View Full Version : Fenn Announces his Retirement

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

04/08/2010, 4:12 PM
Where did I say ye were punished? My point was that the FAI didn't see anything at all wrong in what Rovers had done, but found enough to investigate Rovers and Turner. No results were ever published that I saw, so yep, your point that Sligo were never punished is perfectly valid and should be stressed more than I did (assuming the investigation's finished), but it doesn't change my point.

04/08/2010, 4:15 PM
I wasn't debating anything regarding Shams. I was disputing the fabrication of us reneging on the initial contract offer to Turner.

04/08/2010, 4:22 PM
Well, I still think that's the most plausible story for what happened. I don't think it's what the investigating committee was set up for (if you had an investigation for every time a club said "Sorry, the offer's no longer on the table", you'd never have get anything done), so the fact that the investigating committee didn't publicly confirm or deny it means nothing in that regard, in my opinion.

Strawberry
04/08/2010, 4:39 PM
Well, I still think that's the most plausible story for what happened.

So its not ok for people to speculate about shams involvement in the Fenn issue but it is ok for you to defend them using your own theories about other clubs and presenting them as fact.

topia
04/08/2010, 4:59 PM
Stu, you went from knowing the 'truth' about the Turner saga, and claiming that Sligo were in the wrong.

But others are saying Rovers must be to blame here because they got Turner to renege on his contract with Sligo, when it was clearly found that Sligo had reneged on Turner.

While at the same claiming that people were just looking to slate Shamrock without knowing the truth.

Again, we see you automatically latching on to anything which proves what you want to be proven though and calling it "the truth".

To it turns out not actually knowing the truth about the Turner saga.

Well, I still think that's the most plausible story for what happened. I don't think it's what the investigating committee was set up for (if you had an investigation for every time a club said "Sorry, the offer's no longer on the table", you'd never have get anything done), so the fact that the investigating committee didn't publicly confirm or deny it means nothing in that regard, in my opinion.

You always seem eager to leap to the defence of the model club Stu when you feel anyone might be saying a bad word about them.

04/08/2010, 5:26 PM
Figures somebody called "Strawberry" would like a post criticising a Pineapple.

Buile Shuibhne
04/08/2010, 6:38 PM
Meanwhile Dundalk have signed two new players from across the water.

http://menmedia.co.uk/macclesfieldexpress/sport/football/macclesfield_town/s/1312932_tippys_dun_a_new_deal

http://www.kidderminstershuttle.co.uk/sport/harriers/8312610.It_s_a_Dun_deal_for_Bennett/

Oldred
04/08/2010, 7:10 PM
M O'N is probably on his way up there now to buy them some drinks!!!!!!!!!

oriel
04/08/2010, 8:44 PM
What Fenn has done is a disgrace end of. His statements on here are just stomach turning. http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100729_Fenn.asp

I dont have a huge gripe with Rovers, although suggestions were made the MON did make advances, this will never be proved.

Fenn is the guilty party, no question about it, what we done to faciliate him was very naive, but done in good faith for his superb season to that point with us. We should have inserted a clause that he cannot play for any other Irish side, but there you go.

Sept 13 should be fun in Oriel, not to mention the Lge Cup Final a week or so later if both clubs make it and Fenn is involved in any way.

bullit
04/08/2010, 9:13 PM
Dundalk keeping their powder dry it seems:
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100804_Statement.asp

marinobohs
05/08/2010, 9:04 AM
Again, we see you automatically latching on to anything which proves what you want to be proven though and calling it "the truth".

presume this was aimed at me. I "latch on to anything that proves what I want to be proven" wheras you manufacture FAI outcomes and its OK ? Sad

Rasputin
05/08/2010, 4:53 PM
You always seem eager to leap to the defence of the model club Stu when you feel anyone might be saying a bad word about them.
Ya I notice that aswell, a glorified cheer leader of the model club.
Reeks of pure minnowism, perhaps by grovelling and cowering to "the model club" enough times he can treated to some of their reflected glory.
As for Shams and MON, well what do you expect from a pig but a grunt.

05/08/2010, 5:30 PM
Jesus, settle down. If he loved Rovers that much he'd support them instead of UCD.

