View Full Version : Wesley Webb 2010

Shortstop
26/07/2010, 8:42 AM
Anybody know the teams playing in it this year and when it's starting?

Lev Yashin
26/07/2010, 10:02 AM
Starting on the 5th I think

Shannon town a
Shannon town b
park hibs a
park hibs b
bunratty
Olympic a
olympic b
Rineanna
and sixmilebridge are in this year too

I know there is one preliminary game on the thursday night which is Shannon A against Olympic B then it's four 1/4 finals and so on.

I'm not sure of the rest of the draw but when I know I'll post it up.

Lev Yashin
26/07/2010, 12:18 PM
Right here's the draw.
Prelim. round. Shannon Town A vs. Olympic B

Quarter Final:
(1)Shannon Town A vs. Rineanna
(2)Shannon Town B vs. Olympic A
(3)Hibs A vs. Bridge A
(4)Bunratty vs. Hibs B

Semi Final 1 vs. 2
3 vs. 4

My-right-boot
26/07/2010, 12:42 PM
Shannon town A have to be favourites for this, heard ye've got a load down trainin. Has Ryan Kelly signed for ye?

Lev Yashin
26/07/2010, 2:12 PM
Shannon town A have to be favourites for this, heard ye've got a load down trainin. Has Ryan Kelly signed for ye?

Ya Ryan has signed and will be a fantastic aquisition for us.

Few other new heads. Its looking good. But very early yet.

Goals4fun
26/07/2010, 2:36 PM
Ya Ryan has signed and will be a fantastic aquisition for us.

Few other new heads. Its looking good. But very early yet.

how many/who of last years hibs A teams signed for ye?

Lev Yashin
26/07/2010, 2:48 PM
how many/who of last years hibs A teams signed for ye?

I think andy Fitz is the only one who has signed and I'm not naming who has trained as they could end up not signing or whatever so it wouldn't be fair.

Still welcome to comedown yourself if you want one last go at it! :)

old git
26/07/2010, 3:01 PM
Right here's the draw.
Prelim. round. Shannon Town A vs. Olympic B

Quarter Final:
(1)Shannon Town A vs. Rineanna
(2)Shannon Town B vs. Olympic A
(3)Hibs A vs. Bridge A
(4)Bunratty vs. Hibs B

Semi Final 1 vs. 2
3 vs. 4

jesus shannon town are really confident this year .. prelim round draw has then playing olympic b & then confirmed as quarterfinal town a v rineanna a
olympic b knocked out before game even played .. :D

Goals4fun
26/07/2010, 3:10 PM
I think andy Fitz is the only one who has signed and I'm not naming who has trained as they could end up not signing or whatever so it wouldn't be fair.
Still welcome to comedown yourself if you want one last go at it! :)

totally agree...

as for one last go, how much wd40 do you have up there.......surely Gerry Kelly has that all used up..

squire
26/07/2010, 5:31 PM
It would be a good laugh if Shannon town A and B managed to meet. But I cant see town b beating olympic

Lev Yashin
26/07/2010, 7:50 PM
jesus shannon town are really confident this year .. prelim round draw has then playing olympic b & then confirmed as quarterfinal town a v rineanna a
olympic b knocked out before game even played .. :D

Jesus...just noticed i wrote it like that...bit of a slip.

My bad...

My-right-boot
27/07/2010, 1:55 PM
It would be a good laugh if Shannon town A and B managed to meet. But I cant see town b beating olympic
Ya wud be good if the two hibs teams met aswel but bunratty will prob be too strong for the b's and the a's prob wont be able field a team if things stay the same way

Lev Yashin
27/07/2010, 8:58 PM
Shannon Town vs Olympic B ill be on this sunday night at 7.

old git
27/07/2010, 10:21 PM
Shannon Town vs Olympic B ill be on this sunday night at 7.

7pm sunday night strange time why not play sunday afternoon

Lev Yashin
28/07/2010, 6:34 AM
As I said previously I'm not on the committee so it's nothing to do with me...

