Athlone down to 10
Man you must type very fast ;)
Boo_Boy
02/04/2010, 8:30 PM
RTÉ really suck at choosing games.
EastTerracer
02/04/2010, 8:49 PM
Rovers v UCD finished 0-0 in Tallaght.
Good game here in Drogheda .Draw was a fair result tbh . Some great chances and goal mouth scrambles ! Bring on Bray ....
hoops1
02/04/2010, 10:33 PM
Mannus our best player tonight. UCD very tidy team can consider themselves very unlucky not to win.
WoodquayBoy
02/04/2010, 10:41 PM
Yeah!
Nevermind their debt!
You're dead right, spot on there LTFC, United DO control the weather and decided, seen as there was trouble with Dundalk fans last season, we'd make sure there was a heavy downpour 20 mins before kick-off and coerce the ref to call off the game 5 mins after the scheduled kick-off time while all the time laughing at the poor saps who had made the trip from Dundalk. You are a true genius
WoodquayBoy
02/04/2010, 10:42 PM
RTÉ really suck at choosing games.
Nah, they are guaranteed goals when they televise us and Bohs from Dayler in a couple of weeks. Unfortunately.
CSFShels
02/04/2010, 10:44 PM
Harps forgot their jerseys tonight, had to play in our 3rd kit, coupled with the debacle when we were meant to play there last season, looks like that revive and thrive campaign or whatever its called, still hasn't sorted out the problems in the running of the club. How can a kitman forget jerseys? Seriously, its the primary focus of his job, like a taxi man forgetting his car. Absolutely stupid stuff.
02/04/2010, 10:47 PM
Really enjoyed our trip today. Hadn't expected to win at all.
Expected Limerick to be a lot stronger but delighted with the result. Big crowd and way more City fans than I expected. At least 600 or so. Only downside was 2 bad looking injuries to defenders, an area we wouldnt have much cover in.
Should hopefully improve our crowd for next week. Enjoying the dizzying heights of 3rd place for now :D
Dalymountrower
02/04/2010, 10:51 PM
Rovers v UCD finished 0-0 in Tallaght.
Plucky point there for the relegation threatened side....two points dropped by UCD though.
02/04/2010, 10:59 PM
Really enjoyed our trip today. Hadn't expected to win at all.
Expected Limerick to be a lot stronger but delighted with the result. Big crowd and way more City fans than I expected. At least 600 or so. Only downside was 2 bad looking injuries to defenders, an area we wouldnt have much cover in.
Should hopefully improve our crowd for next week. Enjoying the dizzying heights of 3rd place for now :D
Cork won easily enough. First half, there wasn't much between the teams, except Cork's well taken goal. In the second half, Limerick were an embarrassment. Conceded two goals from freekicks - the first one was particularly bad. Got a goal back from a good Robbie Kelleher header, but Cork held on easily.
Great crowd up from Cork, 600+. If you keep winning, you'll keep that momentum going.
HarpoJoyce
02/04/2010, 11:15 PM
Another great performance from UCD. Another clean sheet from Billy Brennan.
We controlled most of the game and could have won, Mannus pulled off at least good save in each half. UCD's last chance came at the death when two forwards stood over the ball with their backs to goal and couldn't get the boot around until it was cleared.
Some of the UCD passing was exceptional, there was a long sequence in the second half. Just lovely.
SRFC will have better days.
Ezeikial
02/04/2010, 11:24 PM
Ian Foster understandably peeved at referee's hasty decision to postpone game tonight:
An annoyed Ian Foster feels Dundalk’s game against Galway United “should have been given a chance” at Terryland Park on Friday night and has put a figure of approximately €2,000 on the cost to the club as a result of the postponement. The fixture fell victim to the weather when the pitch was deemed unplayable by referee Padraig Sutton following a heavy downpour shortly before kick-off. And the decision left former Galway boss Foster in a disgruntled mood when dundalkfc.com caught up with him before the team set out on their three-hour return trip to Dundalk.
