View Full Version : Squad/Team v Russia/Slovakia

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

20/09/2010, 4:03 PM
he said regular premier league players. Didnt mention starters anywhere.
Coleman's only played 3 games in the Premiership, doesn't make him a regular

bwagner
20/09/2010, 4:05 PM

Whats your point???

He is a regular this season !

20/09/2010, 4:08 PM
My opinion is that since Brady has left the setup the scouting has gone to pot and Trap is taking a lazy approach to squad selection and eyeing up new players.
According to this - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0213/1224264348498.html - Brady finished with the setup after the Brazil game in March. Since then Paul Green, Greg Cunningham, Keith Fahey, Keith Treacy and Cillian Sheridan have all made their debuts, while Shane Duffy and Brian Murphy were called into the training squad before Algeria and Paraguay

20/09/2010, 4:13 PM
Whats your point???

He is a regular this season !
if anything this season, his record is as a regularly introduced substitute. Is he going to start either game against Russia or Slovakia ahead of Stephen Kelly (who is a regular starter at fulham) or John O'Shea (who is Trapattoni's regular starter at right full). Plain and simple, no he isn't. So there's not much point in calling him up at the moment, should either or those players get injured between then and now then he's still behind Foley in terms of Premiership experience, and call ups to the Ireland squad under Trappatoni.
I said last week these are not the games to call him up to play in, and I still believe it.

20/09/2010, 4:21 PM

3 games in 5 makes him a regular. Obviously not an ever present but certainly regular and certainly more regular than others in the squad.

dr_peepee
20/09/2010, 4:23 PM
Squad as expected... I think the Norway friendly we'll see some of the new faces.

I hope... Ye never can tell with Trapp.

20/09/2010, 4:24 PM
3 games in 5 makes him a regular. Obviously not an ever present but certainly regular and certainly more regular than others in the squad.
see my response in post 54

20/09/2010, 4:27 PM
oh okay so a "regularly introduced substitute" is not the same as a "regular player" then. Bizarre.

20/09/2010, 4:34 PM
keep banging that Trappatoni drum.
He is the manager. I support the team. Trap defines how the team plays. At this stage you can either accept that he defines the team or howl at the moon. If you accept that he defines the team, then his selections make perfect sense.

"better than anybody else"? Crazy talk.
Who else is there, to play the holding role that Trap would want in the absence of Andrews?
Possibly McCarthy? came on against Brazil but he was not there in the Summer and he won't be used against Russia.

20/09/2010, 4:37 PM
If anything, the calls should be for Foley to be in the squad (5 starts, equal to O'Shea and Kelly), not Coleman

We're obviously arguing two different points. I think its too soon for Coleman too. Foley should be there so should Ward Wilson and McCarthy. Is there any justification for Greg Cunningham being there ahead of Ward that doesnt involve a training camp?

20/09/2010, 4:41 PM
We're obviously arguing two different points.Quite possibly

I think its too soon for Coleman too. Foley should be there so should Ward Wilson and McCarthy.Foley is in the squad, I missed him the first time I read the list of players, sorry if I misled you. That still makes three recognised right full backs (O'Shea, Kelly, Foley) so Coleman is, at best, fourth choice right now.

Is there any justification for Greg Cunningham being there ahead of Ward that doesnt involve a training camp?Probably not

20/09/2010, 4:46 PM
He is the manager. I support the team. Trap defines how the team plays. At this stage you can either accept that he defines the team or howl at the moon. If you accept that he defines the team, then his selections make perfect sense. .

I support the team too, no matter who the players are. I want my manager to utilise the players that should be in the squad by form and/or logic. If he doesnt do that i reserve the right to howl at the moon until i am proven right.

Who else is there, to play the holding role that Trap would want in the absence of Andrews?
Possibly McCarthy? came on against Brazil but he was not there in the Summer and he won't be used against Russia.

McCarthy, O'Shea and even Kilbane has done a similar job for Ireland. I believe Wilson could. Im not saying that the players in question throughout this thread should start in the next set of qualifiers but they should be in the squad and being versed or trained on the mechanics of the team.

On an earlier point you made, Green himself has said that he had to be trained in his role with the Irish team as it is different from the role he has with Derby County. So he is not custom made for the team. The fact that he has a place in the team is down to pure luck that he wasnt injured at the end of the season (unlike other players who could also have been trained) ahead of any real ability, form, rationale or logic. That, to me, is wrong. Especially considering he is not very good at passing, a vital part of his "role".