Lev Yashin
28/07/2010, 7:23 AM
Maybe because people will be hungover...or very tired and sore after "taking their ladies away for the weekend" ;)

devilfish
28/07/2010, 8:03 AM
Any idea when other fixtures are taking place?

Planners
28/07/2010, 8:36 AM
totally agree...

as for one last go, how much wd40 do you have up there.......surely Gerry Kelly has that all used up..

Poor fellow - are you feeling the pain - - :)

Lev Yashin
28/07/2010, 9:22 AM
Any idea when other fixtures are taking place?

Thursday night i think... the 5th

Lev Yashin
28/07/2010, 7:02 PM
Wesley Webb 2010

Preliminary Round

Shannon Town A v Olympic B

Sunday August 1st - Corrib Drive 7pm

Group 1

Winners of Prelim Round v Rineanna Rovers

Saturday August 7th - Corrib Drive 6pm

Group 2

Olympic A v Shannon Town B

Saturday August 7th - Corrib Drive 7:30pm

Group 3

Bunratty v Shannon Hibs B

Thursday August 5th - Riverside Park 6:15pm

Group 4

Shannon Hibs A v Bridge Utd

Thursday August 5th - Riverside Park 7:30pm

Semi Final

Winners Group 1 v Winners Group 2

Wednesday August 11th - Corrib Drive 7:30pm

Winners Group 3 v Winners Group 4

Wednesday August 11th - Riverside Park 6:15pm

Final

Saturday August 14th - Corrib Drive 6pm

old git
28/07/2010, 8:02 PM
It's a bit mad alright... Last bank holiday weekend before season starts.. I'm sure lads will be taking the ladies away for one last weekend... Why not play it Monday night

more chance of them in the gaa drinkin 3 euro pints... !!! makes no sense playing game at 7pm you have lads waitin around all day on a bank holiday weekend for a late kick -off .. time must be to suit shannon town a ;)

Lev Yashin
28/07/2010, 8:15 PM
more chance of them in the gaa drinkin 3 euro pints... !!! makes no sense playing game at 7pm you have lads waitin around all day on a bank holiday weekend for a late kick -off .. time must be to suit shannon town a ;)

Well speaking form a personal point of view it doesn't suit me....I have a wedding to go too this weekend and i'll have this match in the back of my head now...would have preferred tuesday but i think most teams train on the tuesday....still...plenty o' time to drink after the match!

old git
28/07/2010, 10:58 PM
Well speaking form a personal point of view it doesn't suit me....I have a wedding to go too this weekend and i'll have this match in the back of my head now...would have preferred tuesday but i think most teams train on the tuesday....still...plenty o' time to drink after the match!

still think game should be earlier kickoff or played monday / tues / wed the winners are not playing again untill saturday 7th so dont know why it needs to be played on a sunday evening.. would imagine most clubs would be ok with a match instead of training at this stage of preseason ... so you won't be drinking at wedding then ahead of this big game .. no disrepect to olympic b but ye should be way to strong for them ..

Goals4fun
29/07/2010, 7:31 AM

Cags must be on here somewhere, cause you're saying all the right things (be thinking of the match while at a wedding the day before).....

It seems strange to drag out the tournament over 2 weeks....

Lev Yashin
29/07/2010, 12:10 PM
still think game should be earlier kickoff or played monday / tues / wed the winners are not playing again untill saturday 7th so dont know why it needs to be played on a sunday evening.. would imagine most clubs would be ok with a match instead of training at this stage of preseason ... so you won't be drinking at wedding then ahead of this big game .. no disrepect to olympic b but ye should be way to strong for them ..

You should join our comittee..they are always looking for members!!!

old git
29/07/2010, 2:47 PM
You should join our comittee..they are always looking for members!!!

no chance its a thankless job & you always get cranky old gits giving out about them :D

Lev Yashin
30/07/2010, 7:03 AM
I hears last night that Rineanna will more than likely be pulling out of the Wesley Webb as they have just got a manger installed and wouldn't be ready.

Anyone any idea about Hibs? Will they have both an A and B team??