Foster ‘disappointed’
“I’m disappointed, because I thought the referee should have given it a bit of time,” he said. “You can see now that at 8.05 it’s not raining. It’s just a waste. We’ve travelled an awful long way and we’ve spent a lot of money to come here tonight, and he’s not prepared to start the game. I think our fans and our players deserve a little bit more than that. At 7.30, it was playable. At 7.45, it’s not. Who is to say that at 8 o’clock you won’t be able to play on it? I kicked a ball on the pitch at 7.45 and the ball rolled right across the pitch. Just start the game and see. It’s not a danger to the players; players fall over. Just start the game – we deserve that. If it’s not playable then, then call it off, but at least give it a chance.
More>>> http://dundalkfc.com/news/100402_Foster.asp
GalwayRed
02/04/2010, 11:29 PM
Glad to get the win tonight. We weren't very convincing but we just about did enough. Foleys goal was a beauty just as 2 of his other 3 were.
Pretty shocking stuff from Harps to forget to bring their kit too I have to say.:eek:
Patrick Dunne
03/04/2010, 6:30 AM
Ian Foster understandably peeved at referee's hasty decision to postpone game tonight:
The pitch was still covered in water at 8.30pm when I was leaving the ground.
L.T.F.C.
03/04/2010, 9:28 AM
You're dead right, spot on there LTFC, United DO control the weather and decided, seen as there was trouble with Dundalk fans last season, we'd make sure there was a heavy downpour 20 mins before kick-off and coerce the ref to call off the game 5 mins after the scheduled kick-off time while all the time laughing at the poor saps who had made the trip from Dundalk. You are a true genius
Ahh whisst will ya? Do you honestly think putting in all-weather pitches is the top of the priorities list for LOI clubs?
Like get real will you please! Alot of clubs haven't a post to p1ss in and you're worried about all weather pitches? I don't know where we would be if we all thought like you.
Ezeikial
03/04/2010, 10:20 AM
The pitch was still covered in water at 8.30pm when I was leaving the ground.
I think that you might have missed the point.
Whether the pitch was actually playable or not by 8.30pm is not the issue. Foster's complaint is that the ref should have waited to make a final decision. The teams and supporters - myself included - made a round trip of 7 hours. It seems bizarre that the ref could deem the pitch playable at 7.30pm, not playable at 7.45pm and not wait any longer.
Unfortunatley Galway United did not cover themselves in glory with their "no cash refund" stance. Quite rightly the FAI delegate set them straight on that, but only after lots of complaints and aggro
RoversHead
03/04/2010, 10:21 AM
Toothless Rovers performance but to be fair the night was all about UCD,was almost like watching PATS under Kerr at times with Bolger the star of the show ,he picked up everything off the UCD back four and controlled the show all night,Best football played by any side in the league that Ive seen so far,they were a joy to watch at times even for me and play without any fear,capeable of taking points at any ground on that form.
**FrOsTy**
03/04/2010, 10:21 AM
Terryland has passed a pitch inspection this morning and the game between ourselves and mervue goes ahead tonight. For the time been anyway. What's it like in Galway?
03/04/2010, 10:33 AM
Toothless Rovers performance but to be fair the night was all about UCD,was almost like watching PATS under Kerr at times with Bolger the star of the show ,he picked up everything off the UCD back four and controlled the show all night,Best football played by any side in the league that Ive seen so far,they were a joy to watch at times even for me and play without any fear,capeable of taking points at any ground on that form.
Have to say, I didn't think we were that great, though maybe I'm just spoilt. I thought Rovers created more decent chances (certainly, I found more when doing the highlights below) and the general consensus in the stands, I think, was that Bolger gave the ball away too often. Corry and Shorty stood out for me; Killer did well, Pete's really improving and Billy made one world class save. But if we keep on improving the way we have been since Rusty took over - and it looks like we're keeping that up into this season - we'll have a good year. Certainly augurs well to hear us spoken about that way! Just need to start creating more and be a bit more clinical about it.
lbPunF3e-_k
(This is what happens when I can't go for pints after a match...)
Guitd
03/04/2010, 10:35 AM
Terryland has passed a pitch inspection this morning and the game between ourselves and mervue goes ahead tonight. For the time been anyway. What's it like in Galway?
