View Full Version : BETOP - Bring Europe to Oriel Park
31/03/2010, 11:20 AM
Most of them. But many were before the days of UEFA requirements. There's a fair few now that wouldn't qualify to host a European game. We played in Belfield in the InterToto, but when we won the Fair Play a few years back, we got a UEFA Licence on the basis of using Richmond.
WoodquayBoy
31/03/2010, 11:45 AM
Would ye 'get away' with the permanent temporary stanbd like in the Carlisle Grounds? I know that is what Salthill Devon are planning to build down here?
31/03/2010, 12:28 PM
Would ye 'get away' with the permanent temporary stanbd like in the Carlisle Grounds? I know that is what Salthill Devon are planning to build down here?
Pats were able to use the seats behind the goal in Richmond last year, that's why they're there afaik. They're a different design to the Bray one though so I don't know if that makes a difference.
31/03/2010, 12:36 PM
Those seats have been in place since July 2007 Schumi (initially done for the Odense game). We did have planning permission to build a stand there though
31/03/2010, 12:44 PM
Those seats have been in place since July 2007 Schumi (initially done for the Odense game). We did have planning permission to build a stand there though
Didn't realise they were there that long, it was for a European game at least!
Dillonman
31/03/2010, 12:47 PM
The seats we'd be putting in will would be permanent.
Why do you need to sell the tickets now? You will easily get 3,000 for the game when it comes around. And have you not thought of waiting to sell them at your next home game? You'll sell a couple of hundred.
We would probably exceed 3,000 but the owner has stated he needs to see 1,000 ticket sales first, then he`ll take it to the next level, be such a shame if this opportunity is passed by pure and utter laziness of fans.
Ezeikial
31/03/2010, 1:36 PM
Why do you need to sell the tickets now? You will easily get 3,000 for the game when it comes around. And have you not thought of waiting to sell them at your next home game? You'll sell a couple of hundred.
You are probably right in that it is likely that the game will be a sellout well in advance of match-day or even the draw, once the work on Oriel gets the green light.
I don't know the cost of upgrading, but it's pretty certain it exceeds the potential gate. Spending say €70/€80k in the hope or anticipation of it being a sellout does not make any sense when there is a clear alternative. The cash-flow benefits of advance selling are pretty obvious too.
Of course the advance booking desks will be in full swing at the next home game on April 9th. First 'D day' for targets to be hit is the following day, with 1000 bookings needed between now and then. This is far too important an initiative to be left to chance and whim (or to the last day!)
I'm all for improvements in the LOI, but being on the same side as Dermot Ahern on anything makes one have serious doubts!
Ezeikial
31/03/2010, 1:59 PM
One version of the promo posters being distributed throughtout the town and region (click on the poster for larger image)
Dillonman
31/03/2010, 2:04 PM
I'm all for improvements in the LOI, but being on the same side as Dermot Ahern on anything makes one have serious doubts!
You can be assured that he is not at all loved too much in these parts either, he never does anything for his hoem town. I remember the folks got xmas cards off him every year, as he does and they sent them back to him.
Off topic, but he shouldn't. He's a Governent minister and the national interest should take precedence.
Anyway, back to the ground issue.
ger121
31/03/2010, 9:11 PM
Hope it work out for yous. Im sure there will be nothing better than hosting your european night/s at your own ground.
If it works, it means a ground has been improved for all and in turn helps improve standards in the league. All the best with it.
Slighty off topic I know but where do you think you'll be playing your home european matches. I've heard Dalymount been mentioned a few times but guessing that's just speculation at this stage?
oriel
31/03/2010, 10:17 PM
Eh maybe Oriel Park...............
fionnsci
31/03/2010, 11:15 PM
Eh maybe Oriel Park...............
He's speaking to a Fingal fan.
