View Full Version : Ban the booers for life.......
4tothefloor
01/04/2004, 1:31 PM
Those who bood Miller last night should be banned from all Ireland home games for life. Bringing issues regarding a scottish club in a mickey mouse league and their plastic supported english counterparts to Irish games is a disgrace. Celtic fans have some cheek thinking that they have the right to boo an Irish player at Lansdowne because of issues regarding Celtic.
I thought the booing of Milan Baros was a disgrace as well, along with people calling him "scouse scum". This mostly came from Dublin supporters might I add. Do the majority of Irish fans really give a sh*it about what some petty Man United fan thinks of a Liverpool player? This coming from a club whose support base is made up of a majority of glory hunters that only started supporting them from 1992 onwards. What reason does an Irish fan have for insulting Milan Baros - he plays in the ENGLISH premiership, and has nothing to do whatsoever with Irish football. His only crime last night was scoring a goal, but he was being bood from the minute he stepped on the pitch. The Rangers issue was clouded with religios issues, but the most disturbing part of this now is that players are being boo'd for footballing reasons by Irish "fans" who support British clubs.
I'm seriously thinking of writing a letter to the FAI to ask them to ban these idiots for life. Would anyone else here be interested in sending letters to the FAI, because I could draw up a draft letter for all to use?
Declan_Michael
01/04/2004, 2:14 PM
Really surprised about the Baros issue. Wonder what these people think of Finnan, McAteer, Aldridge, Whelan, Houghton, Heighway, Babb, Kennedy, Lawerson :mad:
01/04/2004, 2:47 PM
Those who bood Miller last night should be banned from all Ireland home games for life. Bringing issues regarding a scottish club in a mickey mouse league and their plastic supported english counterparts to Irish games is a disgrace. Celtic fans have some cheek thinking that they have the right to boo an Irish player at Lansdowne because of issues regarding Celtic.
I agree with much of what you say but, in my eyes at least, you seriously devalue your points by your blanket labelling of Irish Celtic fans above. Something that people hereabouts find all to easy to do, sadly.
Let's be clear, once and for all. Many of those involved in such booing have probably never stepped foot in Scotland in their lives, let alone been to see Celtic. Some Celtic fans, non? Much discussion has taken place, here and elsewhere, over this issue. In the main, Irish Celtic fans are well aware that when Miller plays for Ireland, he gets our full backing. Nothing less. Whatever happens at Celtic is another story. We are clear on that, and react accordingly.
:( PP
01/04/2004, 2:55 PM
i didn't hear Miller being booed, he got a great reception from what i could see, saddens me to hear there were idiots booing though. the Baros thing was as bad, he was applauding the crowd as he walked of and a bunch of idiots booed a guy who did nothing except score, and that in a friendly, pathetic.
4tothefloor
01/04/2004, 3:14 PM
i didn't hear Miller being booed, he got a great reception from what i could see, saddens me to hear there were idiots booing though. the Baros thing was as bad, he was applauding the crowd as he walked of and a bunch of idiots booed a guy who did nothing except score, and that in a friendly, pathetic.
Thats why I think we, the real fans, should try and do something about this. Its becoming increasingly annoying. In England, if fans start giving racial abuse etc, stewards can eject them from the ground, and in some cases ban them for life. This needs to be looked at for Irish games. Would these idiots be any loss to the atmosphere at LR? No. Why continue to put up with them then?
Regarding my comments on Celtic Plastic Paddy, I'm sick to my teeth of Celtic fans. Even seeing people with Celtic tops at Irish games ****es me off - Celtic are not Irish, they are not an Irish club, why wear the bloody jersey at Irish games? You're there to support Ireland, wear an Irish football top. Its because of Celtic and their supporters that the whole booing problem has started in LR in the first place, and some of these idiots even extended their ignorance to one of their own last night - how pathetic is that? When it comes to supporting Celtic, these fans are regarded as among the best in the world. I just wish that alot of them would just pi*ss off when it comes to supporting Ireland. Or else leave issues regarding Celtic out of Irish football, along with the Celtic jerseys, scarves and tracksuits. :mad:
If people are going to go to Ireland games dressed in GLASGOW Celtic, & various ENGLISH Premiership jerseys, hates etc... how the hell does anyone expept them not to act out their club rivalrys.
