View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49

junglegym
25/11/2010, 11:38 PM
Coachford v Macroom,cant wait....

Slightly unfortunate for both Coachfords and Macrooms 2nd teams to miss this exciting fixture. Ye might give us a wave in Carrigadrohid when your passing ;)

:ball: Or the ideal thing would have this game on Sun Morning. Thanking you in advance Mr. Secretary :ball:

sharpshooter
26/11/2010, 12:10 AM
ya sunday would be better bigger crowd from both sides watching it....either way it will be a great game id be thinking....

Dixie's Cousin
26/11/2010, 7:52 AM
Typical AUL they would seriously want to rethink how they do fixtures

trouble
26/11/2010, 2:06 PM
well killer now the rumours are starting so dont think i be far off when i said littleman for little island if tru best of luck to him

killer"B"
26/11/2010, 3:07 PM
well trouble if he is the man for little island best of luck to him as you says.. all hear say for now !!! some has to take over down there and funny thing about it there having a great start to the season played 4 won 3 drew 1and on 10 points so they cant complain down there :)

Dixie's Cousin
26/11/2010, 3:07 PM
Littleman for Little island would be a shock but who would be surprised?

Dixie's Cousin
26/11/2010, 3:11 PM
Didn't Leeside get beaten last weekend in the Mossie?

killer"B"
26/11/2010, 3:14 PM
Didn't Leeside get beaten last weekend in the Mossie? ya they did loose 5-2 to Killumney i think !! im just talking league wise !!!

Dixie's Cousin
26/11/2010, 3:26 PM
Maybe they just got ****ed at the lost?

the ghost
26/11/2010, 3:38 PM
yera Dixie you wouldnt know what the story really unless you heard it from the ex manager himself. But since Boo hasnt come out and said he left for work or family commitments and is ''keeping it inhouse'' as he would say you would presume there is hassle??? like Littleman it will be interesting so see if he takes over another team and takes some Leeside players with him but as ye said there going well so I think theyll stick together

sharpshooter
26/11/2010, 4:21 PM
any chance of all this manager talk affecting leeside sunday morning prob not,but ud never no.we will have to be away better than the way we played at home a few weeks ago...

thebooboys
26/11/2010, 5:27 PM
yera Dixie you wouldnt know what the story really unless you heard it from the ex manager himself. But since Boo hasnt come out and said he left for work or family commitments and is ''keeping it inhouse'' as he would say you would presume there is hassle??? like Littleman it will be interesting so see if he takes over another team and takes some Leeside players with him but as ye said there going well so I think theyll stick together

As iv stated from the outset, managers left of their own will, no pressure from players/committe/club etc. Deadline for apllications SUN evening i think if any1 else is considering throwing their name in the ring.

olachico
26/11/2010, 10:07 PM
As iv stated from the outset, managers left of their own will, no pressure from players/committe/club etc. Deadline for apllications SUN evening i think if any1 else is considering throwing their name in the ring.

are you expecting a rush of applications sunday evening Boo?? Are there a lot of good managers available at this time of year???

qwertyui
27/11/2010, 11:48 AM
Heard the management got fed up due to lack of commitment from players?! Any truth to this lads? I only heard this yesterday and I must say it did surprise me.

Harry Lime
27/11/2010, 3:26 PM
Some pics from the Youths League v Limerick Desmond last night:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5284/5211358793_4e317d49b1.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/seanryan/sets/72157625478633374/)

scaffa7
27/11/2010, 4:57 PM
Bohemians 3-3 Leeds

Great game played in the Fairfield today Leeds coming from behind to snatch a draw with the last kick of the game!
Went 1 up after 15 mins when John Cronin scored a great diving header from a Trevor Hallissey corner and added a 2nd on 30 mins when Michael o Callaghan got on the end of great flick on from John Cronin and cracked a great shot into the bottom corner from 20 yards.
2 mins later Leeds scored a lovely goal from Shambo who curled a great shot from the edge of the box to make it 2-1.
I myself got on the end of a great ball from Trevor Hallissey again to make it 3-1 just before the half to give us a nice cushion again..............

