View Full Version : FAI Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

danthesaint
05/06/2010, 12:29 PM
Don't know why people complain about this. Every single club i the world has done it mulitple times

because its time wasting, at one stage, there was a kid going to kick another ball onto the pitch so the game will be held up.

we dont do it, there is always someone in the camac or shed that will get the ball

Louth4sam
05/06/2010, 1:38 PM
good game of footie in dundalk last night
the 3 sending off were sending offs
the first one came over the ball with his studs
2nd stuck his finger up at a pats fan
3rd he kicked out at guthrie

The second two were definite sendings off. The first was not a red card. It wasn't nearly as bad as this tackle that Buttimer only considered a yellow card offence http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gygQaKe-QI8 (45seconds in).

forgot to say as for that scumbag of a steward putting one of our fans in a headlock, for celebrating the goal, although he was on the pitch, what a little knacker he was

Stay off the pitch! Wish they'd get some of our fans in headlocks too

danthesaint
05/06/2010, 1:58 PM
The second two were definite sendings off. The first was not a red card. It wasn't nearly as bad as this tackle that Buttimer only considered a yellow card offence http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gygQaKe-QI8 (45seconds in).

ah the first was a red card, muller should have went too for that tackle

brianw82
05/06/2010, 2:00 PM
Despite losing 5-1 Wexford Youths played some brilliant football for 20 minutes in the first half against Rovers, possibly the best I've seen from any team in Tallaght all season. Sadly the difference between amateur and professional was all too evident in the second half as they tired dramatically and the defence, which was shaky all along, was ripped apart at times. Youths have some great attacking players and have possibly the quickest forwards in the country, sadly their full back are not nearly good enough and without Anto Russell they were not organised enough at the back either.

Wexford didn't really deserve to lose 5-1, there wasn't that much of a difference between the 2 sides in terms of ability. Shams were just clinical with their chances. Your forwards did cause their defence all sorts of problems, particularly Sheehan, and should've scored more than 1.

05/06/2010, 2:04 PM

Except Mulcahey won the ball. Not much in it granted

dan, we absolutely tmewaste when we need to. Same as every club. nearly 20 years ago I was ball boy at Pats and we were told to leave when Pats were 1 up and hanging on. Dundalk spent the entire second half doing everything they could to get a draw. If it was Pats in that situation I'd expect us to do the same. All's fair...

Oh and the problem with the steward wasn't that he put the lad in the headlock (which was slightly OTT) but that he then tried to get into the Pats crowd to start another fight

GGAJD
05/06/2010, 2:38 PM
What's the story with a couple of posters wanting to be away to Limerick? .

I think people want to see for themselves what life was like in the nineteenth century:D:D
Good result for yous last night though.

05/06/2010, 3:16 PM
What's the story with a couple of posters wanting to be away to Limerick? Is it just Sligo fans?

I was like that last year. until I went there.

Now I'm hoping for a home draw v some non league crowd.

pauliek
05/06/2010, 3:47 PM
What's the story with a couple of posters wanting to be away to Limerick? Is it just Sligo fans?
I can only conclude people want to have the Jackman Park experience.
The craic is guaranteed in The Flansiro, havent been to Limerick for a game and id imagaine its good craic.

05/06/2010, 3:54 PM

Sheer Voyuerism.

People hear about these type of places in their newspapers and what not without ever experiencing them.

Actually going to living, breathing, Limerick and seeing actual Limerick people will be a great conversation starter at dinner parties for months to come.

Paul Williams has carved a career out of this sort of nonsense.

Bohs away for me please, we no need no crummy cup run.

oriel
05/06/2010, 4:21 PM
I think on reflection and after a day, I will say Pats did deserve that win, to be fair they plugged away patiently all during the second half and the goal when it came although very disappointing for us, was inevitable. So good luck to them for the rest of the cup. 49 years is a long wait !

On our supporters behaviour, I dont like a small element in that shed who appear intent on causing trouble, 2 plastic bottles thrown on the pitch last night for eg, and some indentified as the same crew from the UCD game, I would hope the club can go one bit further now and ban them. It is a very small element, and I think Danthesaint is making quite a sweeping statement re 'on the dundalk fans, they have some neck branding the renter fans as hooligans, after last night, throw stuff onto the pitch and the abuse was so strong towards buttimer he couldnt go back in after the full time whistle

Yes there was a lot of vocal disapproval of the ref at the end, and he did indeed have to be escorted off, but a lot of this was high emotions at the end of a very dramatic game.

