View Full Version : v Cobh Ramblers EA Sports Cup 13/4/10

bluepowers
04/04/2010, 7:10 PM
looking forward to this cup clash the winner plays Cork or Wexford in round 2

bluewhitearmy
04/04/2010, 7:14 PM
Could we not get Waterford out of the way first no.

Monkfish
05/04/2010, 3:37 PM
Could we not get Waterford out of the way first no.

We're only away to the league leaders sher.

05/04/2010, 10:31 PM
if limerick play the way they did against pike and cork i would worry about cobh match even duo cobh have lost alot of players and in trouble money wise they still can catch limerick cos they have nothing else to lose i would be weiry of cobh scully should play clarke,robbie up front with jt just behind them for this match just to see what they can do together

after reading through your friday night postings about a "local manager like noel o'connor and Connie" i take most of your posts with a pinch of salt and less credability

abbeyvale
07/04/2010, 1:13 PM
looking forward to this cup clash the winner plays Cork or Wexford in round 2

Lads, 2 questions for ye.....................

1) What type of attendance is expected for this game????

2) Are the winners at Home or Away in round 2?

Monkfish
07/04/2010, 9:39 PM
and by the way o connor was the last manager to win a cup for limerick and was on less money than scully

Was was he on in 2006?

and whats Scully on now?

08/04/2010, 9:19 AM
Bring back Allardyce.....last manager to get Limerick promoted :D

harpin
08/04/2010, 10:02 AM
Bring back Allardyce.....last manager to get Limerick promoted :D

Derek McCarthy as his No.2........the Dream Team

abbeyvale
08/04/2010, 10:35 AM
POOL 1
First Round
Kerry League v Waterford United
Limerick v Cobh Ramblers
Wexford Youths v Cork City Foras Co-op

Second Round
Wexford Youths / Cork City Foras Co-op v Limerick / Cobh Ramblers
Kerry League / Waterford United v Tralee Dynamos

POOL 2
First Round
Derry City v Galway United
Castlebar Celtic v Finn Harps
Mervue United v Letterkenny Rovers

Second Round
Sligo Rovers v Mervue United / Letterkenny Rovers
Derry City / Galway United v Castlebar Celtic / Finn Harps

POOL 3
First Round
UCD v Athlone Town
Drogheda United v Bray Wanderers

Second Round
St. Patrick's Athletic v Drogheda United / Bray Wanderers
UCD / Athlone Town v Shamrock Rovers

POOL 4
First Round
Monaghan United v Tullamore Town [Match A]

Second Round
Winner Match A v Bohemians
Dundalk v Sporting Fingal

Fixture schedule:
First Round: Monday 12 / Tuesday 13 April
Second Round: Monday 10 / Tuesday 11 May

ped_ped
08/04/2010, 5:23 PM
Kind of hoping for us to beat Cobh and Cork to beat Wexford . . . could live to regret saying this but wouldn't mind another Cork vs Limerick sooner rather than later.

bluepowers
11/04/2010, 1:16 AM
after friday hopefully a convening win here : prediction limerick 4-0 ..... hopefully paddy purcell back

Monkfish
11/04/2010, 9:19 PM
1-1.

Replay will be fun.

Xile
11/04/2010, 10:54 PM
First 10 mins, 8-0 limerick. Then we start scoring own goals to get the replay, 89th min - Cobh Score their only goal scored by them, and they win. ^_^ See I can make predictions too.

bluepowers
11/04/2010, 11:23 PM
there is no replay it ends on the night

sean r
12/04/2010, 2:23 AM
ok my prediction limerick 22-cobh 16 purcell with a pushover try and cobh wins 2 lineouts over limerick

Comic Book Guy
12/04/2010, 7:52 AM
ok my prediction limerick 22-cobh 16 purcell with a pushover try and cobh wins 2 lineouts over limerick

Hate to say it but you should win this at a canter unfortunately, we have nothing but kids playing atm, while they're game lads and all that you should defintiely win. It has been some fall from grace for us and it was down to our own version of tnb, a guy who acted as a dictator has set us back big time.