There's a lot that's gone unexplained here and both sides are guilty of taking liberties with the known facts.

passerrby
05/08/2010, 5:40 PM
What Fenn has done is a disgrace end of. His statements on here are just stomach turning. http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100729_Fenn.asp

I dont have a huge gripe with Rovers, although suggestions were made the MON did make advances, this will never be proved.

Fenn is the guilty party, no question about it, what we done to faciliate him was very naive, but done in good faith for his superb season to that point with us. We should have inserted a clause that he cannot play for any other Irish side, but there you go.

Sept 13 should be fun in Oriel, not to mention the Lge Cup Final a week or so later if both clubs make it and Fenn is involved in any way.

dont worry we intend settling that score for yous

05/08/2010, 6:10 PM
where is Dundalks statement promised for today?

SMorgan
05/08/2010, 6:12 PM
Today ends at midnight!!!

Looking forward to it myself..

05/08/2010, 6:20 PM
where is Dundalks statement promised for today?

They lied and decided to do a u-turn...

05/08/2010, 6:23 PM
Today ends at midnight!!!

Looking forward to it myself..

oooh, its like the Transfer Deadline day tracker on BBC's website! ;)

by the way, this gave me a laugh from the article on rte.ie posted on the Rovers/Juve thread:

Neale Fenn is ineligible for the Tallaght side. I will inform you if he decides to retire again this evening.

bullit
05/08/2010, 7:38 PM
Foster issues statement:
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100805_Foster.asp
And Dundalk FC:
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100805_Board.asp

05/08/2010, 7:43 PM
Board statement: http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100805_Board.asp

Fivesilver
05/08/2010, 8:09 PM
I reckon the mods are going to have to take a look at this. You have a poster frothing over unfounded speculation about Shams, illustrating his point with a pretty bold "factual" statement attributing unethical action to Sligo Rovers, subsequently downgraded (only after being challenged) to a "general consensus" and then to a "plausible conclusion".

Can someone come back and revive me in a bit - I'll be over here holding my breath for that poster to admit that that was a serious bonehead move.

tippex
05/08/2010, 9:21 PM
Foster issues statement:
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100805_Foster.asp
And Dundalk FC:
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100805_Board.asp

Foster certainly doesnt pull any punches with that statement.
He has landed the ball well and truly in Fenns court.

BTW I just wanted to add my 2 cents. Lads for a minute totally ignore the clubs involved and look at it from your own clubs point of view. The only side to have done wrong here is Neale Fenn. If it was my club he had left the way he did I would be disgusted. However I think I would equally be disgusted if he had joined my club the way he has done.

Karma is a bitch and I'm sure Neale will find this out very soon.....

06/08/2010, 7:52 AM
What Neale Fenn did is absolutely disgusting. He conned his way out of a contract. The PFAI have harped on about clubs honouring players contracts - maybe they should mention that players should honours theirs to. Issues like this really knock the credibility of the league. Neale Fenn ruined his reputation with this, he has only a short time left in his career and when he goes looking for a coaching job when he hangs his boots up, I hope this incident stands to him and that no one will hire someone with such low integrity. Also I firmly believe the transfer dealings of Michael O'Neill need to be looked at. First Chris Turner now Neale Fenn and I'm sure there is plenty of other players he 'tapped'. Contact PFAI at http://www.pfai.ie/contact and tell McGuinness to get off his backside and do something about this, because Neale Fenn and Shamrock Rovers should not get away with this.

http://www.pfai.ie/news

Still nothing from the PFAI ..... really, really quiet at the moment.

marinobohs
06/08/2010, 9:55 AM
http://www.pfai.ie/news

Still nothing from the PFAI ..... really, really quiet at the moment.

Saw a quote from Mc Guinness in one of yesterdays Tabs saying he had got a lot of e mails about it (the Fenn tranfer) and that he understood the fans concern but that it would never happen again because clubs would not release players in the future :confused:. As a players rep the man is an absolute clown
No doubt the "it wont happen again" aurgument will be acceptable from the next club that doesn't pay his memebers :rolleyes:

Ezeikial
06/08/2010, 10:06 AM
Even a total gob$hite like McGuinness should be able to figure out that it is PFAI members that ultimately suffer from Fenn's behaviour.