Weather not too bad at the moment with the afternoon promised dry should be ok for this eve,last nights hail and monsoon rain was afreek weather which no pitch could have taken ,its in good condition this morn been told with all surface water gone
Lamper.sffc
03/04/2010, 11:03 AM
Its why they won the 1st div last year and well deserved also. I didnt think they would struggle this year and no reason to change my mind yet.
Ezeikial
03/04/2010, 11:34 AM
last nights hail and monsoon rain was afreek weather which no pitch could have taken
Simply not true. It was a (heavy) 10-15 minute shower. The groundstaff were saying earlier that a rainfall would cause severe difficulties.
The problem clearly is the over-use that the pitch is getting - not "freak" weather
Ciaran W
03/04/2010, 11:38 AM
Lads is it just me or are Yous lookin forward to the bohs-linfield game more then the united-chelsea ? Everyone will be in my sittin room watching united and be out by meself watching bohs :D
D.24saint
03/04/2010, 11:45 AM
Foster ‘disappointed’
“I’m disappointed, because I thought the referee should have given it a bit of time,” he said. “You can see now that at 8.05 it’s not raining. It’s just a waste. We’ve travelled an awful long way and we’ve spent a lot of money to come here tonight, and he’s not prepared to start the game. I think our fans and our players deserve a little bit more than that. At 7.30, it was playable. At 7.45, it’s not. Who is to say that at 8 o’clock you won’t be able to play on it? I kicked a ball on the pitch at 7.45 and the ball rolled right across the pitch. Just start the game and see. It’s not a danger to the players; players fall over. Just start the game – we deserve that. If it’s not playable then, then call it off, but at least give it a chance.
I suggest Ian Foster go on to Live Line and get Joe Duffy to sort out his problems with Referees as his incessant whinging and moaning about refs has become boring even at this early stage of the season
celticV3
03/04/2010, 12:00 PM
http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll76/Mr_Maroon/pitch_flooded.jpg
http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll76/Mr_Maroon/DSC00096-2.jpg
pixiehead
03/04/2010, 12:35 PM
http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll76/Mr_Maroon/pitch_flooded.jpg
http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll76/Mr_Maroon/DSC00096-2.jpg
Now you cant argue with that!!!!! :cool2:
Thanks for the pics Celticv3
03/04/2010, 12:51 PM
Doesnt seem the wisest move to have the Bohs Linfield game clashing with the Man United Chelsea game
celticV3
03/04/2010, 1:01 PM
Thanks for the pics Celticv3
Got them from boards, another poster put them up but the pitch was a state. just unfortunate for Dundalk fans
03/04/2010, 1:15 PM
At least if the match on Monday is called off we can go to the pub in Sligo for a bit of craic. It was a long trip home from Galway last night but the results in the other games made the trip home slightly better. Three points on Monday and it'll all be forgotten.
blue til i die
03/04/2010, 1:43 PM
Doesnt seem the wisest move to have the Bohs Linfield game clashing with the Man United Chelsea game
Security reasons take precedent over man u and chelsea i think :p
Just looking at Soccer Saturday, according to their infobar, Longford, Derry, Mervue and Waterford are all playing in the Premier division today, has the league re=structured without telling anyone?? ;);)
RoversHead
03/04/2010, 2:15 PM
Have to say, I didn't think we were that great, though maybe I'm just spoilt. I thought Rovers created more decent chances (certainly, I found more when doing the highlights below) and the general consensus in the stands, I think, was that Bolger gave the ball away too often. Corry and Shorty stood out for me; Killer did well, Pete's really improving and Billy made one world class save. But if we keep on improving the way we have been since Rusty took over - and it looks like we're keeping that up into this season - we'll have a good year. Certainly augurs well to hear us spoken about that way! Just need to start creating more and be a bit more clinical about it.
lbPunF3e-_k
(This is what happens when I can't go for pints after a match...)There were periods of play when Rovers couldnt get the ball ,Bolger was instrumental in this always available for the short pass ,he makes you tick you wont be half as good when hes not there,he reminds me of how your manager used to make PATS tick.I see yous having a good season and a good shout for a cup .Unfair of me to go on about Bolger to much tho the unit as a whole look well drilled and yes you are spoiled.