Of course it'll be Dalymount, where else?
ndrog
01/04/2010, 12:09 AM
Yeah right . Gimme a break will ya .The people of dundawk have the hump with ahern as his government are trying to close the louth county hospital and transfer services to Drogheda , we cant have that now can we . Until recently he couldnt put a foot wrong , didnt see him jumping to help Louths other football club in our time of need , did you ? He would be better served trying to get the country out of its pathetic state then wasting his time on this .
Dillonman
01/04/2010, 10:29 AM
Yeah right . Gimme a break will ya .The people of dundawk have the hump with ahern as his government are trying to close the louth county hospital and transfer services to Drogheda , we cant have that now can we . Until recently he couldnt put a foot wrong , didnt see him jumping to help Louths other football club in our time of need , did you ? He would be better served trying to get the country out of its pathetic state then wasting his time on this .
Hes never done anything for Dundalk or Louth for that matter so dont go trying to look for sympathy for poor old Drogheda Utd. Its your own fault where ye are today not ours, not Ahearns(well actually you can blame him all you want)
SMorgan
01/04/2010, 11:39 AM
You've put me in the uncomfortable position of defending a Government minister, but yourself and Dillion would do with addressing reality. First off the Louth hospital is not closing and while services are being transferred to the County dump, services are also being transferred in the other direction to Dundalk. I recently met a Drogs who had to travel to Dundalk to get treatment she previously got in Drogheda. Also when you say he did nothing for Drogheda United that is absolutely not the case in that he did assist the club in the courts in a very material way.
passerrby
01/04/2010, 1:25 PM
You've put me in the uncomfortable position of defending a Government minister, but yourself and Dillion would do with addressing reality. First off the Louth hospital is not closing and while services are being transferred to the County dump, services are also being transferred in the other direction to Dundalk. I recently met a Drogs who had to travel to Dundalk to get treatment she previously got in Drogheda. Also when you say he did nothing for Drogheda United that is absolutely not the case in that he did assist the club in the courts in a very material way.
so are you saying the minister for justice helped you in a matter before the courts. (just trying to stir)
Stephen Maher on the BE-TOP campaign and Pats run in Europe last year.
http://dundalkfc.com/news/100401_Maher.asp
02/04/2010, 12:54 AM
Stephen Maher on the BE-TOP campaign and Pats run in Europe last year.
http://dundalkfc.com/news/100401_Maher.asp
Maybe Maher might undesand the concept of away goals this year :) LOve the little cameo of him picking the ball out of th night after our (aggregate) equaliser in Russia
White Horse
02/04/2010, 12:18 PM
We would probably exceed 3,000 but the owner has stated he needs to see 1,000 ticket sales first, then he`ll take it to the next level, be such a shame if this opportunity is passed by pure and utter laziness of fans.
I have bought my tickets and would urge all Dundalk fans to do likewise. There are two potential benefits, a European match in the town and long awaited ground improvements.
oriel
05/04/2010, 11:36 AM
Big week to all Dundalk fans out there, not 100% sure on numbers but think its currently only around 400, we need a huge push on this week and at the UCD game on Fri night to get past the 1,000 mark.
Then we can plan ahead for the ground upgrade, 3,000 extra seats and look forward to playing the game at home.
07/04/2010, 12:36 AM
Latest number is 375 (excluding online sales)
Pathetic.
marley
07/04/2010, 9:04 AM
Wait a minute we haven't had a home game in Oriel since this was announced the night of the St Pats game. I'll hold judgement on the use of the word pathetic till after the UCD game
Ezeikial
07/04/2010, 10:40 AM
The initial target is 1000 advance bookings by next Saturday - while 375 to date is not exactly over-whelming, that target should be reached at the home game on Friday.
The real challenge is to meet the final target bookings for 2 weeks later - 24 April.