KevB76
12/04/2010, 12:45 PM
..... hopefully paddy purcell back

He played 1st half with the A's at Tralee on Sunday.

Monkfish
13/04/2010, 12:14 AM
a guy who acted as a dictator has set us back big time.

Oh we're still recovering from our own from a few years back, stick with it, ye should have returned to thr 1st Div this year by right.

Castletroy_Blue
13/04/2010, 4:26 PM
5-0. Robbie better start.

13/04/2010, 8:32 PM
1-0 UP. Clarke 52 mins

13/04/2010, 9:05 PM
2-1 win. Clarke 90th min. Doesn't sound great.

13/04/2010, 9:48 PM
Poor game. Poor first half from Limerick. Bit better in the second, started playing a bit of football at least. Clarke took his two goals well, one being an over head kick to win it. Everybody there on the night where very grateful Clarke did finish it off and it didn't go to extra time. Attendance was about 150.

abbeyvale
13/04/2010, 9:52 PM
Poor game. Poor first half from Limerick. Bit better in the second, started playing a bit of football at least. Clarke took his two goals well, one being an over head kick to win it. Everybody there on the night where very grateful Clarke did finish it off and it didn't go to extra time. Attendance was about 150.

It was less than that...more around the 120 mark I think

connie
13/04/2010, 9:59 PM
A win is a win im delighted for Clark hes a good lad im sure it will do hes confidence all the good.

Castletroy_Blue
14/04/2010, 2:11 AM
As I said to Zulu off here, never heard a player shout so happily after scoring a goal before. Fair play Clarkey, you were well worth your two goals tonight. What a bicycle kick for the second.

Borderline embarrassing first half display, second half more improved until Cobh equalised. Not a convincing victory, but we'll save one of those for Salthill at the weekend. :)

Xile
14/04/2010, 8:13 AM
I was on turnstiles, and I counted about 140.

LK37oldskool
14/04/2010, 12:18 PM
Best things about last night was Paddy's return and Clarkey's goals.The rest was embarrasing.

KevB76
14/04/2010, 12:23 PM
It was less than that...more around the 120 mark I think

The official attendance was 124

I was on turnstiles, and I counted about 140.

You probably counted a few volunteers as well (?)

14/04/2010, 3:48 PM
Happy we got the win - didn't need 30 more minutes of it.

Not much to report apart from a confidence-boosting double for Clarke, the return of Purcell, a decent performance by Clinton at right full, and one of the most mystifying offside decisions I've ever seen against Kavanagh about 15 minutes in.

Monkfish
14/04/2010, 3:57 PM
Poor game, typical mid-week league cup nonsence. In fairness to Cobh they played a bit and were unlucky in the end. Clarkes second goal was fannytastic!!!!!! should have had the game killed off long before that though.

Dave Ryans fault for Cobhs goal it has to be said. tut tut Rodney.

Xile
14/04/2010, 4:34 PM
The official attendance was 124

You probably counted a few volunteers as well (?)

Sometimes they would Jam, so someone would get counted 2/3 times, so that would account for some of it, not to mention it was just a rough estimate by what I had last night (Had counted about 124 on my Turnstile alone, with another 9 on Paddys).

see's it
14/04/2010, 6:28 PM
Poor game, typical mid-week league cup nonsence. In fairness to Cobh they played a bit and were unlucky in the end. Clarkes second goal was fannytastic!!!!!! should have had the game killed off long before that though.

Dave Ryans fault for Cobhs goal it has to be said. tut tut Rodney.

whats new? i was really hoping to see a change in the no.1 position for this game.
ive no faith in ryan

da bishop
14/04/2010, 10:00 PM
its a win.thought the cobh keeper made a few decent stops and we should have won handy.good to see purcell back but way off big match fitness.

abbeyvale
14/04/2010, 10:10 PM
Updated draw

POOL 1
Second Round
Cork City Foras Co-op v Limerick
Waterford United v Tralee Dynamos

POOL 2
Second Round
Sligo Rovers v Letterkenny Rovers
Derry City v Finn Harps

POOL 3
Second Round
St. Patrick's Athletic v Bray Wanderers
UCD v Shamrock Rovers

