View Full Version : Mayo League Division 1 2010
Seasider
23/06/2010, 7:38 PM
i think writing off mulranny is a little premature, while we may have had a dip in form the season is far from over. the reason we built up a lead is because we were grinding out results hence the points total. killala were deserved winners on sunday as we had no answer to their front men,who were exceptional on the day, no complaints here. as for the remark that achill are the best team in the division i have my reservations on that one. they had their chances against us but like all season they are struggling for goals and will continue to do so if Jablonski cant stay fit
Maximus
23/06/2010, 10:33 PM
im still hoping knock kiltimagh will come good, great bunch of lads. .
I agree.Im surprised they havnt been winning more games this year they are a good footbaling team with a few class individuals! But they always seem to be languishing around the bottom/mid table every year. I dont think they have many ga player this year either. We have them in the cup semi next thurs. Not expecting an easy game by any means! :fighter:
Kevin Lynch....massive loss, sports long hair, rocks a hairband, plays right or left, an avid ludo player!
Why is he leaving Achill?? Is he not denting their hopes for promotion then :hammer:
Round Tower
25/06/2010, 2:51 PM
European U17 girls Final
Rep.Of Ireland V Spain
26.06.2010- Kick Off-12.30 PM.
One of the biggest days in Mayo Soccer takes place tomorow in Nyon in Switzerland. Aeileen Gilroy from Killala who has been tormenting defences all over Ireland for the last 6 or 7 years will line out on the wing wearing No. 7, she played all 80 minutes of the semi-final win over Germany who were unbeaten for 4 years. The final will shown live on Euroesport 2 and on www.rte.ie/live (http://www.rte.ie/live) at 12.30. The semi-final win means they qualify for the World U17 finalsin Trinidad and Tobago next September. Is she the first fromMayo to play in any major finals
Round Tower
26/06/2010, 5:30 PM
Back to home business but word on Aeileen first tremendous display unlucky not score in the secound half, how the Spanish keeper saved it i dont know. U did us proud why u she was taken off noone knows u could put money on her converting a penalty.
Predictions
Urlaur, Killala, Achill, Castlebar, and a draw
achillrover
27/06/2010, 3:56 PM
Inver 0-2 Achill Rovers
Mulranny 2-3 Moy Villa
purplemonkeydis
27/06/2010, 6:53 PM
killala 0-3 conn rangers
Fox-in-the-box
27/06/2010, 7:20 PM
Celtic 9-0 Manulla
K&K 1-3 Urlaur
Mullranny 2-3 Moy Villa
Killala 0-3 Conn Rangers
Inver 0-2 Achill
Top 2 dropping points and pack below tightening up as season second half starts this league could be anyones yet!
Is there any match reports from Mullranny game? Amazing how quiet Killala get off the back of a loss!
Massive win for Celtic especially coming off the back of first team beatin S&F last nite...
ARFCtoCC07
28/06/2010, 11:34 AM
Inver were poor. Rovers are closing the gap, really hope they go up, good to see so many lads back to top notch form, back 4 clean sheet again. Still lot of work to do, hicks and gillet on the line will do their best to blow it for rovers in my opinion. Mark davitt man of match again, how mulranny could do with him now. If the towering defender stevie mc continues this form he is a shoe in for Team of the year.
Round Tower
28/06/2010, 12:23 PM
Killala 0- 3 Conn Rangers
We nwere useless, Conn Rangers were by far the more hungrier side, they totaly dominated the whole match no excuses. It opens up the whole league especialy with Mulranny loosing, tough game next weekend away to Achill
achillrover
28/06/2010, 3:25 PM
i'll say it now. killala, rovers and conn rangers all to finish ahead of mulranny.
don't say ye weren't warned
purplemonkeydis
28/06/2010, 4:59 PM
how killala and mulranny got so far ahead of the chasing pack i do not know,i wonder is there enough games to catch them
Maximus
28/06/2010, 10:04 PM
how killala and mulranny got so far ahead of the chasing pack i do not know,i wonder is there enough games to catch them
Because both teams showed more consistancy while all the others were dropping silly points to the weaker teams! 2nd half of the season will be different i think as everyone will take points off eachother and there will be no team pulling away! Same as last season.
western gale
30/06/2010, 3:08 PM
Lads anyone out there know the latest state of play in the over-35 league or cup?
Fish-Head
30/06/2010, 3:44 PM
Wrong thread I'm sure.
western gale
30/06/2010, 7:22 PM
Oops, sorry lads
Round Tower
01/07/2010, 11:05 AM
Tonra Cup Semi-finals
Killala V Knock/Kiltimagh-home
If its a repeat of lasts year semi-final for quality and excitement its should be a great game. We played them a couple of weeks ago and won well with 2 late goals which was not a true reflection of the game as Knock/Kilt. had a man sent off early in the game. Iexpect a far closer and much tougher game tonight but i expect our bit of class and the need to erase last weekends poor performance behind us in a home win
Mulranny V Moy Villa-Away
It will be a real test for the home side on the back of 2 losses in the last 2 league games. It should be another close enother and it might take e.t and maybe penalties to settle it Away on pens.