PartySaint
03/04/2010, 4:30 PM
I went out to the Bohs game today, Arrived at Dalymount 8 minutes after kick off, the Gaurds told me that the turnstyles were clossed and they were letting no one else in, I decided to walk around to the Connaght Street stand to see if i could get into with the Linfield fans, Some guy in a FAI tracksuit told me to go back around to the Jodi and he will sort me out, When i got around there there was a bit of a crowd and the gaurds were still not letting anyone in, We were left standing for 15 minutes until a steward came out( the steward standing with the guards didnt even no who was playing, ridiculous), we all eventually got in but missed over half of the first half and the linfield goal, The Gaurds were blaming the club and the club were blaming the Gaurds, any Bohs fan no what the story with it all was??
sounds to me like more Garda incompetence than the clubs fault. The Gardai were too busy with important things like checking flags and such...
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF580/415631.jpg
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF580/415634.jpg
Even for a Rovers fan some of UCD's football last night was very enjoyable to watch. We don't get much of that in Tallaght these days and won't next friday either.
rebelarmyexile
03/04/2010, 5:12 PM
sounds to me like more Garda incompetence than the clubs fault. The Gardai were too busy with important things like checking flags and such...
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF580/415631.jpg
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF580/415634.jpg
This is absolutely disgusting behaviour by the police. Several Irish Tri-colours (defaced with Bohs slogans etc.) was on display, why the selective confiscating of the Union Flag? Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
Shows an abhorrent amount of disrespect by police putting a visiting fans national flag in a BIN before their eyes. Shameful stuff. How are we supposed to think Unionists would be safe in an United Ireland if this sort of stuff goes on. These sort of methods would induce trouble at matches.
exactly - its antagonistic beyond belief. Not to mention the double standards you refer to. Bunch of incompetent buffoons.
hoops1
03/04/2010, 5:22 PM
Thats an absolute disgrace placing the union flag in the bin like that. Out of all the grounds we visit the Gardai at Dalymount are the most provocative and aggressive.
Quadruple1928
03/04/2010, 5:24 PM
The flag was not put in a bin according to a Linfield fan on another forum. Linfield FC said no flags with out clubs name or badge were allowed, they had a club official there checking to make sure it was enforced.
hoops1
03/04/2010, 5:28 PM
Well whats happening in the picture then. Some sort of magic trick or did the the Gardai just find a big bin of Union Jacks and hand them out to Linfield fans on the way in?
Hibs4Ever
03/04/2010, 5:30 PM
Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
Why would you expect the Union flag to be flying as the flag of Linfield?
Quadruple1928
03/04/2010, 5:32 PM
...if it stops you talking through your hoop, a Linfield fan off another forum...
Don't know what he was doing with the flag when pictured but it evidently did not end up in the bin because it was draped over the back window of a supporters bus that I was behind on the way out of Dublin....phew, eh? The flag lives on.....
hoops1
03/04/2010, 5:35 PM
Because Sherlock somebody obviously went and took it out.
Quadruple1928
03/04/2010, 6:10 PM
Why ask questions if you "obviously" know what happened:confused: Sherlock sounds about right.
Stewards should know what teams are playing FFS.
03/04/2010, 6:42 PM
City match on Drive105:
www.drivefm.com
03/04/2010, 6:56 PM
Longford 0-1 Derry
Mr_Parker
03/04/2010, 7:04 PM
This is absolutely disgusting behaviour by the police. Several Irish Tri-colours (defaced with Bohs slogans etc.) was on display, why the selective confiscating of the Union Flag? Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
Shows an abhorrent amount of disrespect by police putting a visiting fans national flag in a BIN before their eyes. Shameful stuff. How are we supposed to think Unionists would be safe in an United Ireland if this sort of stuff goes on. These sort of methods would induce trouble at matches.
Linfield fans were warned in advance including a statement on their website. This is not something unusual in IL terms. Flags displaying alegience to the club eg the suporters club name across a national flag is permitted. Blank National flags brought obviously to make some political point are not and are often removed. Given the flag incident when Glentoran were in Dublin recently it was obvious that the clubs and Guards made it clear how flags would be dealt with.