Doubt he worked that out last Thursday when he and Cahill met Neale Fenn . What did you advise him Stephen?

White Horse
06/08/2010, 10:32 AM
Dundalk will ask the FAI to conduct an investigation into Neale Fenn's move to Shamrock Rovers as Lilywhites manager Ian Foster released an angry statement over the striker's actions. Foster was far more damning in his statement: 'The events that followed are totally unacceptable. I am saddened that a man who was so integral to our season would act in such a callous manner.'

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0806/fosteri_fennn.html

There is nothing new in the RTE report. However, if the media pick up on the story, it will put pressure on the FAI and PFAI to comment upon Fenn's decision to "retire" to Shamrock Rovers.

marinobohs
06/08/2010, 10:55 AM
Dundalk will ask the FAI to conduct an investigation into Neale Fenn's move to Shamrock Rovers as Lilywhites manager Ian Foster released an angry statement over the striker's actions. Foster was far more damning in his statement: 'The events that followed are totally unacceptable. I am saddened that a man who was so integral to our season would act in such a callous manner.'

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0806/fosteri_fennn.html

There is nothing new in the RTE report. However, if the media pick up on the story, it will put pressure on the FAI and PFAI to comment upon Fenn's decision to "retire" to Shamrock Rovers.

Asking the FAI to investigate the model club ? thats a joke.

FAI Investigation

(1) Appoint independent person (preferably called M O'Neill)
(2) Ask shams "did you knowingly break rules" ?
(3) Accept any negitive answer. If answer not clear ask again until clearly negitive
(4) nod and wink in direction of Tallaght
(5) stall for three/four weeks or international week when quitely announching "nothing happened" :rolleyes:

06/08/2010, 11:16 AM
Saw a quote from Mc Guinness in one of yesterdays Tabs saying he had got a lot of e mails about it (the Fenn tranfer) and that he understood the fans concern but that it would never happen again because clubs would not release players in the future :confused:. As a players rep the man is an absolute clown
No doubt the "it wont happen again" aurgument will be acceptable from the next club that doesn't pay his memebers :rolleyes:
I'm not a fan of the PFAI, but I'm not exactly sure what you'd expect him to do or say? You expect the players rep to go after a player? Especially if there is a potential investigation in which they'll presumably be acting on the players behalf.

I wouldn't have thought the PFAI have accepted a lot of the "it won't happen again" from clubs to be far - there's a problem with their consistency, but that could be down to their members at the different clubs taking different positions too.

06/08/2010, 11:24 AM
Even a total gob$hite like McGuinness should be able to figure out that it is PFAI members that ultimately suffer from Fenn's behaviour.

How so? If players are allowed to walk in and out of contracts, I'm pretty sure all of them would be delighted. particualrly when clubs wouldn't have the same types of freedom.

06/08/2010, 11:35 AM
(1) Appoint independent person (preferably called M O'Neill)
(2) Ask shams "did you knowingly break rules" ?
(3) Accept any negitive answer. If answer not clear ask again until clearly negitive
(4) nod and wink in direction of Tallaght
(5) stall for three/four weeks or international week when quitely announching "nothing happened" :rolleyes:

Tell us mb, what's your opinion on them supposed moon landings? Or the extra bullet from the grassy knoll? :rolleyes:

mrtndvn
06/08/2010, 11:48 AM
http://sarahandthegoonsquad.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/Karma.bmp

boneym
06/08/2010, 12:10 PM
How so? If players are allowed to walk in and out of contracts, I'm pretty sure all of them would be delighted. particualrly when clubs wouldn't have the same types of freedom.

Players are not long complaining when clubs do not honour contracts. So the question going forward is can clubs start ripping up contracts for personal reasons

Mark
06/08/2010, 12:30 PM
Fenn's statement, through the PFAI, just released, at 1.30pm:

STATEMENT FROM NEALE FENN THROUGH THE PFAI

Having regard to statements released on Thursday 5 August 2010 by Dundalk Football Club and Dundalk Football Club manager, Mr Ian Foster, I feel it necessary to clarify my position.