Maximus
01/07/2010, 11:05 PM
Another cup final. Nice!
Killala 1-0 K/K utd.
Round Tower
02/07/2010, 1:21 AM
Killala 1-0 Knock/Kilt
It was hard strugle after Knoxie was sent off forf an off the ball incedant in the secoound hallf. The first was a pretty even afair.After the sending off it was a case off back against the wall, hard work and toil by all the players paid off with a quick counter-attack ended with Malloco being fouled by the keeper and Giggs converting the spot kick. it sets up a cup final against Moy Villa who inflected Mulranny 3 defeat in a row.
achillrover
02/07/2010, 9:20 AM
it sets up a cup final against Moy Villa who inflected Mulranny 3 defeat in a row.
christ that was an awful match
Round Tower
02/07/2010, 10:49 AM
christ that was an awful match[/QUOTE
Is that the Mulranny V Moy Villa game it went to extra time have u any basics report on the game, Moy Villa is suposed to have a no of new signings were any playing last night.
Looking forward to our trip away on Saturday to ye, hope last night exertions does not take its toil on us for that game. Another tough game for Mulranny away to Urlaur which is showing good form lately.
achillrover
02/07/2010, 11:46 AM
Villa better team in first half. well worked goal. Mulranny had more of the ball in second half and probably had the better of the real goal chances, a few bad decisions made by some of their players screwed them over. Villa had a great chance to score late on and kill off the game but a bad bobble meant the shot was sent shckaaaawwwways and wide. they deserved the winner in ET another well worked goal
Best for Villa were the rory delap wannabe, their number 6 and their 9. For mulranny Charlie O'D and Shane Mc were good and the subs had a good influence but i think Villa deserved it.
Round Tower
03/07/2010, 11:34 AM
Predictions
Moy Villa V Cast. Celt B - home
Manulla B V Inver -draw
Achill V Killala - away
Conn Rangers V Knock/Kilt. - hume
Urlaur V Mulranny - draw
Fox-in-the-box
03/07/2010, 4:25 PM
[QUOTE=Moy Villa is suposed to have a no of new signings were any playing last night.QUOTE]
Who have Villa signed our lads are down there this eve...
Round Tower
04/07/2010, 10:43 AM
Achill rovers are the best team in this division by a long shot,have been the past few seasons,fact.
Achill -0 - 4 Killala
I think last night's result proves that illusion to be false. The game was ruined by strong winds and heavy showers of rain. The first half seen some great rteam play in Killala going 3 up at h.t. through Giggs 2 and a Malloco 1. The secound was all Achill as they tried to get back in the game but stout defending by the back four of Sandgie,Knoxie,Ollie and D. Cadden and the midfield. This resulted in Achill resorting to long range shots where Sean Jack twarted everything. A bad mistake by the Achill keeper allowed Malloca an easy tap in. This result leaves Achill with a mountain too climb to get back into contention 8 points behind and only 7 games left. This was a great performance by the whole team after such hard game on Thursday night. Some strange results last night with Mulranny getiing back to wining ways away to Urlaur, Manulla hamering Inver at the bottom. Last night games resulted in a goal feast with 28 goals scored over the 5 games.
Fox-in-the-box
04/07/2010, 11:19 AM
Moy Villa 5 - 2 Celtic
Round Tower
04/07/2010, 11:27 AM
Who have Villa signed our lads are down there this eve
They have Mark Beatie who played a no. of games with us at the start of the season who was with Ballina Town super league team last season and may a couple more from town. he is cup tied for the final as he played for us against Achill.
Fox-in-the-box
04/07/2010, 11:38 AM
Who have Villa signed our lads are down there this eve...
They have Mark Beatie who played a no. of games with us at the start of the season who was with Ballina Town super league team last season and may a couple more from town. he is cup tied for the final as he played for us against Achill.
Ya we noticed that last night he scored 2 of Villas goals they are looking alot stronger from when we played them earlier in season. Knoxie is gonna be a big loss for ye after his red in semi when does his suspension kick in?
Round Tower
04/07/2010, 12:26 PM
Knoxie is gonna be a big loss for ye after his red in semi when does his suspension kick in?[/QUOTE]
Ya a big loss, stupid thing to get caught the lad was stopping from marking a big fella from a free kick, he will miss the final thats all we know, but we have new lad signed this year used play with Lacken Utd, Ollie Clark who is brillant in the air nothing gets past him and a ouple young fellas as lad Fergusion is in America is in America and wont be back for a few weeks.
