View Full Version : Inter-toto Cup Draw 2004

eoinh
05/04/2004, 9:35 AM
Borussia Dortmund applied to be the German represntative
hibs applied to be the scottish representative

adamcarr
05/04/2004, 10:45 AM
Hibs is a team I would love to Play. IMO We could beat them and they are a team everyone has heard of!

eoinh
05/04/2004, 11:06 AM
As far as im aware its on today. So we should know from which country our opponents come from.

05/04/2004, 12:52 PM
Nothing on uefa.com re inter toto draw.

05/04/2004, 5:25 PM
From what I can discern from this: http://www.intertoto-cup.com/more/pdf/draw_05-04-2004.pdf , Cork will play the Swedish entrant, with the winner facing the second Dutch entrant.

05/04/2004, 5:34 PM
Maybe we can share a plane with the NI entrant and drop them off in Denmark on the way? :)

If we win we'll be playing the 2nd Dutch entrant.
One can oly assume that they're seeded higher that the 1st Dutch entrant?

05/04/2004, 5:34 PM
Most Excellent!

Gonna be huge demand for swedish trip i predict!

Then if we not lucky already we get Holland.

05/04/2004, 5:42 PM
ryanair flights: cork-stanstead-malmo anyone? :) It'd be just like the Metalurgs trip all over again

05/04/2004, 5:43 PM
I think 3 Swedish teams in CL/UEFA so assuming 4th crowd take tayto cup place means we be playing Örgryte.

05/04/2004, 5:54 PM
Is it (i) definitely Sweden and (ii) near Malmo?

5 sec google tells me its a suburb of Gothenborg.

05/04/2004, 6:06 PM
Can't get conformation anywhere...

Anyways...last year

round 1:
Zalgiris (LIT) - Örgryte (SWE) 1-1 0-3 Örgryte 4-1 on agg

round 2
B Örgryte (SWE) - Nice (FRA) 3-2 1-2 Nice on away goals

05/04/2004, 6:11 PM
Does anyone know if this is definate? If it is then it's brilliant.

A trip to Sweden possibly followed by Holland! Could we have asked for a better draw!

One thing though, do they have Czech Republic whores in Sweden?!! :D

City Hero
05/04/2004, 8:43 PM
According to the Swedish football association's website (http://www.svenskfotboll.se) we will be up against IF Elfsborg. See below;

The Swedish Cup was established in 1941. Since the 60´s the cup has been played from autumn til spring. In 2001 a transition took place after which the Cup onwards is to be finalized during an ordinary Swedish season (spring-autumn). The Cup in its new format comprises 92 clubs.
In the UEFA club competitions 2004/05 Sweden will be represented by champions Djurgårdens IF (UCL), Allsvenskan runners-up B]Hammarby and cup winners IF Elfsborg (UEFA Intertoto Cup)[/B].

But the Uefa.com report (http://www.uefa.com/footballcentral/news/Kind=2/newsId=123298.html) on IF Elfsborg's cup win contradicts this;

European place
The win gave Elfsborg a place in the qualifying round of the 2004/05 UEFA Cup. Champions Djurgårdens IF took Sweden's only place in the qualifying rounds for the UEFA Champions League as they recently retained their league title, but were surprisingly knocked out of the cup by Assyriska in the semi-finals.

If the Uefa.com report is accurate then it looks like it will be Malmo FF in the Intertoto Cup thanks to their third place finish in the league.

Orgryte had qualified for last years Intertoto by finishing third in the 2002.season.

ccfc till i die
05/04/2004, 9:03 PM
ya the draw is definate! Off to sweden. at least we have avoided a country like sebia & montenegro, ukraine etc..i.e. war countries.

"war countries" I'm amazed you can hear us all the way back in the early 90's :rolleyes:

05/04/2004, 10:06 PM
The fact that we know roughly where we're going now means we can really start to look forward to it and begin making plans etc.... :cool:

05/04/2004, 11:33 PM
Those aren't the friendliest of places to go to!

Why ... what are you going to be up to ?? :(

To be honest i'd have preferred an eastern European country.
When will all this be confirmed ?

06/04/2004, 7:38 AM
Malmö are the current favourites to win the Swedish league which kicked off over the weekend. They are currently nicknamed "Real Malmö" because of the big name signings they have made over the summer which include Patrik Andersson. They also have 15,000 season ticket holders!

ian
06/04/2004, 7:50 AM
That is good that they have 15000 season ticket holders it should be good crack and hopfully get the right result on the day.

ccfcman
06/04/2004, 7:53 AM
are malmo or whoever is to be the swedish reparasentative in the competition in our round?

