View Full Version : Most annoying accents...and sexiest ones...

Pages : 1 2 [3]

23/07/2007, 11:49 PM
Worst: The D4 cracks me up, hate it with a passion, i guess people who speak like that must be very insecure

The Cockney mockney accent that they all have now in london is ok, but you try living in east london for a good while and you will soon get sick of it

American accent makes me want to punch something

Best: Love Scottish, find it very sexy

also i think the japanese accent kind of quirky

24/07/2007, 12:00 AM
Haven't a clue whether I've posted in this yet

Favourite: Scouse/Sath Effrikan
Worst: D4, Kee-ah-van, London, American accent

24/07/2007, 7:16 AM
I quite like the Waterford accent can be funny enough when saying certain things.

Correct,
Eg.
He was a skayher boi.
she seg seyi layher boi.

24/07/2007, 7:59 AM
I knew Sinead Kissane at College. She once asked where my bedroom was. Bet your jealous.she was looking for the toilet i bet :p

waaaaahhhhthuuuuuuurrrfjjjjorrd

24/07/2007, 9:27 AM
I knew Sinead Kissane at College. She once asked where my bedroom was. Bet your jealous.

Wasn't jealous the first 10 times that you posted this information on foot.ie
Not jealous now!
We all do stupid things in college.

24/07/2007, 11:20 PM
I can't stand the Cork accent.

cheifo
26/07/2007, 2:10 PM
Who is Sinead Kissane?

26/07/2007, 2:15 PM
TV3 presenter and ex-BohsPartisan stalker.

26/07/2007, 2:19 PM
TV3 presenter and ex-BohsPartisan stalker.

Her, Gemma Hayes and Laura Woods. :D

26/07/2007, 2:34 PM
Laura Woods.Now she looks like fun.

smellyfeet
26/07/2007, 3:28 PM
Annoying has to be London Cockney "Init".
Thay say somfin instead of something.

Sexiest is Donegal.

26/07/2007, 3:37 PM
they say F instead of TH, yet take the **** out of how we say T or TH. ironic doesnt really descibe it, init bruv.

inexile
26/07/2007, 10:29 PM
love the welsh and scottish accent, find any skanger accent very funny

hate the d4, and new yoik

Jamjar
26/07/2007, 10:43 PM
hard man from dublin"bleedin deadly buzz mon"."story"
this accent did not exist 5 years ago

I think what you heard was a Jamaican putting on a Dublin accent.

SolitudeRed
28/07/2007, 3:22 PM
Most annoying accent has to be the scottish, especially Glasgow!

funny that a few people seem to be saying that they like the Northern accent! I don't have a strong accent but some people seem to have real difficulty understanding me down in Galway! Its really annoying!

28/07/2007, 5:29 PM
Best-Belfast/Derry/Scotland
Worst-Limerick and Louth

Funniest-The Sligo accent....not having a pop....i said it to a few of them up in Sligo...it just makes me laugh!:D

:eek: A nasal Belfast accent is so annoying

Torn-Ado
29/07/2007, 10:04 AM
Dublin, Midlands, American, Australian, Posh Scotland (pronouncing their R's and T's), Newcastle are all annoying. No offence to anyone in that bracket.

29/07/2007, 12:35 PM
Most annoying accent has to be the scottish, especially Glasgow!

funny that a few people seem to be saying that they like the Northern accent! I don't have a strong accent but some people seem to have real difficulty understanding me down in Galway! Its really annoying!

Its funny that around Monaghan no1 will believe I am from here or at all northern but when I go a little south they think am so Nordy sounding.

Olander
02/08/2007, 12:33 PM
Dundalk accent is woeful

citizenerased
02/08/2007, 2:59 PM
agree dundalk accent is disgusting, a cross between a monaghan and drogheda accent...yuk

02/08/2007, 4:38 PM
Its funny coz I love the Drogheda accent and am partial to my native accent too but Dundalk wrecks my head.

Carrickmacross should just go ahead and join Louth coz they have such a dundalk accent too.

citizenerased
03/08/2007, 12:46 PM
thats true..

NJTom
05/08/2007, 2:42 AM
I could listen to a Cajun accent all day.

biscuit
05/08/2007, 4:38 PM
obviously biased... but have always found when we go away on holliers the birds always prefer a sligo accent...our friends in westlife are probably to blame for that,\ but hey if u get a chance to get ur jump out of it,what harm!:D:D

09/08/2007, 1:03 PM
The artificial D4 accent so common now to TV3 and RTE Presenters.

House = hise, thousand = Thigh-sand, roundabout = roundabite etc etc

Marty Whelan and Tony Fenton, Colm Murray are many of the male proponents but it's soooooo common among new female news readers, weather forecaster etc etc. That one who presents the Breakfast show with Cagney on TV3. Artificial and learned at speech classes.

Grrrrrrr.