01/04/2004, 3:37 PM
You forget that many people from the north and the wider diaspora come to LR for Ireland matches. Celtic as a club are the product of the diaspora, which is one reason why I and many others follow them. You might not consider them to be Irish, but they help me define my identity in footballing terms. And for that reason, it makes them a product of the island, like it or no.
How do you feel seeing lads walk into LR with ManYoo, Liverpool or Arsenal gear on? Does it upset you in quite the same way?
Look, I do have some sympathy with your resentment as you state your case clearly, but all I ask as an Ireland and a Celtic fan is that you apply such views consistently. Like I asked before, how many of those people involved in the booing do you think are real Celtic fans? Not many, I'd vouch. I'd point you in the general direction of teenaged Dublin knackers first.
:) PP
01/04/2004, 3:39 PM
If people are going to go to Ireland games dressed in GLASGOW Celtic, & various ENGLISH Premiership jerseys, hates etc... how the hell does anyone expept them not to act out their club rivalrys.
At the risk of being pedantic, Pete, to the best of my knowledge, there's no club called Glasgow Celtic. "Celtic" yes, but no prefix.
I take your point though.
;) PP
Declan_Michael
01/04/2004, 3:52 PM
Thats why I think we, the real fans, should try and do something about this. Its becoming increasingly annoying. In England, if fans start giving racial abuse etc, stewards can eject them from the ground, and in some cases ban them for life. This needs to be looked at for Irish games. Would these idiots be any loss to the atmosphere at LR? No. Why continue to put up with them then?
Regarding my comments on Celtic Plastic Paddy, I'm sick to my teeth of Celtic fans. Even seeing people with Celtic tops at Irish games ****es me off - Celtic are not Irish, they are not an Irish club, why wear the bloody jersey at Irish games? You're there to support Ireland, wear an Irish football top. Its because of Celtic and their supporters that the whole booing problem has started in LR in the first place, and some of these idiots even extended their ignorance to one of their own last night - how pathetic is that? When it comes to supporting Celtic, these fans are regarded as among the best in the world. I just wish that alot of them would just pi*ss off when it comes to supporting Ireland. Or else leave issues regarding Celtic out of Irish football, along with the Celtic jerseys, scarves and tracksuits. :mad:
At the final whistle on saturday a jubilant fan ran onto the pitch to hug Brian O'Driscoll wearing, yes youve guessed it - a Celtic jersey :rolleyes:
4tothefloor
01/04/2004, 4:00 PM
How do you feel seeing lads walk into LR with ManYoo, Liverpool or Arsenal gear on? Does it upset you in quite the same way?
Yes it does, I don't understand it. I wouldn't wear a club jersey, not even an EL one, nor would I wear a GAA jersey, or an Irish Rugby top. In any case, very few fans, if hardly any at all, wear English club tops. Its mostly Celtic fans wearing Celtic tops. They're confusing supporting Celtic and supporting Ireland, which are two very different things. I support Ireland, yet I have no affinity for Celtic. This is where the problem begins - Do you not agree that Celtic fans should leave their Celtic issues and Celtic gear at home for Ireland games?
Like I asked before, how many of those people involved in the booing do you think are real Celtic fans? Not many, I'd vouch. I'd point you in the general direction of teenaged Dublin knackers first.
This is precisely why we should be looking to throw them out and get them banned for life (The same age group that are probably going through the customary 'Wolfe Tones\Tiocfaidh ar la\IRA' phase that most young Celtic fans go through). This also applies to the Man U "fans" who had a go at Baros. (I'm glad to say in 15 years of going to LR, I've never heard any Liverpool fans insult Irelands United or Everton players. The way it should be)
I appreciate what Celtic means to Irish people in Britain, I just don't understand it when it comes to supporting Ireland.
