View Full Version : Model club get help
PartySaint
23/07/2010, 3:09 PM
Rovers game Vs UCD on Monday has been postponed, Too bad we couldnt get this when we had to come back from Russia and play a game a few days later, Too bad Dndalk or Fingal didnt get the luxury either, Enjoy the League title its been handed to youse
Jicked
23/07/2010, 3:12 PM
Thats the right decision made, just ridiculous that it couldn't have been done for other clubs previously. Fair play to UCD too for agreeing to it. Also makes a mockery of the FAIs press statement saying that they did everything they could for Foster/Dundalk.
PartySaint
23/07/2010, 3:15 PM
Thats the right decision made, just ridiculous that it couldn't have been done for other clubs previously. Fair play to UCD too for agreeing to it. Also makes a mockery of the FAIs press statement saying that they did everything they could for Foster/Dundalk.
Thats exactly it Jicked, If everyone had of got the same treatment it would have been no problem but it just seems to be Rovers, Now if its a case that Fingal and Dundalk asked but the teams they were playing said no then i will hold my hands up and say fair play UCD (but really really f*cking ****ed with them)
That is the question. No point getting your knickers in a twist just yet.
PartySaint
23/07/2010, 3:21 PM
That is the question. No point getting your knickers in a twist just yet.
I prefer just to get really angry first and then wait til the facts come out, Makes Fridays more interesting when Pats arent playing
Jicked
23/07/2010, 3:22 PM
I'd think it's more to do with the FAIs love of a junket rather than Rovers. If we got through and were playing a Latvian team I wouldn't have expected this, but John Delaney wont want to be shown up in front of those lovely Italian Federation lads he met last year
Enjoy the League title its been handed to youse
I'd love to, but let's not go overboard, there's a lot more football to be played..
HulaHoop
23/07/2010, 3:29 PM
Following a request from Shamrock Rovers and with the agreement of U.C.D., the above Airtricity League Premier Division League fixture has been postponed in order to facilitate Shamrock Rovers with their UEFA Europa League tie v Juventus.
Key bit in bold. If UCD had said no we would have been told to do one. The same option was open to Dundalk, Fingal and Bohs to request to postpone a league game if the other club agreed to it. A big thanks to UCD on this, nice to see one club helping out another for a change.
23/07/2010, 3:30 PM
I could be wrong but did Pats not get some games postponed to help in some of their great European runs. I seem to vaguely rememebr they were but tbh can't give any specifics.
I'd think it's more to do with the FAIs love of a junket rather than Rovers. If we got through and were playing a Latvian team I wouldn't have expected this, but John Delaney wont want to be shown up in front of those lovely Italian Federation lads he met last year
Thats it exactly. Expect some numpties from SDCC to start throwing their weight around too. Won't distract from ROvers fans enjoyment of the night, but it'll be sickening to see RTE, the FAI and everyone else fall over themselves because Juventus are in town
mrtndvn
23/07/2010, 3:32 PM
This far from hands Rovers the league, if anything it makes it harder for them to win. The only thing the FAI could have done to help Dundalk is permanently banned the physio from management.
I could be wrong but did Pats not get some games postponed to help in some of their great European runs. I seem to vaguely rememebr they were but tbh can't give any specifics.
Nope. Nearest we got was having our game moved to the Monday followig our Thursday game in Samara (Similar to Rovers original plan v UCD)
redobit
23/07/2010, 3:33 PM
Very suprised UCD agreed to this.
They have nothing to gain from Shams playing in Europe, except for the timing and the the possibility of 3 points from that game, when players minds could have been on the Juve game.
If my club done it and we were fighting for points like UCD are (which we are), id be ragin.
Its not a simple, "will you agree to this" type question. If they say no, they **** off the fai and no club wants that. Not starting another conspiracy thread but we all know it happens.
EDIT; and this isn't to suggest that UCD weren't happy to do it. They may well have been.
redobit
23/07/2010, 3:44 PM
Its not a simple, "will you agree to this" type question. If they say no, they **** off the fai and no club wants that. Not starting another conspiracy thread but we all know it happens.
