View Full Version : Kildare District League 2010
blackwood
29/03/2010, 9:38 PM
The second season of summer soccer has kicked off and the GAA are straight in their with fixtures at the same time as the soccer games.
Major Div.
Liffey hammered M/evin
Coill Dubh drew with Villa
B/cane off to a flyer Suncroft beaten
Kilcullen drew with Rathangan both are happy i am sure
Kildare TN will be happy. Are they getting back to where they were 10 years a go?
blackwood
26/04/2010, 2:13 PM
:ball: Major Div. Wide open any one team can win
My prediction
1 Ballycane
2 LIFFEY
3 Castlevilla
4 Coill Dubh
5 Rathangan
6 Kilcullen
7 Monastevin
8 Kildare
9 Connell
10 Suncroft
Premier
1 Naas
2 Portloaise
3 Newbridge
4 Clane
5 Kilcock
6 Bridge
7 Clonmullon
8 Sunday well
9 Kingstown
Div.1
1 Woodstock
2 BBc
What do you think
blackwood
10/05/2010, 10:28 AM
:ball: Coill Dubh beat Rathangan without coming out of 2nd gear.
Liffey,Ballycane and Coill Dubh I would say the winner of the Major league.
:ball: Newbridge TN and Naas Utd played yesterday in very entertaining game mind you Newbridge had a lot of changes.
:ball:
Any other results
Lumsden Cup any idea who to watch for
blackwood
13/05/2010, 1:20 PM
Liffey are laughing at the moment.
Results Wed. 12 May
Ballycane 3 Coill Dubh 1
Connell Rvs 2 Killcullen 1
What is the story with KILCULLEN ?
blackwood
20/05/2010, 8:53 PM
Major Div .play.Premier Div. NAAS UTD seem to have the League wrapped up already. Woodstock the team to beat in Div.1
TheBoss
20/05/2010, 10:37 PM
What are the division line-ups this season ?
blackwood
21/05/2010, 3:29 PM
The top 2 Div. are at the top of the tread. What all the Div.s major,Premier,Div 1,2,3,4. 0/35,youths.
TheBoss
21/05/2010, 5:47 PM
Just the Junior Divisions
Watched Kilcullen last week against Liffey and they were very unfortunate not to
come away with a share of the spoils.Performances like this from kilcullen
from now till the end of the season should see them finish mid-table upwards.
Have to agree with you blackwood on Suncroft,think they"ll be playing premier football
next season and Villa could be joining them if they don"t get the finger out.
Big game tomorrow in Ballycane,on a shocker of a pitch i was told.
Senior Result-Ballycane 3-3 Liffey
3-2 up and into injury-time,Liffey will be kicking themselves for not seeing out this game.
blackwood
24/05/2010, 8:37 AM
Coill Dubh beaten 3 nil by M/evin.
Suncroft beat Kilcullen I think (feel sorry for Fergal)
Liffey drew with Ballycane(top two teams in the Major league at the moment)
June is approaching transfer window opens what players are coming in to what clubs.
Tom Sullivan,Joey Behan,Trevor Bowers are all signing for Coill Dubh.
Liffey must be signing afew.
Newbridge tn transfering players up and down since the league started.
Naas Utd I believe are as strong as Liffey watch them for the Lumsden cup I think the Premier league is over already. I hope I am wrong.
Any other results or reports
Think the titles a reach to far for Coill Dubh now and will put all their focus on winning the Lumsden and senior cup.
And if your right about their 3 new addisions they"ll go very close on both fronts followed by Liffey.
Naas Utd are a decent side with some very good players but would come up short against the likes of Liffey.
After watching Kilcullen last week im surprised they did"nt pick up any points against a very inexperienced Suncroft team.
specialone
25/05/2010, 5:04 PM
There is no doubt coill dubh will be focusing on the cups as will castle villa but i feel monasterevin could be the surprise package this season and it will be an interesting game between them and ballycane tomorrow night. Liffey should have taken all 3 points on sunday against ballycane and will be kicking themselves for not holding out against 9 men. Think kilcullen will get out of the bottom 3 but they need to start beating the teams around them at the bottom they are def a better side than thier league position shows. Think naas will win both league and cup in the premier as they are a class above the rest.
blackwood
25/05/2010, 7:12 PM
Well guys league predictions
Major Div.
