View Full Version : Ban the booers for life.......

Pages : 1 [2]

Declan_Michael
05/04/2004, 2:08 PM
I think its sad that people born in Ireland decide to support a foreign team. Should an Irish team meet Man Utd/Lpool/Celtic in a European match in Ireland I can imagine the home side having less supporters in the ground.

What is worse is people of Irish decent born in England supporting Celtic 'to enhance my Irishness' Surely a pint of Guinness and a Daniel O'Donnell LP would do this too? :D

05/04/2004, 3:11 PM
What is worse is people of Irish decent born in England supporting Celtic 'to enhance my Irishness' Surely a pint of Guinness and a Daniel O'Donnell LP would do this too? :D

C'mon Declan, have you ever actually sat and listened a Daniel O'Donnell LP? Celtic's by far the easier option for us plastics... no, er, I mean, um... :rolleyes: ;) :p

I have to say I'm astounded that anyone of Irish descent born in England would support Celtic to - as you put it - enhance their Irishness. For one, anyone guilty of your point is a glory-grabber rather than a true Celtic fan as far as I can see. For two, sure isn't it much easier to spend a few quid with Ryanair and go and visit the auld sod?

:confused: PP

Declan_Michael
05/04/2004, 3:49 PM
C'mon Declan, have you ever actually sat and listened a Daniel O'Donnell LP? Celtic's by far the easier option for us plastics... no, er, I mean, um... :rolleyes: ;) :p

I have to say I'm astounded that anyone of Irish descent born in England would support Celtic to - as you put it - enhance their Irishness. For one, anyone guilty of your point is a glory-grabber rather than a true Celtic fan as far as I can see. For two, sure isn't it much easier to spend a few quid with Ryanair and go and visit the auld sod?

:confused: PP

It's not glory hunting I speak off - although it is rather dubious that Hibernian do not command half the support Celtic do. Back in the day, people paid a few shilling to watch their neighbour play for the local team. It was called community spirit, town pride. However somewhere along the line people started sticking pins in maps in order to determine their footballing allegiance. Incidentally, I tried this myself and ended up sticking a big white pin on Madrid.

If Ryanair are guilty of anything its providing regular low cost flights to Glasgow, Liverpool, Manchester.

Celtic are Irish why? Because it does their financial status no harm to play up their green roots? No different from English pubs sticking up tricolour bunting on 17th March.

Bosco
05/04/2004, 5:03 PM
As far as I'm concerned,people who are cheering/booing,are more real fans than those FG androids......
Not when the reason they are booing a person has no connection with the team they are there to support

lopez
05/04/2004, 5:11 PM
In,case yer wondering about Celtic,the club has been around longer than the FAI & assoc.bodies'
Complete b*ll*cks. The FAI split from the IFA in 1921 and the IFA was founded in 1880, eight years before Celtic BUT one year after Hibernian.

....& as I keep saying,the Vast majority of Tims would & do welcome Irish fans with open arms........Maybe I should arrange a trip for the uneducated on these MB's who've never been to Parkheed....?!
Well I'll reserve judgment on that pompous statement until the day one of our players turns out at Castle Greyskull. :rolleyes:

4tothefloor
05/04/2004, 6:43 PM
I dont support Man Utd but how do you know it was them booing Baros......Going by the logic that it was Man Utd fans booing Baros, was it liverpool fans booing Roy Keane against Iceland. That was a disgrace too. There should be know booing of individual players like that. But Liverpool fans should not get sanctimonious about it. DID i spell that correctly

How do I know? Because I was at the game - the Man Ure anoraks, tracksuit bottoms and shouts of "Baros, ya Scouse scum" were a bit of a give away.

Seeing that you're advocating the use of logic here - put it to use. Who else would boo Baros? The huge Everton fanbase at LR is it? :rolleyes: And you're "logic" regarding it being Liverpool fans that were booing Keane against Iceland is just plain stupid - you should know well why Keane was being boo'd, it was an Irish team matter and had nothing to do with Liverpool.

eoinh
06/04/2004, 8:36 AM
Celtic & Hibs(though they currently choose not to),are the only clubs within the domain of the British mainland,who can fly a foreign flag above their ground,ie.the Irish Tricolour.....

