View Full Version : Sporting Fingal Gone Belly Up

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31

hoopy
09/02/2011, 5:52 PM
:(

maybe I will still have a club to support no matter what the level.

You're very welcome to become a Tallaght Stadium regular this season. You'll be able to tell Gary O'Neill all about it.

Strawberry
09/02/2011, 5:54 PM
LTFC ,Nope. Maybe we should have followed Longford and save a few quid by selling the same match programme for every game of the season with just some post it stickers covering the team lists.

Maybe you should have followed them by running a sustainable football club

Hairy Bowsie
09/02/2011, 5:56 PM
John Lennon says it so much better than me.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqP3wT5lpa4

Spudulika
Just watching Mission Impossible I on ctc, wanted to see how many ghouls were out and surprisingly there is a fair bit of decency on the thread, to a degree. Amazingly only one club have transgressed, no other club is in the slightest bit of bother. So let's all sit on the tigers back and enjoy it while it lasts, this is the LOI, when being a meal for the tiger is only one wobble away.

legendz
I hope Fingal will resurrect a club for the Fingal community. Not to go on but the A Championship needs to remain for potential new clubs as a pathway to the LoI.

hoopy
09/02/2011, 5:58 PM
So what Fingal players do you all want?

bullit
09/02/2011, 6:00 PM
RTE sport @ 7 should be worth a listen

http://www.rte.ie/sport/sportat7.html

http://www.rte.ie/radio/liveplayer_av.html?1,null,200,http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/live/radio/radio1.smil

We'll take Bolger if Fingal have already footed the bill :D

Also Finn, Byrne, Ger O Brien.

Conan please.

Ezeikial
Not to go on but the A Championship needs to...........

You're kidding, aren't you?

Strawberry
09/02/2011, 6:01 PM
Finn and Byrne could be handy to have i guess

09/02/2011, 6:05 PM
Doesn't Conan Byrne have a job linked to the club as well? Double bogey.

Flawless
09/02/2011, 6:05 PM
I think we'd take a back four! :D

hoopy
09/02/2011, 6:06 PM
Finn and Byrne could be handy to have i guess

Cook approached Ger O'Brien a few weeks back so I'd be surprised if he doesn't again now.

Strawberry
09/02/2011, 6:11 PM
Cook approached Ger O'Brien a few weeks back so I'd be surprised if he doesn't again now.

Maybe but I think were alright for defenders at the minute. We need attacking players now and Byrne and Finn are much more available then they were a few weeks ago. Not sure we have the money for them though, Might have to pay them under the table.

Verdebianco
09/02/2011, 6:13 PM
Dan McDonnell and PFAI gonna be on Newstalk soon. Tony O'Donoghue had very little to add on Radio 1

Dan6189
09/02/2011, 6:20 PM
What puzzles me is who did fingal supporters follow 3 year ago, where did they come from ?

Strawberry
09/02/2011, 6:22 PM
What puzzles me is who did fingal supporters follow 3 year ago, where did they come from ?

I imagine they were football fans who suddenly had a local side. I didn't like Fingal but all clubs have to start somewhere

Lamper.sffc
09/02/2011, 6:22 PM
This was foretold in the previous 59 pages before today. You can't just be in the top from day 1. The Lep and Lamper sffc should be eating an arseload of humble pie.

Not really mate.

Hairy Bowsie
09/02/2011, 6:25 PM
Fair play lads, you still have your pride :D

Lamper.sffc
09/02/2011, 6:29 PM

Fingal ;)

I imagine they were football fans who suddenly had a local side. I didn't like Fingal but all clubs have to start somewhere

I for one was new to the loi and started supporting the club because they where my local club. Others where the same. Im going to find it very difficult if I have no more live football on fridays. I know people are saying head to this or that club and support them but it wont be the same. I guess ill still try to get to some games as a neutral because the league deserves more irish support regardless.

Lamper.sffc
09/02/2011, 6:30 PM
Fair play lads, you still have your pride :D

Iv nothing to feel humble about.