06/04/2004, 8:04 AM
well they lost 4-0 in rostock but that was their first match of the season. They have a very small squad so if injuries hit them.... + One of their summer signing, a Polish striker Sypniewski - a big name in Sweden, is suffering from acute depression so it is doubtful how much he will play this season.

shedite
06/04/2004, 8:27 AM
Just did a quick look at Ryanair.com and Cork-Stanstead-Malmo going Thurs 17th back Tues 22nd is about €120 return!!! I know the dates aren't definite yet but surely that's gotta be among the cheapest away games? How much is the train to Derry. I remember paying about £350 to get to Switzerland a few years ago and there were absolutely loads at that!

06/04/2004, 8:57 AM
If the Uefa.com report is accurate then it looks like it will be Malmo FF in the Intertoto Cup thanks to their third place finish in the league.

Yeah 3rd place would get Inter Tayto Cup spot just like here.

We unlucky to draw a summer football country too. Gonna be big underdogs against Malmo.

eoinh
06/04/2004, 9:02 AM
Heres how the Swedish League Ended

Sweden 2003

Allsvenskan

Final Table:

1.Djurgårdens IF 26 19 1 6 62-26 58 Champions [Stockholm]
2.Hammarby IF FF 26 15 6 5 50-30 51 [Stockholm]
3.Malmö FF 26 14 6 6 50-23 48
4.Örgryte IS 26 14 3 9 42-40 45 [Göteborg]
5.AIK 26 11 6 9 39-34 39 [Solna, Stockholm]
6.Helsingborgs IF 26 11 5 10 35-36 38
7.IFK Göteborg 26 10 7 9 37-28 37
8.Örebro SK FK 26 10 7 9 29-33 37
9.Halmstads BK 26 11 3 12 41-37 36
10.Elfsborg IF 26 9 7 10 29-34 34 [Borås]
11.Landskrona BoIS 26 8 8 10 26-39 32
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
12.GIF Sundsvall 26 3 10 13 25-43 19 Relegation Playoff
--------------------------------------------
13.Östers IF 26 3 8 15 31-56 17 Relegated [Växjö]
14.Enköpings SK FK 26 3 5 18 22-59 14 Relegated

eoinh
06/04/2004, 9:07 AM
Malmos Stadium isnt half bad

Here (http://thenut.eti.pg.gda.pl/~rsob/countries/szwecja/malmo/malmo02.jpg)

and also (http://thenut.eti.pg.gda.pl/~rsob/countries/szwecja/malmo/malmo03.jpg)

and also (http://thenut.eti.pg.gda.pl/~rsob/countries/szwecja/malmo/malmo04.jpg)

06/04/2004, 9:20 AM
Malmos Stadium isnt half bad

Didn't it host the 1992 European Championships Final?

06/04/2004, 9:26 AM
I live in Malmö and I can safely say that Malmö stadion is right dump! wait until ye see where they put the away fans.

eoinh
06/04/2004, 9:28 AM
How come youve called ypurself IFK when we've drawn the other malmo team - Malmo FF? Havent you got a bit mixed up IFK101? :confused:

Been to Sweden a few years ago - nice place. Spent most of the time across the water in Finland though.

06/04/2004, 9:33 AM
not really - I've always posted under ifk - when i've bothered to post

eoinh
06/04/2004, 9:35 AM
Here!!!!!!!!!!! (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/africa/3583689.stm)

ccfcman
06/04/2004, 10:09 AM
get urself to stockholm from dumpland https://ibp2.scandinavian.net/planandbook/AvailView.asp

06/04/2004, 10:14 AM
long way from stockholm to malmö - 5 hours by high speed train.

best to look at dublin - copenhagen. train from airport in copenhagen to malmö takes 20 mins.

06/04/2004, 10:32 AM
Dublin to Copenhagen roughly 180euro either weekend with Aer Lingus and then 20 minutes to Malmo on the train.

ccfcman
06/04/2004, 10:35 AM
www.flysas.com (http://www.flysas.com)

eoinh
06/04/2004, 10:55 AM
finally announce the draw officially (http://www.uefa.com/competitions/IntertotoCup/news/Kind=1/newsId=163782.html)

06/04/2004, 11:06 AM
so does that definitely mean that we're away first and the weekend of the 18/19/20 of June is the weekend we have to be planning for???

Ruairi
06/04/2004, 11:14 AM
Looks like it.