Premier Div.
Lumsden Cup
Favs/Dark horses what do you think?
Liffey will win the league but I think Rathangan might be top 4 with Ballycane,Coill Dubh.
For the DROP Connell Rvs/Suncroft/Kildare/Kilcullen.
If Naas dont drop points Thursday or Sunday league over ? Mind you the real race could be for runners up any team I mean any of the rest could make the playoff s
specialone
25/05/2010, 9:50 PM
Senior div--Liffey or Monasterevin
Senior cup--Liffey or coill dubh
Prem div--Naas utd
Prem cup--Naas utd
Lumsden--Castle villa or coill dubh
As for the drop in the senior i think it could go down to the last game or two with possibly 5 teams in trouble
blackwood
25/05/2010, 10:11 PM
The fifth team who is it?
Any news of midweek games etc keep us informed by the way SPECIAL ONE are you Lesley Kelly. (doing something right for sure as is Ray over in Rathangan)
blackwood
26/05/2010, 8:58 PM
Tonights results Wed 26 May
Rathangan beat Kildare Tn
Ballycane beat Monasterevin
League table Major Div.
Liffey 9/22
B/cane 9/21
R/gan 9/18
M/evin 8/15
C/dubh 9/12
Kildare 9/9
Suncroft 8/8
Connell 8/7
C/villa 8/5
K/cullen 9/4
Half way there how will the league finish up
Premier Results
Naas Utd beat Sundays well
Premier Table
Naas 7/19
N/bridge 8/19
P/loaise 8/13
Bridge 8/12
Clane 8/12
Kilcock 6/9
S/well 8/7
C/lion 8/4
K/town 8/4
Half way there how will the league finish up
TheBoss
26/05/2010, 11:46 PM
Got the other tables ?
specialone
27/05/2010, 3:14 PM
monasterevin were poor enough last night against an average ballycane they were missing a few players and it shows there squad may not be strong enough.
To answer your question blackwood i feel the 5 teams down at the bottom now will be the ones who will be scrapping to stay up.League seems to be flying along half way through and not into june yet.
blackwood
27/05/2010, 3:47 PM
If some one has time and has the Leader they could do it, I will do it but It wont be till Monday evening
If Liffey keep a clean bill of health and stay focused i can see them taking all 3 trophies,saying that i can"t see Coill Dubh ending the season empty handed so ill
go with Liffey for a league and lumsden double with Coill Dubh claiming the senior cup.
Think Suncrofts inexperience will send them down and they"ll be followed by either Connell Rvs or Kildare Twn.
Naas Utd will clinch the premier and will be pushed all the way by Newbridge Town,Teddy has to many players to pick from,if he"s not picking himself that is,not to mount a title challenge.
I heard Teddy has 15,000 players on his database and his scouting network goes as far out as the Redlane:D
So no surprises from me or any darkhorses.
Both divisions are"nt competitive enough to see the likes of kilcock Cel go all the way.Its going to be the same old,same old.The last 5 or so years tells you that.
No Bridgewood Cel fairytale for me this year.
blackwood
28/05/2010, 5:08 PM
"Both divisions are"nt competitive enough to see the likes of kilcock Cel go all the way.Its going to be the same old,same old.The last 5 or so years tells you that.
No Bridgewood Cel fairytale for me this year".
I would not agree with that I do think the PREMIER is very competitive and every year not one team wins everything. Ballycane have improved I think Rathangan is a breath of fresh air.
League Liffey odds on fav. Lumsden every year a surprise remember Coill Dubh won it once not sure Liffey how many times. Two strongest teams for the 5/6 years well Coill Dubh for the last 15
specialone
28/05/2010, 5:41 PM
The lumsden will be won by a senior team this year especially now that the league is over for coill dubh and castle villa,these two clubs will be goin all out in the cups.I know what your saying blackwood about it being unpridictable and crystal celtic and bridgewood prove that fairytales can happen but i dont think so this year.It will be either coill dubh,castle villa or liffey for me maybe a ballycane or naas might spring a surprise and knock out one of the favs but my moneys on one of the 3 winning it.
