View Full Version : Tonights latest 26.03.10

Pages : 1 [2] 3

27/03/2010, 12:30 AM
i always thought it was the home club that got the fine, regardless of who was lighting them. Thats what i remember anyway... but i could well be wrong. Either way, yeah, flares are no big deal. Probably better ways of disposing of them than on the pitch though.

PartySaint
27/03/2010, 12:38 AM
Also, this week's shot against Rovers is a classic...fans not giving the ball back. After last week's disgusting act by Michael O'Neill where it was revealed on here how he didn't stop for a chat when shaking Ian Foster's hand, I wonder what it will take for the FAI to throw Rovers out of the league? Maybe next week those disgusting fans will chant and sing through a health & safety announcement over the PA. Whatever happens I look forward to it being justly exposed on here this time next week.

Yeah or maybe one of their fans will get on the pitch and attack an opposition player......Oh wait

Ezeikial
27/03/2010, 1:09 AM
i always thought it was the home club that got the fine, regardless of who was lighting them.

Both clubs can potentially cop a fine. It is a near certainty for the home side (responsible for searches, stewarding etc) but the away side are also exposed if it comes from their fans. The FAI can hold clubs responsible for the behaviour of their own fans.

Having it any other way would be an incitement/incentive to some travelling fans to create problems

Louth4sam
27/03/2010, 7:35 AM
Just back in after Terryland and watching the recording of the game in Terryland. After Sullivan's antics when he was sent off in Terryland last season (when he refused to leave the pitch and had a barney with a steward) I think karma is wonderful, even if he did score tonight.
And if Rovers are the 'model' club with the 'model' fans, then they can keep their scum club. The fans - throwing flares on pitch, refusing to give the ball back from the stand. The players - refusing to put the ball out when O'Donnell went down injured, despite United putting it out when Sullivan went down. If that is the example the players are setting the fans, no wonder they behave like Neanderthals. Much as it pains me to say it . . . Bohs for the league

What happened to all the "Rovers fans are great" threads that Galway fan's used to start??

stovelid
27/03/2010, 7:45 AM
So whats the excuse for throwing flares on the pitch?

Ask Pats as they did it at Tallaght last week.

Not that you'd know that from reading about the latest Rovers outrages here of course.

Jicked
27/03/2010, 8:18 AM
Thats great, a guy can laugh and say a player deserved to have a potentially very serious cruciate ligament injury and no-one thinks anything of it, except for the usual 'thanks' from a Sligo fan once someone says something about bad about Shamrock Rovers. Pathetic.

The rovers player DID see O'Donnell down but kept on going,i know he doesnt have to put it out but it was unsporting not to.

Yes they did, and they played on because the rules of the game were changed specifically for such situations when a player pretends to be hurt after not getting a free-kick they felt they deserved in order to stop the opposition's attack. There was nothing wrong with O'Donnell, he was up within 20 seconds after he realised he wasn't getting the foul and the referee and Rovers rightly played on so. I look forward to next week's mock outrage when Rovers disgustingly play on despite a very good attempted dive for a penalty which really deserved a spot kick since from where the ref was it surely might have looked like there was contact.

Gaillimh Al
27/03/2010, 8:41 AM
Are you serious? A guy argues with a steward 8 months ago so you're happy to see him go down with a potentially very serious injury which left him in serious pain, stretchered from the field looking at him being out for several months. You're a top fella you are. The ref stopped the game when Sullivan was injured, he didn't when O'Donnell went down, because O'Donnell was fine and there was nothing wrong with him. Wasn't there a rule change in the last couple of years to ensure that teams play on in such situations?

Also, this week's shot against Rovers is a classic...fans not giving the ball back. After last week's disgusting act by Michael O'Neill where it was revealed on here how he didn't stop for a chat when shaking Ian Foster's hand, I wonder what it will take for the FAI to throw Rovers out of the league? Maybe next week those disgusting fans will chant and sing through a health & safety announcement over the PA. Whatever happens I look forward to it being justly exposed on here this time next week.