Round Tower
05/07/2010, 11:59 AM
with new dressing rooms
What happened the new dressing rooms i tought ye were getting them a week after we played ye at home 2 months ago, ye still had the old ones there last Saturday night. By the way Kevin(ARFCtoCC07) you made a great ball boy the last night.
achillrover
05/07/2010, 7:40 PM
Achill -0 - 4 Killala
I think last night's result proves that illusion to be false.
surely you have to at least admit that 4-0 was far too flattering a scoreline seeing as we should have probably been 3 up before ye got yere first. Story of our season that shows no signs of changing... playing teams off the pitch - and thats what happened for the first 35mins- creating guilt edged chances - one one on one with the keeper being missed sticks out and then another couple of chances that fell to lads from set pieces. From our point of view the first goal given away was soft, the second was even worse - didnt follow runners from the throw in , and the third was a shocking gift from the keeper. After that we fell to pieces really..... chugging away but as ya said long range efforts that never really challenged, taking to much outa the ball and taking forever to get shots off. Granted all three goals were taken well. the fourth was just pure counter attack as we pushed on.... and purely cause of yere mano giggsy able to finish anything he gets is the reason ye'll win this league as long as ye can keep conn rangers at bay. Mid table obscurity awaits.....
the_vilians
05/07/2010, 9:39 PM
moy villa unbeatn in near 2months..... doing alright
ARFCtoCC07
06/07/2010, 8:13 AM
I got more touches that a few Rovers players let me tell ya Round Tower and me a spectater, shocking display from some of our players, fitness levels are too low and the fight from some individual is not enough which is part reason why i left. I rared up on management and a few young lads for not pulling their weight, its JUNIOR football now, boys like knoxie wud chew up half our players! We have a good spine, niall conors and steve mc shud be our centre halves, niall has pace which is a must for a foot race for centre half, steve has aerial, conor mc gives an honest shift as wud a half fit martin doolan as wing back, doolans fitness is nil tho! Mark davitt and chad are good centre midfielders, chad still a little light weight for me, i reserve judgement on wingers after last weeks performance! Our polish striker is horribly out of form, its a real concern from all involved as he was our tailisman last year, the curse of captains arm band strikes again! Gigsy will win ye that league hands down, mulranny will choke again. Rovers v mulranny will decide alot. I sadly miss that game as it was a great buzz playin them in currane, instead ill be gettin the **** kicked outta me in Super league, lord god erris hacked me up last sunday. Ask for the new dressing rooms round tower?????????
Fox-in-the-box
06/07/2010, 12:14 PM
moy villa unbeatn in near 2months..... doing alright
About time Moy Villa got a say on here! I was there on Sat to witness some great football from both sides only difference was your defence stood strong and we crumbled!! That Beattie lad had us on our knees for the first half well first 10 min anyway two great goals we were to busy trying to keep that Durcan lad quiet and it ended up that the rest of your front lads all scored!! Junior still hasnt lost his head at the back we were hoping his legs wouldnt hold out after your cup game but never got him turned to test them! Ye were alot stronger from earlier in the season and from my point of view if ye win the right games at the right times ye will be there for promotion at the end...
Round Tower
06/07/2010, 1:35 PM
Ye were alot stronger from earlier in the season and from my point of view if ye win the right games at the right times ye will be there for promotion at the end...[/QUOTE]
Yes they have 3 big games in August in a row, playing Killala, Conn Rangers and Achill Rovers so if they can take 6 or 7 points out of them they could be in the shake-up, it will probaly come down too who drops the least amount of points to the other clubs in the division. The Beatie lad probaly did not suit our style of play where we like to play ball to our 2 wingers or over the top for our 2 fast wingers and Gigsy and Malocca up front.
ARFCtoCC07
07/07/2010, 8:40 AM
Anyone but Mulranny to go up, they win a few games early on and they think they are world beaters, earth to mulranny this is Division 1 football in a Junior mayo league!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Round Tower
07/07/2010, 10:24 AM
Anyone but Mulranny to go up, they win a few games early on and they think they are world beaters, earth to mulranny this is Division 1 football in a Junior mayo league!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!
A.B.M-All But Mulranny- is this a new group you are are promoting.
Is there anyone members,supporters or anyone willing to defend them on this forum site as we are only hearing one side.
FahyForever
07/07/2010, 12:06 PM
I'm not from Mulranny but Fahy have played them dozens of times and they always seemed a sound bunch of lads to me. Where does the impression that they 'think they are world beaters' come from? How they celebrate winning matches? If they have no representation on here I don't understand why people here have a problem with them! I have no experience of them in the last few years, I'm just wondering.