2nd half have i must say leeds came at us and Shambo got his 2nd to make it 3-2 on on 60 mins.For the next 25 mins or so Leeds pressed hard for the equalizer but we held strong and wer a bit unlucky to pick up an injury to Trevor Hallissey when all our subs wer used but infairness to him he struggled on for the last 15 mins.
But in the last minute of injury time we gave away a free kick just outside the box and the Leeds fella scored to end the game.
We"ll feel a bit hard done by but on the basis of the game a draw was probably a fair result.
Greenwood play Killumney tomorrow and then we play Greenwood next Sunday so will have to pick our heads up for another tough game next week!

scaffa7
27/11/2010, 5:41 PM
LATEST RESULTS

Friday 26th November K.o 7.30 pm
FAI Umbro Junior Cup 4th Round: Carrigaline Utd B 1 Wilton Utd A 4;
Saturday 27th November K.o 2.30 pm Unless Otherwise Stated
Douglas Hall MSL v Grattan Utd A 7pm; Park Utd A 8 Ballyvolane A 3; Kinsale A 6 Village Utd 0; Carrigtwohill Utd A 6 College Corinthians 2; Postal Celtic v Castleview, 5pm;
Premier A: Blackstone Rovers 2 Pearse Celtic 3; Bohemians 3 Leeds 3; Glenthorn Celtic v Kanturk (off);
AUL 1: Knockraha 1 Leeside B 2;
AUL 1A: Richmond v Glenvale (off); Kilreen Celtic 6 Passage 0; Donoughmore Ath 2 Greenmount Rangers 2; Rathcoole Rovers 1 UCC A 2;
AUL 2: Hibernians 0 Innishvilla 3; Dunbar Celtic 4 Blackpool Celtic 2; Casement Celtic 3 Wilton Utd B 1;
AUL 2A: CFC Banteer 3 Coachford 3; Waterloo 1 Macroom B 1; Killowen 2 Ballyvolane B 4; Rylane Celtic 3 Millstreet Celtic 0;
AUL 2B: Corkbeg 2 Central Rovers 0; Watergrasshill Utd 1 Cathedral Celtic 3;
AUL 3: Cork Road Celtic 1 Afton Villa 1; St John Boscos 0 Glen Celtic 0;
AUL 3A: Ballincollig 3 Strand Utd 1; Bweeng 1 Los Zarcos 3;

junglegym
27/11/2010, 5:51 PM
Slightly unfortunate for both Coachfords and Macrooms 2nd teams to miss this exciting fixture. Ye might give us a wave in Carrigadrohid when your passing ;)

:ball: Or the ideal thing would have this game on Sun Morning. Thanking you in advance Mr. Secretary :ball:

My apologies Mr. Secretary, there is a Soccer Benifit night Sat. night. in Coachford so it wouldn't do for our lads to turn up sick to this eagarly waited derby on Sun. morn.
That is the reason for the Sat. fixture.

Div. 2A result.
Banteer 3-3 Coachford
Down 3-1 at half time, kept pluggin away to get a much deserved draw. Delighted with the point away from home.

The 'View
27/11/2010, 10:07 PM
Won tonight 5-1 against Postal Celticin Fai Junior Cup, on Mayfield all weather pitch. Good game for us, the youngsters got a good run out. But being honest Postal were extremely poor. They only had 11 players. Ref blow up with 20 mins left and we even had the luxury of giving 3 of our minors a game. I think we're in the open draw now. Could we go all the way to the final and emulate the Castleview heroes of yester year? Only joking but hopefully we can do AUL proud.

scaffa7
28/11/2010, 5:23 PM
Douglas Hall MSL 7 Grattan Utd A 1

Seems like the commitee for Gratton could be feeling like right fools after this could be a long season for Gratton will players stay if they know they could be in for this kind of hammering week in and out ...........could the team fold???........Early days but you cant blame the players on this one stepping up 4 divisions in the space of 2 weeks will be very very hard!!