01/04/2004, 4:12 PM
in defence of at least some of the Celtic fans, i think if Celtic played in red for example you wouldn't see the shirts at Irish games, at least they're wearing green and adding a bit of colour.
i saw someone wearing a plymouth argyle shirt last night, no doubt because it was green. there are certain things on which you can cut people some slack.
4tothefloor
01/04/2004, 4:22 PM
If fans are willing to splash out on Plymouth Argyle/Celtic shirts, they should be willing to splash out on Irish shirts. There's no excuse for regulars at LR to continue to wear other teams shirts. I can guarantee if Ireland qualified for a WC or EC Finals that there'd be a stampede to buy jerseys though.
In any case, the issue here is Celtic fans booing Liam Miller. Whats next? I dread to think that this cancer will spread to other Irish fans - it's already rubbed off of the Man Ure supporters with their treatment of Baros.
At the risk of being pedantic, Pete, to the best of my knowledge, there's no club called Glasgow Celtic. "Celtic" yes, but no prefix.
I remember years ago a scottish fan wrote into an english football magazine complaining about the fact that they were calling "Celtic" , "Glasgow Celtic". The letter writer noted that they didnt call Arsenal, London Arsenal or none of the other teams were given names like London millwall, London Totenham etc.
The magazine replied that they checked with celtic and were duly informed that the team were officially called Glasgow Celtic.
As an Irishman when i hear the word Cetic and football, i immediately think of Cork Celtic, Belfast Celtic or Lurgan Celtic.
01/04/2004, 5:20 PM
I remember years ago a scottish fan wrote into an english football magazine complaining about the fact that they were calling "Celtic" , "Glasgow Celtic". The letter writer noted that they didnt call Arsenal, London Arsenal or none of the other teams were given names like London millwall, London Totenham etc.
The magazine replied that they checked with celtic and were duly informed that the team were officially called Glasgow Celtic.
As an Irishman when i hear the word Cetic and football, i immediately think of Cork Celtic, Belfast Celtic or Lurgan Celtic.
Looks like the magazine was wrong - no surprise when English football magazines report on Celtic. The name of the august organisation under discussion is "The Celtic Football and Athletic Club". There's never been any reference to Glasgow in the club's title. Not even in the days (up until the late 1940s) when the great Belfast Celtic could lay equal share to the suffix.
At the risk of being pilloried for this (especially in the PROC, etc.), I don't think Cork (or Lurgan or Donegal) Celtic should be mentioned in the same breath. ;) But I digress...
:D PP
01/04/2004, 8:56 PM
why wear the bloody jersey at Irish games?
I just want to get a little off my chest about the steriotype that a lot of Celtic fans are judged by. I am 100% behind whatever Miller does BTW. Sorry about the off topicness but it was brought in earlier.
A lot of people think that fans were Celtic jersey's to Ireland matches because they think their Irish, what a load of cr*p. I don't wear a Celtic jersey to Lansdowne because I have an Ireland jersey but what about the people who don't have Ireland jersey's? What should they wear? I'll tell you what they should wear, something green. Therefore they should wear a Celtic, Shamrock Rovers, Hibs, Panathanaikos, whatever jersey or form of clothing if it is green. As we all know there is a higher population of Celtic fans then other clubs therefore you will see more jersey's (although its not as many Celtic jersey's as people think).
Believe me if you like but I don't actually know one person who says Celtic is an irish club. Of course they have Irish roots which obviously got a lot of Irish supporting them a few DECADES ago. Most people don't just pick a team in a league and start supporting them, they usually start supporting them because their father or bigger brother supports them and that is at the age of about 6-10.
People don't just get to the age of 16 and think Oh, Celtic are Catholic, lets support them. If they do they are not the Celtic fans I and many others want to be associated with. Just because a few skangers are brought up supporting them doesn't mean the club deserves to be hated.
I am happy that club I support was founded by and Irishman and is also managed and owned by an Irishman but that is certainly not the reason I decided to support them and the same can be said for many others. Of course 90% of Irish-Celtic fans wouldn't support the club if it hadn't got Irish roots but that is not my fault or indeed my father's, it is our ancestors. My kids will probably support Celtic because I do but they don't deserve to be called bigots because they support them.
