View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2010/11
western gale
28/11/2010, 10:55 PM
Saturday 4th December
FAI Oscar Traynor Cup
Cork Shipping League V Limerick Desmond, Turners Cross, 230
Saturday 4th December
FAI Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Killarney Celtic 2pm (P. Manning)
Limerick Desmond U-17s Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Broadford Utd V Kilcornan 2pm (P. O’Donnell)
Youths Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 230 (J. Roche)
Youths Division 2
Pallaskenry V Creeves Celtic in Salesians College pitch 230 (N. Allen)
Glin Rovers V Bally Rovers 230 (D. Wallace)
Sunday 5th November
Richard Hogan Cup Quarter Finals (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale B V Carrig Celtic B 2pm (B. Barry)
Askeaton B V Newcastle West B 2pm (G. O’Connor)
Reidy Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Glantine V Athea Utd 2pm (T. Fitzmaurice)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Glin Rovers V Shannonside FC in Lanterns Hotel Pitch 230 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Kilcolman Rovers 230 (M. Houlihan)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Knockaderry V Rockhill Rovers 230 (C. Dalton)
Granagh Utd V Creeves Celtic 230 (J. Roche)
Weekly Observer Division 3
Ferry Rangers V Bally Rovers 230 (P. O’Donnell)
Broadford Utd B V Glin Rovers B 230 (P. O’Brien)
Mountcollins V Ballingarry B in Ballingarry 230 (P. King)
Weekly Observer Division 4
Pallaskenry B V St. Itas B 230 (N. Allen)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Killeaney B 230 (S. Hartnett)
BoyBlue
30/11/2010, 4:37 PM
Now that Butler & Doherty are transfering to NCW should they be called up to the Oscar Traynor squad for the weekend? I would say yes! Doherty would make the defence look a lot more solid.
soccer8
30/11/2010, 9:17 PM
Now that Butler & Doherty are transfering to NCW should they be called up to the Oscar Traynor squad for the weekend? I would say yes! Doherty would make the defence look a lot more solid.
Personally I dont think they should be called up for this wekends match dont think it would be fair on the rest of the squad. Sean Hanlon has signed back from regional aswell from what I heard.......
Gearysfan
30/11/2010, 9:33 PM
Heard Hanlon is back aswell..... Good signings for Newcastle they will be hard to beat for the rest of the season. Don't think they should be on the Oscar trainer team though, it should stay as the original squad.
The match at the weekend in my opinion is pointless. It's been pointless since they appointed pj manager. I don't think he has the no how to manage a team as big as this. Leaving Behan and Riordan on the bench was a huge mistake and just playing for pride at the weekend is a result of a bad decisions made by both the league to appoint pj and by pj's own doing. I can't really blame him though cause he just ain't a good manager. That's just my opinion......
buddygeary23
01/12/2010, 12:03 AM
Ya butler, Doherty and hanlon are back with Newcastle west afc
soccer8
01/12/2010, 1:10 PM
newcastlewest got st michaels or clonmel
Broadford united V Carrik United
Mission Bell
01/12/2010, 1:22 PM
newcastlewest got st michaels or clonmel
Broadford united V Carrik United
When is this tie, Broadford v Carrick Utd., due to be played?
Gearysfan
01/12/2010, 1:33 PM
These ties are not fact yet. There are just been thrown around in other threads. I wud wait to see the full draw when it is released. Two hard ties for Desmond league teams though if it is true
Draper
01/12/2010, 1:43 PM
Of course they are facts, check out the FAI Junior cup page. Plus Mike Hanley rang the relevant Des lge clubs last night regarding the draw.
These ties are not fact yet. There are just been thrown around in other threads. I wud wait to see the full draw when it is released. Two hard ties for Desmond league teams though if it is true