blackwood
31/05/2010, 1:12 PM
League Standings 1/2 season
Major Div. PTS
Liffey Cel 22
Ballycane Cel 21
Rathangan AFC 18
Monastervin AFC 18
Coill Dubh AFC 12
Kildare TN 9
Suncroft AFC 8
Connell Rvs 8
Castle Villa 7
Kilcullen AFCn 4
Premier
Naas Utd 22
Newbridge T 19
Portlaoise 13
Clane Utd 12
Bridge Utd 12
Kilcock Cel 9
Sundays well 7
Clonmullion FC 4
Kingstown FC 4
Div.1
Woodstock 19
Sallins 17
BBC 17
Newbridge H/purs 16
Bridgewood 11
Maynooth TN 7
Redwood 4
Liffey Cel 3
blackwood
31/05/2010, 2:11 PM
Div.2 PTS
Eleson Utd 23
Clane 13
Caragh 11
Carbury 11
Kildare 10
Straffan 9
sallins 8
Dunlavin 6
Div. 3
Moone Cel 19
Newtown 15
Galhoy 14
Grangecon 11
Clongorey 9
Allenwood 8
Donard 4
Prosperous -3
Div 4
Barnhall 19
Kilcullen 19
Naas 17
Kilcock 14
Bush 9
Bridgewood 7
Newbridge h/s 6
Kildare 6
Newbridge colt 2
blackwood
31/05/2010, 2:27 PM
What result are you looking for
specialone
31/05/2010, 3:42 PM
strong info circulating that a senior side in the top half of the table could be facing a serious point deduction for playing illegal players,has anyone else heard about this? The league as i siad seems to be flying along just wondering what your thoughts would be on less divisions with more teams ie the senior havin 14 teams and a 26 game league cause at the rate they are going the season will be over for alot of teams in 12 weeks and prob sooner now that midweek fixtures are kicking in.
blackwood
31/05/2010, 8:47 PM
HEARD something but unsure what the objection is about?
Yes i think that would be a good idea (12) would be the ideal number i think.
naas utd are flying i think there are as good as any team in the league, newbridge town will pull out all the stops to make sure there at the top.then they can monitor all players in the top division of the league and poach. liffey and ballycane very hard not to look any where else.
blackwood
03/06/2010, 3:57 AM
Wed: Results I think
Liffey won 1 nil goal scored very late in the game
Suncroft beat Ballycane "Is this a shock"
I am sure Josie will be delighted rebuilding nicely
Kildare beaten
Give Liffey the league title already but all teams will hit a patchy area when things dont happen. However are teams close enough to take advantage ?
Any gossip/signings worth talking about
specialone
03/06/2010, 5:59 PM
Still 8 games to go in the league so foolish to be giving liffey the title just yet but they will be there or there abouts.Ballycane defeat is a small shock to me as iv seen them in there last two games and liffey out played them and monasterevin with 10 men did the same for most of there game,only for the front players they have they would be mid table. coill dubh have signed 3-4 players from LSL, liffey have got a couple from newbridge town plus rumour has it that Naas have also signed some players from the lsl.
blackwood
06/06/2010, 10:12 PM
Sunday 6th June Results
Suncroft 1 Liffey 10 ( what is the story, that is not good enough for a club around for ever.Let's be honest Liffey are not that good but Suncroft can't be that bad but Management is judge on results so if Suncroft are happy with the results so be it.
Ballycane 4 Rathangan 4 fair result according to guys at the game.
Coill Dubh 3 Kildare TN 2 ten years ago this would have been a top junior soccer game around the country.But no, time has past the game was slow the players are living on past glory if any player has respect for themselves they need to raise the bar mush higher.
Monasterevin won 3 nil
Connell Rvs won 2-1
Premier Div.
Kilcock 0- Newbridge TN 1
Kingstown 1 Kilcock 4
blackwood
21/06/2010, 10:29 PM
LUMSDEN CUP RESULTS
All the big guns are there as was siad Coill Dubh,Liffey,Castlevilla. We will see a good draw anything can happen
RD 3 Draw on Thursday night
Clane
Newbridge Hotspurs
Eleeson Utd
Grangecon
Naas Utd
Castlevilla
Clonmullion
Monasterevin
Newbridge TN
Liffey Cel
Coill Dubh
Kildare TN
Portlaoise Cel
Rathangan or Moone
Suncroft or Killcullen
Kingstown or Straffan
blackwood
25/06/2010, 8:49 AM
Well any news on the draw last night
Did all the BIG teams avoid each other
blackwood
05/07/2010, 9:41 PM
2010 Season Can not see any change on this
Major League Winners Liffey
Premier League Winners Naas Utd
Now this would be a match two best team in the county at the moment
specialone
09/07/2010, 2:51 PM
winners of the senior div get entry into the leinster senior cup, coill dubh in the draw as last years champions.
