View Full Version : Friendlies
14/07/2010, 1:42 PM
I was just on there reading those comments a few minutes ago. Sums up what the league of Ireland is up against, there's no changing those attitudes.
On a sort of related note Seamus Coleman was singled out for praise after Everton's last friendly, he won a penalty and had an assist.
14/07/2010, 2:17 PM
Jack McKenna
MIchael i have been to only one everton game and there is something more special about watching andy johnson score a winning goal in the last minute of a game against arsenal who have top class players rather than watching donegal celtic v larne in the irish league.......a very silly comment from you
Obviously googled 'Irish League' instead of 'League of Ireland' to make his point.
danthesaint
14/07/2010, 2:21 PM
everton fans saying our league is crap haha fookin brilliant. where would ya get it......................
superjohnny
14/07/2010, 2:38 PM
I am actually bulling looking at those comments :angry2:
The interesting bit to me is that its an Everton XI
Coleman may be the only recognisable player
El-Pietro
14/07/2010, 3:00 PM
Charlton are coming over to play somebody. . Cant quite remember who though
doesnt look like it
though hopefully they will be back again this year
up coming pre season friendlies for Charlton: july 17th kettering town, july 24th barnet, july 31st watford
league starts august 7th
Cuyahoga
14/07/2010, 3:01 PM
I knew it would be an Everton X1 .Sligo's website is misleading.It just mentions they are playing Everton.
14/07/2010, 3:08 PM
I knew it would be an Everton X1 .Sligo's website is misleading.It just mentions they are playing Everton.Check Everton's fixture list on their website, they are down to play Sligo Rovers. No fixtures listed under Everton Reserves section so why would we advertise it as reserves? It's up to us how we market it and if it means getting a good crowd of barstooler Everton 'fans' in then I don't care how it's advertised. We'll get a big crowd down from Donegal alone with Seamie playing.
As long as you don't **** off any potential fans or sponsors for your own club that is.
Cuyahoga
14/07/2010, 3:20 PM
No,you dont advertise it as reserves,you advertise it as an EveryonX1, under' Sligo Friendly confirmed' on the Everton website it says an
Everton x1 will play Sligo.Their first team are playing Wolfsburg the previous night. I hope you get a good crowd
fot it but it is still a misleading add on your website!
redobit
14/07/2010, 3:22 PM
In fairness Dodge I dont think it matters to the Bar stoolers that its Everton or Everton 11; they hear Everton and thats all they want, as proven by the crowd at the liverpool 11 last year.
Look I'm not trying to tell anyone how to sell anything but its a far, far easier sell if you can show that players people know are going to play. Even on thes forums Sligo fans have said said that Everton are "promising to send over a strong team" (mightn't be exact quote in fairness). Why mention it if it doesn' make a difference. It clearly does
EDIT; found that post http://foot.ie/threads/136479-Friendlies?p=1375232&viewfull=1#post1375232
You have to Market it as an Everton X1 otherwise people will feel ripped off.We have marketed our game versus Liverpoll X1 as just that and its still selling excellently.
poster
14/07/2010, 4:01 PM
Everton are flying in to Knock the morning after the Wolfsburg game. Full sqaud and all. Whether they play a full first team XI, I don't know. Everton have asked for no names to be mentioned player wise.
peadar1987
14/07/2010, 4:51 PM
http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2010/07/13/sligo-friendly-confirmed
Some 'interesting' comments.
Unreal!
I left a big steaming verbal turd in the comment section, but I know it'll just get ignored!
danthesaint
14/07/2010, 9:08 PM
Unreal!
I left a big steaming verbal turd in the comment section, but I know it'll just get ignored!
yeah idiots posting.
peter collings was spot on imo
srfc1928
14/07/2010, 10:26 PM
Confirmed in todays Sligo Champion, that Everton are bringing a full strength squad.
"This simply isnt a Everton XI or a reserve team, Everton are bringing a full squad .............."
14/07/2010, 11:02 PM
Well they're bringing a full-strength squad but that doesn't have much bearing on what team they'll put out. Presumably they'll play whoever wasn't picked for the Wolfsburg game and presumably they'll want to test their top players against the former German champions. Could be wrong, mind.
so what. Take the stoolers for all ye can lads.
15/07/2010, 2:51 AM
Surely they'll be taking their own fans for just as much. Unless they enjoy being patronised by foreign teams.
15/07/2010, 8:13 AM
Surely they'll be taking their own fans for just as much. Unless they enjoy being patronised by foreign teams.
Maybe their own fans will be coming out to support thier own side whilst also welcoming Seamie back to the Showgrounds and maybe they don't give a sh!te as to who Everton have in their side?
Imo, they will only taking barstoolers to the cleaners, fair played.
Jeez, I can't believe I defended Sligo Rovers, I feel dirty.
marinobohs
15/07/2010, 10:35 AM
everton fans saying our league is crap haha fookin brilliant. where would ya get it......................
To be fair to the bluesh1te there is nowhere in the civilised (and uncivilised) world better for whining and moaning bitter vitriol than the outdated kip that is Goodison park (they could teach bohs how to moan :D).
15/07/2010, 1:15 PM
Maybe their own fans will be coming out to support thier own side whilst also welcoming Seamie back to the Showgrounds and maybe they don't give a sh!te as to who Everton have in their side?
Imo, they will only taking barstoolers to the cleaners, fair played.
Jeez, I can't believe I defended Sligo Rovers, I feel dirty.
And maybe the "barstoolers" (lots of whom will be genuine Everton fans) will come out to support their side for the exact same reasons.
pauliek
15/07/2010, 3:23 PM
Great post Peter Collings
16/07/2010, 12:05 PM
And maybe the "barstoolers" (lots of whom will be genuine Everton fans) will come out to support their side for the exact same reasons.
