View Full Version : This Weekend's Games
celticV3
03/04/2010, 7:41 PM
Flags displaying alegience to the club eg the suporters club name across a national flag is permitted. Blank National flags brought obviously to make some political point are not and are often removed.
The only flag that was displayed in the pics though was the union flag which is not a national flag?
In saying that the guards are more likely to cause trouble taking flags from people that don't necessarily have anything offensive sprawled on them.
03/04/2010, 7:42 PM
More importantly lads, it's now Longford 0-2 City. McDaid with the goal.
Mervue 2-3 Waterford (4' left)
80 min gone in terryland waterford lead mervue 3-2
blue til i die
03/04/2010, 7:50 PM
5 wins from 5!!! C'mon the Blues!
03/04/2010, 7:52 PM
Full time:
Mervue - 2
Curran 23', Connelly 71'
Waterford - 3
Purcell 9', Sullivan 62', Kiely 69'
03/04/2010, 8:08 PM
Longford 0-3 Derry
Harkin
Scrufil
03/04/2010, 8:17 PM
Maith an fear an Garda sin! Sin an áit ceart don bhrat sin, go mór mór i rith an deireadh seachtaine atá ann anois. Ar chuala aon duine faoi Éirí amach na Cásca?
Mr_Parker
03/04/2010, 8:53 PM
The only flag that was displayed in the pics though was the union flag which is not a national flag?
In saying that the guards are more likely to cause trouble taking flags from people that don't necessarily have anything offensive sprawled on them.
I'll got get into a full scale debate on this thread so I will just suggest you do some research.
You what?
Which nation is the Union Jack the flag of?
celticV3
03/04/2010, 9:21 PM
so I will just suggest you do some research.
It is the flag of the union and not any nations national flag. As all countries in the union have their own national flag. St.Geroges cross, the saltire and Y Ddraig Goch for example are national flags, the union flag is not.
You what?
Which nation is the Union Jack the flag of?
See above
Quadruple1928
03/04/2010, 9:38 PM
The UJ is the offical flag of NI. If your that interested go off and do some research and leave this thread for the football.
fionnsci
03/04/2010, 9:52 PM
The UJ is the offical flag of NI.
That's not really true though is it? Kind of like having the Irish flag seen as the official flag of Munster.......Sure, it's AN official flag but......
WoodquayBoy
03/04/2010, 10:31 PM
Ahh whisst will ya? Do you honestly think putting in all-weather pitches is the top of the priorities list for LOI clubs?
Like get real will you please! Alot of clubs haven't a post to p1ss in and you're worried about all weather pitches? I don't know where we would be if we all thought like you.
??? Think you have me confused with someone else - never mentioned a plastic pitch, can't stand them to be honest
I'll got get into a full scale debate on this thread so I will just suggest you do some research.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEx5G-GOS1k :D
L.T.F.C.
04/04/2010, 1:22 PM
You're dead right, spot on there LTFC, United DO control the weather and decided, seen as there was trouble with Dundalk fans last season, we'd make sure there was a heavy downpour 20 mins before kick-off and coerce the ref to call off the game 5 mins after the scheduled kick-off time while all the time laughing at the poor saps who had made the trip from Dundalk. You are a true genius
??? Think you have me confused with someone else - never mentioned a plastic pitch, can't stand them to be honest
I don't get confused. You responded to me.
A N Mouse
04/04/2010, 1:29 PM
It is the flag of the union and not any nations national flag. As all countries in the union have their own national flag. St.Geroges cross, the saltire and Y Ddraig Goch for example are national flags, the union flag is not.
See above
Pointless discussion. But until it gets moved to rubbish - Is NI a nation or a province?
Fester
04/04/2010, 2:49 PM
Wexford Y 2 v 1 Salthill D (FT)
Breen 27' Burke 33'
Furlong 84'
Ciaran W
04/04/2010, 4:24 PM
First away game tomorrow. .cannot wait :D
Fester
04/04/2010, 4:46 PM
First away game tomorrow. .cannot wait :D
It wont be easy. Sporting have a good team!
