View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2010/11
rushy12
19/10/2010, 4:41 PM
In the last 2 years can someone tell me when they saw a good league game?now im not insinuating anything just curious of who goes to the games, oh ya and if we are talking about Irish call ups I am very surprised that the town keeper Richie Ryan has not wore the green in the last few years.He is a fantastic keeper, how come no one is pushing him?just curious once again...again Barry(balls; who has all his facts) forgive me I'm sorry..dont take these opinions to heart as i know nothing about football
To be fair to Barry Ryan he has a goal scoring record that anybody in any league would do well to match. As regard the stupid things he does it doesn’t bother me at all, every good player at any level of sport is always a bit mad and maybe this is why they are at the top of their sporting profession and why others will always be missing that little bit. These people deserve a pat on the back when they are doing well and should get the recognition that comes with that. He deserves a shot at an Irish cap and I for one know he would have got that chance long ago had he being a Saints player.
celticlads
19/10/2010, 9:26 PM
I must say i am only writing this as a small bit of sour grapes towards the cashel lads tha had the cheek to come on here and run down my club (nenagh celtic) after we drew with peake villa last year. they couldnt then beat a north tipp team themselves at the weekend :) maybe they should put more effort into their own club and they might do a bit better.
Insidetherock
20/10/2010, 7:46 AM
yes i need my head examined but for other reasons.I tried to post a big apology there but wouldnt leave me?probably doesnt like cones either.didnt say the league was poor, maybe a few teams and teams of lower divisions who top teams steam roll in cups and a player can score 3-4 goals in these games, 3 games your in double figures.now I have been persuaded with your stats to change my opinion on barry and by the replies I cant see why he doesnt deserve a shot at it.As for insidetherock and being a top quality league?i see that through your predictions every week - saints town celtic and throw in borris for the acca= rocket science, does this equal to a top quality league?i'm afraid not.top 3 teams probably quality and if anyone else beats them in the league or cup its historic.and please as a fellow football fan dont use Maradona's(god) name that loosely on this forum.thanks insidetherock!
The thing about my acca predictions Rushy, if you look back, is that none of them came up, which shows how hard it actually is to predict the games. That's a sign of a good league is it not ?
Quietman
20/10/2010, 8:39 AM
Fellas, I have to say that as a neutral who takes in a game most weekends, the standard of the TSDL this year is shocking. It has become boring and even the "big" games are bereft of life/passion. I really can't see any of the TSDL teams challenging nationally this year unless something drastically changes. Just my opinion before anyone jumps!!
Town Fan
20/10/2010, 10:55 AM
I heard he was back with them and everything was resolved, maybe not.
Anyway, I still think he is deluding himself if he thinks Town will win FAI.
Walsh never be allowed back nor wanted after they way he left the club
I do think Town are stronger than last year. Jamie O'Flaherty is a good manager and has proven that with the youths. He has added some excellent players as well as some of the youth players. I think if the draws are kind, they could go a long way.
Roberto
20/10/2010, 11:19 AM
Walsh never be allowed back nor wanted after they way he left the club
I do think Town are stronger than last year. Jamie O'Flaherty is a good manager and has proven that with the youths. He has added some excellent players as well as some of the youth players. I think if the draws are kind, they could go a long way.
You obviously don't know the circumstances that lead to Muiris Walsh leaving Town. It was shameful the way he was left out to dry and how an 'honourable club' like Town treated such a decent bloke.
complexman
20/10/2010, 12:16 PM
You obviously don't know the circumstances that lead to Muiris Walsh leaving Town. It was shameful the way he was left out to dry and how an 'honourable club' like Town treated such a decent bloke.
