View Full Version : Most annoying accents...and sexiest ones...

Pages : 1 [2] 3

31/12/2004, 1:00 PM
Worst has to be the Dundalk accent - no question about it

or the Dwwwaaaaaahhhaaaadddaaa accent ;)

TheJamaicanP.M.
02/01/2005, 10:06 PM
or the Dwwwaaaaaahhhaaaadddaaa accent ;)

Yeah I wouldnt be a fan of the Dwogs either. Some moany accent. Anywhere in Louth is difficulat to listen to.

sylvo
03/01/2005, 10:42 AM
Funniest accent: Bristol..........uuuuuuu arrrrrrr

Sexiest: Scottish

Most Annoying: Any sort of English accent

If yer love the Scottish accent you should go to a home game when that team from Parkhead Cross are playing. ;)
As for the most annoying, I can see were yer coming from, when I do get back to my retirement home in Kildare as well as getting a new telly i'm getting elocution lesson's. ;)

Babysis
03/01/2005, 12:20 PM
Best: Soft Fife accent, was really nice, as was the Derry accent

Worst: Chav/Towny Norf Landan and I just dont like south African.

Don Vito
03/01/2005, 1:54 PM
Best:
Fermanagh

Worst:
Wexford Town accent-Des Bishop does a great impression of it.

anto eile
03/01/2005, 2:18 PM
worst: d4- their mouths should all be collectively taped shut
south african-weirdest cross between dutch english
and australian,completely bizarre accent
cork is an awful whiny accent-sounds like theyr always complaining
australian.harvey norman ads are very irritating
scanger accents from anywhere

best: donegal (for womens accents)
mexican, very nice
kerry is ok

i dont know what to make of scouse accents,its like an indecipherable dialect of some long-lost form of arabic.talked to a scouse bird once , i just had to nod my head in agreement and say yeah to everything she said.ditto for brighton :also a very odd accent
north england accents often (i wont say all) sound stupid. middlesbrough,leeds yorkshire oo arr etc. though geordie birds can sound well sometimes.
not all yank accents are annoying. theres some sexy accents over there

sylvo
03/01/2005, 2:52 PM
Worst/ All those Greek's and other honky's round da yard where I is living like who tink dat day is from Jamaica right blood. A right old bunch of gobshi*e's when you listen to them talk.

Also add Laaannnndaannn and Brummie one's also.

Best accent's/ Italian, Spanish, French and Cavan.

03/01/2005, 5:40 PM
Cavan? No thanks hi..Derry or up that direction absolutely, Cavan no or Monaghan for that matter

sylvo
03/01/2005, 6:58 PM
[QUOTE=Longfordian]Cavan? No thanks

It's pronounced KAAAVAN. Well that's how my Dad and half my relation's pronounce it. ;)

03/01/2005, 7:17 PM
More like Qaaavan :) ..not top of my list either way

03/01/2005, 11:28 PM
It's one of the best accents in the World-The Jamaican accent man :cool:

sylvo
04/01/2005, 7:35 AM
It's one of the best accents in the World-The Jamaican accent man :cool:

When it's being spoken by a Jamaican yea it fine's, but when it's being spoken by Greek and English kid's here in London that it sound's stupid, hence the inspiration for Sacha Baron Cohen's Ali G.

lopez
04/01/2005, 8:56 AM
When it's being spoken by a Jamaican yea it fine's, but when it's being spoken by Greek and English kid's here in London that it sound's stupid, hence the inspiration for Sacha Baron Cohen's Ali G.Cha man ya bumbaclot. Tchh!! Is you dissing us Hinglish, Hirish bway? :cool:

Actually he's right. I've heard the sound of a gang of Yardies get on behind me on a train and I turn round and it's these pasty Irish looking kids talking all Bob Marley to each other (or as Chris Eubank would say: 'When not thpeaking the Queen'th English with members of the caucathian populath I converth in a patois with my kith and kin.') It's one thing that f*cks me off. :mad: The standard practice is simply to insert the third person verb with a first and second person pronoun. Something that most Jamaicans would eschew when talking to either white people or even fellow carribeans. On the other hand I saw a clip of Dubya's pre 2000 election interview the other night, the one where he couldn't name a single foreign head of state and he was doing the same thing. Big up!! :rolleyes:

04/01/2005, 9:00 AM
I dunno about best or worst but I find the post colonial "dort" accent very annoying. Particularly as it's now favoured by all sorts of broadcasters and advertisers as being the "accent of success". How many times have we heard a traffic reporter on the radio talk about the Mad Cow "rhine-da-bite"?
what the fcuks that about like?