naas play rathangan away in lumsden,very tough draw for them rathangan good side,i expect liffey to beat clonmullion away. coill dubh have a real bannana skin of a draw away to an inform eleson utd and i think castle villa will progress
blackwood
14/07/2010, 10:46 AM
Lumsden Cup
Predictions
Rathangan after Penos
Coill Dubh by the odd goal
Liffey easy
Clane after extra time
Monasterevin
Castlevilla
blackwood
21/07/2010, 11:16 AM
Congrats to Liffey Cel. and Naas Utd. The two best league teams in the KILDARE LEAGUE. Cups games and playoffs for the two top Div.s. Major Div. who is going down and who will be in the playoff. Premier Div. who will make the playoffs and who is going down
Lumsden Cup
Predictions
1 Kilcullen
2 Clane/ Newbridge PENOS
3 Portloaise
4 Liffey Clane
5 Castlevilla
6 Rathangan/Naas PENOS
7 Coill Dubh
8 Kildare Town
blackwood
27/07/2010, 8:59 PM
Lumsden results
Coill Dubh just about 5-4
Liffey so so easy 8-0
Castlevilla win 0-2
Naas beat Rathangan 2-0
Clane beat Newbridge Tn 3-1
Newbridge Hotspurs a great result beating Kildare TN
Kilcullen V Connell Rvs
Monasterevin V Portloaise
Right at this moment yes LIFFEY or NAAS are the favourites
then Coill Dubh or Castlevilla.Outsiders Clane and Newbridge Hotspurs
Maybe no interest from anyone to make a prediction.
Prosperous Utd they are still in the MINUS (Darlington Utd) poor old STAN
specialone
30/07/2010, 5:22 PM
naas one of the fav my ass They won a **** div and should have been beaten in the last rd by rathangan To put them ahead of castle villa and coill dubh is ludacris.
Let them draw kilcullen away in the next rd provided kilcullen beat connell and we will see what they are made of. Hotspurs need a home draw against either clane or naas to make semi.As for prosperous utd they just wont stop asking where the €150000 is gone hense thier minus on the league table. Liffey villa or coill dubh end of story.
specialone
30/07/2010, 5:34 PM
Oh ye forgot to say is it true that liffey won the league and never got the trophy What a f***ing joke that is. The people running soccer in kildare should be sacked and made sell the big issue in moyross.
blackwood
30/07/2010, 9:06 PM
I believe Naas utd are a good side full stop. Liffey worthy champions but the gap between them and the rest is very little, Coill Dubh are the only team to be up with Naas and Liffey at the moment. Castlevilla are rebuilding but are always dangerous as for the rest we will see not much to worry about. Presenting of the cup I dont know what you mean? Prosperous Utd Div.3 team is a joke
specialone
31/07/2010, 11:55 AM
Look blackwood your entitled to your opinion but history tells you that teams that win or get
promoted from the prem struggle in the senior div,and iv seen enough of naas in a **** div
this year to tell you that they would at best be a mid table senior team and will have to sign
4-5 really good players including a real goalscorer to have any chance next year. Sign keelen
noone and they will have the best striker in naas playing for them. As for the lumsden not this year
but dep on the draw might make semi and who knows after that.
blackwood
03/08/2010, 10:13 AM
Liffey,Ballycane, and Naas Utd were all Premier Div. teams they all needed a short time to adjust. Kilcullen won the Premier Div. last year and are struggling but they still might stay up. Rathangan played Clonmullion in the playoff last year and there are flying this year.When is the Lumsden draw.I can see Coill Dubh being the one to beat. I heard rumours of Liffey are moving to Dublin any truth to be honest they be better off trying to join Combine Counties and mix it with St.Peters,Willow Park, Mullingar Town more competive. Anyway Liffey are doing good work to keep the players from the Town.
specialone
04/08/2010, 10:42 AM
Hope you are wrong about liffey leaving the kildare league they are a top club,we dont want the top clubs walking away
but if they did i wouldnt blame them as the kildare league isnt even half ran right.Let me tell you a little story,once upon a time
there was greedy tax collector(reggie) and his daughter,(michelle)they worked for the lord of the manor (LFA)who in turn worked for the king of the land (FAI).