Just want to pull you up there on that point because I don't get riled often at games but this made me fume. The referee did not stop the game. Galway were on the ball and Derek O'Brien could have played on in a very advantageous situation but tapped the ball out of play. Shamrock Rovers restarted with a throw in, and instead of playing back to the keeper, Sean O'Connor kicks it 20 yards down the touchline for a contested throw.....hardly returning the favour. The same player then refuses to kick the ball out when O'Donnell was lying on the ground, and starts making faces and acting the clown when the Galway players get rightly annoyed with him, trying to provoke them into getting sent off, looking to the linesman closest to him to catch them out. If a player is on the ground, in my eyes, simple as, you kick it out. O'Donnell was prone on the ground until play was stopped by Galway conceding a free kick and he then hobbled back getting someone else to cover him while the kick was taken. In fairness to the ref, he gave a non-existent free out when the ball was floated in.

I understand the need for three points and all that, but given that Galway had earlier done the right thing, in the circumstances this sort of behaviour is sickening.

I have no other issues with Rovers or their fans on the night and I hope Pat Sullivan makes a speedy recovery.

WoodquayBoy
27/03/2010, 8:57 AM
Not trying to be a drama queen, just highlighting the poor levels of sporting behaviour of Rovers and their fans, the 'model' club.

27/03/2010, 9:30 AM
Not giving the ball back to waste some time is unsporting.

So you've never booed an opposition player? Made noise while someone took a penalty? Tried to put off the goalkeeper? Or seen any Galway fans do any of the above?

G'wan away with your unsporting. Shock horror, football fans try to help their team win!

Rasputin
27/03/2010, 9:37 AM
What happened to all the "Rovers fans are great" threads that Galway fan's used to start??
Thats what I was wondering, its sad that the great Shams and Galway love in has been ruined, the grovelling to shams fans always brought a smile to my face.

RoversHead
27/03/2010, 10:01 AM
If any fans of any club in the league have flares please bring them to Tallaght and help light up the venue we love it,and if your winning please feel free to impress us with your keepy up skills in the stand we have loads of balls,in a case of head injuries encourage your players to put the ball out but incase of any other injury please carry on ,hope to see you all soon,take care.:ball:

gufc2000
27/03/2010, 10:51 AM
Yes they did, and they played on because the rules of the game were changed specifically for such situations when a player pretends to be hurt after not getting a free-kick they felt they deserved in order to stop the opposition's attack. There was nothing wrong with O'Donnell, he was up within 20 seconds after he realised he wasn't getting the foul and the referee and Rovers rightly played on so. I look forward to next week's mock outrage when Rovers disgustingly play on despite a very good attempted dive for a penalty which really deserved a spot kick since from where the ref was it surely might have looked like there was contact.
That challenge was reckless and mistimed, free kick end of story, and there should have been a yellow card aswell

CuanaD
27/03/2010, 10:51 AM
If any fans of any club in the league have flares please bring them to Tallaght and help light up the venue we love it,and if your winning please feel free to impress us with your keepy up skills in the stand we have loads of balls,in a case of head injuries encourage your players to put the ball out but incase of any other injury please carry on ,hope to see you all soon,take care.:ball:
Nobody heard you - they were all singing over the announcement :cool:

Rasputin
27/03/2010, 10:57 AM
Nobody heard you - they were all singing over the announcement :cool:
Minutes Silence dont you mean?

GGAJD
27/03/2010, 11:33 AM
When Sullivan went down with no-one around him in absolute agony, it was blatantly obvious to everyone he was in a bad way, so any player would have put the ball out reguardless. With O'Donnell, he'd flung himself to the ground so many times in the game after the slightest contact, it was no surprise, when there was no free given, Rovers played on. I don't think O'Connor could have seen him faking his status anyway, he reacted to where the ball went after the tackle (I agree it was reckless and should have been a free) and went up the line. The two incidents could not be more different.
As for the Galway 'fan' on here who was delighted to see 'karma' being brought by a very serious injury to a player, possibly keeping him out of the game for months and with Rovers performance related pay structure, making the player struggle financially, I salute you, you are a prince among men, an absolute diamond, 24 carat in fact.
You need to take a long hard look at yourself man.