Gearysfan
01/12/2010, 2:23 PM
have tried but cant find it. you must be some kind of special if you can
Gearysfan
01/12/2010, 2:24 PM
FAI Junior Cup 5th Round Draw
1 Galway Hibs v Ballingarry Albion or Moneygall FC
2 Broadford Utd v Carrick Utd
3 Knockainey FC v Coachford A FC
4 Balscadden FC or Tolka Rvs v Knockavilla FC or Springfield FC
5 Peamount Moyle Park FC or Donore FC v Vianney FC or Sandyhill Celtic
6 Cloughjordan FC or Nenagh FC v Pike Rvs.
7 Manor Rgs or Ballymore FC v Athenry FC or Colemanstown FC
8 Castleview FC v Ballyoulster FC or Wicklow Rvs
9 AC Kilkenny FC or Freebooters FC v Erne Wanderers FC or Lagan Harps
10 Avenue Utd v Iorras Aonath or Ballina Town
11 St. Michaels FC or Clonmel Celtic v Newcastle West FC
12 Seaview Celtic or St. Peters FC v Castlebar Celtic or Ballyheane FC
13 Kilmallock Utd v Crettyard Utd or Courtown Hibs FC
14 St. Kevins Boys FC or Killester Utd v Ballynanty Rovers
15 Carrick Rovers FC or Darndale Rovers FC v Carrigtwohill FC
16 Oatfield FC or Trinity Corths FC or Trinity Donaghmede FC v Rasheney FC or Milford Utd
17 Sheriff YC or Liffey Celtic or Clones Town FC or Coill Dubh FC v Belgrove FC or Malahide Utd
18 Monksland FC or Esker Celtic or Chanell SSC or Duleek FC or Kilbarrack Utd v Moville FC or Gweedore Celtic
19 Corduff FC or Cavan Town v Tramore FC or Waterford Crystal
20 Fethercairn FC or Pro Italia Dublin Calico FC or St. Pauls Artane FC v Phoenix FC or Rathcoole Boys or Newtown Rgs
21 Strand Ath or FC Blanch FC v Park Utd
22 Oranmore FC or OLBC FC v Pinebrook Celtic or Collinstown FC or Glebe North FC
23 St. Nicholas FC v Rock Celtic or Birr Town FC
24 Old Bridge FC or Clonmel Town v Trim Celtic or Baldoyle Utd
25 Killavilla FC or Bellurgan Utd v Kinsale FC
26 Gweedore FC or Monaghan Utd v Ratoath Harps or Willow Park FC or Rathfarnham Punters FC or Pioneers FC
27 North End FC or Ferns Utd v Crumlin Utd
28 Mungret Regional FC v New Ross Celtic or Freshford Town FC
29 Wilton Utd v Ballyhaunis FC or Kiltimagh/Knock FC
30 Manulla FC or Westport Utd v City Utd or Boyle Celtic
31 St. Catherines FC or Curragh Ath v Castleisland FC
32 Douglas Hall FC [MSL] v Ballinasloe Town
5th Round Ties scheduled for weekend of the 11th and 12th of December 2010.
Draper
01/12/2010, 4:24 PM
"Please dont call me arrogant, but I am European champion, this makes me special. I believe I am the special one" Lol!
have tried but cant find it. you must be some kind of special if you can
Gearysfan
01/12/2010, 5:02 PM
"Please dont call me arrogant, but I am European champion, this makes me special. I believe I am the special one" Lol!
Very good
cufc champions
01/12/2010, 7:50 PM
hi guys,
Any info on broadford utd, we drew them in the fai, we've had mixed efforts versus limerick desmond teams over the years, but we recently beat rathkeale 3-0 in munster senior
last man back
01/12/2010, 9:41 PM
hi guys,
Any info on broadford utd, we drew them in the fai, we've had mixed efforts versus limerick desmond teams over the years, but we recently beat rathkeale 3-0 in munster senior
There not as good as they have been in previous years and have had mixed results in the league, it would be a major shock if
thry were to beat carrick Utd. SORRY DRAPER
Draper
01/12/2010, 11:55 PM
Dont be sorry, I am the special one!
There not as good as they have been in previous years and have had mixed results in the league, it would be a major shock if
thry were to beat carrick Utd. SORRY DRAPER
hi guys,
Ya they are very poor, One of the three favourites to get relegated imo. Rathkeale would be much better than them and as far as I know beat them 6 or 7 nil in Broadford last year. Are the returning Newcastle boys cup tied for FAI
buddygeary23
02/12/2010, 9:36 AM
Mark Doherty is cup tied in the fai and munster junior cup
Sean hanlon is cup tied in the fai but can play in the munster junior cup
Tossie butler can play in the fai junior cup but cant play in the munster junior cup
Johnnie C
02/12/2010, 2:14 PM
They couldn't have picked tougher draws, at least Broadford are at home and hopefully they get a decent crowd. Would be great to see a DL side make serious inroads in the FAI but can't see either side progrssing.
limkdesmond
02/12/2010, 3:32 PM
Ya both Desmond ties got tough teams to play against..can't see both getting past 2 great sides..broadford home to munster junior cup champions carrick united and Newcastle west away to fai junior cup runners up st michaels.. But u never know in cup football..it would be great to see one or both Desmond sides through to the last 32
limkdesmond
02/12/2010, 3:35 PM
How come shannonside are away to glin this weekend while the Oscar trainers are away to cork?? Are the shannonside players not playing or been dropped or something??