If people do think Celtic are an Irish club, so what? I don't know much about Celtic's history but if I, as an Irishman, set up a club it would be Irish, wouldn't it? I would certainly want it to be. And by saying they wear Celtic jersey's to Irish matches because they think they are Irish (they think they are Irish, what did they do wrong?), why isn't there Shelbourne jersey's at the matches? if there actually is, why aren't you giving out about them?
I brought the word skanger into it and from who I saw booing last night, they were the definition of a skanger. I would want these thrown out of LR and never to be seen again.
I know you are all going to ask me what the hell am I going on about this for, its just that there is a general hatred against Celtic fans on most Irish boards because of the scumbags that were their jersies. if there was no hatred, most people would see no problem with Celtic jersies because they are green.
Sadly this is not the first time were some of our player's were booed due to club reason's, the worst i felt were the a**hole's who booed Kevin Grogan, Graham Barrett and David McMahon when they were introduced to the crowd @ half time during during the freindly with Mexico in may 98 just because they played for Man u, Arsenal and Newcastle, and this was while they were showing off the first international trophy we've ever won. Some thank's those lad's got for winning us a trophy.
many clubs in continental europe were formed by englishmen but you wouldnt consider them english, you would consider them italian (as in the case of genoa) or austrian (austria vienna, i think).
panathanaikos are greek despite being formed by a man from asia minor.
All these "die-hard celtic supporters" have appeared in the last 5 or 6 years. go back before that and yould never meet a celtic "supporter" or see a celtic shirt.
Beavis
01/04/2004, 9:39 PM
I thought the booing of Milan Baros was a disgrace as well, along with people calling him "scouse scum". This mostly came from Dublin supporters might I add. Do the majority of Irish fans really give a sh*it about what some petty Man United fan thinks of a Liverpool player?
Fcuking idiots,I was fuming at the sight of Baros on his way off applauding the crowd,while the d*ckhead Man U fans......I'm mean what the fiddlers fcuk does some nothing rivalry between north english cities have to do with us?
I remember also at the Dutch game in 2001 when Jaap Stam was subjected to awful abuse for leaving United.How dare he! :rolleyes:
I totally agree that something has to be done to decrease moronic behaviour in LR.What can be done though,anyone any solutions?
Footie_Fan
01/04/2004, 9:51 PM
While there was some booing of Miller I think it was quickly dismissed by loud cheers and no one around me was booing because I was waiting for someone to boo. Though I was at the opposite end to the Schoolboy section which I'm sure were probably booing him and Baros and whoever else... too many little wannabe knackers get tickets for the friendlies. The whole booing Baros thing was ridiculous stupid Man Utd "fans" who probably have never even been to Old Trafford once.
petef
01/04/2004, 11:43 PM
I opened my window and booed randomly at passers by there the other day, there was bound to be at least one manu fan among the lot of em. :) ;)
liam88
02/04/2004, 5:17 AM
As an Irishman when i hear the word Cetic and football, i immediately think of......Belfast Celtic
who were made as a counterpart to.......
Belfast Celtic were formed as a (Glasgow) Celtic across the water and went on the be one of the greatest teams Ireland has ever seen.
Back to the point, regarding the booing that has been described as a "disgrace" and a "cancer"-I find this a little extreme. I'm not saying this as a Celtic fan but Ireland have one of the best reputations in international football regarding fans.
I think booin players for what team they play for is hardly on a par with monkey chants etc. At least it's about football!
Ok mabye you don't want it in the game and fair play, BUT there are far worse things being done by other countrys that a bit of booing. Sure some of our fans might boo our own players which is a wee bit stupid but when it comes to it we haven't followed our Northern neighbours past example by seeing "let him die" and rubbish like that!
As far as I'm aware Ireland fans have never been responsible for a football-related murder, correct me if I'm wrong, which brings us a lonmg way above other clubs.
I'm not saying we're perfect because we haven't murdered but you have to look at the bigger picture and see that there are a lot worse things going on weekin-week out at many matches across the globe.