27/03/2010, 12:28 PM
That challenge was reckless and mistimed, free kick end of story, and there should have been a yellow card aswell
He got the ball perfectly legally, so how was it mis-timed?

As far as I could see, the only part of him that made any substantial contact with O'Donnell was the shin of the leg that didn't touch the ball.

Jicked
27/03/2010, 12:48 PM
so now you admit that he was feigning injury because he should have had a free kick? Why exactly did you expect Rovers to stop play in that case? Just because you want a free kick or the ref failed to give you one doesn't mean youj can fake injury and demand the play be stopped.

CSFShels
27/03/2010, 1:01 PM
so now you admit that he was feigning injury because he should have had a free kick?
Where in the name of Jehovah did you get that from?

Jicked
27/03/2010, 1:14 PM
from him saying that the tackle should have been a free kick. maybe it should have been, but the ref didn't give it so rovers are perfectly entitled to play on, the player wasn't injured but pretended to be in the hope of winning a free kick or getting play stopped.Not too hard to follow. Every team in the league has players who'd do the same, but you can't complain that the other team don't stop when that's what he's clearly playing for.

WoodquayBoy
27/03/2010, 2:19 PM
Sullivan is not a United player so, to be frank, I don't give a damn about whether or not he misses 1, 2, 5 or 32 games. On the O'Donnell incident, while the ball was won in the tackle, I think he also took the man, it was a 'scissors' challenge and we've all seen those given as frees more often than not. And as for the Rovers fan who suggested putting the ball out when it is a head injury but play on otherwise, fair enough, but Sullivan didn't have a head injury when he went down in obvious pain. Derek O'Brien was right to kick the ball out, even though there was no foul, which Jicked seems to suggest is required for the ball to be put out of play. O'Donnell may have eventually picked himself up after the tackle, but how was the Rovers player to know he wasn't seriously injured as well? My point is that a player went down under a heavy challenge and in my opinion the Rovers player should have put the ball out, as United had done for Rovers.

Jicked
27/03/2010, 2:43 PM
Sullivan is not a United player so, to be frank, I don't give a damn about whether or not he misses 1, 2, 5 or 32 games. On the O'Donnell incident, while the ball was won in the tackle, I think he also took the man, it was a 'scissors' challenge and we've all seen those given as frees more often than not. And as for the Rovers fan who suggested putting the ball out when it is a head injury but play on otherwise, fair enough, but Sullivan didn't have a head injury when he went down in obvious pain. Derek O'Brien was right to kick the ball out, even though there was no foul, which Jicked seems to suggest is required for the ball to be put out of play. O'Donnell may have eventually picked himself up after the tackle, but how was the Rovers player to know he wasn't seriously injured as well? My point is that a player went down under a heavy challenge and in my opinion the Rovers player should have put the ball out, as United had done for Rovers.

Well, to be frank, that makes you a *****. No football fan likes to see someone out for a season regardless of who he plays for, it can mess up the guys livelihood and career.

Also, I never suggested a foul is required for the ball to be put out of play. But there's no need to put the ball out of play when a player pretends to be injured in order to stop the attack of the opposition. You're actually arguing that if a player wants to, the game should be stopped if he lies on the floor. In this situation the referee saw the tackle and for some reason thought the player might be overreacting some what.

I wonder what would have given him that impression

70:26 writhing in pain

http://i42.tinypic.com/w0hy5v.png

Three seconds later at 70:29 after the referee says to get up as he's not getting anything

http://i43.tinypic.com/280mfdf.png

Gaillimh Al
27/03/2010, 5:02 PM
Whether O'Donnell was injured or not is not the issue for me, so Jicked stop trying to make it as if it is. You first claim the ref stopped the game in the first instance so it was alright, now it's ok cos the player was feigning injury. How does a referee go about passing one of these "spot a player feigning injury" courses? Considering this was the same ref who ignored the elbow that smashed up Alan Cawley's face against Drogheda, I think he maybe should re-sit the exam.

Simple facts - Rovers player goes down, Galway put ball out. O'Connor takes the mick by kicking it out for a contested throw.
Galway player goes down, same lad plays on, aggravates the situation and entices a foul in an attacking area.