Dillonman
09/02/2011, 6:32 PM
Has the FAI advanced money to Fingal after last week or was that planned? If so then I take it the FAI are at a loss there now.

total hoofball
09/02/2011, 6:34 PM
Its always bad to see a club go and I hope ye can keep a club going, be it in the a championship for a year or two and buidl slowly this time.
They have defaulted on contracts, unless they come to an agreement on compensation with the players the club won't get a licence for any division

What could be explosive is if Fingal Co. Co. still have a shareholding in the club, the players could go after the council/the taxpayer for compo.

Many questions have to be answered in this fine mess

Dan6189
09/02/2011, 6:49 PM

Fair enough answer but it can't be as bad as say pats bohs or rovers goin bang for good with the history they have, but I hear where your coming from as Id be lost without a game on Fridays

Spudulika
09/02/2011, 6:53 PM
Money paid to players last week was from UEFA and prizemoney, which makes the FAI quits. Fingal Co Co have lots to answer for and there is a fair deal of political backside covering going on. Unfortunately local councils barely have enough money to fill the potholes in preferred areas roads let alone for sports facilities or clubs. It just goes back to show that the LOI in it's current form is completely unsuitable for professional clubs, or football in general. We're all only one bounced cheque away from trouble.

Strawberry
09/02/2011, 6:53 PM
Fair enough answer but it can't be as bad as say pats bohs or rovers goin bang for good with the history they have, but I hear where your coming from as Id be lost without a game on Fridays

Im not sorry to see the back of them either, they were the Irish version of all thats wrong with the sport, but I'd feel sorry for the supporters.

Mr_Parker
09/02/2011, 7:14 PM
Money paid to players last week was from UEFA and prizemoney,

What Uefa money was due to SP?

Shedendinvisibl
09/02/2011, 7:16 PM
What Uefa money was due to SP?

Inter Toto Cup money and possibly prize money for finishing in their respective league position.

Shedendinvisibl
09/02/2011, 7:18 PM
Im not sorry to see the back of them either, they were the Irish version of all thats wrong with the sport, but I'd feel sorry for the supporters.

Ah come on, I only feel sorry for half of them; he's a decent guy and good for a drink :)

09/02/2011, 7:19 PM
It just goes back to show that the LOI in it's current form is completely unsuitable for professional clubs, or football in general. We're all only one bounced cheque away from trouble.

There's a fair few clubs running themselves in a proper manner nowadays. Every business is "one bounced cheque away from trouble". Bouncing cheques is trouble by definition almost.

Mr_Parker
09/02/2011, 7:21 PM
Inter Toto Cup money and possibly prize money for finishing in their respective league position.

I presume you meant Europa League, but surely that money would have been paid to clubs some months back?

Shedendinvisibl
09/02/2011, 7:28 PM
I presume you meant Europa League, but surely that money would have been paid to clubs some months back?

AFAIK It isn't paid until well after the end of the season it was earned in and even then, it's paid to the federation first off.

09/02/2011, 7:32 PM
The FAI have been advancing European money to clubs for years. I know they did it for us in the past and we certainly were never a club they'd go out of their way to favour.

Spudulika
09/02/2011, 7:40 PM
There's a fair few clubs running themselves in a proper manner nowadays. Every business is "one bounced cheque away from trouble". Bouncing cheques is trouble by definition almost.

Longfordian, I like how you've inserted "nowadays", until the next rush of blood and testosterone comes and suddenly the buckets are out being rattled again. No club is immune. No club is unique. We can all see it happen to our club and for the life of me I just can't see there ever being an end to it. I'd love to point the finger, however like the reasons for the French loss at Waterloo, there isn't a single point that can solely be blamed.

oriel
09/02/2011, 7:46 PM
It does and if Bohs dont get the go ahead for Europe, Dundalka re back in by default yet again!

Have Bohs not already pulled out of the Setanta ? I cant see how they are even expecting to be nominated to play in Europe.

Mario
09/02/2011, 7:49 PM
The remaining players were asked today to all take a 33% pay cut ...
Which was rejected as the players reckoned that this would only postpone the inevitable and wasnt going to be the solution to the money problems ...
Looks now as if the club willl fold!

09/02/2011, 7:51 PM
Spudulika, I take your point in that it's generally been a cyclical affair with as you say most clubs guilty at some point. But the future actions of clubs is not something that can be definitively controlled now. If the vast majority of clubs are running their affairs the right way now then that's as much as can be hoped for at present. Along with proper monitoring to attempt to ensure they can't go the same way again, which brings us to the FAI..