02/04/2004, 7:39 AM
As far as I'm aware Ireland fans have never been responsible for a football-related murder, correct me if I'm wrong, which brings us a lonmg way above other clubs.
arent we the nice guys then.cop on liam,we are talking here about booing people for no reason other than you dont like the club they play for which is totally unacceptible to 99% of ordinary fair minded soccer supporters. :(
Sadly this is not the first time were some of our player's were booed due to club reason's, the worst i felt were the a**hole's who booed Kevin Grogan, Graham Barrett and David McMahon when they were introduced to the crowd @ half time during during the freindly with Mexico in may 98 just because they played for Man u, Arsenal and Newcastle, and this was while they were showing off the first international trophy we've ever won. Some thank's those lad's got for winning us a trophy.
I had not heard this before. ok2boo and other people claimed suring the whole lennon thing that ROI fans had never booed their own players due to club rivalry! I understand it is only a minority, but so were the *****s who booed lennon.
At the end of the day we all pay our Euros/punts/pounds & we're entitled to cheer/'boo' who we like.............................................. .for ANY team we support........
Boo the opposition if they cheat, not cos of what club they are associated with. I certainly wont be singling Thompson out for special treatment if he plays for england against us. I wont be cheering for Gerard or Owen either, but will be the following week for Liverpool.
Paddy Ramone
02/04/2004, 8:51 AM
All these "die-hard celtic supporters" have appeared in the last 5 or 6 years. go back before that and yould never meet a celtic "supporter" or see a celtic shirt.
I think some Irish fans starting wearing Celtic shirts when Ireland qualified for Euro 88. There were three Celtic players in the squad, Bonner, McCarthy and Morris and Celtic had won the double. I remember seeing Irish fans carrying a banner congratulating Celtic on their centenary year. Does anyone remember when Irish fans first started wearing Celtic shirts
I don't remember Irish fans wearing Celtic shirts before that. I think before that most fans of Celtic in the Republic of Ireland lived in County Donegal. Only two live Celtic matches had been shown on RTE television before 1989, they were the 1967 European Cup final and the 1980 Scottish FA Cup final. Scottish football was only shown when English football was unavailable so there wouldn't have been too many Celtic fans.
I wont be cheering for Gerard or Owen either, but will be the following week for Liverpool.
Isn't that why international football is essentially hypocrisy? Club football first and foremost, international football is just a pleasant distraction...
only1kilbane
02/04/2004, 9:49 AM
You come from the judas school of thinking obviously. It should be the greatest moments in your career wearing your countrys jersey whereas the weekend games keeps us occupied waiting for the qualifiers
No, I just feel differently to you... Take last year for example - Town winning the cup was far more important to me than Ireland qualifying (or not) for Euro 2004.
Also I find it very hard to support the likes of Morrison and Holland who clearly never considered themselves Irish and took the invitation to play as a career move. Them and their ilk ain't playing to represent their country, they're playing to play international football.
02/04/2004, 11:18 AM
Them and their ilk ain't playing to represent their country, they're playing to play international football.
I'd say they're in good company as there seems to so many players now who pick and choose to play for their countries when it suits them.
That said, Kenny Cunningham truely is "Captain Fantastic" and I hope to see him in management someday.
lopez
02/04/2004, 11:50 AM
many clubs in continental europe were formed by englishmen but you wouldnt consider them english, you would consider them italian (as in the case of genoa) or austrian (austria vienna, i think).
None of these clubs have a core support of English descent. There are other teams like the Sao Paulo rivals Palmeiras and Corinthians. Palmeiras were founded by Italians and Corinthians by Spanish respective immigrants but now their support is mostly from black/mixed race Brazilians. This is a big difference with Celtic.
As for wearing green shirts at Ireland games. Why not? Some people just want to be different? Stand out from the others. That's why I've see Betis, Rapid Vienna, Palmeiras and a host of dodgy south American shirts (Deportivo Cali I think play in green). I've got an old green Deportivo La Coruna shirt although haven't worn it an Ireland game. Celtic shirts isn't the problem here.