And if we get through, we face a Dutch team.

pure holland buzz. I'm gonna save for the second round, for obvious reasons

adamcarr
06/04/2004, 11:14 AM
If we win our first two rounds then we will have the French Entrant!!! ;)

06/04/2004, 12:19 PM
UEFA have officially confirmed the draw for the 1st round of this years Intertoto Cup. Cork City will be away to Malmo on 19/20 June for the first leg, with the return leg at Turners Cross a week later on June 26/27. Cork City though may not be Ireland's representative for the Intertoto Cup, as City still have an outside chance of qualifying for the UEFA Cup throught the Fair Play League.

Fair Play Latest Rankings (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/news/040202.html)

According to that list Sewed is no. 1 current & would get extra Uefa Cup place automatically. So not allong is it not certain City be in Toto Cup but not even certain yet who swedish rep will be. :eek:

I certainly wouldn't be booking anything too quickely.

eoinh
06/04/2004, 12:37 PM
lads, its not the best team in the division that gets the extra uefa cup place its the team with the best disciplinary record that gets the spot.

So, who had the best disciplinery record last season in the eircomleague.

BTW dont go booking anything yet as city and malmo might switch the dates around - with city hosting the swedes first. irish clubs have a tendency to do that. :(

ccfcman
06/04/2004, 12:40 PM
lads, its not the best team in the division that gets the extra uefa cup place its the team with the best disciplinary record that gets the spot.

So, who had the best disciplinery record last season in the eircomleague.

BTW dont go booking anything yet as city and malmo might switch the dates around - with city hosting the swedes first. irish clubs have a tendency to do that. :(doesnt the whole league need an impeccable record?rules out city wit the likes of dan connors around the eL

06/04/2004, 12:43 PM
No mention of the inter toto on the malmo website (www.mff.se), though my swedish isn't that hot.

I was there once. Nice city, smaller than Cork i'd say. Only half an hour by train from Copenhagen so that would probably be the best way to get there.

I'd say they would bring a big crowd to Cork so the home game could be a laugh.

They're playing their first league game against Hammarby today.

No doubt they're sweating after our great result against Longford!

06/04/2004, 12:48 PM
doesnt the whole league need an impeccable record?rules out city wit the likes of dan connors around the eL

Its a countries disciplinary record in europe this season that counts. I think irish clubs are currently ranked 8th or 9th in europe for 2003/2004 season. If a country gets a UEFA cup Fair play spot its the club with the best disciplinary record in the last domestic league season that gets it.

Last season I think that was Bohs or Shels but since they're in europe anyway City are next and would qualify.

eoinh
06/04/2004, 1:14 PM
at the moment sweden are top of the pile for the fair play
award. After that there is a draw for two countries above a certain mark (ireland are above the mark) who get a UEFA place as well.

City were in the hunt for the award last year but were not drawn out :(

Its the countries clubs in european competition and the international teams performances that count. So luckily Dan Connor doesnt count (or Roy Keane, come to that :p ).

City Hero
06/04/2004, 1:30 PM
The Ryanair flights may be cheap, but you have to wait at Stansted for about 6 or 7 hours to get the flight to Malmo.

You could get an Easyjet flight to Copenhagen for approx the same price.

06/04/2004, 1:57 PM
You were top of the fair play league so if ireland gets the spot you'll be in the uefa. We'll get the inter toto then. Have no idea when that draw will be made

Terry Phelan
06/04/2004, 2:01 PM
honestly,whod want to be playing in the inter toto mini cup.Wud ye not rather be playing in the uefa cup?????

06/04/2004, 3:24 PM
citynet (http://eirways.com/citynet/)

depending on how the Fair Play draws go....

06/04/2004, 4:42 PM
Sheeze ... that is kinda late in the day to be finding out isn't it.

"As reported back in February, Cork City are still in with a chance of qualifying for the UEFA Cup through the Fair Play system. The Fair Play draw will not be made until May. "

That is a real spanner in the works !!

DIFChick
07/04/2004, 7:04 AM
From www.svenskafans.com Malmö forum:

Namn: Crespo
Sänt: 2004-04-05 20:02:27
MFF against Irish team in Intertoto

We are likely to play Cork City, that is if the Irish dont get a extra spot according to Uefas Fair play-system. If thats the case we're up against S:t Pats Athl. We'll have to wait til May before this whole thing is decided.

heres a link to the MFF forum: http://www.svenskafans.com/fotboll/mff/forum.asp

07/04/2004, 10:47 AM
yeah copenhagen could be a plan. still, its off to sweden we go!