Neither Celtic of Glasgow nor Hibs fly the irish tricolour above their grounds anymore except if they meet an irish club in UEFA competitions.

Whoever cork city get in the inter-toto we'll fly that flag of that clubs' country.

BTW as for dates. Athlone Town were formed in 1879 and there are a good few clubs playing in ireland who were formed before celtic.

When the British soverigens mother died Celtic of Glasgow held a minutes silence. I cant remember that happening at any irish club.

sylvo
06/04/2004, 8:55 AM
1921 was a long time after 1888....or would you prefer the FAI to be part of the IFA(acc.to DG et al,difficult to know which is worse?!).

As for Celtic fans' attitude,your travelling companion in Polska & us when we meet up with you,can remind of the normally mutually amiable atmosphere between Glaswegian/Scots Tims & Irish fans...Though enough people on these MB's want to destroy that craic?

Also meet a few gobs***e's, but you get them everywhere, with every team.
I take it when you talk about Lopez's travelling companion you are trying to get me dragged into this little differance of opinion, (cheer's hoss there'll be a pint waiting for you in the barylka bar on mariensztat square, warsaw, noooot).
Yea Celtic play up @ the till's in the various Celtic shop's around the map on their Irish history, but every big club does the very same when it come's to grabbing money from football fan's pocket's, they play up on past glory's and in some case's club history's, Celtic are no better or worse when it come's to universal selling point's. Go into any club shop and you'll see the same style of marketing.
I would like to see club difference's kept away from the national team no matter who or what they are, that goes for the handfull of d**khead's who booed Graham Barrett, kevin Grogan and david McCmahon when their club side's were read out @ halftime during a freindly with Mexico while they were holding the u16 europian champions trophy, the handfull of d**khead's who booed LM when he came on, and also the couple of d**khead's in their designer gear who i seen outside the shelbourne house pub before the game last september with Russia who started to sing song's and chuck abuse @ fan's who had scarf's or hat's of Shel's or Boh's, that b*****ks can stop as well.
When Barros scored huge area's around me in the east stand started going mad, a lot of them had not made a sound during the match until he scored, maybe if they put as much energy into getting behind the team as booing and shouting abuse @ one player cause they don't like his club we may have a bit of an amosphere @ LR again. Had it been Yan Koller who scored most of those people would have spent the entire 90 min's in total silence unless there secound club was shalcka 04. I'm all for turning LR into the way it was in the late 80's as a couldron of noise, but booing people for club reason's is a bit sad.

eoinh
06/04/2004, 9:18 AM
As for foreign flags,look fwd.to you drawing Linfield....sure they'd appreciate the red hand flying in the'rebel' co.!

Err.... the red hand is an irish flag. It appears on loads of flags in the republic.
BTW - we drew a swedish club :rolleyes:

Beavis
06/04/2004, 11:15 AM
When Baros scored huge area's around me in the east stand started going mad, a lot of them had not made a sound during the match until he scored, maybe if they put as much energy into getting behind the team as booing and shouting abuse @ one player cause they don't like his club we may have a bit of an amosphere @ LR again

Exactly....this is them fans all over

06/04/2004, 3:34 PM
4TTF....Sounds incredibly pompous...Who are the f*ck are you/the FAI to bar anyone who cheers/boos for whatever reason....
I'm for Any atmosphere inside Lansdowne,even a negative one,as the Pr*cks in the W.Stand are evidence of!As far as I'm concerned,people who are cheering/booing,are more real fans than those FG androids......