There are great efforts being made by many supporters, the club staff/volunteers, and the DFC Trust - with poster, leaflet, mail-shot, telesales campaigns all on-going. If this achieves the desired early booking targets to allow work to go ahead, I have no doubt the game will be a sell-out
oriel
07/04/2010, 10:42 AM
I think we are now over 400 ticket sales, but we need a huge push today, tomorow and of course at the UCD game to reach the 1k mark. The final day is Sat, a local shopping centre doing an all day promo, but the UCD game is the critical sales slot.
jinxy lilywhite
07/04/2010, 12:41 PM
I must say that I find this embarrasing that out of all of us only 400 tickets have been booked and not even paid. I wouldn't mind but some folks have even bought 2 or 3 per person and still this.
i feel for Gerry Matthews and other good folks involved with the club because they must feel like they are ****ing against the wind
Dillonman
07/04/2010, 6:17 PM
Dundalk fm announced at 5 that we are over the 450 mark, I was up at 6 and got 2 more so there is 452 now!!
sean r
08/04/2010, 12:47 AM
will your turf pitch be up to uefa standard?
Ezeikial
08/04/2010, 1:47 AM
Without any doubt.
Interesting recent article by BBC Scotland includes this comment from current St Pat's player Alex Williams :
"It's probably the best artificial surface I have ever played on," said the 27-year-old.
"You can pass the ball about well and, although some players do moan about it, I have no problem with it.
"If you can play football then this surface is ideal."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/8607191.stm
hoops1
08/04/2010, 7:40 AM
The name of the campaign has been changed to PAY LK so keep buying the tickets to get to the magical 40k mark.
I actually think its a FIFA approved pitch never mind UEFA. Also it was improved further to the tune of 50k in Jan/Feb 09.
I doubt there's a difference in fairness
sean r
08/04/2010, 10:49 PM
is it the same kind of pitch that is installed in moscow?
fionnsci
08/04/2010, 11:23 PM
yes..
bullit
09/04/2010, 12:40 AM
and better supporters too :-)
Ezeikial
09/04/2010, 12:45 PM
Bookings now past the half way mark. Tonights game against UCD should see a big surge of bookings- I just hope that the numbers are enough
10/04/2010, 10:38 AM
Looked like a good bit of business going on before the match alright.
Spudulika
10/04/2010, 11:19 AM
is it the same kind of pitch that is installed in moscow?
No, the Dundalk one is a newer and better version, if you're referring to Luzhniki. During the summer break the Luzhniki surface will be relaid.
Dillonman
10/04/2010, 11:49 AM
Looked like a good bit of business going on before the match alright.
There was alot, table set up in the shed, table on the main stand side, table coming into Oriel, tables inside the bars. Lads where also walking round the groudn in the second half trying to pick up any stragglers and they got quite a few in the shed. Just hoping this final push today can get us there.
I am hearing we are now looking good for the first target of 1,000 tickets by end of day.
10/04/2010, 11:30 PM
We are at the 850-900 mark atm figures will be added up on Monday.
bullit
11/04/2010, 4:42 AM
i would say we crossed it dunny,the next target awaits.and that might be the hardest one.
11/04/2010, 10:50 PM
BE-TOP CAMPAIGN: LAST ORDERS BEFORE DEADLINE!
Meetings on Monday night are expected to confirm if the club has reached it's first target for the BRING EUROPE TO ORIEL CAMPAIGN. You can help by booking your tickets online or by contacting Oriel Park.
www.dundalkfc.com
fionnsci
12/04/2010, 5:39 PM
Less than 400 tickets have been sold so far
fewer.....
Anyhoo, best of look with the meetings.
12/04/2010, 11:06 PM
1200 tickets sold so we'll be going ahead with the upgrade of the ground to have the tie(s) played in Oriel Park!
bullit
12/04/2010, 11:10 PM
:DBriiliant news,thanks to everyone who helped in any way to make this happen
Ciaran W
12/04/2010, 11:36 PM
Im glad to see this worked out for you's
sean r
13/04/2010, 12:40 AM
your welcome!!!!!! glad i can help