I wonder does the request go through the FAI. Or is it between the clubs first, at which time the FAI can allow it if both teams have already agreed.
total hoofball
23/07/2010, 3:46 PM
Very suprised UCD agreed to this.
They have nothing to gain from Shams playing in Europe, except for the timing and the the possibility of 3 points from that game, when players minds could have been on the Juve game.
If my club done it and we were fighting for points like UCD are (which we are), id be ragin.
UCD could be looking at their home match against Galway 4 days later considering that 3 points in the Galway game would give them a 10 point cushion from Galway and the play-off zone. On the grand scale of things the Galway match is more important to them and Rovers/Juve situation presents them with an opportunity to keep themselves fresh for the Galway match.
23/07/2010, 3:47 PM
What's the problem now?
This in late July, is our first postponement of the season. Most other clubs in the league have had games postponed this year due to waterlogged pitches, floodlight failures, Setanta Crap games, or other reasons. Our first home game this year had to be postponed because of Setanta Crap fixtures. It's been us and 2 others who have played a full schedule to date. This postponement wipes out the game in hand advantage other clubs had over us. I don't agree with it, but it's perfectly understandable.
Jicked
23/07/2010, 3:53 PM
I'd imagine we would have gone to UCD with a request, and then could use the FAI to twist their arm if they didn't initially go for the idea. I'm not sure if any arm twisting was needed. The League of Ireland will be better for having more teams playing in Europe and playing as well as they can.
UCD wouldn't be guaranteed 3 points by playing us on Monday, and we wont be guaranteed 3 by playing them later on (in the middle of fixture pile up due to Europe/League Cup/FAI Cup) so its a sensible decision all round.
This postponement wipes out the game in hand advantage other clubs had over us
There's no advantage with a game in hand. Every team in the world wants to get the fixtures out of the way
23/07/2010, 4:00 PM
Jesus, UCD will never win anything if they keep being so nice.
23/07/2010, 4:03 PM
In my eyes, there's a huge advantage to having games in hand. Doesn't mean you'll take it, but it's the "joker" card you have up your sleeve until it's played. The later in the season it is, the bigger it becomes. Now, most clubs will all have played the same number of games. At least for a while.
We've played all 22 games to date, more than most clubs, so all the whinging over "special treatment" is a load of you-know-what.
seriously, you're insane.
23/07/2010, 4:15 PM
If I had a Euro for every time that accusation was thrown at me, I'd be a millionaire.
Nothing wrong with my sanity thank you. There is a lot wrong with your post.
Fair point. The idea that having a game in hand is an advantage is absolute insanity. The idea that at the most crucial stge of the seaosn, you'd like more games to play is beyond insanity
boneym
23/07/2010, 4:25 PM
Its the right decision but Im in shock that the FAI agreed to the switch after al thats happened
23/07/2010, 4:27 PM
The idea that having a game in hand is an advantage. The idea that at the most crucial stge of the seaosn, you'd like more games to play
Many leagues worldwide have been aided/settled as a result of that advantage, including in our last championship year. If you can't see the benefits of winning a game in hand late in the season to overhaul your rivals, fair enough.
I'm afraid we'll have to agree to differ on it, because I'm not for turning on it. Case closed.
This far from hands Rovers the league, if anything it makes it harder for them to win.
People like to get their excuses in early. If we win the league it'll be because we're the best team in the league, but whenever we get a dodgy peno(we're the only team thats ever got one dont you know) or anything works out for us it's all a big conspiracy. I'm sure when Pats won the league under Dolan that all those frees they used to get around the box were 100% cosher and weren't dives.
PartySaint
23/07/2010, 5:20 PM
People like to get their excuses in early. If we win the league it'll be because we're the best team in the league, but whenever we get a dodgy peno(we're the only team thats ever got one dont you know) or anything works out for us it's all a big conspiracy. I'm sure when Pats won the league under Dolan that all those frees they used to get around the box were 100% cosher and weren't dives.