Yes I concur with that, it was simply a disgrace what happened. I couldn't believe it when I heard it. I will never support that club in anyway. the people responsible should be ashamed of themselves. They are still in position's of authority and a honest and decent man like Muiris Walsh is lost to both Town and to football. Disgraceful and shame on Clonmel Town
Soccer Fan
20/10/2010, 12:27 PM
Yes I concur with that, it was simply a disgrace what happened. I couldn't believe it when I heard it. I will never support that club in anyway. the people responsible should be ashamed of themselves. They are still in position's of authority and a honest and decent man like Muiris Walsh is lost to both Town and to football. Disgraceful and shame on Clonmel Town
I heard during the summer what happened and I too was shocked. Couldn't believe that a club like Town could do this. I since heard he was back in the club but given what happened to him, I fully understand why he isn't back nor likely to ever go back. Clonmel Town are stained over this and they will lose a lot of support over it
saintsfan
20/10/2010, 1:21 PM
Fellas, I have to say that as a neutral who takes in a game most weekends, the standard of the TSDL this year is shocking. It has become boring and even the "big" games are bereft of life/passion. I really can't see any of the TSDL teams challenging nationally this year unless something drastically changes. Just my opinion before anyone jumps!!
have to agree with you that, the TSDL premier league is very boring this year, (have been to nearly all of the Saints games) but having said that, there has been large crowds going to the games under lights, so that is good for games, i think this league never changes that much, from year to year, the top teams so to speak don't seem to rise their game for the premier league, they seem to save their best play for the Cups, ie, FAI and Munster, so you couldnt write them off because of the boring league form.
Quietman
20/10/2010, 2:27 PM
Fair point Saintsfan, maybe the TSDL teams will raise their game for the national cups.....but they'll have to raise it well above their league form.........
As for the posts re: Muiris Walsh, does anyone feel like filling the rest of us in on what happened!!
rushy12
20/10/2010, 6:45 PM
You have a good point, this weekends game looks a banker draw x on the coupon but you dont know what way it will go, but the league can be predictable at times and the games not that exciting or interesting, even when some teams charge €5 to see..not all that is.I wont shame the team!the reason I joined this and stiring you up as you look like someone who knows stats and stuff about the league and football.this thread was getting boring and folk were not voicing their opinions and truthful ones, like those town lads talking about what went on in their club.alot of stuff going on in different clubs and no one talking about it or mentioning names.if we all keep debating and agreeing and disagreeing people will talk because im lead to believe people are interested in this thread but dont comment.so il throw this out and see does it get any bites.Would the league be more interesting and competitive if their was an incentive to win it?(like dublin league) money or a trip, something...and if they did, would the local lads stay with their home club to try and win this with them?only an idea..what do folk think?
complexman
21/10/2010, 8:54 AM
I don't want to get into trouble on this forum but what I will say, Town said he resigned on health grounds which was not true. It was a very serious situation and Muiris being the decent and honest man that he is, left. If you want the truth ask the people involved at the top what went on. If the truth comes out, Town should be docked points or thrown out of the FAI. They are a disgrace
I must add, I don't know Muiris on a personal level.
Roberto
21/10/2010, 10:36 AM
I don't want to get into trouble on this forum but what I will say, Town said he resigned on health grounds which was not true. It was a very serious situation and Muiris being the decent and honest man that he is, left. If you want the truth ask the people involved at the top what went on. If the truth comes out, Town should be docked points or thrown out of the FAI. They are a disgrace
I must add, I don't know Muiris on a personal level.
Fair play to you Complexman, you are a man of principle. It's too easy to slag off other clubs when they 'misbehave' like this but you have the courage to have a go at your own club. If anyone wants to know how Muiris Walsh was mistreated they should ring the club.
balls
21/10/2010, 11:07 AM
alright lads this is tsdl thread not muiris thread back to football. anyone have fai draw for 3rd round rumours its out 2day
mr. man
21/10/2010, 11:45 AM
TIPPERARY AREA--W.W.E.C.
3rdROUND
1 Galbally F.C. v Old Bridge
2 Nenagh F.C. v Borroway Rovers
3 Rosegreen Rgs. v Moneygall F.C.
4 Nenagh Celtic v Clonmel Town
5 St.Michaels v Moyglass Utd.
6 Ballingarry Alb v Suirside Wdrs
7 Clashmore Rgs v Cloughjordan
8 Arra Rovers v Kilshellon or Wilderness Rvs.
9 Blackwater F.C v St.Nicholas F.C.
10 Clonmel Celtic v Glengoole Utd.
complexman
21/10/2010, 12:00 PM
alright lads this is tsdl thread not muiris thread back to football. anyone have fai draw for 3rd round rumours its out 2day
You are 100% correct, its not a Muiris Walsh thread but my final word is, Pike Rovers were kicked out of the FAI last season for far less than what Town tried to pull. Thats why it is relevant. It was that serious. one of the biggest and most respected club in the country acted in a dishonest way and Muiris was used and abused by the club, a club he loved and did a huge amount for. I am only bringing it up because of the spin the club put on it and some people inside and outside of Town have tried to paint Muiris as the bad guy
I will say no more about it but the TSDL should investigate.
