the league champions need an average of over 2 points a game.

Shamrock Rovers won more points last season:

2.0 2009 Shamrock R 36 21 10 5 51 27 24 73

It's the first time since 2006 that the top two in the league finished level on points and it came down to goal difference:

2.1 2006 Derry City 30 18 8 4 46 20 +26 62

1.9 2010 Bohemians 36 19 10 7 50 29 +21 67

Bohemians clearly have had the best points average from the top table above, 2.6 in 2008. In 2005, 3 teams finished with a points average of 2 points or more:

2.2 2005 Derry City 33 22 6 5 56 25 +31 72
2.0 2005 Shelbourne 33 20 7 6 62 25 +37 67

legendz
30/10/2010, 10:42 AM
Well done Rovers, best team in the league IMO and should have won it weeks ago.

We pushed you all the way though lastnight :o

Have to say talking to your fans in the pub afterwards you are a tribute to your club. Can see you dominating for years now.

I don't see Rover's dominating and have it all their own way. Despite the figures above, they might be in the best position to stay in the top 3 for the next few years and enjoy some good, hopefully great, European nights.
When Derry get back next season, they will be back in the mix, though it could take a season or two. Moving west to Connaught, Sligo are a side that can look to kick on and challenge for a League title.
Unfortunately Munster is the one province unlikely to have a challenger in the near future.
Some of Shamrock's, I like to refer to them as that as I find it funny when people outside of Ireland call them that only, Dublin rivals will surely have a thing or two to say about it as well.

Rasputin
30/10/2010, 10:55 AM
If they get a decent manager in they really should dominate for years, money talks and their budget will dwarf anyone elses in the league.
For our sake I hope to god O'Neill stays.

GalwayRed
30/10/2010, 12:28 PM
Congratulations to Shamrock Rovers. Nothing wrong with winning the league on goal difference:).
Delighted to see James Chambers pick up a league winners medal. Well deserved.

poster
30/10/2010, 12:50 PM
Nice one Cookie, best season in a while. Champagne football.

Bring on Shamrock!

Fivesilver
30/10/2010, 12:56 PM
You can read stats whatever way you like, but the team that wins the league can be happy that they've finished ahead of whoever was up against them. Everyone's been going on about how wonderful we are this season, and that's great, but if I had a choice 12 or 24 months from now of hearing we were the crappiest team to ever win the league or the best team that never won it, I know which I'd prefer.

Now it's time to put the icing on this season by winning the Cup with Cook's jogo bonito.

Lamper.sffc
30/10/2010, 1:09 PM
Congrats to Rovers. (still cant beat us :))

Jicked
30/10/2010, 1:51 PM
Congrats Rovers as I've said. It's harsh to be calling them the worst champions of the last decade but here are the facts:

Another fact is that we're the first part-time team to win a league in years, have won with a smaller budget than the last 5 or 6 champions, and haven't bankrupted the club to do it.

poster
30/10/2010, 2:03 PM
Another fact is that we're the first part-time team to win a league in years, have won with a smaller budget than the last 5 or 6 champions, and haven't bankrupted the club to do it.

Are Alan Mannus, Pat Flynn, Craig Sives, Aidan Price, Dan Murray, Danny Murphy, Enda Stevens, Billy Dennehy, Stephen Rice, Chris Turner, Thomas Stewart, Dessie Baker, Neale Fenn, Gary Twigg, James Chambers all on PT contracts?

legendz
30/10/2010, 2:23 PM
The most important fact is that ye are champions. Just put up the figures to gauge where this season would stand. From the point of view there's only 5 points between the top 4 it's not bad.
I too would have to question whether the players mentioned are all on PT contracts.

Jicked
30/10/2010, 2:24 PM
I'm not going discuss what players earn what or what they do for a living, but since to pick two of the above you listed have talked about it in the press, Pat Flynn works for Coca-Cola, Craig Sives for an electronics shop. Training sessions have to be organised around this which makes things very difficult. So yes, we are a part-time club and to win the league as such is a great achievement.

30/10/2010, 2:24 PM
haven't bankrupted the club to do it.

Don't worry, you're on your way.

Drumcondra 69er
30/10/2010, 2:25 PM
Congratulations to Shamrock Rovers on rebuilding their club and reaching the pinnacle of Irish football.

Fair play to the revenue and SDCC for enabling them to do so, shame there isn't more philanthropy shown to other clubs in other areas.

Jicked
30/10/2010, 2:29 PM

:D how exactly?

30/10/2010, 2:31 PM
Are Alan Mannus, Pat Flynn, Craig Sives, Aidan Price, Dan Murray, Danny Murphy, Enda Stevens, Billy Dennehy, Stephen Rice, Chris Turner, Thomas Stewart, Dessie Baker, Neale Fenn, Gary Twigg, James Chambers all on PT contracts?

It's been said before, they're all on 42 week contracts so technically part-time, quite a few of them also hold down other jobs so they generally train evenings only as most part time clubs have to.