But those visitors wouldn't be back in the Showgrounds for other games, regardless of which players appear for either team.
17/07/2010, 7:20 PM
That's because they're Everton fans.
Straightstory
18/07/2010, 11:24 AM
Great post Peter Collings
Agree. Comments from Everton 'fans' are really dumb. Thick idiots.
Athlone Town v Middlesbrough tonite should be a good one, Port Vale tomorrow then Villarreal saturday, hopefully these games can spark the local public into following the team on a regular basis!
Battery Rover
19/07/2010, 9:59 PM
Athlone and Middlesborough finished 1-1 with the visitors leaving knowing they were given a right good game by our lads.
One thing to note from the game was the crowd of close to 1000 got right behind Athlone when they realised that we weren't there just to make up the numbers. Hopefully we will see a few back here for Port Vale and the game Friday night
20/07/2010, 5:31 PM
Athlone and Middlesborough finished 1-1 with the visitors leaving knowing they were given a right good game by our lads.
One thing to note from the game was the crowd of close to 1000 got right behind Athlone when they realised that we weren't there just to make up the numbers. Hopefully we will see a few back here for Port Vale and the game Friday night
what was the teams br?
Bohs beat Aston Villa today 2-1. Powell and Enzo with the goals. O'Connor MOTM. Barstoolers disappointed. 4500 at the game. Decent result :)
24/07/2010, 4:57 PM
Well done Bohs.
24/07/2010, 5:08 PM
what was the teams br?
was more or less boros 1st team becides the backup CD's playing
they had players like brad jones, kris boyd, scott mcdonald, gary o neil, and willo flood starting
24/07/2010, 5:33 PM
Surprised there weren't loads of folks out to see their Old Firm heroes.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/3958/
24/07/2010, 7:00 PM
Couple of good goals there.
peadar1987
24/07/2010, 7:08 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/3958/
So that's what a LOI ground looks like with people in it.
monkey9
24/07/2010, 7:18 PM
Where there fans in the Connaught St stand?
Cuyahoga
24/07/2010, 7:41 PM
Cracking second goal for Bohs by trialist Enzo. Large crowd over from England too. I didnt realise the game was on today.
I saw someone earlier today waiting at a bustop near me with a Villa top on. I thought it strange at the time,now I know where he was going.
24/07/2010, 7:43 PM
Cracking second goal for Bohs by trialist Enzo. Large crowd over from England too. I didnt realise the game was on today.
I saw someone earlier today waiting at a bustop near me with a Villa top on. I thought it strange at the time,now I know where he was going.
villa jerseys are really common in longford funnily enough,
there was a good crowd of boro fans at the athlone game as well actually there great fans
what was the crowd for the port vale game?
danthesaint
24/07/2010, 7:57 PM
many bohs fans at it??
2 bohs goals were quality, hopefully it will attract a few barstoolers to games
Battery Rover
24/07/2010, 9:04 PM
what was the crowd for the port vale game?
386 at port vale and about 1400 at the Villarreal game tonight. It's been a very long week and still an under 20s game in Dublin to get through on Sunday.
24/07/2010, 9:30 PM
386 at port vale and about 1400 at the Villarreal game tonight. It's been a very long week and still an under 20s game in Dublin to get through on Sunday.
nice pile of money to console yourselves thou :)
Guinney
24/07/2010, 9:46 PM
Saw the hightlights on TV from Bohs - Villa game, Bohs second goal was as good as you see. Fair play beating them, plus by the looks of it they had alot of their regulars and Bohs didn't play a full strength team. Good money earner aswell.
Dundalk didn't organise any friendly's this year. Don't think Gerry Matthews (Dundalk Chairman) was impressed with the ones we had last year, with a Barcalona team supposely coming over being canceled and then the Alectico Madrid reserves not attracting a big crowd. Instead of a friendly we are having a badminton tournament in the new youth development centre. Should get a few quid for the club :)
bullit
24/07/2010, 11:28 PM
The pitch certainly wouldnt help in trieing to attract top quality sides to play friendlies in oriel tbh
25/07/2010, 8:28 AM
Strictly not LoI but they played in the U20s a few years back.
Ballinasloe Town 2 Port Vale 3.
Attendance about 200 - about 15 Port Vale fans. Great display by Ballinasloe. They equalised twice through Brian Campbell and had chances to do so again.
25/07/2010, 10:54 AM
Strictly not LoI but they played in the U20s a few years back.
Ballinasloe Town 2 Port Vale 3.
Attendance about 200 - about 15 Port Vale fans. Great display by Ballinasloe. They equalised twice through Brian Campbell and had chances to do so again.
Ballinasloe have some good players great to see them taking on port vale.
peadar1987
25/07/2010, 12:04 PM
Ah, Port Fail aren't up to much. Definitely the weaker, more inbred half of the Potteries! ;)
eL Bettor
03/08/2010, 1:09 PM
Derry host St Mirren in a friendly tonight.
Any info on how strong a team Derry will play is appreciated as I contemplate a bet on Derry.
This is St Mirrens third game in 3 days having beaten Ballymena 2-0 on Sunday and losing 2-1 to Crusaders last night.
Derry host St Mirren in a friendly tonight.
Any info on how strong a team Derry will play is appreciated as I contemplate a bet on Derry.
This is St Mirrens third game in 3 days having beaten Ballymena 2-0 on Sunday and losing 2-1 to Crusaders last night.Match ended up 1-1 Derry had a 2nd String team, only first teamers that played were Davy McDaid and Daniel Lafferty who equalised for Derry. Resting players for Friday night, Molloy and Harkin are already out for the game due to injury, but Deery, Scoltock and Parkhouse are back for the game