TrapAPony
20/09/2010, 4:58 PM
There is no excuse for Trap not having tried players like Marc Wilson, Stephen Ward, James McCarthy, Anthony Stokes, Jon Walters, Seamus Coleman etc. at this stage.... Paul Green, Paul McShane, Kevin Kilbane (had his day), Cilian Sheridan etc...ya, whatever.

20/09/2010, 5:09 PM
There is no excuse for Trap not having tried players like Marc WilsonWilson's an odd one alright, and along with McCarthy and Ward one of the players I'd like to have seen called up. He plays in a position we're short in, central midfield, has an eye for a pass, and can tackle.

Stephen WardPlayed in the B game VS Forest. Actually thought he did quite well, although Hoolahan in front of him made him look worse than he actually was (if that makes sense)

James McCarthyPlayed VS Brazil in March, and was in the U21s in August. Made Keogh's call up to the senior side all the more bizarre IMO

Anthony StokesWas in the training squad in May, and scored in one of the arranged games. Trapattoni has stated that he plays for himself, instead of the team, which is something that has been noticed by many who have seen him play at underage levels

Jon WaltersLawrence and McGeady were playing in the same position Keane regularly played him Ipswich, and at a higher level, no real need to call him up

Seamus Colemansee earlier comments. Basically, there are at least 3 more established players in his position in the Premier League

TrapAPony
20/09/2010, 5:15 PM
Lawrence and McGeady were playing in the same position Keane regularly played him Ipswich, and at a higher level, no real need to call him up

I was thinking of Walters as a forward (where he has being playing recently for Stoke) not as a winger. He is much better than Sheridan for example.

rebelmusic
20/09/2010, 5:18 PM
I dont think we should complain about Walters not being called up before. He was in a struggling championship side all last season. Now he's cementing a regular spot in a decent PL side and i think we'll see him against Norway, which is fair enough.

The only realy conundrums are Ward, Wilson and McCarthy. Something happened with McCarthy, I'm convinced of that. But at least we know he's there for the future. Wilson is a solid replacement for Andrews and an all around better player.

Let's all face it, we knew that's the exact squad he would call up and i'm not even remotely surprised. But we all should take a close look at whoever partners Whelan in those matches.

The squad for the Norway match is the big one to complain about if he calls up noone new, or some unheard of english lad.

greendeiseboy
20/09/2010, 5:22 PM
I dont think we should complain about Walters not being called up before. He was in a struggling championship side all last season. Now he's cementing a regular spot in a decent PL side and i think we'll see him against Norway, which is fair enough.

The only realy conundrums are Ward, Wilson and McCarthy. Something happened with McCarthy, I'm convinced of that. But at least we know he's there for the future. Wilson is a solid replacement for Andrews and an all around better player.

Let's all face it, we knew that's the exact squad he would call up and i'm not even remotely surprised. But we all should take a close look at whoever partners Whelan in those matches.

The squad for the Norway match is the big one to complain about if he calls up noone new, or some unheard of english lad.

I hope you're right but the longer he' being exiled by the manager the more likely he is to leave the set up altogether.

20/09/2010, 5:22 PM
I was thinking of Walters as a forward (where he has been playing recently for Stoke) not as a winger. He is much better than Sheridan for example.
fair enough, but even then he's behind Sheridan and Keogh in Trapattoni's thoughts. He'd give more options than Sheridan or Keogh since he can play out wide as well, but I haven't seen enough of him to say whether or not he's a better option up front.

Personally, I think Sheridan should get some reward for at least trying something different and moving to Bulgaria to play football instead of going on loan to somewhere like Leicester or rotting on the bench at Celtic

rebelmusic
20/09/2010, 5:25 PM
On the Sheridan note, i honestly think there's a decent player in him and it'll come out this season with CSKA. He needs a solid year of starts and he's getting that now in a very physical league which suits us.

I do 100% hope that McGeady starts against Russia. Being the only one with recent experience on plastic pitches!!

McCarthy should make the Norway squad. If we lose him back to Scotland, it'll be a disaster for Trap and i'm sure he's aware of it.

20/09/2010, 5:28 PM
I support the team too, no matter who the players are. I want my manager to utilise the players that should be in the squad by form and/or logic. If he doesnt do that i reserve the right to howl at the moon until i am proven right.
I didn't say you couldn't howl at the moon :)
Me, I don't care enough about being right.