As for Aussies -aside from their accents - the only thing i find annoying is their predeliction for making up new, shorter names for things that have perfectly good names already. Hence -"this avo" (afternoon) and in particular "rents" (parents).

04/01/2005, 10:41 AM
Watched a programme on BBC about 5 years ago examining the different accents around Britain and Ireland. They interviewed two guys outside Anfield, one a Dub, the other a scouser and compared how remarkably alike both these accents were. On the same programme they visited a pub in Cork and had to use sub-titles with the replies of the locals.

Personally I hate a Belfast accent
not mad about the kerry/cork accent, sounds like high pitched whining
and Brummie is awful

The Edinburgh accent is cool
“Ros Gommon” accent is funny but likeable
Geordie accent is ok

sylvo
04/01/2005, 10:47 AM
[QUOTE=lopez]Cha man ya bumbaclot. Tchh!! Is you dissing us Hinglish, Hirish bway? :cool:

Rass clart blood. hu you dissing, tchhh, you come to ma yard hif you wint ta diss hus like dat blood. tchhh.

Yea have to admit have been on the bus when some of the pupil's from my old school have been on it coming home and i've noticed a few young 2g's amongst them talking like they are making a ragga record with Beenie man or Shabby Rank's, bunch of bumberclart's.
Used to be this kid in our class who's perents were from Kilkenny, but this eejit thought they must have come from Kingston Jamaica, alway's talking away in patwaaa, he was was some clown and sounded daft with it.

Hibs4Ever
04/01/2005, 10:49 AM
Most annoying: Cork and Scouse
Favourite: Welsh and Newcastle

lopez
04/01/2005, 10:58 AM
Rass clart blood. hu you dissing, tchhh, you come to ma yard hif you wint ta diss hus like dat blood. tchhh.

Yea have to admit have been on the bus when some of the pupil's from my old school have been on it coming home and i've noticed a few young 2g's amongst them talking like they are making a ragga record with Beenie man or Shabby Rank's, bunch of bumberclart's.
Used to be this kid in our class who's perents were from Kilkenny, but this eejit thought they must have come from Kingston Jamaica, alway's talking away in patwaaa, he was was some clown and sounded daft with it.
Can't forget the H'Irish bwaay that I met in Charlton before the game who was complaining about 'Mister Charlton Poleeeeesman, just blinged me spliff' one minute then going into one in a Dub accent to his Da' the next. :rolleyes:

BTW, met a Will 'Summer, summer, summer, time/Summer time' Smith lookalike from Clondalkin on NYE round my amigos house. Mister Hertfordshire Poleeeeesman almost had to be called when he asked the host if she was Nigerian. :eek:

inexile
06/01/2005, 3:32 PM
have to say i love the welsh accent and scottish accents and also the geordie accent a la cheryl tweedy or michelle from liberty x mmmmmmmm

06/01/2005, 3:41 PM
Most annoying: Cork and Scouse
Favourite: Welsh and Newcastle

Agreed.
Add Kerry into the list of Annoying and we have a deal

anto eile
06/01/2005, 6:56 PM
Isn't 'oo arr' famously used when decribing the West Country accent in England, as opposed to the NE?
whichever is not important.its the accent im on about i mght have been abit off regarding where its from.but im sure everyone knows the acccent if not the exact geography behind it.
this dort accent really ****es me off.dort-speakers should have their voices boxes removed with a pliers without anaethesia then dumped in ballymun and told how to speak properly. poxy dort ponces,its typical of post celtic tiger "rich" ireland. all these knob ends speeaking as if theyr from d4. why isnt micka from coolock poresenting the news?its a for of discrimination.anyone who sounds like theyr from an are awiht a proper dublin (or irish) irish accent will find it doubly hard to get on tv.
at elast martin king from edenmore is allowed on tv3 and has a radio show with a proper accent.but he doesnt count casue hes a gypo

anto eile
06/01/2005, 6:58 PM
Watched a programme on BBC about 5 years ago examining the different accents around Britain and Ireland. They interviewed two guys outside Anfield, one a Dub, the other a scouser and compared how remarkably alike both these accents were. On the same programme they visited a pub in Cork and had to use sub-titles with the replies of the locals.