02/04/2004, 12:53 PM
(Believe a Mr.Connolly has his critics!)......Wouldn't necessarily boo them,but have/would tell they didn't always cut it on the International stage.......:D That would be me. I wouldn't boo him, just groan every time I hear his name in a squad/on the teamsheet, or when he gets the ball. Even sang "He's ****, but he scored a goal..." at him in the last friendly he bothered to turn up to.
Paddy Ramone
02/04/2004, 1:47 PM
Also I find it very hard to support the likes of Morrison and Holland who clearly never considered themselves Irish and took the invitation to play as a career move. Them and their ilk ain't playing to represent their country, they're playing to play international football.
The vast majority of internatioanls who play for Ireland have an affinity with the country. You're hardly telling that all Longford Town players have an affinity with your town, are you? Quite a high percentage of them would be mercenaries just like Morrison and Holland. Many of them from Dublin, a place you seem to despise.
Probably wasn't clear about that, I didn't mean all players that were born outside of Ireland, just the total tw@ts like Clinton "Come and get me Sven" Morrison and Matty "God save the queen" Holland (and I'd include Ray "I still consider myself scottish" Houghton on that list too).
btw A refreshing change to be accused of despising Dublin - I'm usually accused of being a closet Dub. :)
Its only natural to have more interest in a team you watch live almost every week as opposed to one you may not see for 6 months at certain times. At a club you get to see young players progress etc...
This isn't unique to football & know people you who watch Munster who say don't care too much what happens to National team as long as player X is fit foir next province game... I'm sure the same thing happens with inter-county v parish GAA teams.
02/04/2004, 2:53 PM
If so many people support their club more than their country (believe me there is a very high percentage of people who would prefer their club winning the Champions league rather than Ireland winning the European Champs) then why R K called a traitor for choosing club over country?
lopez
02/04/2004, 11:59 PM
If so many people support their club more than their country (believe me there is a very high percentage of people who would prefer their club winning the Champions league rather than Ireland winning the European Champs) then why R K called a traitor for choosing club over country?
If people think that their club (that is the foreign one that is all so fashionable to support) winning the Worthless Cup, the F*ck All Cup or any other cup is more important than anything Ireland does, then fine: F*ck them. Just next time Ireland are playing in a big game, f*ck off, and let me and others, like me, who put Ireland at the top of their football tree get the tickets instead. Sick to death of these 'footballing cono - seurs' (cono being Spanish for c*nt) turning up at Ireland game for any reason except supporting Ireland. :mad: :mad: :mad:
03/04/2004, 4:31 PM
Anyone who booed liam miller against the Czechs should never, under any circumstances, be let back into Lansedown Road again.
lopez
03/04/2004, 11:23 PM
Anyone who booed liam miller against the Czechs should never, under any circumstances, be let back into Lansedown Road again.
Slash. As with so many people on this forum, I've have had my differences with you, but I totally agree with you here.
To Davros and others: Supporting Ireland for Irish people should be above everything else. Support Ireland and Celtic yes, but they aren't on the same level. If they are on the same level, or Celtic is more important then please join the back of the queue when it comes to tickets for big games, like Switzerland last year. Same goes for Man Ure fans, with Holland the year before with the Stam sh*te, or Direpool fans and all the others.
Irish Celtic fans are hypocritical when it comes to Irish players. They claim they are an Irish club then slag off an Irish player for moving on to what is a far better league. Imagine an EL club slagging off one of their players for moving to England (eg: Judas moving from Cobh to Nottingham Forest). Exactly!
Then there's Alan Maybury. I believe he had his leg broken by Nedved when he was with Leeds. But then he's only a Prod. Or a bad prod 'cos, shock horror, he supports Rangers. Fair play to him! BTW, no one has mentioned the good reception that Nedved got the other night. No boos there (or cheers, but he does play in Italy, like). Even better had he played for Celtic/Man Ure/Direpool, but still. Let's wait a year or two for that then. Instead we are told that some Romanian should get the treatment in May for sidelining a Celtic player who plays for a foreign country. :rolleyes: You're having a laugh.
04/04/2004, 3:18 PM
Instead we are told that some Romanian should get the treatment in May for sidelining a Celtic player who plays for a foreign country. :rolleyes: You're having a laugh.