McCarthy, O'Shea and even Kilbane has done a similar job for Ireland. I believe Wilson could. Im not saying that the players in question throughout this thread should start in the next set of qualifiers but they should be in the squad and being versed or trained on the mechanics of the team.
I am specifically talking about a partner for Whelan, in the absence of Andrews, for the next 2 qualifiers.
Maybe Wilson will get a call up for the Norway game.

On an earlier point you made, Green himself has said that he had to be trained in his role with the Irish team as it is different from the role he has with Derby County. So he is not custom made for the team.

Green did not say he had to be trained for the Irish midfield role, he said Trap has asked to play deeper than he does at Derby.

The fact that he has a place in the team is down to pure luck that he wasnt injured at the end of the season (unlike other players who could also have been trained) ahead of any real ability, form, rationale or logic. That, to me, is wrong. Especially considering he is not very good at passing, a vital part of his "role"
To attribute Green's place in the team as factually down to pure luck, is neither rational nor logical :)

rebelmusic
20/09/2010, 5:30 PM
I have to wonder one thing though - surely the FAI should push Trap to bring McCarthy along and introduce him in the 91st minute to bind him to us? Or is that just nasty?

dr_peepee
20/09/2010, 6:50 PM
It's the same problem I had with him last campaign. His windows of oppertunity are too limited for our playing resources and is gonna result in depriving us of options. Andy Keogh starting against Italy with Liam Lawrence subsequently nailing the position once eventually given the oppertunity is an example.

Given the obvious defficieny at left full and centre midfield there should be efforts to close them out at every oppertunity.

There has to be a happy medium between selection consistency and form. It's gonna cost us in some form, without a doubt for me.

SwanVsDalton
20/09/2010, 6:58 PM
I don't see how winning or losing these games rests on Trap not calling up Wilson, Ward, McCarthy et al. I'd like to see them there, but it's his method and it's done OK so far. Reserve judgement for the game.

20/09/2010, 7:16 PM
I didn't expect Coleman to be called up because he isn't starting for Everton but Wilson and Walters should have been named in the 26.

Andrews must have huge question marks over his fitness and Wilson would be an ideal replacement. Please let Duffer be fit.

dr_peepee
20/09/2010, 7:37 PM
I don't agree SwansV... Trapp can't loose because those of us that disagree with his selection processes can't prove what would have happened otherwise. Lawrence was eventually acknowledged as our best right midfield option after begrudgers like some of us were calling for his inclusion long before it came. Would we have beaten Italy had he started in place of Keogh (baring in mind the goal came from that side)?? It's not worth even discussing. It's waffle..

My gripe lies with the fact I don't know what, if anything, Trapp has seen of Ward, Wilson and McCarthy this season to decide they don't offer what Cunningham or Green brings to the sqaud. Had they been included in the squad yet not saw a minute of game time I wouldn't have a word to say because Trapp would be exhausting avenues and choosing what he feels is the best availible. However I feel like he's making decisions based on old data, if you know what I mean.

20/09/2010, 8:35 PM
Probably like most us Doc, you were disappointed with Lawrence against Nigeria, realised he would not be first choice in the next qualifier, but thought (like most of us) that he was worth keeping in the squad because he had to be better than that.
Am I wrong?

dr_peepee
20/09/2010, 9:41 PM
I thought he was better than Andy Keogh!!!!

(Had to check. The Nigeria friendly was after the Italy game..)

Crosby87
20/09/2010, 11:27 PM
Why are they playing games on Friday and not Saturday? :mad: I hope they don't do that for Cup Q.

20/09/2010, 11:30 PM
Doc, it's your criticism that's lazy and conservative :)
I certainly do not remember any big dismay here about playing Keogh against Italy except that he was not at his best out wide and Lawrence was just back to the Stoke team/squad from a long lay off. However In May? - Lawrence was called in to the Nigeria game. He was low key but he was kept on and used in another friendly in August? where he impressed.
There is a method with selecting players for the squad. When a player does enough to be invited for an audition he has to turn up, rain, hail or shine. And he is not discarded after a poor display.

tommy_c12000
20/09/2010, 11:31 PM
6 points from the first 2 games can't ask for any more than that. I really do hope that we do well in the next 2 games. We shud be able to take the Russians at home, they are in awful form at the moment under Advocat. Slovakia away will be tricky but they are also no great shakes and we should be looking to come away with at least a point from Bratislava. However, I'm becoming increasingly disillusioned with Trappatoni's tenure. The inital fervour of his appointment was washed away when I realised he was treating the job as a hobby to keep him occupied in his villa in Italy as he eased himself into retirement. He has displayed little knowledge of the Irish players, his squads selections have been lazy and ultra conservative. It's a time bomb waiting to go off. Bluffing his way through the job. But in my hearts of hearts I hope he keeps proving me wrong and we take at least 4 points from these 2 games

Fixer82
20/09/2010, 11:47 PM
I think Daryl Murphy can feel slightly aggrieved having not got a look-in since joining Celtic where he's done well

tommy_c12000
20/09/2010, 11:56 PM
I think Daryl Murphy can feel slightly aggrieved having not got a look-in since joining Celtic where he's done well

No where near good enough for international football

EastTerracer
21/09/2010, 12:04 AM
Why are they playing games on Friday and not Saturday? :mad: I hope they don't do that for Cup Q.

