View Full Version : FAI object to Kierans as Drogs manager
would agree but are we setting the bar to high to quick, getting your A licence is not easy and the pool of potential managers is not that big
But it hasn't been a quick move. Clubs have had 3 years notice of this, as the required badge was gradually moved up.
As osarasun said, Drogheda obviously thought they'd be "grand", so fair play to the FAI for sticking to their rules.
24/06/2010, 5:17 PM
isnt that why Dermot Keely quit as Shelbourne manager as next season his special disposition ( from his long experience in the game) will expire and he would have to be fully qualified to manage. Hats off to the FAI. That was the reason why we changed manager last preseason as Gareth Cronin didnt have a UEFA licence either and expected the club to pay for his education which we declined.Tony Cousins on the other hand was qualified to manage.
total hoofball
24/06/2010, 10:04 PM
isnt that why Dermot Keely quit as Shelbourne manager as next season his special disposition ( from his long experience in the game) will expire and he would have to be fully qualified to manage. Hats off to the FAI. That was the reason why we changed manager last preseason as Gareth Cronin didnt have a UEFA licence either and expected the club to pay for his education which we declined.Tony Cousins on the other hand was qualified to manage.
Keely quit Shels because they're were struggling under him, felt he went as far he could them. He did say in one of his recent Sun articles that it was unlikely he would have been managing in 2011 anyway but he did acknowledge he has been under increasing pressure from the FAI and Packie Bonner to get his badges. He said he didn't believe in coaching badges, considers himself a manager not a coach etc. but AFAIK the immunity for experienced managers will remain for the foreseeable future unless UEFA implement a strict no tolerance policy towards experienced managers without their badges.
ndrog
24/06/2010, 10:36 PM
Without wanting to incur the wrath of Drogheda fans, if (and I repeat if) the FAI have tightened up the rules regarding coaching badges for managers and made that known to all clubs, then did Drogheda appoint Kierans because they were unaware of it, or because they thought they'd get 'a nod and a wink' from the FAI?
If this is part of a general and transparent move away from 'ah shur you're grand' management so common in this country in general and in the FAI, then I wouldn't criticise them too much over this.
Think your prettty much spot on there tbh . Its a pain in the hole but what can we do .
bullit
24/06/2010, 11:26 PM
its apparent that the Drogs board made a complete ****-up by appointing kierans,pretty amateur stuff.The ILC said in their judgement that before he was given the position the FAI had warned them that he wasnt a qualified candidate for the job.
Alan matthews said(on his departure from DUFC) that it was a premier leauge team that was basicaly being run by a supporters club and you have to agree with him after this gaffe.
If i was a Drog fan i would be livid and would be demanding a head or two.
rules are rules, i know, but i cant help but feel a bit sorry for Drogs fans in this considering the strong start Kierans had made as manager.
25/06/2010, 7:53 AM
I feel sorry for Drogs too........................wonder did Stan have all these coaching badges when the FAI gave him the top job????
harps1954
25/06/2010, 11:01 AM
Alex Ferguson has no coaching badges - doesn't stop him managing that mob across the water.
Celdrog
25/06/2010, 11:46 AM
Without wanting to incur the wrath of Drogheda fans, if (and I repeat if) the FAI have tightened up the rules regarding coaching badges for managers and made that known to all clubs, then did Drogheda appoint Kierans because they were unaware of it, or because they thought they'd get 'a nod and a wink' from the FAI?
If this is part of a general and transparent move away from 'ah shur you're grand' management so common in this country in general and in the FAI, then I wouldn't criticise them too much over this.Good assessment and fully agree. Probably a "nod and a wink for this season" thought rather than unaware, particularly seeing as we had a fully qualified manager who chose to walk away. There's not a lot of options out there particularly with a small budget. What if none of the qualified manager's will come for a small wage? Are we allowed to break the budget - think not.
Anyway Darius was always allowed be in charge for 12 weeks as a caretaker manager. So no asterisks just yet.
CSFShels
25/06/2010, 12:08 PM
Alex Ferguson has no coaching badges - doesn't stop him managing that mob across the water.
Why are you making up lies?
25/06/2010, 12:16 PM
Why are you making up lies?
My guuess is he heard it in a pub
passerrby
25/06/2010, 12:29 PM
is it possible for drogs to appoint anybody with an a licence (as long as that person agrees) and darius continuing to do the job while this other guy is on paper only.is that possible would there be a requirement for the manager to attend games
its apparent that the Drogs board made a complete ****-up by appointing kierans,pretty amateur stuff.The ILC said in their judgement that before he was given the position the FAI had warned them that he wasnt a qualified candidate for the job.
Alan matthews said(on his departure from DUFC) that it was a premier leauge team that was basicaly being run by a supporters club and you have to agree with him after this gaffe.
If i was a Drog fan i would be livid and would be demanding a head or two.
Apparently the fai warning is total fabrication and no such warning was given . And as for Matthews statment there was lots of sour grapes going on , he didnt like certain things that were going in the club and it was his way or the highway . And why in gods name would we want heads to roll ? These people stepped up to the plate when no one else would . They work incredibly hard at what they do , inexperienced maybe but trying hard nonetheless . We appreciate what there trying to do .
mr.untitled
25/06/2010, 1:56 PM
good post ndrog