View Full Version : Irish Under 23 Choices

Pages : 1 [2] 3

CSFShels
19/04/2010, 10:04 PM
Adalberto Pinto.

total hoofball
19/04/2010, 11:13 PM
You obviously didn't see him in Terryland a week ago, because he was absolute muck. He flapped at all the crosses, and had his kicks charged down on 1 or 2 occasions

I've seen him in action when he's been like above and I've seen him when he's been outstanding, I only pick him by default as there is a lack of quality and established under 23 eligable keepers.

total hoofball
19/04/2010, 11:15 PM
He's 24.

You're right, he's 24 and born in 1986! :)

Adalberto Pinto.

Irish??

harry crumb
19/04/2010, 11:29 PM
Shane Duggan is the main man down in Cork.

Top class player.

Ezeikial
20/04/2010, 9:12 AM
Aaron Greene? He's only 19 isin't he?

Yesterdays story - unless he gets games for Bohs. Has he made any league starts this season? A Bohs team without a league victory in four games (2 points out of 12?) and he still can't get game time.

cestlavie
20/04/2010, 2:07 PM
James Doc and Liam Mailey are over-age.

Johnny Lafferty is Norn Iron.

Thought it was under 23. Are you sure these lads are over 23? Dont think they are!

On Harps website Ive just checked Liam Mailey was born 20th July 1987 and James Doherty was born 22nd July 1988, still under 23

26/04/2010, 9:37 AM
Yesterdays story - unless he gets games for Bohs. Has he made any league starts this season? A Bohs team without a league victory in four games (2 points out of 12?) and he still can't get game time.

Isn't he injured?

Iorfa2MaccaJim
26/04/2010, 2:51 PM
LamperSFFC Wrote :

Great. Wins everthing in the air and very little gets past him. Our best defender so far this season.

I'm delighted to hear that. Fletch is a fantastic player, and an absolute gentleman. I'd love to see him go on and have a super career.

Thanks for the info Lamper.

DeNiro
04/05/2010, 9:24 PM
Does anyone know if Paul Doolin has a management team for this gig? I presume he does, but they weren't announced at the time of his appointment if I recall correctly. Still no sign of squad being named. Would expect it by end of week considering game is on 3 weeks tomorrow.

blue til i die
04/05/2010, 11:50 PM
Being announced on Thursday.

05/05/2010, 12:28 AM
John McDonnell was part of the management team but since he took the Faroes role, he stepped down from this

05/05/2010, 12:30 AM
Dooler was at Derry v Harps tonight

DeNiro
05/05/2010, 9:24 AM
Being announced on Thursday.

Where did you see or hear that?

05/05/2010, 12:47 PM
Where did you see or hear that?

http://www.airtricityleague.com/index.php/about/press-office/2031-doolin-to-announce-u23-squad

06/05/2010, 2:07 PM
No word yet?

DeNiro
06/05/2010, 2:10 PM
Probably forgot about it. Game is less than 3 weeks away sure! :rolleyes:

TheBoss
06/05/2010, 2:15 PM
http://www.airtricityleague.com/index.php/about/press-office/2036-doolin-announces-u23-squad-for-england-game

Bray-Z
06/05/2010, 2:17 PM
Darren Quigley, Robert Duggan, Seamus Conneely, Garry Breen, Stephen Mulcahy, Kenny Browne, Conor Powell, Ian Bermingham, Ronan Finn, Greg Bolger, James Chambers, Stephen O’Donnell, Billy Dennehy, Ross Gaynor, Gary McCabe, Shaun Williams, Paul Byrne, Karl Sheppard, Padraig Amond, Paddy Madden.

WoodquayBoy
06/05/2010, 2:17 PM
Hard to believe Stephen O'Donnell is only 24 . . . and the fact that, seen as he is, he is in the U23 squad!!

06/05/2010, 2:19 PM
Fair play to McCabe, deserves to be there.

06/05/2010, 2:23 PM
Decent squad in fairness. Apparently David McAllister (Pats midfielder) has been told he's on stand by

Bray-Z
06/05/2010, 2:24 PM
No Bray players. I'm in shock.....;)

06/05/2010, 2:26 PM
Bit surprised we've no defenders in there. Still, Greg's inclusion is well deserved.