Oh dear. Looks like we're heading for our first "difference of opinion". :eek: From what I gather, you're not a fan of club football/any team in particular and here at least it shows. FWIW, I don't place Celtic above Ireland and never have; they at least to my mind operate in different paradigms. That said, when combined they represent the sum of my football allegiance, and I can't compartmentalise the emotions that result. Ergo the blurring of the lines.
As I won't be getting the chance to let Ganea know what I think of him and his hospitalisation of one of my club's centre-halves until we play Romania in May, I'll let him have it with both barrels then. (Quietly, like, in case the gentlemen supporters around me take offence... :p ) And it won't surprise you to know that I can't be arsed driving to Wolverhampton to stick a banana up his car exhaust or shove crap through his letterbox instead. So you'll have to put up with it...
I may, of course, calm down in the next couple of months. Perhaps if I'm extra nice to Mrs PP, that'll help... ;)
:D PP
Beavis
04/04/2004, 4:55 PM
Supporting Ireland for Irish people should be above everything else. Support Ireland and Celtic yes, but they aren't on the same level. If they are on the same level, or Celtic is more important then please join the back of the queue when it comes to tickets for big games, like Switzerland last year.
Could not agree more.But it comes back to the same issue of tickets constantly going to the wrong people and the chances are it will never change.
Then there's Alan Maybury. I believe he had his leg broken by Nedved when he was with Leeds.... No boos there
I was hoping he'd get some abuse.His tackle on Maybury in that Champions League game was a disgrace.Completely intended to injure and I would have been delighted to see him being jeered (tried myself for the first few minues till I got bored) but thankfully instead we got the benign Milan Baros as he left the pitch applauding the crowd,which was some solace...
Oh dear. Looks like we're heading for our first "difference of opinion". :eek: ...
PP. Despite having to throw off a load of students of your alter mater on Friday for once more jamming the doors open on the ten-to-four from Rickmansworth, I think highly - as you know - of a lot of what you say in this forum. So don't take this personally (cc. Davros).
No I'm not a great club football man - Deportivo La Coruna, Cork City (keep Conchita happy) and Kildare County is my limit; any Irish :D or Spanish team that gets through to the Champions League; any team with a large Irish (or Spanish) contingent; and there are is these Scottish League clubs I have an affection for, especially the one that has kept close to its Irish roots. However, as someone said here - remember a Longford Town logo - club matches fill the gaps between internationals. They, as yourself admitted, are the cherry on the pie. And the thought that Miller being booed for joining Man Ure (despite my dislike of them, it surely would improve the status of any player of what is one of the top twenty clubs in the world); Maybury joining Rangers; or any other club matters is simply anathema to me at Ireland games. If these club matters are that important for certain fans then don't jump the queue for tickets for Ireland games.
I was hoping (Nedved) get some abuse.His tackle on Maybury in that Champions League game was a disgrace.Completely intended to injure and I would have been delighted to see him being jeered (tried myself for the first few minues till I got bored) but thankfully instead we got the benign Milan Baros as he left the pitch applauding the crowd,which was some solace...
I read about this recently. It just shows where many fans allegiances lie. Had he been playing for Celtic , Man Ure or da pool, Nedved would have got a hot reception. I was hoping Alan would do a Rambo during the game and f*cking cripple the woman, even if it meant a red card. But then isn't that letting club matters take over the good of the game: i.e. the result. Big up to Alan for not doing that.
Duncan Gardner
04/04/2004, 5:14 PM
Fer Jaysus' sakes calm down lads.
I gave Andy Smith some gyp in Tallinn the other day. To be fair,
a) I was drunk
b) he was possibly also drunk
c) he was repeatedly kicking their skilful but girly winger, Mr Kink.
If I can go back to Tallinn next year, I'll happily endure being banned from football :)
PS ever seen Davros (off here) and the new NI assistant manager together?
Duncan Gardner
04/04/2004, 6:51 PM
So speaks the man who was sent off (as non-playing manager) in last week's championship success.