Personally I hate a Belfast accent
not mad about the kerry/cork accent, sounds like high pitched whining
and Brummie is awful

The Edinburgh accent is cool
“Ros Gommon” accent is funny but likeable
Geordie accent is ok

i remember "urban cowboys" on channel 4 and national geographic about 6 years ago.the knacker kids in ballymun with horses. when they spoke there were subtitles for viewers.w@nkers.

as for edinburgh, dont you mena "eimbra"? :)

06/01/2005, 7:47 PM
Isn't 'oo arr' famously used when decribing the West Country accent in England, as opposed to the NE?

Yeah - "oo-arrr" is Wez Cun'ry (Bristol, Glaas'der, 'Zomerzet', Plymuff etc).

Yorkshire is more '"Ayy-op lad".

lopez
06/01/2005, 11:50 PM
Yeah - "oo-arrr" is Wez Cun'ry (Bristol, Glaas'der, 'Zomerzet', Plymuff etc).And rural anywhere south of Birmingham. At my school in Artfordshoore there were the 'ooooh aaaaarhh' 'slokel yokels' from the country and the 'orrrright mate' Mockneys (like moi) from town. However try putting on this accent to someone from Bristol and he'll say 'Aaaaargh. Dat do be a sumarset accent you do be speaking.'

M@ttitude
07/01/2005, 2:09 AM
Best:Dublin (Samantha Mumba or any girl on Dublin Radio, any girl who ever came out of ireland, eg Mtv's Emma Ledden or Amanda Byram who's big in America now) All from Dublin!! Every post is saying Worst = Dublin, and to think its nearly all Cork people saying this! What is it Jealousy or just pure rage? Other sexy accents have to Liverpool (on a real tarty bird), Scottish (soft), South America...
Worst :Every where in Ireland except Dublin, Donegal or Northern Ireland, Dont get me wrong there all cool tough guy accents but normally not too sexy on a girl! Yorkshire accents like Mick McCarthey, Fertilizzerrrr, Dutch or that clueless american one, what everrr!!

Hibs4Ever
07/01/2005, 7:23 AM
Agreed.
Add Kerry into the list of Annoying and we have a deal

DEAL :D

1 9 2 8
07/01/2005, 3:54 PM
Worst
Donegal
Cavan
Leitrim
Waterford
Dublin 4
Dundalk
All the midlands ones Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Longford etc
The Roshcommon/Mayo
Limerick city

07/01/2005, 3:55 PM
dont really like the sligo town nacker waaaah accent much

Sinéad
07/01/2005, 4:19 PM
Worst
Donegal
Cavan
Leitrim
Waterford
Dublin 4
Dundalk
All the midlands ones Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Longford etc
The Roshcommon/Mayo
Limerick city

Is there any you do like??? :confused:

BTW Nothing wrong with the midlands accent....

07/01/2005, 6:16 PM
ah well now all them midlands ones sound the same really :D

22/07/2007, 12:56 AM
Birmingham accent is dreadful.

22/07/2007, 8:27 AM
(Samantha Mumba or any girl on Dublin Radio, any girl who ever came out of ireland, eg Mtv's Emma Ledden or Amanda Byram who's big in America now) All from Dublin!! Christ! I hadn't seen this ..erm ...two and a half year old post before from someone called Mattitude -sticking up for that contemptable TV3/AA roadwatch accent.

Phil Lynott, Luke Kelly, Ronnie Drew and Paul McGrath all "came out of Ireland" and more pertinently Dublin yet none of them sound like they need corrective surgery on an enlarged under-bite.

22/07/2007, 8:28 AM
Where'd he go?

22/07/2007, 8:32 AM
Where'd he go?