Town have been handed a tough draw in FAI
balls
21/10/2010, 12:06 PM
michaels and clonmel celtic will be happy with there draw, town have it tough but will be slight favourates to beat nenagh celtic, only other stand out team for me in the hat would be nenagh. rosegreen could be darkhorses to get to open draw
cufc champions
21/10/2010, 12:43 PM
You are 100% correct, its not a Muiris Walsh thread but my final word is, Pike Rovers were kicked out of the FAI last season for far less than what Town tried to pull. Thats why it is relevant. It was that serious. one of the biggest and most respected club in the country acted in a dishonest way and Muiris was used and abused by the club, a club he loved and did a huge amount for. I am only bringing it up because of the spin the club put on it and some people inside and outside of Town have tried to paint Muiris as the bad guy
I will say no more about it but the TSDL should investigate.
Town have been handed a tough draw in FAI
your absolutly correct in your assement of what went fsir play to you for speaking against your own.
daz22
21/10/2010, 12:52 PM
looking forward to playing clonmel at home. they beat us twice in john delaney but hopefully we can turn it around. Had some very entertaining games V them in recent years.is it the 7th of november next round played?
complexman
22/10/2010, 8:02 AM
looking forward to playing clonmel at home. they beat us twice in john delaney but hopefully we can turn it around. Had some very entertaining games V them in recent years.is it the 7th of november next round played?
I was both games and I think Town have improved a lot since then. Apart from the Michael's game, Town have been really impressive this season.I haven't missed a match and although there were a few crazy high scoring games at the start but they have settled down. We threw away three points away to Celtic. That said the Nenagah game is going to be very difficult but if Town have a full squad I would fancy them just to squeeze through, maybe after extra time.
Jamie O'Flaherty is a really bright young manager. He proved that with the youths and he is now doing with the Junior side. Yes they have won nothing and it is very early but the team are playing good football and seem very united. Time will then if this will result in trophies. But so far so good.
celticlads
22/10/2010, 1:38 PM
in fairness complexman if you were at the 2 games i would not be judging anything on them as we were very depleted as i presume were town. i have the highest regard for your club and would always kind of judge our clubs progression on how we do against clonmel. after saying all that we are delighted with the draw as this is what we entered the fai for. i see people on the tsdl site are giving out about the standered of football, i would advise all to come to this game as it has always been entertaining (youths/junior) so should be a great tie. what you think complexman?
footballfanatic
22/10/2010, 1:53 PM
Dont be gettin excited celticlads, clonmel town will win this farely comfortably.
Tipp Top
22/10/2010, 3:16 PM
Dont be gettin excited celticlads, clonmel town will win this farely comfortably.
Always tricky having to go away in the FAI but Town will be much to strong for Nenagh Celtic,Nenagh would have to be very very strong defensively to have any sort of chance and i dont believe they are
lads ye are giving the nenagh lads plenty ammunition to be fired up for town game. i agree with town posters saying they should win this, but lets give nenagh respect they deserve. hopefully town will shade it. in my opinion town are alot stronger than last year and they got to Fai semi last year but the way junior soccer is they might not even get past this tricky nenagh tie so lets wait and see
Hungry Hill
22/10/2010, 7:43 PM
Would have to disagree with ye lads as imo Nenagh celtic are alot stronger now than at the start of the season in the john delaney cup.Also last season Pike rovers were lucky to get out of Nenagh with a 2-1 victory and nenagh had a man sent off.Home advantage to swing it for Celtic.
we have played clonmel town alot in recent years and all have being close games. hungry hill is correct we were depleted at start of season but so were clonmel.we still missing 4,5 players 3 of them serious long term injuries but thats football. were unlucky V pike last year but last year is gone. going to be a good game and hopefully home advantage will do it for us!!!we slowly getting better this year, started off poor.