To be honest, I think if it was anyone but O'Connor the ball would have been put out - he will be on the end of a nasty tackle from a frustrated opponent one of the nights if he doesn't cop himself on.

27/03/2010, 5:21 PM
Well, to be frank, that makes you a *****. No football fan likes to see someone out for a season regardless of who he plays for, it can mess up the guys livelihood and career.

Also, I never suggested a foul is required for the ball to be put out of play. But there's no need to put the ball out of play when a player pretends to be injured in order to stop the attack of the opposition. You're actually arguing that if a player wants to, the game should be stopped if he lies on the floor. In this situation the referee saw the tackle and for some reason thought the player might be overreacting some what.

Three seconds later at 70:29 after the referee says to get up as he's not getting anything

doctored.

danthesaint
27/03/2010, 6:22 PM
Ask Pats as they did it at Tallaght last week.

Not that you'd know that from reading about the latest Rovers outrages here of course.

someone told me ya have to throw it onto the pitch after letting it off for safety reason, not sure how true it is tho
stu i think your right, same person told me home team gets the fine regardless of who let them off.

i think they should be banned by thats just me, dont really fancy having to rely on some drunken **** being able to hold it after letting it off

Ezeikial
27/03/2010, 6:37 PM
i always thought it was the home club that got the fine, regardless of who was lighting them. Thats what i remember anyway... but i could well be wrong. Either way, yeah, flares are no big deal. Probably better ways of disposing of them than on the pitch though.

stu i think your right, same person told me home team gets the fine regardless of who let them off.

This is an extract from a leaflet inserted into the Dundalk V Drogheda programme a couple of weeks ago, that followed a minor incident of "bangers" being let off in the Dundalk section after the match in Bray the previous week:

Last weekend in Bray, fans let off fireworks which is likely to see the club fined by the FAI.

It's pretty clear that Dundalk were expected a fine (Bray as hosts may also be fined)

i think they should be banned by thats just me, dont really fancy having to rely on some drunken **** being able to hold it after letting it off

Whether you agree or disagree - they are banned, and the club that you "support" is open to fines as a result

danthesaint
27/03/2010, 6:48 PM
the club that you "support" is open to fines as a result

why did ya say that?? its not like i let them off....................... :confused2:

27/03/2010, 6:51 PM
Waterford 1 up.

gufc2000
27/03/2010, 6:54 PM
Shels 1 up also

27/03/2010, 7:53 PM
Shels 4-2 up now.

juniorc
27/03/2010, 7:54 PM
Salthill Devon 0 - 1 Waterford United (FT)

OneForTheFuture
27/03/2010, 8:16 PM
5-3 Shels

OneForTheFuture
27/03/2010, 8:24 PM
5-3 Shels

Full Time

27/03/2010, 8:33 PM
Shels - Longford games are the ones for goals obviously!

WoodquayBoy
27/03/2010, 9:58 PM

The tackle occurreed at 70.01, he got up at 70.46. And again, why should I give a sh*t about Sullivan? I don't know him, he doesn;t play for my team, I don't care, and how that makes me a ***** in your eyes says more about your Utopian view of life than anything else. Are you having sleepless nights worrying about whether or not Alan Murphy will get the all clear from the scan on his knee? Or whether Nigel Keady will be able to pvercome injury and appear for Mervue United this season?

Ezeikial
27/03/2010, 10:22 PM
why did ya say that?? its not like i let them off....................... :confused2:

Maybe it put it badly - I did not mean you personally. Fans who let off flares or fireworks end up costing the club they profess to "support" in the fines that the FAi impose, irrespective of whether it is at home or away.

L.T.F.C.
28/03/2010, 11:24 AM
Town Match... Great game for goals, not for football. Shels are a good side and will do well. Longford were poor. Shels keeper should have been sent off. There was a certain shout for a second peno for Longford when McEvoy was tripped inside the box, as it stopped a shooting opportunity. Shels manager is mental. I also loved the wee chats with the fourth official and a coach from Shels throughout the match. Town were too sloppy at the back.

CSFShels
28/03/2010, 11:25 AM
Shels manager is mental.
This is true but pot and kettle surely?

28/03/2010, 11:28 AM
Shels are a good side and will do well. Longford were poor.