Im not saying anything about referee decisions because i honestly believe they even out at the end of the day but youse have just been to Israel played a very tough game, one of your biggest matches in your history is on Thursday, Your next to games league are against Fingal then Bohs this game against UCD is huge in the title race IMO now instead yous will now be able to fully focus on this game later in the season and the possibilty of dropping points has fallen, You must see where im coming from as a supporter of a team thats going for the title with youse, Rovers fans would be the same if the tables were turned
Sensible thing to do if UCD agreed to it. I would happy to see Rovers agree to do this to help out another club if requested if the shoe was on the other foot.
This is the biggest European game in Ireland probably since Limerick v Real 30 years ago, so makes sense to give the club involved the best chance. Just a pity the Aviva wasnt opened a few weeks earlier, probably coulda sold over 25 thousand tickets.
Mario
23/07/2010, 6:03 PM
I don't see anything wrong with this.
I don't know whether Rovers asked UCD first, then went to the FAI for approval, or whether they got provisional approval from the FAI, then got UCD to agree.
For those complaining, the only thing that would be a valid complaint is if two teams agreed and went to the FAI for approval, but were denied it.
23/07/2010, 7:01 PM
As usual we bend over backwards to help other clubs and all we ever get in return is to be told that we shouldn't be in the league. We should have insisted on playing on Monday and to hell with Rovers and their European games.
Riddickcule
23/07/2010, 7:03 PM
To hell with them? why? I thought we always supported our fellow LOI clubs in europe, but I suppose peoples jealousy gets the better of them sometimes.
Many leagues worldwide have been aided/settled as a result of that advantage, including in our last championship year. If you can't see the benefits of winning a game in hand late in the season to overhaul your rivals, fair enough.
It isn't the game being i hand thats the advantage, its WINNING the game thats the advantage. it doesn't matter if its the ffirst game of the season, or last game.
PLaying games are regular intervals is far more desirable thatn having 8 games in 25 days. All the games in hand are then a hindrance as players are knackered
I thought we always supported our fellow LOI clubs in europe,
There is no we. Think for yourself> If you want to support LOI teams in europe. Good luck to you
derrymac
23/07/2010, 9:24 PM
During Derry's uefa cup run we had games postponed, one was between ourselves and Drogheda when both teams were playing in Europe. I think it was a bad decision as it ended up costing us the league when we played Drogheda 3 times in 9 days as well as insane fixture congestion with the League Cup, FAI Cup and congested league run in.
Bohs11
24/07/2010, 12:16 AM
During Derry's uefa cup run we had games postponed, one was between ourselves and Drogheda when both teams were playing in Europe. I think it was a bad decision as it ended up costing us the league when we played Drogheda 3 times in 9 days as well as insane fixture congestion with the League Cup, FAI Cup and congested league run in.
Well having to play you lot between our two Salzberg matches probably cost us considering we conceded a goal in the last ten mins.
If the FAI are going to allow teams to postpone games for European matches, then all teams should be allowed to do it and not just the "model club"
24/07/2010, 12:18 AM
If the two clubs agreed I don't see why the FAI wouldn't allow them to postpone it. It just happened to suit UCD to agree on this occasion.
peadar1987
24/07/2010, 1:56 AM
Forget all this chat about possible advantages, and underhand dealings. Maybe it's just a case of good sportsmanship from UCD. I know any club I've played in will accept a reasonable request for a postponement instead of digging our heels in and hoping for a forfeit, and I'd hope Bray would do the same thing if we were asked. There's more to football than winning at any cost.
24/07/2010, 2:20 AM
You lost the league, although Shels were punished for winning it, but it wasn't down to fixture congestion. It was because of your results over 33 games.
When we were in the other division, we were 6 points behind the leaders with 2 games in hand in October. We won the games in hand and the rivals could do nothing about it. It was an important step towards winning that division.
When we won the top division last, we had a game in hand on Cork in the last week of the season. Winning it would bring the title home, and we did so before Cork could affect the situation any further. That's the benefit of the game in hand you have, and it's repeated the world over.
As usual we bend over backwards to help other clubs and all we ever get in return is to be told that we shouldn't be in the league. We should have insisted on playing on Monday and to hell with Rovers and their European games.
I think you'll find very few people saying that without those people having a conflict of interest. Like Pats. Or Bohs.