celticlads
23/10/2010, 12:34 AM
yes clonmel will be favourites and yes they are a stronger squad than us but to write us off before a ball is kicked is a bit disrespectful,we have home advantage and a big crowd behind us and we relish these cup ties,by the way what club are you with footballfanatic
Town Fan
23/10/2010, 12:14 PM
yes clonmel will be favourites and yes they are a stronger squad than us but to write us off before a ball is kicked is a bit disrespectful,we have home advantage and a big crowd behind us and we relish these cup ties,by the way what club are you with footballfanatic
I have been at most of Town's games this year and would have to agree with complexman man that Town have really improved on last year. Loughnanne, Comerford, Clery and Quinlivan have had a big impact and now with Ted O'Connor, I think they could have a good season. However, going to Nenagh is very difficult and I for one would not look beyond that game.
Also have to say that Jamie is doing an excellent job. Irrespective of how the season goes, he is a fine young manager and I hope Town give him the job for as long as he wants is
celticlads
23/10/2010, 1:07 PM
how would you rate us as a football side town fan and have you seen any of the games between us and ye a few years back, honest opinion please
footballfanatic
24/10/2010, 9:10 AM
lads ye are giving the nenagh lads plenty ammunition to be fired up for town game.
Thats the plan balls ;)
Mega Tots
25/10/2010, 1:37 AM
Massive win for Peake Villa today and all week certain people were getting great praise on this site.well i would like to mention David Maher because he has kept the club in with a chance of staying in the division,he got a raw deal under the previous management who seemed to think certain players were untouchable,David has been brilliant this season and is still not as fit as he could be,of the players who remained at the club Donal Duggan was excellent as always but Michael Ryan gets worse every week and i know a couple of the lads who left the club have a particular beef with him but i would now somewhat agree with them,if only he passed the ball today we would have won 3 or 4-0,the boy cannot shoot,he has yet to score this season,i really hope David Maher is an oscar traynor pick and Jody O grady played in the middle of the park today and was also excellent and David Shannon is looking more and more comfortable in the side,credit to Danny he is doing a top job and is an up and coming manager in the TSDL
West Hammer
25/10/2010, 9:09 AM
You have to remember Peake only beat a team that lost it's last 2 home games to lower division teams, 1 from div 4. The relegation fight will go to the wire. If only1 team going down then Cahir must be favorites on current form.
Mega Tots
25/10/2010, 10:36 AM
You have to remember Peake only beat a team that lost it's last 2 home games to lower division teams, 1 from div 4. The relegation fight will go to the wire. If only1 team going down then Cahir must be favorites on current form.
Any win is massive 3 points to the club at the moment,if the current manager has the summer to bring in the players he wants then i would fancy Villa to challenge again next year
balls
25/10/2010, 10:44 AM
cahir or galbally will go down if its only 1 going down. if its 2 going down galbally and cahir will go down, cashel and peake will be grand the other 2 are so poor cant see them picking up any more points, both galbally and cahir appear to be missing lots of there better players i know with galbally they have been badly caught for players by the local gaa club winning the limerick county final and them now being in munster club in the gaa. anyone know whats gone wrong with cahir? how come such a dip in form?
footballfanatic
25/10/2010, 5:45 PM
Thats great to hear about davy maher, he has always been a lovely player but i remember seein him sittin on the bench alot for villa, i was wonderin why, he seems to be gettin a better crack at the whip under danny.
About mick ryan, are you been a bit harsh on him there? anytime i see him he is good, maybe he doesnt get the goals but teams need lads like him. He was superb last season anytime i seen him. Serious fitness.
I see the rest of the tipp cup games were played yesterday, no real shocks anyway.
Mega Tots
25/10/2010, 6:10 PM
Thats great to hear about davy maher, he has always been a lovely player but i remember seein him sittin on the bench alot for villa, i was wonderin why, he seems to be gettin a better crack at the whip under danny.
About mick ryan, are you been a bit harsh on him there? anytime i see him he is good, maybe he doesnt get the goals but teams need lads like him. He was superb last season anytime i seen him. Serious fitness.
I see the rest of the tipp cup games were played yesterday, no real shocks anyway.
Last season was Micks worse season for the club,i think at a push he scored 5 or 6 goals while David Maher sat on the bench,thats the point im making,this manager has given David his chance and he showed he should have played ahead of players who have been indulged in previous seasons,Foggy scored 20 odd goals last season and nobody else chipped in,in fairness Foggy should have been TSDL player of the year,no offence to Graham Doyle
West Hammer
25/10/2010, 6:14 PM
All I know is that there has been a change of management in the last 2 weeks! Which this early in the season is not a good sign.