Pearce 3-2 Blackstone .......any reports Horse/Olach???

killer"B"
28/11/2010, 6:41 PM
well scaffa what you say with the jumping up 4 divisions for the players will be hard on the club as a whole but not many teams would put it up to douglas hall msl fact i played in that game last nite and the coaching and set up the have is something else not many aul teams would beat them ... figo was the man for grattan last nite that man has some skill in his locker i tell ya !! off to OZ for a month now so when he gets back will he stay !! or will he go !!

the owl
28/11/2010, 8:39 PM
Real shame whats happening up in Gratton. A club with so much history in the AUL. Very hard on a up and coming 2nd division side to fill the boots of their Prem side in a short space of time. If these results continue, im not saying they will, but players can only take so much of being on the wrong end of a hammering. Sad really because the "Killer Bs" could have progressed through the divisions but its not to be and the prospect of playing the Prem sides every week could be just a bridge too far for Grattan.
Goodluck to them.

Dixie's Cousin
28/11/2010, 9:27 PM
Bad lose Ollie! As for Grattan tough first game for the new management! Douglas hall are a good side probably the best in the MJL. I Can't understand why premier league teams are short players, do players not want to play premier league? Any thoughts people!

Timberlegs
29/11/2010, 8:37 AM
Sorry lads wondering here whats happened with Grattan- saw them pre season playing a game and didnt look too bad- has Gavin finished up managing them.

Inswinger
29/11/2010, 12:01 PM
Having suffered a few disapointing results in the last few weeks, drawing with Knockavilla felt like losing the game considering the number of chances we missed and the stupid goals we conceded and bowing out of the MJC against Village where again we contrived to miss a hatfulof chances, saying that we had no one to blame but ourselves and they are harsh lessons to learn. Yesterday we welcomed Blarney Street and for the winners a place in the open stages of the FAI Junior Cup awaited the victors.

Coachford 1 Blarney Street 0

First and foremost great credit goes to Pat Murphy for allowing the game proceed, whilst the pitch in general was in good nick, one of the goalmouths was nt perfect and he gave it every chance to allow it thaw. Some refs would have turned up , called it off and taken their few quid. He refed it well, allowing advantage where possible and always spoke to the players calmly and respectfully.

Blarney Street were well organised, up for it and appeared to be at full strength, Willie Bruton is a huge addition to them, very clever player. We were short a few bodies ourselves, however the lads who came in took their chance and can be pleased with their performances. The big advantage of having a good squad, Mr. Stokes will have a nice headache this week! The game was played at a good pace and both teams had chances to open their account before the break, our keeper Ray Moynihan making a super double save that Jungle Gym would have been proud of and Ken Hogan clearing off the line from Willie Bruton. We contrived to miss our usual few chances!! I felt we shaded the second half and went ahead with ten mins to go, Colum Gradys cross met with a super header from Ken Hogan. Held out and should have added a second with the street pushing on, when Keith Linzell rounded the keeper only to hit the post with the goal at his mercy!!

Overall a good performance in difficult conditions, delighted to be in the pot this week and hoping for a home draw, cant remember the last time we got out of Cork in this cup. It will be a great experience for the squad. The squad is strong & is going to get stronger this week, I ll keep my powder dry, word travels fast!!

Inswinger
29/11/2010, 12:07 PM
Park hitting Ballyvolane for 8, would love to have seen that!! Any reports on that lads.

keepers!
29/11/2010, 12:18 PM
Balllyvolane where 3 up in the first half and then got hit for 8. They had one sent off too. I wasn't there but I know a few of the lads with ballyvolane. They weren't too pleased and I can't imagine the long spin home after was much fun either.