....In,case yer wondering about Celtic,the club has been around longer than the FAI & assoc.bodies'....& as I keep saying,the Vast majority of Tims would & do welcome Irish fans with open arms........Maybe I should arrange a trip for the uneducated on these MB's who've never been to Parkheed....?!

davros old boy, I've seen some confused ****e talked in defence of bringing ones sectarian hang-ups to Ireland games but when it comes to confusion you seem hell bent on raising the bar for us all. You sir are as confused as an Asian skinhead.

Beavis
06/04/2004, 4:28 PM
next time the Tans show up....sit idly by & watch them try to demolish the ground again...Great!

Your missing the point again Davros.
This has national significance and many feel the English would be justified abuse.I'd have no problem with it as it isn't based on club football.The argument is that club allegiences shouldn't be relevant at LR

4tothefloor
06/04/2004, 4:41 PM
Beavis just hit the nail on the head there - the thread is about idiots that boo both Irish & Opposition players because of the clubs they play for - some people here have gone off topic, so much so that they are now confused as to what the thread is about. If the English came to LR, thats an Irish national issue and has nothing to do with club football, does it? Similarily the Roy Keane booing fiasco had nothing to do with clubs, nor did Mick McCarthy being boo'd at the Swiss game, these were Irish issues. You can boo all you like in those situations because they are relevent to the Irish team. However, foreign club issues such as transfers, grudges, rivalry's or match incidents have nothing to do with Irish football, and thus should be kept away from LR. Simple as that.

Also, could we stop with the Huns\Munichs\Tims cockney BS please?! :rolleyes:

06/04/2004, 4:51 PM
Main point taken, if not always agreed with. As ever, I view it as grey rather than black-and-white. However, if I tried to boo England (which you suggest IS acceptable), Mrs PP would no doubt have my balls in the blender! I'll just have to be quiet then... ;)

:D PP

lopez
06/04/2004, 5:33 PM
I take it when you talk about Lopez's travelling companion you are trying to get me dragged into this little differance of opinion, (cheer's hoss there'll be a pint waiting for you in the barylka bar on mariensztat square, warsaw, noooot).
Muchas gracias caballero. Dav, as you can see from da Sylv's quotes both here and prior, he's got as much time for club politics as I have. As for 'who the f*ck you telling me pal who tay boo' well I'm coming closer to signing this petition with that attitude.

You sir are as confused as an Asian skinhead.
You've met Davros in the flesh then? :eek:

sylvo
06/04/2004, 8:25 PM
Chill ouuuuuut da two of yer. I would like to see all the other team having to put up with a bit of stick not just the odd person because yer don't like his club, in the eighties LR one hell of an intimadating place because all the other team got a bit of stick,i'd like to have banner's with'' failte go hell'' welcoming the opponent's (that would have people tripping over their golf club's) and LR full of thousand's of roman candel's burning, one lad in the south terrace light's a roman candel quite often and is alway's grabbed by steward's, I feel there should be thousand's of them being lighted.
That Scotland game Dav in 2000 I remember most of the Scotland team got stick that day from us lot in the east stand, not just the Ranger's player's and even there was some banter with the Scotland fan's (nothing nasty) after all it was a local derby.
As for the Asian skinhead qoute mr ritchie made, he must have seen that photo of yer in Albania in 93 in that road to America book.
Now i hope you and Lopez are friend's again, cause i don't want to be spending my trip to Poland breaking up kick off's between you now.

lopez
06/04/2004, 10:47 PM
Chill ouuuuuut da two of yer.
Sylvs the only pills I is popping at the moment are some anti-inflammatories for my sprained lower back. I can't take anything stronger: One bloke where I worked got a Michelle de Bruin style interrogation off the LUL doping squad for having a few poppy seed rolls - they had to have a few extra tests to make sure he wasn't 'trainspotting' :D . So I'm permanently stressed.