He's away home to listen to some FM104:D

Thunderblaster
22/07/2007, 1:16 PM
What about the Kazakhstan accent, a la Borat?? T'is just funny!!:D:D:D

22/07/2007, 1:19 PM
Ill throw on a few new ones...

BEST:
Still for me soft Scottish. Nothing like it. Dont fancy her at all but Edith Bowman has a lovely voice. Geordie accent a la Jayne Middlemiss is nice too.

WORST:
Some Aussie girls. very strange whiny noise. even when they're happy.
South Africa I suppose too. And Cork.

22/07/2007, 1:44 PM
Have to say I detest the south Wicklow accent, especially on girls. All those overstretched a's.........

22/07/2007, 5:40 PM
I love the scouse accent on chicks but I'm durrrrrty like that. Also partial to a strong skanger Dublin accent on 'em.
However the very very best has to be:
RmnCR8pcb-4

TbPfr9BNvmg

IG6m12wUiMk

22/07/2007, 6:07 PM
Surely it can't get any worse than Ardee, with Dundalk and Drogheda occupying second and third spot respectively. Cork and Kerry are bad too.

ollie
22/07/2007, 6:21 PM
Scottish accent is top. Derry accent not far behind

KevB76
22/07/2007, 10:42 PM
Worst accent for me has to be Manchester.

Sexiest is the norn iron accent, but female version only.

23/07/2007, 10:05 AM
Worst accent for me has to be Manchester.

Sexiest is the norn iron accent, but female version only.

Maybe it's because I'd merrily give her one -but that Manc (lancashire anyway) lass in the Finish dishwasher tablets ad can gab away all she likes.

Agree though that there's a particularly naesley Manc accent ala Mani from the Stone Roses that is just insufferable.

Also agree about the Norn Iron accents and the good news is Kev, the Ulster lassies, in my experience, are well into southern accents too!:cool:

Wolfie
23/07/2007, 12:28 PM
The Louth accent - for its cosmopolitan sophistication.

23/07/2007, 12:33 PM
I was watching this one on telly earlier. Rachael Ray's her name, she's got to have the sexist accent going. And she's a looker too.

23/07/2007, 12:35 PM
most annoying, that foreign one in fair city, sexiest: French chick

23/07/2007, 12:46 PM
I'm amazed the Wexford accent hasn't got a mention in the worst section (at least not that I noticed). So many variants throughout the county and all of them awful. Thankfully I never picked it up and now have a neutral/light Dublin accent that makes it impossible for anyone to guess my true roots.
Quite partial to a Kerry accent, also Edinburgh and a bit of Aussie.

23/07/2007, 1:26 PM
The Jackie Healy-Rae would make you want to box the head off someone. There are a few Kerry accents which give the impression of a certain intellectual deficiency, but recently I've begun to find it cute, the way Sinead Kissane struggles to get some words out.

23/07/2007, 6:17 PM
The Jackie Healy-Rae would make you want to box the head off someone. There are a few Kerry accents which give the impression of a certain intellectual deficiency, but recently I've begun to find it cute, the way Sinead Kissane struggles to get some words out.

I knew Sinead Kissane at College. She once asked where my bedroom was. Bet your jealous.

23/07/2007, 10:59 PM
Best-Belfast/Derry/Scotland
Worst-Limerick and Louth

Funniest-The Sligo accent....not having a pop....i said it to a few of them up in Sligo...it just makes me laugh!:D

Ceirtlis
23/07/2007, 11:37 PM
I'm amazed the Wexford accent hasn't got a mention in the worst section (at least not that I noticed). So many variants throughout the county and all of them awful. Thankfully I never picked it up and now have a neutral/light Dublin accent that makes it impossible for anyone to guess my true roots.
Quite partial to a Kerry accent, also Edinburgh and a bit of Aussie.

Im with ya there son, the Wexford accent is ****ing horrrendous male or female, i had to put up with it for 4 years in college in Waterford. Dublin accents are alright if they are genuine what ****s me off is when either of them is hammed up especially this "deadly buzz, me and anto" ****e ya get sometimes from people who live in places that are not even in the city.
I quite like the Waterford accent can be funny enough when saying certain things. Female Northern accents win hands though, top class.