Bobby D
27/10/2010, 11:53 AM
St Micheals seem to be going well.those anybody think this yr could be there year to win the junior cup.
footballfanatic
27/10/2010, 1:38 PM
Ya i think they will give it a right good rattle, they are stronger this year than last year.
Can anyone confirm, how many teams come down, just 1 i presume with 2 coming up.
rushy12
27/10/2010, 9:22 PM
sticking your neck out there with that prediction..of course they will go a long way.especially if your getting cullen lattens and moyglass in early rounds..fairview got pike and gone.all about the draws!they will be the best tipp team in it this year.
footballfanatic
27/10/2010, 9:49 PM
i havent a care in the world who pike got...fine, i think michaels will get at least semi final this year and once there there, they will hope to win which i think they can do, will come down to a bit of luck.
green&white
28/10/2010, 4:26 PM
To my knowledge M. Coady( now with Waterford Utd ) got 1st call up with Carrick in WDJL, not with Clonmel T as stated above
rushy12
28/10/2010, 5:26 PM
Republican I like your honesty....if barry ryan was good enough he would be picked as that meerkat says "simples". Doesnt matter whether he played for Saints or Town, I respect the fact he has a hatfull of goals and credit to him, but opposition is the key, smith isnt going to watch town v cahir and barry get a brace..FAI'S and Munster juniors againt the big teams with credible defense's and if he does the business then he answers the critic's!anyway enough about him...boring....As for footballfanatic luck and arbitration!!Ooooucchh
ComeOnTownNow
28/10/2010, 8:01 PM
coady was with carrick when he got a call up, many years ago when aaron moroney was in his prime for Clonmel Town a lot of people were calling that he should get a call up to the squad but didnt. then in 2004/05 season when he signed for St Michaels amazingly he was called into the squad! i wonder why??? i know a few players who have been asked to sign for St Michaels with the carrot being a call up to the junior international squad, how do u think paul breen signed!! breen in fairness well deserves his place as he is better than chalkie for the record...
yer man who signed from athenry was another example...
nononsense
28/10/2010, 8:18 PM
Congratulations are in order for James Walsh (St.Michaels Tipperary). He captained the Republic of Ireland Amateur side which qualified for the Finals of the European Amateur Clampionships following an excellent 3-0 victory over France yesterday. He led by example, scoring two goals from the penalty spot. Also congratulations to goalkeeper Adrian Walsh (Carrick Utd) who kept another international clean sheet.
rushy12
28/10/2010, 8:20 PM
Thata a great point about your man from athenry and aaron..I dont see any Saints fan's arguing tho..should be interesting..as for Paul Breen he lives 10 mins away and what did ya want him to do play with dundrum?and he doesn't need anyone to get him a call up, the way he puts himself about he deserves his place more than anyone else on it. He is one of the if not thee best junior player in Ireland...quote me on that too, he usually rolls barry ryan up and discreetly puts him into his pocket.
footballfanatic
28/10/2010, 8:21 PM
Yes rushy, enough about barry ryan, jees this one man seems to mean more to people than the bloody league. ye are like barryfanatics but ye should be like me and football fanatics ;)
can someone answer my earlier question about how many go down? if its only 1 ,twill prob be cahir will it or galbally or cashel. 2 up i presume aswell, borris and oldbridge perhaps?
i havent a clue what arbitration means either :P
West Hammer
28/10/2010, 8:50 PM
The decision about now many go down will not be made till the next league AGM. The format of the divisions this season was only decided 3 weeks before start of season. Until the number of teams entering the league is confirmed the league can not set out each division. All that said any team that finishes 2nd from bottom should be safe, don't quote me on that!!
ComeOnTownNow
28/10/2010, 9:04 PM
breen is the best junior centre half in ireland on his day and learned his trade with peake villa and left peake villa when they were a decent junior side and cud of stayed with them but opted for michaels cause of the big orange carrott, he deserves all the caps he had received to date. there was also another statement made round 2 yrs ago that dwaine burns wud of got a call up only for he played with the wrong club, and thats a fact