Well done to Rovers winning the league, enjoyed some great games in Tallaght this season. Missed a lot of the excitement last night because I had committed to attend a charity event. I think we'll see a better brand of football from them next season, winning a league should provide a huge boost to a team that's looked very fragile confidence wise the last two seasons. It's a first medal for a surprising amount of the squad.

placid casual
30/10/2010, 2:59 PM
Fair play to the revenue and SDCC for enabling them to do so, shame there isn't more philanthropy shown to other clubs in other areas.

nobody wants to pump money and effort into something thats about to die anyway.

stovelid
30/10/2010, 3:03 PM

It's going to be fun watching your aberration of a club die a slow death.

Ezeikial
30/10/2010, 5:32 PM
Another fact is that we're the first part-time team to win a league in years,.

This is certainly the club propaganda anyway.

You can define part-time whatever way you like, but the reality is that Rovers were second only to Bohs in budget terms this season (it's really a red herring whether guys are paid over 40 / 42 / 52 weeks)

You claim the part-time tag as though it is some badge of honour!

poster
30/10/2010, 5:48 PM
So yes, we are a part-time club and to win the league as such is a great achievement.

I wouldn't call having two players who work as well as train a 'part-time' club. I'm sure the majority of your first team players are full time, and have no other income/job. I'd call us full-time, we have one part-time player who works 9-5 and trains twice a week, but I'd still consider Sligo Rovers are 'full-time' team. As I would with Shams.

GUFCghost
30/10/2010, 6:11 PM

http://www.tribune.ie/business/article/2010/aug/08/shamrock-rovers-losses-rise-to-620570/

:cool:

30/10/2010, 6:45 PM
:D how exactly?

By overspending the same as the rest of us did. But don't let me stop yis, carry on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bE_1tCasi_Q

30/10/2010, 6:51 PM
Congrats to Rovers. (still cant beat us :))

Shamrock Rovers 67
Sporting Fingal... 59

We beat everybody, that's why we're champions.

Dillonman
30/10/2010, 7:43 PM
All I have to say in this thread is "bah humbug"!

Model Club
30/10/2010, 9:09 PM
By overspending the same as the rest of us did. But don't let me stop yis, carry on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bE_1tCasi_Q

What do you know that we don't?
How can a tit like you,a member of a club who would rather see their club go bankrupt chasing the elusive 4 in a row lecture us on overspending?
A club without a physio,assistant manager.A club whos membership is less than 2/3'rds of ours and 40% cheaper to buy into.A club with an average att. one third of ours.A club with no momentum who no-one bar the same deluded fools gives a s#ite about.

If it take lies generated on the loi section of your forum to comfort the blow of Rovers return to the pinnacle of Irish football...........knock yourself out.

If you have any proof that we are doing anything outside the letter of the laws of football in this country the let us know-either that or stay out of threads like these with your unsubstantiated poison.

GUFCghost
30/10/2010, 9:39 PM
What do you know that we don't?
How can a tit like you,a member of a club who would rather see their club go bankrupt chasing the elusive 4 in a row lecture us on overspending?
A club without a physio,assistant manager.A club whos membership is less than 2/3'rds of ours and 40% cheaper to buy into.A club with an average att. one third of ours.A club with no momentum who no-one bar the same deluded fools gives a s#ite about.

If it take lies generated on the loi section of your forum to comfort the blow of Rovers return to the pinnacle of Irish football...........knock yourself out.

If you have any proof that we are doing anything outside the letter of the laws of football in this country the let us know-either that or stay out of threads like these with your unsubstantiated poison.

http://blogs.technet.com/cfs-filesystemfile.ashx/__key/CommunityServer-Components-PostAttachments/00-02-99-89-79/wrong.jpg

PartySaint
30/10/2010, 10:21 PM

Table based on champions and their points average over the last 8 years / switch to a summer season:

2.6 2008 Bohemians 33 27 4 2 55 13 +42 85
2.1 2007 Drogheda U 33 19 11 3 48 24 +24 68
1.9 2003 Shelbourne 36 19 12 5 52 28 +44 69
1.9 2004 Shelbourne 36 19 11 6 57 37 +40 68

Shamrock Rovers won the league with the lowest points average since Shelbourne in 2004. Generally the league champions need an average of over 2 points a game.

Shamrock Rovers won more points last season:

2.0 2009 Shamrock R 36 21 10 5 51 27 24 73

It's the first time since 2006 that the top two in the league finished level on points and it came down to goal difference:

2.1 2006 Derry City 30 18 8 4 46 20 +26 62

1.9 2010 Bohemians 36 19 10 7 50 29 +21 67

Bohemians clearly have had the best points average from the top table above, 2.6 in 2008. In 2005, 3 teams finished with a points average of 2 points or more:

2.2 2005 Derry City 33 22 6 5 56 25 +31 72
2.0 2005 Shelbourne 33 20 7 6 62 25 +37 67

The difference is Rovers didnt cheat to win they league like the rest of them

I think....