Shortstop
30/07/2010, 8:39 AM
I hears last night that Rineanna will more than likely be pulling out of the Wesley Webb as they have just got a manger installed and wouldn't be ready.

Anyone any idea about Hibs? Will they have both an A and B team??

Heard the A team are struggling big time haven't had over 10 people training since they started back and their back 3 weeks now, on the other hand their B team are gettin around 20 nearly every training. It's looking more like the B team could become the A team...

Lev Yashin
01/08/2010, 8:01 PM
Shannon Town 3 Olympic B 0.

Rineanna have pulled out so Newmarket will take their place...

old git
01/08/2010, 8:54 PM
Shannon Town 3 Olympic B 0.

Rineanna have pulled out so Newmarket will take their place...

any reasons given for rineanna pulling out ... !!
who scored for shannon town

MikeBassett
01/08/2010, 10:11 PM
any reasons given for rineanna pulling out ... !!
who scored for shannon town

Ryan Kelly got 2 and Paul Butler got 1

old git
01/08/2010, 11:03 PM
Ryan Kelly got 2 and Paul Butler got 1

so no shannon town players scored :D only the blow-ins :rolleyes:

Lev Yashin
02/08/2010, 3:28 PM
Rineanna have only recently got a manager in place i think and have only just started training so they wouldn't have been ready...

Ryan has signed a form so isn't a blow in and is as much a shannon town player as the rest of us...Paul hasn't signed yet but we hope he does.

Goals4fun
02/08/2010, 6:28 PM
is it true ye have 25 players signed with 3 or 4 more yet to decide... thats alot of players to keep happy... i wish ye the best of luck this season but having so many good players signing its going to be impossible to keep lads happy.. especially the lads that got ye promoted..if cags can keep everyone happy then with the new players added ye should easily finish in top half of league..

common sence is that not everybody will be happy but that is football. Tell me any player that is handed a subs jersey that is happy.....by the time players start leaving i am sure town will know the core 16/18 that they will think can keep them in the premier.....

Fair play to cags for attracting so many players, that is what good managers/clubs do in the off season...

Unfortunately the above highlighted statement is not true. He will need to get the best out of the core players of the squad and hopefully get off to a good start and that may see them stay up.

Lev Yashin
03/08/2010, 7:14 AM
We have got a good sqaud with two players in each position now which is what any club would want. We are lucky too that in the final third we have players who are interchangable and can be moved around without distruption.
We're not fooling oursleves into thinking we are going to finish top half but we have to believe we can stay up and with teams in the premier struggling (Janesboro) then the better it is for us.

anchorman
03/08/2010, 9:10 AM
We have got a good sqaud with two players in each position now which is what any club would want. We are lucky too that in the final third we have players who are interchangable and can be moved around without distruption.
We're not fooling oursleves into thinking we are going to finish top half but we have to believe we can stay up and with teams in the premier struggling (Janesboro) then the better it is for us.

Going on yere match last night against a poor lifford side that were lucky to stay up last season Id be very worried. From what I saw ye will be very dependent on 1-2 players, Ye will struggle all season against limerick premier sides. Dont get me wrong ye do have some good young players but cant see them producing against solid players from other teams.

Lev Yashin
03/08/2010, 9:35 AM
Well firstly I don't think lifford where that poor. I mean where did sixmilebridge finish last season? And we beat them 5-2 a week ago.
The bottom line is it's all pre-season...we were missing Evan Barry Fergal McCarthy Shane McCarthy Chippie Dunning to name just a few....it's too early to tell where teams stand yet....

old git
03/08/2010, 9:54 AM

its great in theory 2 players for each position keeps everybody on fighting for places .. but will 11 players be happy every week not starting games !! hope it all works out for you in preimer as it would be great for shannon town and soccer in the rest of shannon

anchorman
03/08/2010, 10:13 AM
Well firstly I don't think lifford where that poor. I mean where did sixmilebridge finish last season? And we beat them 5-2 a week ago.
The bottom line is it's all pre-season...we were missing Evan Barry Fergal McCarthy Shane McCarthy Chippie Dunning to name just a few....it's too early to tell where teams stand yet....