L.T.F.C.
09/02/2011, 7:52 PM
LTFC ,Nope. Maybe we should have followed Longford and save a few quid by selling the same match programme for every game of the season with just some post it stickers covering the team lists.

Ohh you got me...*ouch* right where it hurts... *oooh aaahh* stopping ourselves from going under... *owie* and being able to pay our players every week...

L.T.F.C.
09/02/2011, 7:56 PM
Not really mate.
Just like your one colleague on here, you better put your bib on cos I hear humble pie is very messy! :D

Lamper.sffc
09/02/2011, 7:59 PM
Just like your one colleague on here, you better put your bib on cos I hear humble pie is very messy! :D

Humble pie for what exactly?

OneForTheFuture
09/02/2011, 8:00 PM
For supper........obviously.

Mr_Parker
09/02/2011, 8:01 PM
AFAIK It isn't paid until well after the end of the season it was earned in and even then, it's paid to the federation first off.

Yes the association gets it first but iirc the IFA pay out Oct/Nov and not at the end of the season.

Dillonman
09/02/2011, 8:06 PM
Have Bohs not already pulled out of the Setanta ? I cant see how they are even expecting to be nominated to play in Europe.

I dont think its been confirmed yet that they have pulled out.

09/02/2011, 8:12 PM
They are expected to field a team of U-21's apparently

abcd
09/02/2011, 8:13 PM
Sad to see any club going under and no club in the LOI can say much about a club not being run properly as the vast majority have had money issues at one point or another. However, Fingal was a disaster waiting to happen for a long time. They came into the league at a time when there were multiple clubs either folding, being demoted, not paying wages, wage cuts etc.

They were operating off a clean slate and should have been able to see that the best move to make the club sustainable was not paying big wages with no real security to back it up. They had a chance to build something sustainable similar to the likes of Wexford, Bray, Monaghan etc.

In fairness it appears Fingal have been honourable in terms of wages which is a credit to them when compared to a lot of clubs including Galway. However, you'd have to question how they were allowed to be signing players up to last week? I hope they survive in some format and perhaps return to what they should have been at the start, a community club.

Most of their players should get contracts elsewhere but their wage demands will be reduced big time. Good news for Pats as they'll be back in Europe.

Oldred
09/02/2011, 9:32 PM
I agree with most posters on here that is rough on the supporters of any club that goes under, small in number though they may be, but it's worse on the employees of the club who are now officially unemployed. And this is where my gripe with Fingals management is. Peoples lives were being played with. Some person or persons in the background knew this day was more than likely going to arrive, and sooner rather than later. Yet they continued to issue employment contracts right up to a few days ago while knowing they would soon be worthless. They took on a Commercial Manager less than two weeks ago. Was he supposed to perform miracles immediately? Was he or any of the players told the future was looking very, very bleak when the contracts were being put on the table for signing? If this was done in the normal business world there would be public outcry. But nothing is "normal" in the LoI.
I genuinely feel sorry for Lamper and the Lep who have come on here and constantly defended their club and believed in their club. Such loyal supporters are as valuable to any club as the team. But I'm sure they too must feel very let down.
Let's hope every other club now wakes up and smells the coffee and that we do'nt have the same thread on here next year about somebody else.

sheao
09/02/2011, 10:18 PM
As always it's a shame to see this sort of thing happen and when it does it is a sad day for the League Of Ireland as players are out of work and fans lose a team to support .

sixesandsevens
09/02/2011, 11:12 PM
Must say that its sad to see another club go under in this fashion, franchising the club was definitely a worthwhile experiment and Fingal CC should be commended for getting involved in the LoI in the way that they have. But after their first season it seemed that the club wanted to move on too fast and made the same mistakes as every other team in the League of spending way over their budget, going for the big prizes instead of building the club up slowly at grass roots level to generate some income.
All Irish clubs are going to have see sense soon or we'll be left with seven or eight team league. Bohs, Galway, Drogheda are all on the same slippery slope as Fingal and god knows what other clubs have a financial crisis on the horizon

bluepowers
09/02/2011, 11:20 PM
R.I.P Sporting Fingal FC