Harry Lime
03/12/2010, 9:15 AM
The Cork Shipping v Limerick Desmond game in Turners Cross is off tomorrow I'm told.
'El Nino'
03/12/2010, 10:28 AM
Bit of both there.I head Behan couldnt make the match tomorrow (which is now called off I beleive) and Hanlon was thrown off the panel.
mad4it
03/12/2010, 12:05 PM
Now that the transfer window is open again ive heard a lot of stories about bigger clubs trying to poach players from some of the smaller clubs. this is just gonna make the gap even wider between them and is not good for the league. do these clubs have any respect for the teams trying to work their way slowly to the top or is there anything that can be done to stop it?
Draper
03/12/2010, 12:48 PM
That kind of thing has been going on since the dawn of time Mad4it, at every single level of football.
Now that the transfer window is open again ive heard a lot of stories about bigger clubs trying to poach players from some of the smaller clubs. this is just gonna make the gap even wider between them and is not good for the league. do these clubs have any respect for the teams trying to work their way slowly to the top or is there anything that can be done to stop it?
soccer8
03/12/2010, 1:58 PM
It happens everyday of every week in the Limerick League , but when someone moves to a bigger club in the Desmond League its a huge deal......personally I think any player should be aloud to move around clubs at the end of the day he is only trying to better himself and play at a higher standard.
mad4it
03/12/2010, 5:13 PM
It happens everyday of every week in the Limerick League , but when someone moves to a bigger club in the Desmond League its a huge deal......personally I think any player should be aloud to move around clubs at the end of the day he is only trying to better himself and play at a higher standard.
I know it happens all the time and at all levels but ive seen clubs promising the world to players and then leaving them on the bench for the rest of the season....if a player wants to improve why not try their hand in the city league and not just go from one desmond league team to another...some of these players just end up rotting away on the sideline and i think its just a waste of talent..
Gearysfan
03/12/2010, 5:46 PM
Who have u heard is poaching or are you just opening a can of worms. I haven't heard of any other transfers other than the lads who are going back to Newcastle from Regional
western gale
04/12/2010, 4:39 PM
All Limerick Desmond League games tomorrow are OFF
Was the Cork Shipping v Limerick Desmond due to be on in Turners Cross played in the Oscar Traynor Cup. If so was their a result.
buddygeary23
05/12/2010, 3:05 PM
Oscar traynor was called off yesterday
Any idea when this match has been refixed for?
buddygeary23
05/12/2010, 6:09 PM
Next weekend I think
Timberlegs
05/12/2010, 7:48 PM
If Broadford have Oscar Traynor representatives it wont be next weekend because their FAI 5th round tie v Carrick is next Sunday at 2pm.
Have It
06/12/2010, 3:03 PM
Desmond league has been postponed until march due to weather conditions :p
Gearysfan
06/12/2010, 9:01 PM
Limerick Desmond League : Headlines
Fixtures
December 5, 2010
Fixtures 11/12 December 2010
Saturday 11th December
FAI Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West V Bally Rovers 2pm (G. O’Connor)
FAI U-17s Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Kilcornan 2pm (P. King)
Youths Division 1
Ballingarry V Newcastle West Rovers 230 (L. O’Connor)
Youths Division 2
Pallaskenry V Creeves Celtic in Salesians College pitch 230 (N. Allen)
Askeaton V Glin Rovers 230 (B. Barry)
Sunday 12th December
FAI Junior Cup 5th Round (extra time & penalties)
Broadford Utd V Carrick Utd 2pm (G. O’Connor, T. Fitzmaurice, J. Roche)
Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West V Rathkeale 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Rathkeale B V Carrig Celtic B 2pm (B. Barry)
Askeaton B V Newcastle West B 2pm (P. O’Connor)
Glantine V Athea Utd 2pm (P. O’Brien)
Adare Utd V Shannonside FC 1130 (P. Manning)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Killeaney 1130 (M. Houlihan)
Ballingarry V Carrig Celtic 1130 (L. O’Connor)
St. Itas V Kildimo Utd 230 (S. Hartnett)
Feenagh V Rockhill Rovers 1130 (C. Dalton)
Granagh Utd V Creeves Celtic 230 (C. Dalton)
Breska Rovers V Knockaderry 230 (N. Allen)
Shountrade V Broadford Utd B 1130 (P. King)
Ferry Rangers V Bally Rovers 230 (P. O’Donnell)
Athea Utd B V Glantine B 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Pallaskenry B V St. Itas B 1130 in Salesians College (D. Wallace)
I wonder how many of these will go ahead. You wouldn't know with the weather?