Dav. It's a waste of time arguing with you on this matter. I just wish people would get behind the team and forget their clubs when they go to LRd. Yes I've given grief to players, including that obnoxious bloke now at Blackburn, because he's a bigoted f*cker, not because he plays/played for Rangers. Same with Judas. He could play for Rangers, Hearts, Linfield and Barstardolona for all I care if he was a better professional for Ireland. And what's with this 'PC' BS? Do you want racist chants and monkey noises back at football because it's creates a better atmosphere?

sylvo
06/04/2004, 11:37 PM
What p***ed me off about wednesday night was when the Cezch's scored it prompted load's of people to lose it just because they did'nt like the team Barros played for, most of these people did'nt even go half as mad when we scored, and then what happened was that other people around us who were Liverpool fan's started on about him and Liverpool, so there you have it section's of the Irish support split over two ingurlish club side's, how sad.
As for those Gobs***es with their high pitched boo's who booed Liam Miller, maybe when their cojone's drop and they step out of the school playground into the big world they will hopefully find out that when someone pull's on the green shirt you support them and don't make themselves look total clown's by booing one of yer own team. Apart from that great night, great result.

Duncan Gardner
07/04/2004, 6:19 PM
Winning a game for you may well be equivalent to a good dose up the nose of some Bogotá marching powder, but what the f*ck has this go to do with booing Liam Miller? (Do like those foxy ladies on ourweeminds. Shame about the muppets they're with! :p )

My point was that booing your own players isn't quite as big a deal as you think. Bans for life? Get a grip, man. Up the Villa!

Davros- you saying you AREN'T a fat cnut? Hello?

Duncan Gardner
09/04/2004, 10:37 AM
You're still a fat bald cnut though, innit. I've got ye the Polski phrase book, make sure you all behave yourselves!

March, March, Dabrowski
From Austria to Poland
But when you get to Windsor
Your boys will take a beating

possibly.

Beavis
09/04/2004, 12:58 PM
We need a poll here....
Who's ate all the pies DG or Davros?

Duncan Gardner
09/04/2004, 8:00 PM
We sold 114 tickets you fat bald cnut (about 10 left at half-time, either they were too hungover or had heavy dates at Bar Nimeta) :)

Duncan Gardner
10/04/2004, 8:46 AM
Apart from the last visit there when we won 1-0, you numbskull... :confused:

13/04/2004, 9:43 PM
What odds on Keane getting a worse reception than Miller on his first appearence in Lansedown Road?

4tothefloor
14/04/2004, 4:53 PM
What odds on Keane getting a worse reception than Miller on his first appearence in Lansedown Road?

That could be a problem alright, and its that which could ultimately affect team morale, not Keanes actual return. I hope supporters have enough cop on to support the team and look forward - whats the point looking back?

Then again, as this thread has already discussed, there are alot of idiots going to Irish games these days, so it wouldn't surprise me in the least. :mad:

14/04/2004, 9:56 PM
The majority of long-standing fans who went to Japan,ended up being v.Keane....they're not the blow-ins,who make up a substantial majority of the LR audience......

Yes, that's right. Because anyone who couldn't afford to travel to Japan must be a blow-in, and they shouldn't be allowed to have an opinion on this.

Edit- BTW, I'm anti-Roy Keane, but I hate the attitude of people who feel that they are somehow 'better' fans than others because they go to more away games.

14/04/2004, 10:18 PM
BE.....no-one denies your opinion...but for whatever reason,Ireland's most dedicated fans went to the Far East.....I know many of them,inc.those who've done many games,more than me.....they are more entitled to judge players commitment,than the occ.armchair fans who show up to Lansdowne....they go to more games...!

Fair enough, you may be in a better position to comment on commitment, but doesn't make us blow-ins. ;)

4tothefloor
15/04/2004, 2:12 AM
BE.....no-one denies your opinion...but for whatever reason,Ireland's most dedicated fans went to the Far East.....I know many of them,inc.those who've done many games,more than me.....they are more entitled to judge players commitment,than the occ.armchair fans who show up to Lansdowne....they go to more games...!

As you are far more entitled to comment on Derry C.....I have an opinion,I guess similar to yours,in many respects.....but you know far far more,as you're a DC fan & go to games....I've only been to Derry once in my life!

