View Full Version : Town get Shamrock Rovers at home in Cup

Pages : 1 [2] 3

16/08/2010, 9:54 PM
Minimum 500 id say, id be hoping for around 700.

Should be like a home game for ye so. Can't imagine we'll have more than 200-300. Still should bring in a few quid anyway.

Ciaran W
16/08/2010, 10:00 PM
I though there would be at least 700 Longford, would rovers in the fai cup not bring out the crowds ? Oh and 500th post :D yayy ! :)

fitzpatrick10
17/08/2010, 3:32 AM
700 rovers fans:O i better get the drums down from the attic so .. :L

Ciaran W
17/08/2010, 9:15 AM
There might not be that many but the lowest away crowd this season was 500 in Galway so there should be around that.

17/08/2010, 12:00 PM
I though there would be at least 700 Longford, would rovers in the fai cup not bring out the crowds ? Oh and 500th post :D yayy ! :)
haven't you heard we only have appoox 15 supporters

Ciaran W
17/08/2010, 4:26 PM
Oh wonderful. . Does any of Yous know why i cant start a thread in the rovers sub-forum ?

20/08/2010, 8:48 AM
will this be on tv by any chance ??

20/08/2010, 9:35 AM
will this be on tv by any chance ??

very very doubtful and I hope not cause then less fans will bother to come but I suppose we would get some TV money so...

22/08/2010, 9:07 PM
Just talking to Victor he said hes waiting on clearance from Rovers to see whether or not he can play on Friday night as for Don Cowan and Craig Walsh they are defo out according to Victor but Ive been told by another Town fan that Cousins said they can all play so dont really know whats going to happen.....all mind games i reckon lol

Ciaran W
22/08/2010, 9:48 PM
Victor who ? And i would have liked to see cowan and walsh play

L.T.F.C.
23/08/2010, 12:11 AM
Just talking to Victor he said hes waiting on clearance from Rovers to see whether or not he can play on Friday night as for Don Cowan and Craig Walsh they are defo out according to Victor but Ive been told by another Town fan that Cousins said they can all play so dont really know whats going to happen.....all mind games i reckon lol

Mind games me hole.

23/08/2010, 2:19 AM
Victor who ? And i would have liked to see cowan and walsh play

quality mind games there

23/08/2010, 2:16 PM
Victor Enkamen

stann
23/08/2010, 2:29 PM
Victor Ekanem

23/08/2010, 8:36 PM
by the way this weekend will be the third anniversary of our great victory against shamrock rovers in tolka park! There is an article about this in the match program that night ..

pauliek
24/08/2010, 12:36 AM
Ye beter cage these animals in as well as ye can, expect them to invade the putch aswell

24/08/2010, 10:03 AM
Ye beter cage these animals in as well as ye can, expect them to invade the putch aswell

Lucky they're playing Shams and not those Rovers animals then eh?

24/08/2010, 7:52 PM

cheers pauliek!! you are back!!

by the way I dont know if theres a post on foot already about this but I heard on the grapevine last week that JP McDonagh has left us as he couldnt be promised first team football!

25/08/2010, 10:06 AM
c

by the way I dont know if theres a post on foot already about this but I heard on the grapevine last week that JP McDonagh has left us as he couldnt be promised first team football!

Thats a shame he was a gfood player it just never seemed to work out for him here everything went against him.

sorbothegreek
26/08/2010, 9:14 AM
In the words of K.K., 'I would love it' if we could beat 'the model club:rolleyes:' tomorrow evening. Just reading their message board and every single post is in some way disparaging or derogatory about all that is Longford Town F.C.
Then they wonder why people wouldn't like them.

It's unlikely to happen but it would be great to f*uk them over.

Longford Town; a more successful club than Shamrock Rovers in the current century.

26/08/2010, 11:00 AM
Totally agree sorbo. While I am going to go out to Flancare tomorrow night expecting a good beating, the pleasure I would get out of us causing an upset is tough to put into words. I really would love to knock them out as they're the biggest crowd of ***** to grace this wonderful league...

sorbothegreek
26/08/2010, 11:34 AM
Just heard yesterday that O'Neill is allowing at least some of the on-loan players to play for us tomorrow night. I would assume that's Victor cleared anyway, I think there's a chance the other two lads might be included as well..

26/08/2010, 12:15 PM
Not sure on the Longford loan players thing yet I think wel only find that out at kick-off but heres the rovers team news http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1573-team-news-away-v-longford-town-fri-27-aug

Murray will hopefully be out that gives us some type of chance back there cause he really is a rock in defence but still a danger in the opposition box.

I hope Baker gets a run out I doubt it though.

26/08/2010, 7:54 PM
Just heard yesterday that O'Neill is allowing at least some of the on-loan players to play for us tomorrow night. I would assume that's Victor cleared anyway, I think there's a chance the other two lads might be included as well..

thats great news if that the case!

26/08/2010, 9:04 PM
I've heard otherwise about the loan players and that none of them can play...

26/08/2010, 9:33 PM
I wonder if there's an FAI rule about loan players not playing against their parent clubs? I'd be surprised if there wasn't tbh. If I were Rovers I wouldn't let them play, just in case. You have to be professional.

Battery Rover
26/08/2010, 9:44 PM
I wonder if there's an FAI rule about loan players not playing against their parent clubs? I'd be surprised if there wasn't tbh. If I were Rovers I wouldn't let them play, just in case. You have to be professional.

There is no rule as you cant sign a contract with conditions attached.