POOL 4
Second Round
Monaghan v Bohemians

Fixture schedule:

abbeyvale
14/04/2010, 10:13 PM
Updated draw

POOL 1
Second Round
Cork City Foras Co-op v Limerick
Waterford United v Tralee Dynamos

POOL 2
Second Round
Sligo Rovers v Letterkenny Rovers
Derry City v Finn Harps

POOL 3
Second Round
St. Patrick's Athletic v Bray Wanderers
UCD v Shamrock Rovers

POOL 4
Second Round
Monaghan v Bohemians

Fixture schedule:

Is it the 4 Pool winners go in to a semi final or the 8 pool finalists that go into a 1/4 final, anybody know? and is it an open draw thereafter?

L37Ultra
15/04/2010, 1:15 PM
ive no faith in ryan

One of the best goalkeepers in the Division of you ask me.

15/04/2010, 1:52 PM
One of the best goalkeepers in the Division of you ask me.

Konopka (Waterford) McNulty or Devine (Cork) Delaney (Shels) Bennion (Athlone), Kelly or Austin O'Neill (Monaghan) are all easily better keepers than him imo, and theres probably a few more.

BigfeetBigsocks
15/04/2010, 3:00 PM
Well if Egan does sign, when the his season ends , then Limerick keeper problems will have eased IMO..

15/04/2010, 3:38 PM
As much Kavanaghs fault as Ryan's. Kavanagh had a chance to play the ball out wide for Tierney but instead held onto it too long (which he always seems to do), this allowed Cobh to have a run through the midfield and have a clear shot. The ball bounced just before Ryan but it was a poor atempt at a save. Never had too much confidence in him myself. He can pull off some nice saves at times but can look very dodgy at other times too. Purcell took a while to get into it but did ok. Main thing that worried me was the fact Cobh troubled Limerick at the back with a few simple pass and moves. Any team Limerick come up against with a decent finisher is going to trouble Limerick this season. Kelly is not a midfielder from what ive seen and is only an alright centre back. I thought he played right full for Galway?? If so he should play there for Limerick. It is a position we are stuck for at the moment. If we had a decent left full i'd fancy trying Deady on the wing. He does a decent enough job at left full but with his pace he could be tricky for defenses if he was on the wing.

bluewhitearmy
15/04/2010, 4:25 PM
Konopka (Waterford) McNulty or Devine (Cork) Delaney (Shels) Bennion (Athlone), Kelly or Austin O'Neill (Monaghan) are all easily better keepers than him imo, and theres probably a few more.

Whens the last time you have seen any of them?

fire away
15/04/2010, 8:03 PM
never rated ryan myself. always prone to a big mistake and lacks concentration during the game.imo

LK37oldskool
16/04/2010, 12:24 PM
Davey spends too much time waving at the lads in the stand! And for the record dont think much of him either,everytime the ball heads towards our box i get a sinkin feeling.

Battery Rover
16/04/2010, 1:50 PM
I have always considered Davy as one of the best keepers in the country

bluepowers
16/04/2010, 2:44 PM
he is a good keeper the goal was over that ****ty jackman pitch ....... still we have to be better against salthill

bluewhitearmy
16/04/2010, 3:35 PM
he is a good keeper the goal was over that ****ty jackman pitch ....... still we have to be better against salthill

Not at all should hav been saved.
Still think Dave is a good keeper.

see's it
16/04/2010, 7:28 PM
I have always considered Davy as one of the best keepers in the country

what country is that?

LK37oldskool
16/04/2010, 8:56 PM
what country is that?

Monrovia? :p

Castletroy_Blue
17/04/2010, 1:58 AM
He's better than Almunia, let us be thankful for that.

Monkfish
17/04/2010, 2:14 AM
Daves a fine keeper who is just prone to ramdom acts of nonsence at times.

LK37oldskool
17/04/2010, 10:24 AM
Daves a fine keeper who is just prone to ramdom acts of nonsence at times.

Almunia!!!!