Rasputin
05/06/2010, 5:02 PM
Yes there was a lot of vocal disapproval of the ref at the end, and he did indeed have to be escorted off, but a lot of this was high emotions at the end of a very dramatic game.
In fairness that would happen at any game where the home crowd is over 1000 and at the receiving end of 3 red cards no matter how justified they were.

05/06/2010, 5:17 PM
In fairness to dundalk fans when the biggest bottle was thrown at the ref (or at lest in that direction), it looked like most of the shed was anry at the lad who did it (chants etc)

Louth4sam
05/06/2010, 6:32 PM
That's the thing. I have no problem with all tackles like that being stamped out as long as refs are consistent. Here we have a the same ref sending our player off for a lesser challenge.

Doesn't matter if he got any of the ball dodge he was off his feet with studs showing straight red

05/06/2010, 7:02 PM
I thought you were supposed to be videoing the game!
Given I'm in Helsinki till Tuesday, I think MNS will beat me to it! Also, the MNS guy kept getting in my way, so you'll see more there too. And also, I don't think I was very good keeping the ball in shot...

Really? I don't remember that at all.
It was in the first few minutes - someone broke into the box from the left and went down. Was in front of our bench who reckoned peno. Despite the great view from the gantry, you don't take in much of the match when you're trying to keep the ball in a 2 square inch field of view, so I'm not sure myself if it was a peno.

It's the only league ground I haven't visited, so I wouldn't mind a game there either.
Exactly why I don't want Limerick away. You'll regret going to Edinburgh for egg chasing last year!

And as everyone's saying, I want a new country non-league team away. Which I think is Avondale or nowt at this stage?

In on topic news, both tonight's games are still scoreless.

05/06/2010, 7:09 PM
Tullamore and Belgrove both 1-0 up now. 24th minute penalties for both.

05/06/2010, 7:09 PM
Doesn't matter if he got any of the ball dodge he was off his feet with studs showing straight red

I, and the ref, and the MNS panel at the time disagree. He could've been sent off, sure. He wasn't.

Anyway, I think its been done to death here, and there's plenty of other things to debate

05/06/2010, 7:40 PM
Pfft; the ref. :rolleyes: What does he know?

2-0 Belgrove now. Salthill have equalised in Tullamore.

Ezeikial
05/06/2010, 8:16 PM
the abuse was so strong towards buttimer he couldnt go back in after the full time whistle

Buttimer delayed going off after the game because of a scuffle in the tunnel area between the players. There may be trouble ahead for one of the St Pats defenders in particular.

on the dundalk fans, they have some neck branding the renter fans as hooligans, after last night,

Are you suggesting that the behaviour of some of the Rovers fans was acceptable?

forgot to say as for that scumbag of a steward putting one of our fans in a headlock, for celebrating the goal, although he was on the pitch, what a little knacker he was

You seem to be suggesting that a polite request to vacate the pitch would be more appropriate?

I suspect that if I run on to the Aviva pitch during the Argentina game that being put in a headlock would be the least of my concerns.

danthesaint
05/06/2010, 9:13 PM
Are you suggesting that the behaviour of some of the Rovers fans was acceptable?

no definitely not

You seem to be suggesting that a polite request to vacate the pitch would be more appropriate?

I suspect that if I run on to the Aviva pitch during the Argentina game that being put in a headlock would be the least of my concerns.

no im not saying it was right to jump onto the pitch, it was after the goal went in, doubt it was to cause trouble or anything, just thought the excessive force used by your man wasnt necessary

Doomofman
05/06/2010, 9:24 PM
The steward was trying to fight with our supporters... That's not appropriate in any ground... Can't believe people defend these characters...

05/06/2010, 9:37 PM
What is with fans jumping on the pitch when a goal is scored anyway? Can you not just celebrate the goal in the confines of the away section?

gufc2000
05/06/2010, 9:59 PM
It finished:

Belgrove 2-1 Avondale Utd

Tullamore 1-3 Salthill

tom da gom
06/06/2010, 10:02 AM
sligo were awful bad on friday lucky to beat athlone so they were

Ezeikial
06/06/2010, 3:16 PM
The steward was trying to fight with our supporters... That's not appropriate in any ground... Can't believe people defend these characters...

I am not defending anyone.

I did not see exactly what happened, and if the steward was using excessive force he was out of order. I imagine that at all grounds the stewards and Gardai are under instructions to use reasonable force, if necessary, to remove / restrain pitch invaders.

The starting point is that spectators should not invade or encroach on the pitch at any match.

Ezeikial
06/06/2010, 3:28 PM
The first one was a bad lunge but I don't think he'd have been sent off if Quigley was sent off 3 weeks ago. I feel refs wold be anxious to avoid the ban that hancock received and would rather send the lad off, than let him play and have TV footage show them up.