This is a qualifying game! It's the new FIFA rule to accommodate the clubs (who want their players back quicker after qualifying games). I think the Macedonia game in March will be our only Saturday game. Expect to see the same for the World Cup qualifying game (I think that is what you were trying to say).

Fixer82
21/09/2010, 12:37 AM
No where near good enough for international football

Better than Sheridan imho and hasn't gotten much of a chance playing for Ireland

TrapAPony
21/09/2010, 12:41 AM
Better than Sheridan imho and hasn't gotten much of a chance playing for Ireland

Murphy mightn't be good enough for International football but I'd agree that he is better than Sheridan.

21/09/2010, 6:30 AM
I doubt Coleman is going to make a competitive squad anytime soon. He isn't first choice at his club and is, quite frankly, defensively suspect. He excels when he pushes forward but when has Trapattoni encouraged his full backs to get forward? A similar argument could be said for Stephen Ward's continued absence from the squad.

Trapattoni quickly decides a position for new players in his system and sticks to that. It's only JOSH and Keogh that have been deployed in more than one position (JOSH has played centre half and full while Keogh has been used up front as a sub in recent games when previously he was always deployed in a wide midfiled role). Trapattoni has already decided that McCarthy is a wide midfielder so who does he drop to include him? Possibly Treacy but I think he is a player on the up and currently offers more than McCarthy in a wide position.

I would have included Wilson and Stokes in the squad ahead of Green and Long. Green simply isn't an international standard player. Long is now getting his game for Reading but I think Stokes, despite his (personality) faults, is a technically good player that knows how to score goals.

I don't see any justification in calling a players like Walters up for a competitive double header. Daryl Murphy has been involved previously and hasn't done much.

dr_peepee
21/09/2010, 9:20 AM
Doc, it's your criticism that's lazy and conservative :)
I certainly do not remember any big dismay here about playing Keogh against Italy except that he was not at his best out wide and Lawrence was just back to the Stoke team/squad from a long lay off. However In May? - Lawrence was called in to the Nigeria game. He was low key but he was kept on and used in another friendly in August? where he impressed.
There is a method with selecting players for the squad. When a player does enough to be invited for an audition he has to turn up, rain, hail or shine. And he is not discarded after a poor display.

I certainly was not happy with Andy Keogh starting on the right against Italy away.

There's no denying the method you cited above. (What's your opinion of the method?) The question is, is it counter productive, restrictive, short sighted, even Lazy? My opinion is we don't have the playing resources to overlook players simply because they won't be considered outside of specified windows. There's too many competive fixtures between his windows of oppertunity for his stance to be truly productive in a small league.

I don't feel there's a correct balance between consistency and form, given our limited playing resources. And I don't believe it's a lazy criticism at all on my part. It'd be easier to say nothing and gripe about it after the event, when ,as I believe, we will get exposed through the middle and down the left. It boils down again to the point I made earlier. We're obviously week in these positions. I can't even say on good authority that Ward is better than Cunningham. It's just I don't know what, if anything, Trapp has seen of the like of Ward, Wilson or McCarthy this season to decide that they've less to offer. If Ward goes on to be another Derek Geary, we've nothing to loose by simply including him other that the cost of a flight and a bed. However if he becomes a Liam Lawrence, well then we've more to gain than to loose.

21/09/2010, 10:34 AM
I agree with the Doc – not necessarily on rational grounds, more on emotional grounds. I just would like to see more evidence that Trap is looking at all the options. Maybe he has, we just don’t know.

The flipside is that Stan was quite imaginative in his selections and look where that got us.

As usual, most of the arguments are at the margins: Long over Stokes, Sheridan over Murphy / Walters...