limkdesmond
07/12/2010, 1:46 AM
Some good games on this weekend.. Broadford v carrick in the fai junior def match of the weekend.. Can't see broadford winning thou..Newcastle v Rathkeale another big game in the munster junior cup. I think Newcastle will come out on top in that game.. St itas v kildimo also a good game on division 1
limkdesmond
07/12/2010, 1:50 AM
FAI Junior Cup 5th Round (extra time & penalties)
Broadford Utd V Carrick Utd 2pm (G. O’Connor, T. Fitzmaurice, J. Roche) AWAY
Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West V Rathkeale 1130 (D. O’Gorman) HOME
Rathkeale B V Carrig Celtic B 2pm (B. Barry) home
Askeaton B V Newcastle West B 2pm (P. O’Connor) away
Glantine V Athea Utd 2pm (P. O’Brien) home
Adare Utd V Shannonside FC 1130 (P. Manning) away
Abbeyfeale Utd V Killeaney 1130 (M. Houlihan) home
Ballingarry V Carrig Celtic 1130 (L. O’Connor) home
St. Itas V Kildimo Utd 230 (S. Hartnett) home
Feenagh V Rockhill Rovers 1130 (C. Dalton) away
Granagh Utd V Creeves Celtic 230 (C. Dalton) home
Breska Rovers V Knockaderry 230 (N. Allen) home
Shountrade V Broadford Utd B 1130 (P. King) away
Ferry Rangers V Bally Rovers 230 (P. O’Donnell) draw
Athea Utd B V Glantine B 1130 (P. O’Donnell) draw
Pallaskenry B V St. Itas B 1130 in Salesians College (D. Wallace) home
Gearysfan
09/12/2010, 8:53 AM
Will matches go ahead this weekend lads?
soccer8
09/12/2010, 10:58 AM
yes all matches should be played...... the weather is good for the weekend it going to reach 6 degrees:) it will be like a heatwave......
happy days
09/12/2010, 11:49 AM
Ncw to win against Rathkeale 2 -1...Looking forward to it...You playing El Nino ???
Should be a tight contest...
happy days
09/12/2010, 11:54 AM
Appart from snow...I wouldn't pick any other shannonside player...They are a good TEAM...but not many great individuals..Thats my opinion..Saying that, 5 or 6 thats on the squad already is shockin imo.I'm not getting into that now!!
Draper
09/12/2010, 6:30 PM
FAI Junior Cup this Sunday lads in Broadford v. Carrick United. We'd love a bit of support from other Desmond League clubs lads, God knows we need it!! Kick off is 2pm in COVE PARK, so come on lads, please come along and support us if you can. Thanks.
Bobby D
09/12/2010, 7:51 PM
Draper im part off the Carrick set up hows your field looking for Sunday do you think it will go ahead, dont fancy sitting in on another Saturday night for it to be called off, heard ye have a great set up, really looking forward to the match...
Draper
09/12/2010, 8:22 PM
Will almost certainly be on Bobby D but dont let that stop you hittin' the tiles Saturday night lol!
Draper im part off the Carrick set up hows your field looking for Sunday do you think it will go ahead, dont fancy sitting in on another Saturday night for it to be called off, heard ye have a great set up, really looking forward to the match...
'El Nino'
09/12/2010, 9:10 PM
Will The Carrick team be much different to the team that played against Rathkeale Bobby D?
Bobby D
10/12/2010, 12:30 PM
We will have a good few changes from the team that beat ye, were missing 7 with injurys from that team..
limkdesmond
11/12/2010, 12:02 PM
Looks like all games should be on tomorrow..how does everyone think what way the games will go???
western gale
11/12/2010, 6:06 PM
FAI Youths Cup 3rd Round
Newcastle West V Bally Rvs, walkover to Bally Rvs
FAI U-17s Cup 3rd Round
Rathkeale 2 Kilcornan 4
Youths Division 1
Ballingarry 5 Newcastle West Rovers 1
Youths Division 2
Pallaskenry 0 Creeves Celtic 5
Askeaton 3 Glin Rovers 0
soccer8