The greedy tax collector and his daughter became very rich over a period of time through tax collecting,but while they were getting rich the village was becoming more and more poor.The lord of the manor always seemed to turn a blind eye even though the village people would protest. Then one day reggie and his daughter decided to host a show in the village so they could make more money. Initialy the show was a real money spinner but the attendances began to drop,reggie and michelle were furious.Then one of the main actors of the show became poorly so greedy reggie and michelle held a benifit night and promised to give all the procceeds to the actor,the whole village turned up in support of the night.The next day greedy reggie handed over only a small percentage of the nights takings.Word spread around the village and people were very angry and the attendances at the shows were shockingly poor from that day on. Reggie and michelle decided to run a raffel draw at the show in the hope that people would return and with the promise of a state of the art camel as first prize the village people purchased lots of tickets.The geedy tax collector and his daughter were rich beyond there wildest dreams.The day the draw was made there was no prizes it was all a greedy plan just to make money for the tax collector and his daughter. Any villager who questioned reggie about the camel had thier taxes increased and anyone who informed the lord of the manor had thier houses burned to the ground. The villagers were afraid and wouldnt unite against reggie and michelle for fear of extra taxes. But one day a selected few villagers had a secret meeting and talked about the state of their village and why every other village had better wealth and came to the dicision that reggie and michelle had to be removed from the village so they travelled to the lords house in the hope he would understand there plight and remove them. But the lord of the manor was a busy man and told the villagers he couldnt help them. The villagers decided to go to the king who was a very very busy man havin just built a huge castle and was about to move into it.But he decided to listen to the villagers and thier plight and decided to pay reggie and michelle a visit. Reggie and michelle rolled out the red carpet for the king on his arrival but the king wasnt impressed havin just passed through the poorest village he had ever seen. You have been taxing these people for years what have you been doing with all the money?Why have you not been putting the money to good use and helping the village?How come all the other villages are wealthier than this one? The angry king demanded a look at the tax books but to his horror there was no money. Reggie and michelle pleaded with the king and siad they used all the money to pay the actors and run the show they held, but the king was a very wise man saw the pair for what they were,he ordered their immiediate arrest.
blackwood
05/08/2010, 9:44 PM
Well what can I say except this is a story that explains everything. I was at the last league meeting.Our club would be telling a different story. I only want to talk football.
specialone
06/08/2010, 1:57 PM
You were at the league meeting so your involved with some club in kildare and all you want to do is talk football well thats the exact reason kildare soccer is the way it is. Reggie and michelle took €150,000 of the village peoples money and loaned it to the big show without getting the permission of the village people to do so:shock:
The furious village people told reggie and michelle not to use any more of thier taxes to fund the show but greedy reggie and michelle ignored the village people.
Now blackwood these statements are not fictional they are fact and if clubs dont start growing some balls and stop sitting on the fence we will see soccer in kildare dying a slow death,most of the bridges are well burnt at this stage and if certain people are left to there devices it may get beyond repair.
Blackwood i want to talk football the same as you do but sooner or later no one will give a **** because the whole set up is corrupt. Ill finish on this note the league have put notices in all the local papers requesting the return of all trophies from clubs as we are now getting to the end of some divisions:angry3:Naas Utd and Liffey Celtic won there leagues a fortnight ago and guess what neither got the tropies yet, now i might be wrong but i think it could have been naas first ever trophy and the league oviously didnt give a rats arse about presenting it to them on the day they won it.same with liffey who won the senior div can you imagine how players felt from both clubs
blackwood
09/08/2010, 10:17 PM
Weekend of Shocks
Lumsden Cup Portloaise and Straffan into the 1/4 finals
Senior Div. Cup afew shocks
Div.1 cup afew shocks. Liffey beating Woodstock and Redwood winning
Any news
We look good with trophies "The Star" roll on the Lumsden
blackwood
11/08/2010, 12:46 PM
Most teams look good with a trophy but fair play, now the cups remember it is just one game anything can happen