View Full Version : Tonight's latest 7/5/10

Pages : 1 [2] 3

dong
07/05/2010, 10:38 PM
I have to say I have a lot of sympathy for those Bray fans after what has happened at their club. Gormley is a decent skin and a good manager imo. Left to rot by the FAI in the way they handled things at the start of the season.

fionnsci
07/05/2010, 11:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGX_cQ2mI5c

Pat's goal.

Ezeikial
07/05/2010, 11:23 PM
Great performance by Pats tonight. Down to 10 men for last hour but had better chances. Dundalk had tons of ball but only 2 chances

Totally agree. Pats full value for their win. Once they got the early goal they were determined to defend stoutly in typical Pete Mahon style. Left with very little option after the sending off, yet still managed to create the better chances despite having very little of the ball. Its no fluke that Pats have conceded so few and Dundalk did not have the required attacking imagination tonight.

Hanney was disgraceful as Ref. As bad as I've seen. Only decision he got right all night was the sending off

This reminds me of a post after a Dundalk V Pats match last year - something along the lines of
The referee's decision was as debatable as any other in the game, but it was a stonewall penalty/sending off (delete as appropriate). That wasn't you by any chance Dodge?

07/05/2010, 11:48 PM
Possibly. I say a lot of things.... :)

For the record I think the changes made by Foster killed the game. Maher was playing well as the "free" man in midfield. When he brought cawley on, he slowed the pace, and Maher was left to do nothing.

2 very enjoyable games with Dundalk this season, and only a goal to show for it

07/05/2010, 11:56 PM
We were fairly poor, just about got there.

Pitch at Gortakeegan doesn't suit the type of game we are trying to play this year and O'Connor and Clancy had very good games for the Mons.

Still 8 wins on the bounce, roll on the Cross next week.

08/05/2010, 1:03 AM
*******s, we haven't scored 6 in years and it's at a game I miss!

After the re-start Bolger took some glory for himself scoring Two his season's first from open playHe scored from play in Drogheda on the first weekend, sorry!

UCD brothers who both scored in the same match Can't have happened too often for anyone, maybe the two Bakers were the last?

Lamper.sffc
08/05/2010, 1:07 AM
Terrible performance from us tonight. Especially in the second half. Its been the same crap for most of the season. Go 1 up and then try and defend the lead. Fair play to Drogheda they put up a great fight in the second half and could have won it, but its the same sh1t from us. Too negative.

danthesaint
08/05/2010, 1:53 AM
Totally agree. Pats full value for their win. Once they got the early goal they were determined to defend stoutly in typical Pete Mahon style. Left with very little option after the sending off, yet still managed to create the better chances despite having very little of the ball. Its no fluke that Pats have conceded so few and Dundalk did not have the required attacking imagination tonight.

i thought yaz deserve a draw out of that for the position yaz had.......... yaz could have took advantage down the left big time but didnt

This reminds me of a post after a Dundalk V Pats match last year - something along the lines of
The referee's decision was as debatable as any other in the game, but it was a stonewall penalty/sending off (delete as appropriate). That wasn't you by any chance Dodge?

the ref was shocking i swear to god, the amount of decisions he gave for dundalk was unreal, is a push in the back legal these days.......
and his lino was just ignoring it, it was totally unfair

Red card. Disgraceful from McAllister. Couldn't compete with Maher.

maher wasnt actually innocent in the piece to be fair

08/05/2010, 2:03 AM
, is a push in the bag legal these days.......

depends if youre caught or not...

http://www.samhawken.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/vinniegazza.jpeg

danthesaint
08/05/2010, 2:25 AM

hahaha good to see your awake, and not p1ssed like i am haha
i meant back not bag, but fair play for all the effort of you going going around the internet looking for a pic of a bloke touching another blokes ballbag :)

danthesaint
08/05/2010, 2:25 AM

hahaha good to see your awake, and not p1ssed like i am haha
i meant back not bag, but fair play for all the effort of you going going around the internet looking for a pic of a bloke touching another blokes ballbag :)

08/05/2010, 3:20 AM
i knew what you meant but i have lots of those sort of pictures bookmarked so it was no problem... :) ;) Good win for you tonight by the way.