Also don't like the Eastenders accents.

Favourite: just about any others other than snooty English.

10/08/2007, 2:08 PM
The Spanish accent i hear a lot and its quite nice! :) Quite partial to the Italian accent too.

WORST:
Not too keen on Polish.

10/08/2007, 2:15 PM
nothing worse than a pure cork city teenager massive earings and unbelievabley fake accsent going 'heeeeeawwwre she likes you they la' or some childish comment like that
WHAT THE **** LIKE!!!

michaelguineys
10/08/2007, 2:58 PM
Like:
London
Welsh
Northern Irish
Dublin (to a certain extent)

Hate:
Drogheda
Sligo
Kerry
Basically most culchie accents
D4
American
South African
Scouse
Geordie

TheOneWhoKnocks
28/09/2014, 8:09 PM
I hate the Welsh and Manc accents.

28/09/2014, 10:54 PM
That is one hell of a bump, TOWK.

29/09/2014, 1:57 AM
Well... now that it's bumped.

Cork city accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Rebels" in Croker.

Kerry accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Kingdom" in Croker.

All Louth accents.

The Carrickmacross accent.

Belfast accent.

Wexford accents especially around New Ross.

That SE Dublin Accent encompassing Shankill, Ballybrack, Loughlinstown, Old Conna and Bray.

Most Midland accents with a big shout out to Offaly and Longford here.

That stupid high-pitched accent from around Shannon and Cratloe.

That weird Clonmel to Carrick-on Suir accent.

Special mention to Waterford City, Derry and Armagh.

29/09/2014, 6:58 AM
ahem..Donegal.

..nod to Bonnieshels.

DannyInvincible
29/09/2014, 9:03 PM
It's quite a list, but are they accents you love or hate, Bonnie?

Even within Donegal, there are so many local variations:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99wSTVMRkIk

DannyInvincible
29/09/2014, 9:10 PM
I've always perceived the Cork accent to share bizarre and striking similarities with some Caribbean accents. Imagining a Jamaican as if he were a full-blooded langer always makes me laugh, but it is the completely southern Irish accent of the "Black Irish" of Montserrat that really is quite special:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0QHYFXDGf4Y

06/10/2014, 10:03 AM
Well... now that it's bumped.

Cork city accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Rebels" in Croker.

Kerry accents, especially when accompanied with the phrase "C'mon the Kingdom" in Croker.

All Louth accents.

The Carrickmacross accent.

Belfast accent.

Wexford accents especially around New Ross.

That SE Dublin Accent encompassing Shankill, Ballybrack, Loughlinstown, Old Conna and Bray.

Most Midland accents with a big shout out to Offaly and Longford here.

That stupid high-pitched accent from around Shannon and Cratloe.

That weird Clonmel to Carrick-on Suir accent.

Special mention to Waterford City, Derry and Armagh.

Bonnie, you could have just said you're fond of Connaught accents.

06/10/2014, 10:03 PM
Bonnie, you could have just said you're fond of Connaught accents.

I'm not particulary.

I tend to like Donegal (Missus is from there), Derry, Tyrone, Fermanagh as a rule and that lovely Glen accent that some wimmin have from North Antrim or Down. I definitely have a predilection to Uladh

Galway and Mayo as a rule are decent though.

06/10/2014, 10:04 PM
ahem..Donegal.

..nod to Bonnieshels.

The above ones are "DISLIKES".

I think I have to like the Donegal accent. Thank fook she doesn't have an LK accent.

DannyInvincible
28/02/2015, 10:33 PM
I spoke to an elderly Guyanese couple today over the phone in work and initially thought they were Irish. In fact, I would still be thinking they were Irish except for the fact that their address was in Guyana and a few "off" pronunciations here and there, but the man sounded like the resurrected De Valera.

Spudulika
01/03/2015, 12:21 PM
I don't know where she's from, probably the pits of hell, but your woman, the queen of whinge and plastic surgery Terry Prone, christ. I made the grivous error of beginning to listen to Shane Coleman's round up of the Sunday papers, and on she came. How? I object to her on many levels, but apart from accent - how can she come on and begin slamming some parties without being asked "Who are you working for?" She said she is arranging the different ard fheis's for 40 years, including this year, but which one? I think it's a disgrace to have someone on who is an advance spokesperson. Anyway, her accent - like nails on a blackboard.

Sexy, I used to think women from Antrim sounded nice, but it is always a let down when some cute girl opens her mouth and something from Meath tumbles forth. Not nice.

02/03/2015, 5:25 PM
What about the Newfoundland Irish accent?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Xmqb4W2T0M

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/03/2015, 3:51 PM
Dislike:
Derry (and the verbal diarrea and drivel that often emanates from it).
Cavan (bogger country).
Monaghan (sound like they talk with marbles in their mouth).

Kildare (sultry).