DeNiro
06/05/2010, 2:30 PM
Kenny Browne is the token 'local' player. How can players born in 1986 be eligible? Particularly those before May 1986, like O'Donnell!

Lamper.sffc
06/05/2010, 2:34 PM
Darren Quigley, Robert Duggan, Seamus Conneely, Garry Breen, Stephen Mulcahy, Kenny Browne, Conor Powell, Ian Bermingham, Ronan Finn, Greg Bolger, James Chambers, Stephen O’Donnell, Billy Dennehy, Ross Gaynor, Gary McCabe, Shaun Williams, Paul Byrne, Karl Sheppard, Padraig Amond, Paddy Madden.

Nice to see a few of our lads in there. Good recognition for them and the work they have put in so far this season.

blue til i die
06/05/2010, 3:14 PM
Kenny Browne is the token 'local' player. How can players born in 1986 be eligible? Particularly those before May 1986, like O'Donnell!

Thats complete bull. Anyone who has seen Kenny play knows he is a top quality defender. And players born in 86 are eligible, anything earlier are not!

Lamper.sffc
06/05/2010, 3:18 PM
Thats complete bull. Anyone who has seen Kenny play knows he is a top quality defender. And players born in 86 are eligible, anything earlier are not!

Totally agree. Has been our best defender all season. Barely put a foot wrong.

poster
06/05/2010, 3:20 PM
Totally agree. Has been our best defender all season. Barely put a foot wrong.

Except on Saturday.

blue til i die
06/05/2010, 3:23 PM
The mistake was the ref's for the first yellow :p

Pretty strong squad altogether, no assistant manager decided yet and also has a few players on standby in case players get injured.

DeNiro
06/05/2010, 3:25 PM
The mistake was the ref's for the first yellow :p

Pretty strong squad altogether, no assistant manager decided yet and also has a few players on standby in case players get injured.

Was there a standby list named as well? With the number of games being played at the moment, I'm sure there'll be a few injuries amongst the 20. Good squad though. Surprised McAllister didn't make it.

blue til i die
06/05/2010, 3:55 PM
Was there a standby list named as well? With the number of games being played at the moment, I'm sure there'll be a few injuries amongst the 20. Good squad though. Surprised McAllister didn't make it.

No, he didnt name them, just said that he had 4 or 5 players on standby.

06/05/2010, 5:37 PM
Stand by players have been told.

06/05/2010, 6:04 PM
Delighted to see Stephen Mul in there. Has been excellent for us and the only 1st division inclusion. Signed a new 2.5 year deal with us too this week.

Might head down to it now :)

DeNiro
06/05/2010, 7:19 PM
Stand by players have been told.

If there are 5, would expect:

McFaul (Fingal)
Bayly (Rovers)
Boyle (UCD)
Kilduff (UCD)
McAllister (Pats)

Doolin said there were certain close calls. Why not then make it a 23 man squad? Some players might never get the chance again. He should include those maybe in the National League XI against Man U in August.

06/05/2010, 7:21 PM
I doubt he'd have that many midfielders on standby tbh

Ezeikial
06/05/2010, 7:24 PM
Amazed that Stephen Maher has not been included.

06/05/2010, 7:34 PM
Amazed that Stephen Maher has not been included.

Midfield is very stong in fairness, amd loads of top players like McAllister, Bayly etc missed out. I wouldn't have Maher ahead of any of those included (of the lads I've mentioned)

Good to see him do well though. Nice lad

DeNiro
06/05/2010, 7:46 PM
I think up front is a little bit light, Sheppard and Amond look the obvious pair. Really expected to see Kilduff there or even someone like Eoin Doyle. Maybe Dennehy might cover there?

Ezeikial
06/05/2010, 7:51 PM
Midfield is very stong in fairness, amd loads of top players like McAllister, Bayly etc missed out. I wouldn't have Maher ahead of any of those included (of the lads I've mentioned)

Good to see him do well though. Nice lad

I imagine that your opinion is based on what you saw from Maher at Pats last season and whatever few times you may have seen him this season.