I think you are probably right. There is a deep irony that an absurd decision by one ref (in the Quigley incident) may have influenced a harsh (but technically justifable) decision by another in a different game.

Sean South
06/06/2010, 3:30 PM
What is with fans jumping on the pitch when a goal is scored anyway? Can you not just celebrate the goal in the confines of the away section?

Never been overcome with passion or joy?

06/06/2010, 3:33 PM
Todays latest:

Glenville 1-4 Bohs
FC Carlow 1-1 Monaghan

06/06/2010, 3:44 PM
5-1 Bohs now, Madden with his hat-trick.

EDIT: 6-1, Higgins.

06/06/2010, 3:46 PM

Of course I have, but I just don't see the need to run on the pitch to express such feelings.

06/06/2010, 3:53 PM
7-1 Bohs, FT.

Carlow down to 10 men.

Ezeikial
06/06/2010, 3:53 PM

Sounds like a justification of pitch invaders!!!

I have sometimes been "overcome" with anger. Doesn't mean its okay for me to thump someone!

06/06/2010, 5:26 PM
Draw for the next round is on MNS tomorrow

06/06/2010, 5:44 PM
I didn't realise but the fourth round is not due to take place until the week ended 29th of August, almost 3 months away.

HarpoJoyce
06/06/2010, 6:15 PM
Draw for the next round is on MNS tomorrow

I didn't realise but the fourth round is not due to take place until the week ended 29th of August, almost 3 months away.

The draw before the replays give a publicity momentum to replay, prize of next round is known and 'small club goes into the hat for the next round' is also part of the Anglo-tradition of the cup.

3rd round first week in June and 4th round last week in August is the optimum compromise between Summer-season and Winter-season clubs.

06/06/2010, 6:33 PM

They play this round near the end of the intermediate season, and the next round near the beginning of the next intermediate season.

Must say I like draws being made as early as possible

Topman
06/06/2010, 6:51 PM
Well done to FC Carlow today with a 1-1 home draw v Monaghan United

06/06/2010, 8:17 PM
Pfft; the ref. :rolleyes: What does he know?

2-0 Belgrove now. Salthill have equalised in Tullamore.
Belgroves 2nd goal was the most blatant handball since Thierry Henry
FAI giving some pup of a ref some experience, all he got was shown up.

Ciaran W
07/06/2010, 2:44 AM
Nice handy draw tomorrow please :) and then we go on all the way to meet bohs in the final to be played in front of a 50000 sellout at the Aviva which we win 2-0 ;)

Dalymountrower
07/06/2010, 9:50 AM
Nice handy draw tomorrow please :) and then we go on all the way to meet bohs in the final to be played in front of a 50000 sellout at the Aviva which we win 2-0 ;)

10,000 fans and 40,000 security personnel and Gardai?

Ciaran W
07/06/2010, 11:19 AM
12000 fans actually

passerrby
07/06/2010, 12:31 PM
fair play to carlow they battled well and there No 5 was outstanding but the pitch was to small like playing in an ally with far to much grass . we were lucky to get out of there with a point

07/06/2010, 2:43 PM
fair play to carlow they battled well and there No 5 was outstanding but the pitch was to small like playing in an ally with far to much grass . we were lucky to get out of there with a point

does that mean we got three against Glenville? Sweet... ;)

07/06/2010, 2:58 PM
does that mean we got three against Glenville? Sweet... ;)If you were smart, you'd have drawn the first game, won the replay and picked up 4 points. :)

07/06/2010, 3:00 PM
I thought it was just in the GAA championship that they fixed games to finish in a draw?

07/06/2010, 3:13 PM
If you were smart, you'd have drawn the first game, won the replay and picked up 4 points. :)

haha class :D

Ciaran W
07/06/2010, 6:59 PM
Longford away :) i was almost sure we were going to get bohs away Haha

07/06/2010, 7:02 PM
****e draw for Limerick. Most likely away to Fingal. Not even a decent pay day out of it if Limerick get knocked out which is most likely.

07/06/2010, 7:19 PM
Shels at home. Not bad.

07/06/2010, 7:20 PM
Fourth Round Draw

Galway vs Salthill Devon
UCD vs Bray/Derry City
Finn Harps vs Sligo
Bohemians vs Shelbourne
Bluebell/Cork vs Monaghan/Carlow
Longford vs Shamrock Rovers
St.Pats vs Belgrove
Mervue/Fingal vs Limerick

some good ties there - a Galway derby, a NW derby and a Dublin derby...

07/06/2010, 8:24 PM
2 dublin derbies SkStu. Shels haven't left yet...