Persistently viewing McShane as a full back worries me and I think if McCarthy & Wilson aren’t called up for at least the Norway game I’ll be really disappointed. The clear message is that Trap wants to see the players up close in the set-up before they're let loose in a competitive game. He has a "better the devil you know" way of thinking which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

21/09/2010, 11:05 AM
I agree with the Doc – not necessarily on rational grounds, more on emotional grounds. I just would like to see more evidence that Trap is looking at all the options. Maybe he has, we just don’t know.
There were clips from the press conference on Off The Ball last night. Trapattoni was asked about McCarthy and he said that McCarthy has played in a few positions so far this season and hasn't settled in any one yet. He's provided reasons for not picking Stokes in the past, plays for himself instead of the team. There were no questions about Wilson or Walters (at least none that were played on air). I do think that Trapattoni does keep track of the fringe players, Treacy, Cunningham, Green, etc weren't in the running before May, now they're squad players.

As usual, most of the arguments are at the margins: Long over Stokes, Sheridan over Murphy / Walters...Foley/Kelly over Coleman

Persistently viewing McShane as a full back worries me and I think if McCarthy & Wilson aren’t called up for at least the Norway game I’ll be really disappointed. The clear message is that Trap wants to see the players up close in the set-up before they're let loose in a competitive game. He has a "better the devil you know" way of thinking which isn't necessarily a bad thing.
The majority of new caps under Trapattoni have been handed out in friendlies so it will be an interesting squad selection alright.

Noelys Guitar
21/09/2010, 11:26 AM
Some interesting quotes from Trap in todays IT regards Duff's fitness and Green/Gibson.

“McGeady played very, very, very well last time but when Duff comes back we will look at who plays,” he said. “It’s good to have players that force you to make difficult decisions,” said the manager.

“Duff played 90 minutes on Saturday and that’s good but he goes one month and then he gets injured. I wonder if he can play 90 minutes (in the group games). I hope so but it is something I have to consider.”

The Italian, however, appears to have no such doubts about Paul Green’s ability to keep soldiering on in midfield. Keith Andrews has been named in the squad but Trapattoni admitted that, having checked on his fitness only last week when he was told the midfielder was still not back in full training, he doesn’t really expect him to feature. He then shifted his attention to Green, prompted apparently by having seen the Derby County player receive five in a player ratings newspaper piece after the Andorra match.

“He got five but he was one of the best players on the pitch,” said Trapattoni with a hint of exasperation before attempting to coax a confession to being the guilty party from anyone who asked a follow-up question.

Trapattoni went on to compare Green to Nobby Stiles who, he observed, was a key player for England in his heyday.

“There are engineers and there are architects,” he remarked. “With him, we win many balls in midfield and that gives us a lot of opportunities. We are not Manchester United or Real Madrid. We are a team based on the best Irish players; a lot depends on our attitude and our willingness to work hard and help each other.”

Darron Gibson, it seems, may be starting on the bench again.

Going by those comments Green a certain starter with almost certainly Lawerence on the right. Left side now between Duff and McGEady with possibly McGeady in the driving seat. Surely he can't leave out a fit Duff?

21/09/2010, 11:45 AM
Is that true about McCarthy? I thought he has only played CM.

21/09/2010, 11:45 AM
No way he'll leave out Duff. I think.

Crosby87
21/09/2010, 11:51 AM
Duff will likely be hurt again by game time as Trap seems to wonder. Hate to say it but a distinct possibility.
WOW Trap really likes Paul Green. Looks like it will take McCarthy a few more years to make this squad. Hopefully he is still here for that.
So Stokes is finished in Green as long as Trap is in charge?
Did the Russkies announce their team yet?

Noelys Guitar
21/09/2010, 11:56 AM
No way he'll leave out Duff. I think. I was very surprised when I read those comments. It felt ever so slightly like the Steven Reid situation. It could well be Trap bigging up McGeady or playing early mind games with Advocat as I can't believe Duff won't start against Russia and Slovakia if fit.

Wolfie
21/09/2010, 12:30 PM
I was very surprised when I read those comments. It felt ever so slightly like the Steven Reid situation. It could well be Trap bigging up McGeady or playing early mind games with Advocat as I can't believe Duff won't start against Russia and Slovakia if fit.

I'd far prefer Duff to start ahead of McGeady. I think Duff links up far better with our strikers and exploits space more efficiently than McGeady. ie, Duff's assists for Keane goals from last campaign versus Cyprus in Dublin and France away spring immediately to mind.

If Duff is not match fit and doesn't get the nod - I suppose he's one hell of an impact sub to throw on with 20 to go - provided we're still in the game.

Green is being dismissed too quickly. He disappointed in the last 2 games but I think the Andorra game is not an accurate barometer of how you will fare against the likes of Russia.