Ciaran W
04/04/2010, 4:57 PM
I know ye we played them in the cup last season and they were brilliant
**FrOsTy**
04/04/2010, 6:38 PM
Very good contest between ourselves and Mervue last night, although we never got into our top gear and never looked like we wouldn't win. Mervue were solid at the back and wouldn't leave us time on the ball.
Just seen the pictures of the pitch from friday night and cannot believe how good (although not perfect) the pitch was. A lot of work must of gone into it over the day. Kudos to the groundstaff.
Anyone have a list of officials for tonights games?
http://www.airtricityleague.com/index.php/about/press-office/1910-referee-appointments
monkey9
05/04/2010, 3:43 PM
Will there be commentary for any of the games tonight??
marinobohs
07/04/2010, 9:51 AM
This is absolutely disgusting behaviour by the police. Several Irish Tri-colours (defaced with Bohs slogans etc.) was on display, why the selective confiscating of the Union Flag? Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
Shows an abhorrent amount of disrespect by police putting a visiting fans national flag in a BIN before their eyes. Shameful stuff. How are we supposed to think Unionists would be safe in an United Ireland if this sort of stuff goes on. These sort of methods would induce trouble at matches.
Just for the record, the only Tricolours (our national flag last time I checked) allowed in to Dalymount were ones "defaced with bohs slogans etc". A number of flags not so defaced were confiscated in Dalymount lane (shoved in a hedge). It was notified in advance to all fans that no flags not directly related to the clubs would be allowed and rightly or wrongly this was enforced. No disrespect shown to the visiting fans (at least no more than shown to the home fans).
Apoligies for not joining in with "rule britannia" and the sieg Heil salutes - the least we should have done to prevent our northern friends fearing a United Ireland:confused:
As the game was not an international there is no requirement to flag any national flag for the away team, the flying of the Tricolour might have something to do with the location of the game (thats just a guess):o
artane-shels
07/04/2010, 3:38 PM
Defacing the national flag is a crime isn't it?
07/04/2010, 3:44 PM
Defacing the national flag is a crime isn't it?
This is Ireland, not America. Not that it's really a crime there either.
artane-shels
07/04/2010, 3:57 PM
Still I'm pretty sure there's a law against it. (From the formation of the state)
07/04/2010, 5:19 PM
Don't think so. If it was the formation of the state, it'd be in the Constitution; otherwise it would have to have been inherited from UK law, or enacted afterwards.
If there is, I'll burn my Irish flag in protest!
07/04/2010, 5:23 PM
Still I'm pretty sure there's a law against it. (From the formation of the state)
There are guidelines (http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/attached_files/RTF%20files/The%20National%20Flag.rtf) but "Observance... is a matter for each individual because there are no statutory requirements."
artane-shels
07/04/2010, 6:47 PM
Grand so! Thanks for clearing that up! Schumi and dahamsta!
marinobohs
09/04/2010, 12:12 PM
Grand so! Thanks for clearing that up! Schumi and dahamsta!
Yes, the writing on flags is very much "inheirited" / copyed from watching In-ger-land fans. Really came into its own for the paddy brigade during the Charlton era with idiots looking to see "their" flag on the telly and pubs seeking some cheap publicity.
sligorover
09/04/2010, 12:19 PM
I've always believed this to be the case. Guiness had Irish flags out for the 2002 world cup with their logo on them and were forced to recall them all, I thought this was due to the constitution prohibiting it, could be wrong though but I rarely am:cool:
09/04/2010, 12:25 PM
http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/eng/Publications/Publications_Archive/Publications_2006/Publications_for_2001/The_National_Flag1.rtf.
Practises to be avoided. Says nothing about punishment though.
gufcfan
11/04/2010, 1:00 PM
Galway United v Sporting Fingal highlights
High definition - http://www.youtube.c...s-TsWaew&fmt=22 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ecs-TsWaew&fmt=22)
Normal quality - http://www.youtube.c...h?v=0Ecs-TsWaew (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ecs-TsWaew)