He called an oppo player a "fat, bald, cnut" apparently.
lopez
04/04/2004, 10:38 PM
Would disagree....I'm not beyond reproach...Boo the Orange Vermin(& other de facto fascists!),Tans,Munichs & C*rpet-sh*ggers are all fair game.....I've been booed by all of the above & would expect to give back no less....It is,er,democracy....No? All this pales into significance....the next time the Tans come to Baile Ath Cliath...... :p
You do half talk some sh*te at times.
lopez
04/04/2004, 10:42 PM
Fer Jaysus' sakes calm down lads.
I gave Andy Smith some gyp in Tallinn the other day. To be fair,
a) I was drunk
b) he was possibly also drunk
c) he was repeatedly kicking their skilful but girly winger, Mr Kink.
If I can go back to Tallinn next year, I'll happily endure being banned from football :)
PS ever seen Davros (off here) and the new NI assistant manager together?
Winning a game for you may well be equivalent to a good dose up the nose of some Bogotá marching powder, but what the f*ck has this go to do with booing Liam Miller? (Do like those foxy ladies on ourweeminds. Shame about the muppets they're with! :p )
4tothefloor
05/04/2004, 9:17 AM
I read about this recently. It just shows where many fans allegiances lie. Had he been playing for Celtic , Man Ure or da pool, Nedved would have got a hot reception.
You can knock da pool off of that. In my 15 years going to LR I've never seen or heard a Liverpool fan give opposition players stick - and there's been plenty of Man U & Everton players who have played at LR in that time. Liverpool fans tend to be more mature (older) than Man Ure and Celtic fans, thus they don't take part in the childish drivle that is the subject matter of this thread.
Celtic fans will probably be out in force to boo Ganea at the Romania game now. For that reason, I'm going ahead with writing a letter to the FAI. Anyone who boos for reasons outside of the national side and what happens on the pitch should be shown the door for life. Fcuk 'em, nobody wants 'em, and we certainly don't need them. In future, lets hope they continue their love affair with Man Ure\Celtic\armchair republicanism from the comfort of their bar stool, while watching their favourite channel, Sky Sports.
eoinh
05/04/2004, 10:50 AM
Maybe I should arrange a trip for the uneducated on these MB's who've never been to Parkheed....?!
Could you arrange a trip to RKC Waalwijk for me? An irish charter palne flew over the town three years ago. Ive been a mad RKC fan since. And sure, doesnt their name mean everything there is to be irish?
4tothefloor
05/04/2004, 11:26 AM
PS.If it was ever proved to be malicious by our Romanian friend,hope Keane/Muscat whoever crocks him....though I suspect he didn't mean to crock Kennedy..just'take him out'?
In,case yer wondering about Celtic,the club has been around longer than the FAI & assoc.bodies'....& as I keep saying,the Vast majority of Tims would & do welcome Irish fans with open arms........Maybe I should arrange a trip for the uneducated on these MB's who've never been to Parkheed....?!
Who cares if Ganea meant it or not? I couldn't give a toss about Kennedy, he's a Scottish international who plays for Celtic - means nothing to me whatsoever. You might as well be talking about an Icelandic player being chopped by a Dutchman. As for going to parkhead to be educated - ha ha ha ha, FFS! :rolleyes: I'd rather watch my own club Limerick FC any day. You'd swear to god parkhead was the holy grail or something - why would I want to go to Scotland to watch Celtic thump some mickey mouse team, or alternatively watch them in the mediocre UEFA cup? Whats the point in that? Or is it so I can flag wave and sing the fields of athenry? I'm Irish, I don't need to prove it to myself - and in any case, why would I want to by supporting a Scottish club?!
You'd do well to remember the next time you're in LR, you're there to support Ireland, not Celtic.
05/04/2004, 2:00 PM
I dont support Man Utd but how do you know it was them booing Baros. I think booing is wrong, booing of rangers players booing of miller booing for Baros. Going by the logic that it was Man Utd fans booing Baros, was it liverpool fans booing Roy Keane against Iceland. That was a disgrace too. There should be know booing of individual players like that. But Liverpool fans should not get sanctimonious about it. DID i spell that correctly