Well if you're suggesting that I'm a blow-in you can politely **** off 'cos i've been going to LR since the opening games of the 1990 WC qualifiers, my first one was V Malta at home. I've been going religiously ever since. I've only managed one away game, V England @ Wembley in '91, this is largely due to the fact that i'm still only 23 and am just finishing college this year. From May onwards i'll be working full-time, and alas i'll be finally able to fund my away trips. I look forward to meeting you and listening to you're much more,...er,.. experienced views on Irish football :rolleyes:

Having watched Ireland for 14 years from Charlton thru Kerr, I'm no blow in bud. And another thing. I know loads who went to all three of our World Cups, and only a few of them go to LR regularly. We'd all have been there if we could afford it. Needless to say, I don't subscribe to your greater 'entitlement to judge players just cos you go to away games' theory!

4tothefloor
16/04/2004, 3:14 AM
I hope people do not boo Keane, but if they do i'll admit they have a right to, because its related to an Irish team matter, i.e. the Saipan fiasco. Similarily, fans had a right to boo McCarthy because they weren't happy with performances, handling of the Keane situation etc. On the other hand, people should under no circumstances boo Romanias Ganea for example, just because he lamped a Celtic player in another game. I couldn't care if he beheaded him, it has nothing to do with the Irish team or Irish football. Thats my whole point on the 'ban the booers' issue, you're not listening Davros! ;)

With regards to Keane, I don't see the point in booing him - whats the point looking back and dwelling in the past? Get on with it and support the team instead, booing only leaves a sour taste, divides support and is to the overall detriment of the team.

16/04/2004, 7:20 AM
i think he should have stayed where he was i.e. out of the intl scene.

but if and when he pulls that green shirt over his head there is simply no way
can anybody think of booing the guy.
for the good of team and the thought of how divisive it would be.last time i
looked it was about 60%/40% for his return so if a boo echoes out you could have a disaterous verbal argument between the irish supporters making us a complete laughing stock.

lopez
16/04/2004, 9:42 AM
I hope people do not boo Keane, but if they do i'll admit they have a right to, because its related to an Irish team matter, i.e. the Saipan fiasco. Similarily, fans had a right to boo McCarthy because they weren't happy with performances, handling of the Keane situation etc. On the other hand, people should under no circumstances boo Romanias Ganea for example, just because he lamped a Celtic player in another game. I couldn't care if he beheaded him, it has nothing to do with the Irish team or Irish football. Thats my whole point on the 'ban the booers' issue, you're not listening Davros! ;)

With regards to Keane, I don't see the point in booing him - whats the point looking back and dwelling in the past? Get on with it and support the team instead, booing only leaves a sour taste, divides support and is to the overall detriment of the team.
Despite forgetting whether you're for or anti, I agree with you totally. Keane was booed before at the Iceland game. McCarthy was booed at the Swiss game. Both incidents were Ireland related yet. As for this Kennedy bloke poleaxed by some Romanian, the only thing I'm interested in is why someone with his name was playing for Scotland? However, it is time to look forward. Booing Keane will do two things. The obvious, ruin the Karma in the Iirsh team - if this isn't ruined already by the return of Keane - and secondly, send the message out that at the end of it, Irish fans are a thick bunch. This forum is the place to get things off your chest. As the good father says above, once he's back in the green shirt that's the end for me.

sylvo
16/04/2004, 10:39 AM
I do hope common sense does shine through when RMK return's and people don't be booing the guy. I remember the game in 96 v Iceland and it was sad to hear one of yer own player's getting booed like that, and all it done was divide the support, when i told a mate of mine to chill with the booing i was accused of being a Man u fan, so there yer have the Irish support spilt along the line's of english club's, how sad.
Can't say Roy Keane would be on the top of my christmas card list but when he pull's on that green shirt be v Poland or Romania he should have 100 per cent support nothing less, this is our national team we're talking about here, which is more important then any single person or personality clashes be it Keane, McCarthy or any one else for that matter.