The situation is that for reasons which were mutually beneficial to the club and myself it was agreed last month that my contract would be cancelled. At that stage I had not been contacted by any other club and had intended to retire. However, shortly after it became public in the media that I had been released, and was therefore a free agent, I received a call from Mr Michael O’Neill, Shamrock Rovers manager, who offered me an opportunity I could not turn down.

I have always had the utmost respect for Dundalk Football Club and their supporters and I am very disappointed that any adverse allegations are being made. I am happy that I have always acted properly, fairly and within the rules of the association.

End

PFAI l Room 214 Players' Union Offices l National Sports Campus l Abbotstown l Dublin 15 l Ireland
Tel +353 1 899 9350 l Fax +353 1 899 9351 l Email info@pfai.ie l Website www.pfai.ie

06/08/2010, 12:32 PM
How do you say "Retire and we'll offer you a contract" in Italian...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs218.snc4/39261_453754596514_679866514_6184933_2291592_n.jpg

:bigsmile:

White Horse
06/08/2010, 12:38 PM
A ridiculous statement from Fenn.

How was it "mutually beneficial" for Fenn's contract to be cancelled? He was playing well and captained the team on 9 occasions. He approached the club within one week of the transfer deadline with a sob story. The club were stunned but accepted that he wished to retire.

His attempted spin further diminishes him in my estimation.

Mark
06/08/2010, 12:40 PM
ha ha, very good dfx

06/08/2010, 12:40 PM

Having regard to statements released on Thursday 5 August 2010 by Dundalk Football Club and Dundalk Football Club manager, Mr Ian Foster, I feel it necessary to clarify my position.

The situation is that for reasons which were mutually beneficial to the club and myself it was agreed last month that my contract would be cancelled. At that stage I had not been contacted by any other club and had intended to retire. However, shortly after it became public in the media that I had been released, and was therefore a free agent, I received a call from Mr Michael O’Neill, Shamrock Rovers manager, who offered me an opportunity I could not turn down.

I have always had the utmost respect for Dundalk Football Club and their supporters and I am very disappointed that any adverse allegations are being made. I am happy that I have always acted properly, fairly and within the rules of the association.

End

PFAI l Room 214 Players' Union Offices l National Sports Campus l Abbotstown l Dublin 15 l Ireland
Tel +353 1 899 9350 l Fax +353 1 899 9351 l Email info@pfai.ie l Website www.pfai.ieA statement from Neale Fenn's lawyer/the PFAI more like.....

This thread is hilarious btw. After all thats gone on over the last decade in the League, the level of faux outrage and shock that gushes out on here every time a person, club or body behaves with anything less than the highest moral principles is bizarre. Its like going to Naomi Campbell's house every day and expecting Mother Teresa to be inside*.

* and alive

dong
06/08/2010, 12:46 PM
No mention from Fenn now of the "personal reasons" which have seem to have disappeared.
What a dirtbox, even in LoI terms.

06/08/2010, 12:57 PM
A ridiculous statement from Fenn.

How was it "mutually beneficial" for Fenn's contract to be cancelled?

He's implying Dundalk wanted him off the wage bill.

Hilarious alright that Fenn doesn't mention the personal reasons or indeed refute any of the other statements Dundalk or Foster made

boneym
06/08/2010, 1:11 PM
Hilarious alright. I wonder what the rest of the PFAI members think of the PFAI supporting Fenn. Its going to spoil it for players who genuinely want to retire or just want to get out of a contract. Who does Mc Guinness report to? how can he support this when he is always crying about players contracts. I still cant believe whats going on here. The FAI need to come out with some sort of a statement condemming this not that it will be any use, but it still needs to happen.

PartySaint
06/08/2010, 1:15 PM

I received a call from Mr Michael O’Neill, Shamrock Rovers manager, who offered me an opportunity I could not turn down.

End

Tel +353 1 899 9350 l Fax +353 1 899 9351 l Email info@pfai.ie l Website www.pfai.ie (http://www.pfai.ie)

Lots of money???