Anyone who saw his performance against Shamrock Rovers last Monday could only be in awe of a powerhouse display. I have seen him in 18 of his 19 appearences (including pre-season and LSC) and his energy and skill is a big part of the Dundalk success so far. Greg Bolger, James Chambers, Stephen O’Donnell, and Shaun Williams are all good players, but I have not seen a performance from any of them that comes near what Maher is producing consistently this season.

You mentioned Bayly - I have seen him 3 times this season including a pre-season trial match with Dundalk. Maher made him look like a junior league player in the two Dundalk Rovers games - subbed off last Monday in the first half, and should have been sent off in Tallaght

White Horse
06/05/2010, 8:01 PM
I imagine that your opinion is based on what you saw from Maher at Pats last season and whatever few times you may have seen him this season.

Anyone who saw his performance against Shamrock Rovers last Monday could only be in awe of a powerhouse display. I have seen him in 18 of his 19 appearences (including pre-season and LSC) and his energy and skill is a big part of the Dundalk success so far. Greg Bolger, James Chambers, Stephen O’Donnell, and Shaun Williams are all good players, but I have not seen a performance from any of them that comes near what Maher is producing consistently this season.

You mentioned Bayly - I have seen him 3 times this season including a pre-season trial match with Dundalk. Maher made him look like a junior league player in the two Dundalk Rovers games - subbed off last Monday in the first half, and should have been sent off in Tallaght

You aren't exaggerating. Maher destroyed the Rovers midfield on Monday. No-one could live with him.

He has easily out-performed all the players you mention above. A strange decision by Doolin.

06/05/2010, 11:09 PM
Same thing applies. You've seen most of these lads once or twice. Perhaps they had an off day? Maher was poor against Pats earlier in the season and everyone (myself included) overestimates how good their players are

really not trying to knock Maher here, but Doolin has it largely right IMO

06/05/2010, 11:27 PM
or even someone like Eoin Doyle.He hasn't even been standing out for us this season in fairness.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/05/2010, 8:13 AM
I think up front is a little bit light, Sheppard and Amond look the obvious pair. Really expected to see Kilduff there or even someone like Eoin Doyle. Maybe Dennehy might cover there?

Paul Byrne is a very good player as well and I wouldn't be surprised if he got a start.

Doyle - not a chance.

Paddy Madden isn't having a good time of it either mind

CSFShels
07/05/2010, 4:39 PM
Paul Byrne and Greg Bolger should not be there, there are some much better players overlooked on their behalf.

PartySaint
08/05/2010, 2:30 PM
Paul Byrne and Greg Bolger should not be there, there are some much better players overlooked on their behalf.

Who would you have in ahead of Byrne?

He is having a great season

Ezeikial
08/05/2010, 5:13 PM
Paul Byrne had a fine game last night. Took his goal very well, won alot of ball in the air (no mean feat against Liam Burns) and gave glimses of the form he apparently has been showing recently. Considering that he played up front on his own for more the half the game - consequently little support with Pats a man down - he looked very decent.

total hoofball
08/05/2010, 5:36 PM
I really can't believe this is the same lazy, unfit and overweight Paul Byrne I saw at Sporting Fingal, Bray and towards the end of his UCD spell receiving such rave reviews, he looked a mess destined for junior football over the past 3 years

Mahon must have given him some kick up the hole at Pats

CSFShels
08/05/2010, 8:14 PM
Who would you have in ahead of Byrne?

He is having a great season
Gaynor, Kilduff or Cummins would all be much better choices. Its hard to look past Byrne's terrible goalscoring record excluding the last few weeks which has been good but not spectacular. Still has alot to prove for me.

Dillonman
08/05/2010, 8:23 PM

I think Bolger has been good this season, Seen hima few times on highlights clips and liked the way he puts himself about. Didnt do too much at Oriel a few weeks back as he wasn't allowed by our lads.

CSFShels
08/05/2010, 9:58 PM
Its not so much an insult on Bolger, just McAllister, McFaul and Maher are class. Much better than him. Paul Byrne on the other hand I do not rate.