16/04/2004, 10:47 AM
this is our national team we're talking about here, which is more important then any single person or personality clashes be it Keane, McCarthy or any one else for that matter.

Well said Sylvo. :)

:D PP

lopez
16/04/2004, 2:04 PM
Well,if I see the Brat in Polska,do intend to offer him a prawn sandwich(or local equivalent!),does this count?!

Seriously,JUST because someone wears an Ireland shirt.....does that make them beyond Reproach?That's a fierce burden to put on someone......................esp.someone as volatile as........
It does for me once the team comes out and soldier's song starts up. Too many people turn up at Ireland games to give the players stick instead of using their energy to get behind the team. I'm not talking about RK here. I've been to matches where there's a non-stop commentary as if these people were Brian Kerr himself (well I don't think Brian Kerr would say 'get up you lazy black c*nt, Babb). Pick up a video of ultras in Italy, Greece or Turkey and learn something about getting behind your team for 90 minutes.

sylvo
16/04/2004, 2:34 PM
Well,if I see the Brat in Polska,do intend to offer him a prawn sandwich(or local equivalent!),does this count?!

Seriously,JUST because someone wears an Ireland shirt.....does that make them beyond Reproach?That's a fierce burden to put on someone......................esp.someone as volatile as........

As volatile as yerself maybe. In an ideal world M mac and RMK should have had their head's knocked together and hopefully some sense might have come out of the collision, and while this was going on Tom Humpty and Eamon Grumpy and any other writer or ghost writer should have been dropped out of a plane over Afganastan and left there, leaving RMK and M Mac to get on with it rather then being able to cash in on a punch up that we all lost in the end.
You were sitting in front of me @ the Cameroon match in Nigata when that chant of ''are you watching Roy Keane'' was being sung by a small section of people, and most people i spoke to afterward's felt awkward about it because they like me where only interested in getting behind the team and not being caught up in slanging match's during the match between fellow fan's, that's why that little tune got drowned out, and if people start that craic @ LR proberly worse will happen, i certainly don't want that, i'm only interested in supporting the team.
Another thing if you do see RMK in Poland and decide to have word's yer on yer own, i seen what he tried to do to the Tan's old Captin @ St James Park.

Beavis
17/04/2004, 1:08 PM
Lopez and Sylvo we need more fans like yous.
Davros I see where your coming from but as the lads said the good of the team has to be put ahead of personal feelings/vendettas towards one player.
Anyway if you do choose to go down that path expect trouble....there'll be plenty of Keanites around who will try keep ye quiet...

lopez
18/04/2004, 12:43 PM
You're not serious are you??????????????

Roy appologise to that former centre half with no first touch who somehow became manager of our country? You're having a larf surely. We all know that meeting was a set up and Roy gave it to Kermit McCarthy between the eyes.

Poy Keane: National Hero...

I'm not a Man U fan btw...
Silvio Dante is back in the building. Everyone reach for their tin helmets. :rolleyes:

lopez
18/04/2004, 1:29 PM
Alright bud. Its been too long...;)
Welcome back! Look forward to some super cyber-rumbles with some of your old sparring partners and some new ones too - sure you'll get to meet them soon enough.

18/04/2004, 8:33 PM
Suppose I will. I've been on a personal voyage of spiritual discovery for the last few months.

yeah, one of the UCD boys found you bothering a US ultra-right christian website. kind of went up in my estimation then ;)

good to see you back (and even talking sense :D )

19/04/2004, 8:01 AM
PS.Notice NONE of the self-righteous pompous PC brigade on here,have chosen to comment on AT of Celtic being booed by the Tans in Sweden...........

didn't hear anything about that, there was an Irish game on at the time so it's unlikely too many that post on here were watching that England game so maybe you can give the self-righteous pompous PC brigade the benefit of the doubt. :rolleyes:
Obviously it's along similar lines to Celtic 'fans' booing Rangers players though, booing someone based on where they play their club football. It's Pathetic.