I wouldnt be going on performances on bridge either they had very poor season last season and are struggling to get a team together they also heard they lost 6-1 to balla who didnt play many of first team. All im saying is ye dont have quality to keep ye up maybe im wrong only time will tell but players that arent playing who got ye promoted will not be happy and come half way through season numbers will be low.

Goals4fun
03/08/2010, 10:26 AM
back to talk about wesley webb......there is another thread 'limerick premier league' if people want to talk about shannon towns chances there...

anchorman
03/08/2010, 10:36 AM
Who will be favourites for the wesley webb??? Newmarket maybe? Bunratty in with good look in also.

anchorman
03/08/2010, 10:56 AM
Id say itll be very good comp this to be honest, Bunratty havent signed anyone as far as I know still early to be signing forms they have been getting good turn outs for training from what i hear and few new additions. Will be there and there abouts at end of season, I think newmarket will enjoy wesley webb great competition and excellent for teams to get sorted for season.
Clare team to lift the cup i think. Newmarket maybe!

ginge lyndz
03/08/2010, 11:29 AM
Sure they are all Clare teams :p

old git
03/08/2010, 11:14 PM
Who will be favourites for the wesley webb??? Newmarket maybe? Bunratty in with good look in also.

must be shannon town with squad they have also played alot of friendlys to get players match fit and as their own tournament and trying to win it for 3-4 year in a row they will be the team to beat, also think bunratty may suprise a lot of people everybody seems to be writing them off .. but depends on what sort of team they can get out for games

old git
03/08/2010, 11:21 PM
i cant see it being a great competition this year.. hibs B will beat rats..i heard rats have done all preseason on astro.. will be big difference when back on grass.. who have bunratty actually got to sign a form..???

hard to know what newmarket will be like with new managment..

what makes you so confident hibs b div 3 in limerick will beat a top team in clare preimer league .. is it based on who bunratty have lost or not signed yet ?? wait untill u see what team bunratty put out before making predictions.. unsigned players can play for anybody in wesley webb.. astro training still gets you fit and good surface to play ball on.. yes difference from playing on grass but i'm sure players wont have forgotten how to play on grass all of a sudden:ball:

Goals4fun
04/08/2010, 7:57 AM
what makes you so confident hibs b div 3 in limerick will beat a top team in clare preimer league .. is it based on who bunratty have lost or not signed yet ?? wait untill u see what team bunratty put out before making predictions.. unsigned players can play for anybody in wesley webb.. astro training still gets you fit and good surface to play ball on.. yes difference from playing on grass but i'm sure players wont have forgotten how to play on grass all of a sudden:ball:

it this a touchy subject or what??? unfortunately i don't think shannon town will have wifi at the pitches to allow users to log on here and enter predictions once both teams have taken to the pitch....

these days people get upset if you predict another teasm to beat theirs.....

old git
04/08/2010, 9:55 AM
it this a touchy subject or what??? unfortunately i don't think shannon town will have wifi at the pitches to allow users to log on here and enter predictions once both teams have taken to the pitch....

these days people get upset if you predict another teasm to beat theirs.....

nobody getting upset .. just hard to predict results before you know who will be playing for teams on the day of games :ball:

old git
04/08/2010, 10:00 AM
Old git ... It's my opinion as you have had the B team back training for longer than bunratty... And if the rumours are true con and Noel Collins and Ryan Kelly are gone from bunratty.. 3 big losses.. I might be wrong but I'm entitled to my opinion .. Ya

no problem with your opinion .. but 3 above big loss to bunratty but rumours of 3-4 new players training away with them also ... as for me having b team back training .. news to me !!! wrong person so disagree with this opinion :mad:

el_nino84
04/08/2010, 10:58 AM
Anyone got any idea what the Bunratty squad is like?

Are both Hibs teams playing tomorrow night?

ginge lyndz
04/08/2010, 1:26 PM
So how are Shannon town looking? who are these new players they got?