GalwayRed
08/05/2010, 3:21 AM
Very disappointed after tonights match. We had so many chances and didn't take them and to be fair we deserved to lose simply because of that. Waterford were decent. Took their chance when it mattered. I was more impressed with Derry when I saw them but Waterford will definitely be up there this season. Despite the defeat that was probably one of our strongest performances this season.

08/05/2010, 8:21 AM
We're so **** it's unbelievable, we're so **** it's unbelievable.

Anyone fancy the job as Finn Harps manager? No qualifications required, you don't even need to know anything about football, we'll give you the job. Only requirement is that you must be a nice guy.

passerrby
08/05/2010, 8:40 AM
We were fairly poor, just about got there.

Pitch at Gortakeegan doesn't suit the type of game we are trying to play this year and O'Connor and Clancy had very good games for the Mons.

Still 8 wins on the bounce, roll on the Cross next week.

thought we deserved a draw but your lads were hard workers ,great bunch of supporters who made it a great night

08/05/2010, 10:28 AM
1 series of games down and we're only goal difference away from a play-off spot. That's about 5 positions higher than I thought we'd be in the run up to the first Derry game :D Delighted.

Derry and Waterford now though in the next 2 league games, Id love to end Derry's run and take a point off them even. Hopefully in front of a big crowd!

oriel
08/05/2010, 11:09 AM
By all accounts we didnt deserve anything out of last nights game, even the lads on Dundalk FM said we ran out of ideas. Important win for Pats though after 2 defeats in a row.

Thats 3 defeats now for most of the chasing pack. I think whoever wins it will have the most defeats ever for a 10 team PD.

Not that I`m suggesting we will win it, 3rd spot will do nicely thank you very much come end of season.

08/05/2010, 3:21 PM
expecting our usual miserable defeat in Sligo tonight...

08/05/2010, 4:12 PM
we just might win a game!

08/05/2010, 6:50 PM
Great performance by Pats tonight. Down to 10 men for last hour but had better chances. Dundalk had tons of ball but only 2 chances

Hanney was disgraceful as Ref. As bad as I've seen. Only decision he got right all night was the sending off

Even as a neutral at the game I could say that the ref was a joke, did he have any previous with Pats as he seemed to not want to give them anything all through the game.
Dodge - as much as I like Pats, Mahon, and the pats fans - do you really think you are playing decent football? I beg to differ...............:p

Dillonman
08/05/2010, 7:33 PM
Bohs, Longford and Athlone all winning atm!

08/05/2010, 7:39 PM
Dodge - as much as I like Pats, Mahon, and the pats fans - do you really think you are playing decent football? I beg to differ...............:p

While I haven't seen Pats myself this season, they were hardly going to be at their free flowing best if they were down to 10 for an hour or so!

bullit
08/05/2010, 7:40 PM
Well done to simon k. for the for the longford goal
1-1 in athlone now btw

08/05/2010, 7:42 PM
2-0 Town! :)

Fester
08/05/2010, 7:42 PM
Salthill 0 - 2 Longford

Fester
08/05/2010, 7:45 PM
Athlone 1 - 1 Limerick

Fester
08/05/2010, 7:47 PM
Sligo Rovers 0 - 1 Bohz HT

08/05/2010, 7:48 PM
Town 3-0 up!

Fester
08/05/2010, 7:53 PM
Town 3-0 up!

Full Time

gufc2000
08/05/2010, 7:56 PM
Peter Hynes and Derek Glynn with the other 2 there for Longford

Fester
08/05/2010, 8:08 PM
Sligo 1 - 1 Bohz

Dillonman
08/05/2010, 8:19 PM
Limerick score late winner?!?!