Good result for us though against Bohs. 3-1 down at half time and brought it back to 3-3 in the last minute. Looking forward to playing them up in Leeds Park!

olachico
29/11/2010, 1:19 PM
No report on the Blackstone v Pearse game - fairplay to Pearse - as for others well.........................

killer"B"
29/11/2010, 2:26 PM
Bad lose Ollie! As for Grattan tough first game for the new management! Douglas hall are a good side probably the best in the MJL. I Can't understand why premier league teams are short players, do players not want to play premier league? Any thoughts people!
as you said dixie"s cousin douglas hall are the best MJL team around and all the best to the cork teams left in the fai junior cup its rebuild time for grattan now !!! as for playing premier football some clubs have the players and others clubs dont have the players for it ..

Dixie's Cousin
29/11/2010, 2:37 PM
That's true Killer, but looking at the weather people will have time to rebuild and regroup

killer"B"
29/11/2010, 3:23 PM
but dixie it very hard to bring players in from other clubs most players these days are with there clubs years and years,,, your only getting players that are not with clubs and there not with clubs for a reason either they dont want to play or just show up when they feel like it it that the right attitude to have at your club??? NO!!!! would be my guess

Dixie's Cousin
29/11/2010, 4:23 PM
well transfer window opens wednesday, let the merry-go-round begin

Horse24
29/11/2010, 4:25 PM
Missed the game due to shopping commitments abroad!!

Spoke to 5 or 6 involved. We are very disapointed and we didnt play well at all. Only 2 or 3 out of 14 got a pass mark! Seperate accounts say we should have had 2 or 3 penalties.

And, in the irony of local football, one of our lads had to go a party where the whole Pearse team were..............poor fella!!

With the two above us dropping points, It was a big opportunity wasted. Sometimes the best thing to follow is a tough one and away to Kanturk will be that.

Kilumney putting the results together.

I understand Douglas Hall Juniors would be good, but the scoreline still shocked me when I saw it. Fairplay Killer, you seem to have the right attitude.

Now that all the text votes are in, who won the "Boo Factor" down in Little Island?

killer"B"
29/11/2010, 4:38 PM
"""" I understand Douglas Hall Juniors would be good, but the scoreline still shocked me when I saw it. Fairplay Killer, you seem to have the right attitude. """"""

thanks horse but trust me douglas hall MJL would match any AUL premier league side

killer"B"
29/11/2010, 4:50 PM
im sure the new manager has a few ideas of the players he might want so it will be a fun transfer window for the gratts !!!!

thebooboys
29/11/2010, 5:15 PM
What was final score in match versus Douglas Hall Killer. Rumours doing the rounds that 7-1 may have been too Kind??? As for Boo Factor Horse theres action taking place today and tomorrow with manager announcement due thursday hopefully.

killer"B"
29/11/2010, 5:16 PM
AUL LEAGUE TALBES 29TH NOVENBER:https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AgtDDodBOjQ7dG9LcUhqeW1EX0RsTk55VWhjZl9ZQ 3c&output=html

killer"B"
29/11/2010, 6:01 PM
no rumours booboys 7-1 was the out come not ashamed to say we faced a much better team than us on the nite

casilles
29/11/2010, 6:10 PM
hi lads, Inswinger agree with our post. hit everything on the head! I too have to commend Pat Murphy for giving us those few mins too get the game going. Was dissapointed as one should be losing a match, thought we could have been 2/3 up in the first but didnt get going in the 2nd half. We travelled with a full squad wuth Paul Hogan been the only absentee tried a few things, different playeres, different positons. Managment had said the Fai and Mjc we would be rotating giving the whole squad games , the League and Aoh been giving precedence. Hoping to get in 1 or 2 in the transfer window. Looking at things, Mjc next week away to Springfield who are going well so a very tough fixture there, probably i think Aoh following so that mid December, be lucky to have 3 leagues played in the league come January. We will i hope be stronger and look to push on in the league.

Boo come on we want answers!!!! Littleman is on his way down the carraigtohill dual carraigeway as we speak!!!!

Was at the Douglas vs Grattan game on Sat night, great set up by the way, all we were short was a heater thou!!!! Douglas good footballing side , the use the pitch well and a few ex senior players, well deserved. As for the gratts it was always gonna be tough. Only 3 1st team players were playing, Dave Sull, Pello and Figo. As for asking players to step up 4 divisions , yes i agree but the new manager has to be given time. Was talking to Dean and he has said there wiping slate clean starting fresh and looking to move on from it. I wish him all the best as do all involved with Blarney St.