L.T.F.C.
26/08/2010, 9:47 PM
Looked at the SRFC Ultras forum.
Wow.
You can see why they're hated. Talk about beyond the Pale! They truly disgust me, and anyone else. "Culchie" and "bog" being the keywords in that thread that sorbo mentioned.
Strange, we have our own keywords, "scum" being the main one, and "*******" and "*****" are up there too.

26/08/2010, 9:54 PM
They really do go ott on that forum dont they they think everybody is biased against them and they wonder why they call every town a kip hole even tho their home town was voted dirtiest in ireland thats Hippocratic for ya.

And there threating to ban a member for posting here on foot it crazy.....I know a rovers fan on fb and hes not allowed to post on other clubs walls or hel get thrown out hahaa classic bunch arnt they.

26/08/2010, 10:22 PM
There is no rule as you cant sign a contract with conditions attached.

If there's no FAI rule against it then the only reason not to play them would be a "gentleman's agreement" with Rovers I suppose. You used to be able to make conditions in a loan agreement, I know we did a few times when loaning out players and bringing in players, but that may well have changed in the last few years. We'll know tomorrow if they can play or not in any event!

27/08/2010, 7:48 AM
I thought it was an FAI rule too, and even possibly a UEFA or FIFA rule - to stop accusations of players/ teams going easy in games against the permenant club. However, that may be for league games only. Not long to go now either way to be confirmed or not.

27/08/2010, 9:14 AM
Unless the FAI ruling is different as far as I know you can play against your parent club once its in the contract but the FAI seem to be different to everyone else so who knows

27/08/2010, 10:36 AM
missing the game tonight, damn you to hell pv fallons

27/08/2010, 10:47 AM
Just read in the sun that walsh and cowan are defo out but no mention of victor so I take it he's playing

27/08/2010, 12:01 PM
They get more and more condescending on the Rovers forum....please please please Town, pull a performance out of the bag that we've never seen before this season and beat these *****.

27/08/2010, 12:08 PM
Rovers have intermittently seriously screwed up in the past outside the Pale in the cup..

Waterford and Athlone in the 90s, Limerick, Dundalk, very nearly a truly atrocious Athlone side in 2006

27/08/2010, 12:09 PM
Lets hope ye add a crap Longford Town to that list.

27/08/2010, 12:12 PM
We must've lost in the cup at Strokestown Rd before...definitely did at Richmond

27/08/2010, 12:16 PM
We must've lost in the cup at Strokestown Rd before...definitely did at Richmond

Yep I remember that game at Richmond alright, Shane Barrett scoring in ET to win it for us I think. I'd take that again this time around too, only at Tallaght instead of Richmond. :)

Cabs88
27/08/2010, 12:26 PM
They get more and more condescending on the Rovers forum....please please please Town, pull a performance out of the bag that we've never seen before this season and beat these *****.

Is that the ultra's one?! I have never seen such drivel and ignorance posted on a forum from some of the members.. would love a result tonight just to shut them up for a day or two.. A big vocal crowd is needed in section O tonight!

27/08/2010, 12:52 PM
Thank God they boycotted this forum let them live in their own little world were Rovers are a model club that has never seen bad days and their fans have never caused any trouble in.

Were are the Hoop fans been housed tonight anyway? Behind the goals id say is the most likely destination for them.

Keen2win
27/08/2010, 3:20 PM
Is that the ultra's one?! I have never seen such drivel and ignorance posted on a forum from some of the members.. would love a result tonight just to shut them up for a day or two.. A big vocal crowd is needed in section O tonight!

I'm missing the I party to be at it, C'MON TOWN, beat these w******!

27/08/2010, 6:03 PM
good/ bad news i got off work woop :D

27/08/2010, 9:16 PM
Fantastic performance from our lads and totally deserved a draw at the very least. We handed them 2 crap goals. Sickened to say the least.

27/08/2010, 9:47 PM
I hope Richie Winter dies roaring what a c**t

28/08/2010, 1:36 AM
Best Town display since we went down I'd say. Great football from the lads on the night and we really should have got something. Nearly all the lads were excellent but special mention to Aidan Roche (first time I'd seen him he was excellent), Mark Salmon who bossed midfield, Michael Lee who seems to play better in every game and the oft maligned Peter Hynes who was tremendous in the lone striker role for me. Michael O'Neill and Trevor Croly were not happy with their lot. Not a bit of bother in the ground or outside the ground either which was good. Aside from a couple of Rovers stragglers apparently giving abuse to some of our native members of the travelling community in town and running when they saw they'd picked on the wrong crowd, that's not really trouble though, just amusing.

hollocaine
28/08/2010, 8:49 AM

Yeah, JP has gone back to play with Newbridge Town....

A decent cup game last night decided by 3 of the worst goals you'll ever see! Was surprised Rovers resorted to so much long ball. I know we crowded the midfield but one would have expected guys like Turner and Bayly would be confident enough to try and play through it. Then again Salmon and the Roches worked very hard in there.

A shame at the end that many in the stand seemed more interested in booing the ref than applauding a great performance by our lads. Left a bit of a sour feel to it.

28/08/2010, 11:42 AM
The lads in the stand gave the players a fantastic standing ovation and the players had all gone in before winter left he was a disgrace and should never ref again

28/08/2010, 12:52 PM
yep fans in the stand were a credit, quit finding things to complain about

28/08/2010, 2:01 PM
Anyone know what the attendance was extratime.ie said aprox. 1000 but im not so sure sure there was nly about 200 rovers fans.