Fester
08/05/2010, 8:29 PM
Athlone 1 - 3 Limerick FT

08/05/2010, 8:29 PM
2 late goals for a 3-1 win

danthesaint
08/05/2010, 8:37 PM
bohs 2-1 now apparently

Fester
08/05/2010, 8:42 PM
Bohs 2 - 1 up

Dillonman
08/05/2010, 8:44 PM
Quigley!

08/05/2010, 8:48 PM
While I haven't seen Pats myself this season, they were hardly going to be at their free flowing best if they were down to 10 for an hour or so!

Having seen them a few times this season...........I am not criticisng Pats, I mean that's Pete Mahon all over, a well organised team.......but they are not the most entertaining team to watch IMHO

08/05/2010, 10:17 PM
Check out the goals thread in the Pats section. Plenty of entertainment there ;)

oh and I said great performance, not great football last night. Sending off changed the gameplan (attacking midfielder sent off, striker subbed off, defensive midfielder on

we've played some great stuff this season. At other times we've looked ordinary and without ideas. As long as the results continue to impress I'm happy

monkey9
08/05/2010, 11:29 PM
Having seen them a few times this season...........I am not criticisng Pats, I mean that's Pete Mahon all over, a well organised team.......but they are not the most entertaining team to watch IMHO

Who would you consider the most entertaining team this season??

09/05/2010, 10:55 AM
Highlights of Pats v dundalk. Good angle for the seding off

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xzTsk-NfSI

oriel
09/05/2010, 2:05 PM
Looks like we deserved a draw from those highlights !

danthesaint
09/05/2010, 2:16 PM
Looks like we deserved a draw from those highlights !

yeah i thought that too, but for the ammount of possession you's had and two extra men, yaz didnt create many chances...

09/05/2010, 2:46 PM
Highlights show Rogers making one save when you were a man up. As I'm always saying here goalkeeping and finishing are as much a part of the game as possesion

09/05/2010, 2:52 PM
Check out the goals thread in the Pats section. Plenty of entertainment there ;)

oh and I said great performance, not great football last night. Sending off changed the gameplan (attacking midfielder sent off, striker subbed off, defensive midfielder on

we've played some great stuff this season. At other times we've looked ordinary and without ideas. As long as the results continue to impress I'm happy

Wasnt on about attacking football by the way - just decent passing, something like maybe 4/5 passes to feet would be nice now and again

Come on Dodge, if you were playing Bohs/Shams/Ucd/Fingal (all teams I enjoy watching) they would have definitely got a goal or two on Friday - Dundalk werent that good!!!:)
But I accept - maybe I just have picked the wrong games - will see for the setanta final so..................:)

09/05/2010, 3:46 PM
As I've said we've done this season. Down to 10
men (and with our captain off injured) to the league leaders is a unique situation. The move leading up to the goal shows we can do it. Last hour was a different ge which needed different skills

Oh and there's absolutely no way Rovers are a good footballing side. O'Neill has them playing complete hoofball (bypassing the excellent midfielders they have) to suit Murray

harry crumb
09/05/2010, 6:49 PM
Oh and there's absolutely no way Rovers are a good footballing side. O'Neill has them playing complete hoofball (bypassing the excellent midfielders they have) to suit Murray

Murray is like Barezi compared to some of the other central defenders in this league.

Price if anything suffers when asked to pass the ball.

But agree that bypassing the midfield makes it hard to watch them.

09/05/2010, 8:31 PM
Can't have happened too often for anyone, maybe the two Bakers were the last?
Fairly sure Johnny and Robbie Martin managed it for us in one game or other. Must have a look through the archives.

cestlavie
09/05/2010, 8:35 PM
Does anybody know how much it will be into the Brandywell for the league cup game on Monday night for north west Derby? Qute in euros, please! lol

09/05/2010, 9:25 PM
Actually on checking the two McMillans scored away to Harps last year as well.