Round Tower
07/07/2010, 3:31 PM
I'm not from Mulranny but Fahy have played them dozens of times and they always seemed a sound bunch of lads to me. Where does the impression that they 'think they are world beaters' come from? How they celebrate winning matches? If they have no representation on here I don't understand why people here have a problem with them! I have no experience of them in the last few years, I'm just wondering.
I think some of the anti is just the bitter local rivalry between Achill and Mulranny (Achill Rovers and ARFCtoCCo7) and Mulranny admithed they were lucky aginst Mulranny. I will admit that we were lucky ourselves especialy Conn Rangers and the First 15 to 20 minutes against Achill. To win trophies and titles you have to a rub of the green along the way. Found the Mulrany lads sound the last day and i think its great that teams going back to the home teams pub seems to be coming back, i know its not easy done on a Saturday's nights. Only problem i wiould have with Mulranny is their pitch which left alot to be desired and with modern machinery it does not take much to keep a pitch in reasonable condition. Mayo league should start a competation for the best pitch surfaces in the league outside Milebush and honouring the groundsmen responsible. our own pitch would be up thier in the top 2 or 3, they even had a course on playing surface conditions.
Round Tower
10/07/2010, 10:14 AM
Predictions
Urlaur V Moy Villa - Away
Mulranny V Conn Rangers - Draw
Kilt/Knock V Achill Rovers - Away
Killala V Manulla B - Home
Inver Utd V C'bar Cel B-Away
Round Tower
10/07/2010, 3:56 PM
Killala V Manulla B-off
Killala's game tomorow and Mondays U16's off due one of the lads father is dead.
purplemonkeydis
11/07/2010, 7:10 PM
Mulranny 0 - 1 Conn Rangers
ARFCtoCC07
12/07/2010, 8:42 AM
Come on conn rangers, great results against mulranny! Half of the mulrannny players must have been playing at the world cup final.....
ARFCtoCC07
12/07/2010, 8:47 AM
Whats going wrong at Achill Rovers, pains me to say it but management have got it all wrong on too many occassions this season, yet little or no action is taken or any players speaking up against methods, tactics, substitutions etc. The formation played yday v knock kiltmagh was baffling to say the least, the players didnt know where to play. Granted Rovers were misssing stalwarts Conor Mcginty, Stevei "Agger" McNulty, niall "noel cooney" Connors, and jimmy k, they were also missing a few others but noone really worth mentioing TBH. Hats offf to Andy on that goal yday, great bunch of lads in knock kiltimagh, sound unlike a few teams in this league!
Round Tower
12/07/2010, 2:40 PM
After the weekend results its down to a 3 horse race, Killala, Mulranny and Conn Rangers, this is the order they are at the moment in the table.
ARFCtoCC07
16/07/2010, 10:36 AM
Rovers v Mulranny next, stick it to them Rovers! the squeak coming out of achill is that there has been an offer of significant investment put to the board in last tuesday meeting,with a view of a complete overhual of the set up starting with management, here here i say, here f**kin here!
Round Tower
16/07/2010, 6:23 PM
TONRA CUP FINAL
Moy Villa V Killala
The big divisional final between 2 neighbours. Lets hope the weather picks up and it wont be ruined by strong winds and rain. It should be a good close game with both clubs showing good form lately bar Moy Villas last game against Urlaur, i expect they put out a weakened team out. The big wide expanse and the good surface will suit us better i believe. We have won every game in our division away from home this season including away to Conn Rangers,Mulranny and Achill. Moy Villa wil be mising Beatie who is club tied and we will be mising Knoxie who is suspended. I predict killala to win by maybe a goal or 2 possibly after E.T.
Seasider
17/07/2010, 3:34 PM
good luck to both Killala and Moyvilla in tomorrows final
secerts
18/07/2010, 10:55 PM
well done moy villa, best team won on day.....
Round Tower
19/07/2010, 10:43 AM
well done moy villa, best team won on day.....
Probaly just about, we did not play well atall very disapointed it was a hard way to loose, with a bit of luck our keeper woulf have saved 2 or 3 of their penalties. So its back to the league on thursday night against Manulla and not do Ballyglass on it last year after we beat them in the cup they nearly blew the league.
Round Tower
22/07/2010, 11:21 PM
Killala 5 - 1 Manulla B
A Giggs treble and Malloco 2 got a Killala back to wining ways after Sundays cup defeat on penos that puts us 3 points clear at the top with 6 games left. Its seem that our game on Sunday against Castlebar Celt B is being played on a Astro turf pitch which is barely the minum size allowed, is it a ploy to help them surive in the division, some story about relaying the goal mouths, why was'nt this done before the season started.