24/07/2010, 3:49 AM
You lost the league, although Shels were punished for winning it, but it wasn't down to fixture congestion. It was because of your results over 33 games.
When we were in the other division, we were 6 points behind the leaders with 2 games in hand in October. We won the games in hand and the rivals could do nothing about it. It was an important step towards winning that division.
When we won the top division last, we had a game in hand on Cork in the last week of the season. Winning it would bring the title home, and we did so before Cork could affect the situation any further. That's the benefit of the game in hand you have, and it's repeated the world over.
Surely if the same game had been played two weeks earlier you'd still have gone into that round of fixtures as champions?
I think you'll find very few people saying that without those people having a conflict of interest. Like Pats. Or Bohs.
I think you'll find Pats and Bohs have said nothing.
Ezeikial
24/07/2010, 12:37 PM
I am uneasy about this postponement, and as with many issues in this league, it is open to misinterpretation or speculation about lack of even-handedness.
While personally in favour of postponements to ease congestion for Euro teams, there remains a number of unanswered questions
1) Did Dundalk, Bohs, or Fingal request any such postponements?
2) If so did they flounder at the doors of the FAI or the opposition club?
3) Have the FAI established a precedent of postponements subject only to the agreement of the relevant clubs
4) If the opposition clubs agreement is the crucial element, how will FAI guard against accusations of collusion or inducements from one club to another - whether this is real or perceived?
hoopy
24/07/2010, 12:39 PM
Im not saying anything about referee decisions because i honestly believe they even out at the end of the day but youse have just been to Israel played a very tough game, one of your biggest matches in your history is on Thursday, Your next to games league are against Fingal then Bohs this game against UCD is huge in the title race IMO now instead yous will now be able to fully focus on this game later in the season and the possibilty of dropping points has fallen, You must see where im coming from as a supporter of a team thats going for the title with youse, Rovers fans would be the same if the tables were turned
You say 'fully focus' later in the season, but surely we'll be playing a fixture backlog by then so it won't exactly be a case of having a week to prepare? Anyway, these threads usually just develop into fodder for the anti Rovers brigade on here. It was surprising though that it took so long for a Bozo to complain.
hoopy
24/07/2010, 12:44 PM
I am uneasy about this postponement, and as with many issues in this league, it is open to misinterpretation or speculation about lack of even-handedness.
While personally in favour of postponements to ease congestion for Euro teams, there remains a number of unanswered questions
3) Have the FAI established a precedent of postponements subject only to the agreement of the relevant clubs
4) If the opposition clubs agreement is the crucial element, how will FAI guard against accusations of collusion or inducements from one club to another - whether this is real or perceived?
Let's be honest here. The only reason you're 'uneasy' about this is because it was Rovers and because you've obviously believed all the excuses your manager has been making for losing games. Why don't all of you who have a problem with this complain to the clubs who wouldn't agree to cancellations, which is the main issue, or should be. Instead UCD get it in the neck for helping a fellow club out.
redobit
24/07/2010, 1:41 PM
Let's be honest here. The only reason you're 'uneasy' about this is because it was Rovers and because you've obviously believed all the excuses your manager has been making for losing games. Why don't all of you who have a problem with this complain to the clubs who wouldn't agree to cancellations, which is the main issue, or should be. Instead UCD get it in the neck for helping a fellow club out.
I think you just proved one of Ezeikial's point hoppy!
Rasputin
24/07/2010, 2:33 PM
Bizarre, just bizarre.
PartySaint
24/07/2010, 3:57 PM
You say 'fully focus' later in the season, but surely we'll be playing a fixture backlog by then so it won't exactly be a case of having a week to prepare? Anyway, these threads usually just develop into fodder for the anti Rovers brigade on here. It was surprising though that it took so long for a Bozo to complain.
It depends when the fixture is played
Oh and before i forget, Congradulations, Great result, Hope you have a great trip to Italy and get home safely
if UCD agreed then thats all there is to it. I understand the frustration of Dundalk fans though.
24/07/2010, 5:46 PM
Pat's (for instance) would have been mad to agree to a postponement when Dundalk were suffering from injuries and Foster was already losing his cool in the press. Rovers just got lucky that a postponement suits both sides on this occasion.