06/08/2010, 1:15 PM
Hilarious alright. I wonder what the rest of the PFAI members think of the PFAI supporting Fenn.
As above UI'm sure they're delighted to see a player get more money

Who does Mc Guinness report to?
His members, the players

The FAI need to come out with some sort of a statement condemming this not that it will be any use, but it still needs to happen.

They need to investigate and if Rovers did anything, they can condemn it. If all Fenn did was dupe the Dundalk board (without Rovers knowledge) then what's the point of any statement?

06/08/2010, 1:18 PM
I wonder what the rest of the PFAI members think of the PFAI supporting Fenn.
I'd say they'd expect their union to support a member

Its going to spoil it for players who genuinely want to retire or just want to get out of a contract.
It won't change, because all that will happen is that clubs will hold on to the players registration. As most clubs would've in the same circumstances anyway (I'm 99% sure we've done it on a number of occasions)

Who does Mc Guinness report to?
The PFAI members - who else do you expect him to report too?

how can he support this when he is always crying about players contracts.
You (and others) are confusing two issues imo. Dundalk didn't have to release him - he didn't unilaterally tear up his contract as seems to be todays take on it. And to repeat, they could've let him retire but held his registration until the end of the season (if even that long - end of the window might've done).

White Horse
06/08/2010, 1:32 PM
They need to investigate and if Rovers did anything, they can condemn it. If all Fenn did was dupe the Dundalk board (without Rovers knowledge) then what's the point of any statement?

I think this is about right.

I find it strange that Fenn discussed his "retirement" with the club on 24th July and agreed that it would be made public on July 29th. Yet on July 28th he was a guest of Shamrock Rovers when they took on Juventus in the qualifying round of the Champions League.

This is suspicious and merits investigation by the FAI.

boneym
06/08/2010, 1:59 PM
You (and others) are confusing two issues imo. Dundalk didn't have to release him - he didn't unilaterally tear up his contract as seems to be todays take on it. And to repeat, they could've let him retire but held his registration until the end of the season (if even that long - end of the window might've done).

They didnt hold his registration as he stated that he still wanted to play a little bit of football ( suppose he got that right as its only Rovers we are talking about )

total hoofball
06/08/2010, 1:59 PM
That is some pathetic fluffy statement from Fenn, or should I say from the PFAI

If it was as innocent as Fenn says and that it was in Dundalk's interests for him to leave the club then he'll have no bother in suing Dundalk and Foster for slander in light of their damning statements last night.

marinobohs
06/08/2010, 2:18 PM
Tell us mb, what's your opinion on them supposed moon landings? Or the extra bullet from the grassy knoll? :rolleyes:

..........much the same as rascist chanting, pitch invasions, attacking LUAS, tapping up players - just because the FAI say it didnt happen doesn't make it any less true :o

06/08/2010, 2:25 PM
They didnt hold his registration as he stated that he still wanted to play a little bit of football ( suppose he got that right as its only Rovers we are talking about )
They could've released if, or when, he signed for a junior club - there was no need to do it there and then.

06/08/2010, 2:37 PM
Yet on July 28th he was a guest of Shamrock Rovers when they took on Juventus in the qualifying round of the Champions League.

This is suspicious and merits investigation by the FAI.

i agree on the point that Fenn's conduct is questionable at best, but on this point there must have been at least 20 players from other clubs at that game and plenty of retired players too. I doubt very much they were trying to sign them all!

Spudulika
06/08/2010, 2:43 PM
I was one of the first posters on thread a felt that there was something behind it - rumours were flying and one was that Dundalk wanted to trim the wage bill and Rovers wanted him but wouldn't/couldn't pay a fee. Gradually it all revealed itself and now it's a complete mess. Nothing in the LOI is a surprise, as a Dundalk fan I don't see the club as being blameless and there is no way they're as dumb or innocent as has been made out - they used a ridiculous excuse to sack Dave Rogers last year to cut out some expenses, and now Fenn is jumping ship.

On a side note, I now am certain that Rovers will fall short again, when a club pulls something like this they will always suffer. The PFAI have proved they're not in it for the development of the sport and that's okay, but it just makes a further joke of our league and lets the half heads who were wearing red shirts in teh Avivia this week even less reasons to step into a run down cow shed in a field somewhere.