The Andorra game had no ebb and flow as Andorran tactics were to hit the ground and stifle any head of steam we might build up.

Russia is a massive game for Green and I'd reserve judgement until then.

21/09/2010, 12:43 PM
I certainly was not happy with Andy Keogh starting on the right against Italy away.
I doubt if anyone was happy but Lawrence was not an option then. I can see why he went for Keogh in the line up, to continue with the game he wanted us to play. It flopped and Keogh was subbed. Why Trap did not have an adequate replacement for Duff and McGeady in that game I don't know. Prob another manager would have used a RB at RM.

There's no denying the method you cited above. (What's your opinion of the method?) The question is, is it counter productive, restrictive, short sighted, even Lazy? My opinion is we don't have the playing resources to overlook players simply because they won't be considered outside of specified windows. There's too many competive fixtures between his windows of oppertunity for his stance to be truly productive in a small league.
I like method. I think it would be foolhardy to claim that Trap does not give serious consideration to the players on the fringe. He is methodical with bringing players in, he gives a fair consideration over what the player has to offer and not just depend on the performance in the friendly.
We have seen that with Fahey and Lawrence.
Green is also case in point, if Trap did not seriously consider the fringe players, Paul Green would not have got called up.
The evidence is that he does give serious consideration to the fringe players but he decides yes or no to call them up. Those decisions are made with reference to how he wants the team to play and what he sees are the players capabilities and character.
It is a no brainer why he likes Paul Green. I don't know why he wants to wait with McCarthy but I got the feeling from Brady (in that RTE web thing) that he agrees with Trap's decision to wait and thinks McCarthy is a dead cert to be a central player for Ireland in the future.

21/09/2010, 1:08 PM
I'd share some of the same concern that Noely felt about Trap's comments about Duff.
It did sound as if he was saying too much and the in the press conference he sounded more undecided about Duff than the quote reads.
“Duff played 90 minutes on Saturday and that’s good but he goes one month and then he gets injured. I wonder if he can play 90 minutes (in the group games). I hope so but it is something I have to consider.”

So it would appear that Lawrence is fixed and it's Duff or McGeady.
I'd guess Duff starts and McGeady will come on as a sub.
But it would appear that Trap is more partial to a player with less ability who turns up fit than a more talented player who is injury prone and turns up on occasion.

Brendan 82
21/09/2010, 1:11 PM
Is that true about McCarthy? I thought he has only played CM.

I've watched McCarthy in lots of Wigan games last season and this one. He is often deployed on the left or right side of a 3 man midfield, with Diame in the centre. He played CM against Liverpool last season and did very well. He has also played in a rather ambiguous supporting role. Weirdly, this is the role that he has really impressed me because he is essentially everywhere. Keep in mind that Wigan are usually defending so he is often the first outlet when they try to get a break going. His passing and tackling are solid and he looks very mature for a guy his age. Good strength and tackles well, pretty cool head on the ball. In fact, the more I talk about it the more it bothers me that he is not in the squad.

dr_peepee
21/09/2010, 1:30 PM
I doubt if anyone was happy but Lawrence was not an option then. .

He was an option. He was eligable a long time at that stage, but had not been looked at. A premiership player that was arguably one of best players in the C'Ship the year before that too.

I like method. I think it would be foolhardy to claim that Trap does not give serious consideration to the players on the fringe. He is methodical with bringing players in, he gives a fair consideration over what the player has to offer and not just depend on the performance in the friendly.

We're getting our wires crossed. I've not said Trapp isn't looking at fringe players at all. I hadn't even heard of Green when he was named in the squad originally. You've already cited Fahy etc

I'm saying that at least 4 competitive games will have gone by (almost half a campaign) by the time he will have looked at alternative options up close in what we all acknowledge are very week areas in the team.

I think he's too methodical in bringing players in to then give them the fair consideration, to the point of denying the team of an asset for an undue period. Lawrence being a case in point. Fair consideration can be given to the 22nd and 23rd man in a competitive squad without compromising the team in any way.

We don't have the strength in depth afforded to teams like italy where most of these selections are marginal. I feel in crucially weak areas we have to keep scanning til we get the best of a mediocre bunch or unearth and capitalise on a gem at the earliest oppertunity.

Colbert Report
21/09/2010, 1:31 PM
Don't worry, cream always rises to the top and he'll get his chance. I wouldn't worry about him playing for Scotland, and even if he did, that would mean that his heart wasn't with us anyway.