I would disagree with that. Well we were poor, especially defensively and Lester needs to start in the midfield in future, but I don't think Shels are that good tbh. We gifted them pretty much all their goals except their 3rd, which was well worked in fairness. On that showing last night, I honestly don't think they're too far ahead of us, our defenders just need to start defending. We might be ok then.

CSFShels
28/03/2010, 1:05 PM
I would disagree with that. Well we were poor, especially defensively and Lester needs to start in the midfield in future, but I don't think Shels are that good tbh. We gifted them pretty much all their goals except their 3rd, which was well worked in fairness. On that showing last night, I honestly don't think they're too far ahead of us, our defenders just need to start defending. We might be ok then.
Can you really criticise a side who've just banged 5 goals past you? Granted, we didn't defend amazingly. But 2 of our first choice back 4 were out injured, and another was forced to play with an injury as a result of having no other centre back to replace him. On the run of play we walked all over yous to be honest, especially in midfield.

28/03/2010, 1:18 PM
mons go 1 up in Wexford through Barry Clancy. There will be a delay in updates as am having to get them from text messages from people at the game as there is no electricity in the ground for our reporter to plug in her laptop to update here or anywhere else live.

passerrby
28/03/2010, 1:30 PM
I know micks feelimg financial pressure but the esb bill is a must pay

Dillonman
28/03/2010, 1:39 PM
I know micks feelimg financial pressure but the esb bill is a must pay

Maybe this is why the game is on a Sunday afternoon this time around!

28/03/2010, 1:51 PM
HT Wexford Youths 0-1 Monaghan United

Dillonman
28/03/2010, 1:53 PM
HT Wexford Youths 0-1 Monaghan United

Aertel dont even have the game as kicked off yet!

28/03/2010, 2:05 PM
Can you really criticise a side who've just banged 5 goals past you? Granted, we didn't defend amazingly. But 2 of our first choice back 4 were out injured, and another was forced to play with an injury as a result of having no other centre back to replace him. On the run of play we walked all over yous to be honest, especially in midfield.

I'm not criticising ye, I just don't think ye were anything special. I didn't know that about your defence being injured etc. Agreed that ye walked over us in midfield, that's why I suggested that John Lester has to start for us coz our midfield was a lot stronger in the 2nd half when he came on.

Battery Rover
28/03/2010, 2:51 PM
mons go 1 up in Wexford through Barry Clancy. There will be a delay in updates as am having to get them from text messages from people at the game as there is no electricity in the ground for our reporter to plug in her laptop to update here or anywhere else live.

Its not like you to be missing matches during the league season

Buile Shuibhne
28/03/2010, 2:57 PM
There will be a delay in updates as am having to get them from text messages from people at the game as there is no electricity in the ground for our reporter to plug in her laptop to update here or anywhere else live.

The designated press box / media room is in the clubhouse which is well back at an angle to a corner of the pitch. Not much of a view.

There's a couple of benches at the back of the stand which apparently were put in on a temporary basis when they had the League Final there a couple of years ago. There's a trailing power lead on the floor - but it's not connected anymore.

My laptop battery just about lasted for our game there 2 weeks ago - thanks to Wexford's supporters shop who allowed me to to get a quick re-charge at half time.

28/03/2010, 2:57 PM
I know BR, have another chest infection and just not fit to get outta bed never mind go to games!

28/03/2010, 3:06 PM
FT Wexford Youths 0-1 Monaghan United.

Thankfully thats the first league win under the belt. Onwards and upwards I hope!

Jicked
28/03/2010, 3:26 PM
The tackle occurreed at 70.01, he got up at 70.46. And again, why should I give a sh*t about Sullivan? I don't know him, he doesn;t play for my team, I don't care, and how that makes me a ***** in your eyes says more about your Utopian view of life than anything else. Are you having sleepless nights worrying about whether or not Alan Murphy will get the all clear from the scan on his knee? Or whether Nigel Keady will be able to pvercome injury and appear for Mervue United this season?

No, but I don't take pleasue in seeing opposition players get seriously injured as you did. And yes for me and a lot of other football fans that makes you a bit of a ****.