Park vs Ballyvolane unbelievable!!!! never heard of anything like that before!

Horse ya agree the joys of local ball , meeting the opposition in town afterwards!!! its a thing i love about our game the different way we all see things!

The 'View
29/11/2010, 9:07 PM
Looks like Grattan are in for a real hard year. May take years to recover but 'killer b' keep the head up this happens to every club. I think you said Dean was the new manager, hopefully he does well, usually these are the guys who keep the club afloat but get little recognition. Killer this problem with B team players having to play with the A team is a problem that all big clubs have. I know that Castleview struggled with it for years but its a problem that the club must deal with if it wants to grow.

killer"B"
29/11/2010, 10:01 PM
Looks like Grattan are in for a real hard year. May take years to recover but 'killer b' keep the head up this happens to every club. I think you said Dean was the new manager, hopefully he does well, usually these are the guys who keep the club afloat but get little recognition. Killer this problem with B team players having to play with the A team is a problem that all big clubs have. I know that Castleview struggled with it for years but its a problem that the club must deal with if it wants to grow. that it the view we just have to soldier on now as for keeping my head up i will dont worrie were not the first and bye sure hell we wont be the last hopefully dean gets the players he needs and the club will continue to keep 2 teams in the aul

Dixie's Cousin
30/11/2010, 11:23 AM
Looks like Grattan are in for a real hard year. May take years to recover but 'killer b' keep the head up this happens to every club. I think you said Dean was the new manager, hopefully he does well, usually these are the guys who keep the club afloat but get little recognition. Killer this problem with B team players having to play with the A team is a problem that all big clubs have. I know that Castleview struggled with it for years but its a problem that the club must deal with if it wants to grow.

View, i don't think some people look for recognition all they want is what is best. but best of luck to him

The 'View
30/11/2010, 11:59 AM
Dixie you're pickin me up wrong. What I mean is when clubs are down the guys left behind to keep things afloat work twice as hard to keep the club going. But its the guys who were with the club when it was successful usually get the recognition. The same guys who now jumped ship when things weren't so good. Not really clubmen are they? When clubs are doing well lots of people jump on board. Its easy to join a successful club. Soccer clubs could really take a leaf out of GAA clubs book when it comes to loyalty.

Dixie's Cousin
30/11/2010, 12:04 PM
View, i'm sorry i did pick you up wrong but you are spot on

Horse24
30/11/2010, 1:00 PM
Not sure Littleman got major recognition when times were good...........or looked for it.

I cant see how anyone can diss his clubman work either

The 'View
30/11/2010, 1:59 PM
Horse not including Littleman in this category. No one can argue what a great clubman he was both on and off the field. Maybe he'll rejoin in the future. Maybe Committee could have handled it better and kept him onboard. Where are all the super stars now? Gone off to try and win trophies elsewhere, which I can sort of understand. But isn't that decision about themselves and not the club. Which goes back to loyalty. When say St.Vincents or Na Pairsigh are doing badly you don't see guys giving up or wanting to leave, just a different mentality really.

overthehill
30/11/2010, 1:59 PM
Hot off the presses....... Leeside job stays inhouse! Jimmy barr the new no.1- confirm boo?

jumpersforposts
30/11/2010, 2:05 PM
Not sure Littleman got major recognition when times were good...........or looked for it.

I cant see how anyone can diss his clubman work either

Well Horse talking to Grattan people you cannot doubt his work at committee level but I am not sure why you think he should be recognised for good times up there as far as football is concerned?

Dixie's Cousin
30/11/2010, 3:40 PM
Overthehill, no Littleman? is this confirmed?

bluey
30/11/2010, 4:15 PM
Confirmed Jimmy Barr new manager of leeside so yes overthehill stayin in house. Very happy with that to be honest, all looking forward to game now on saturday thats if there will be any games to be honest.