View Full Version : Sporting Fingal Gone Belly Up
24/12/2010, 12:48 AM
What is the genuine reason?
The Lep
24/12/2010, 12:51 AM
Its in the club statement.
http://www.sportingfingal.ie/News/tabid/1260/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/3719/Default.aspx
24/12/2010, 8:59 AM
So nothing new there. I wanted juice on this miserable day.
Lamper.sffc
24/12/2010, 10:03 AM
So nothing new there. I wanted juice on this miserable day.
What? Christmas eve. That club of yours really does make yous the most blackhearted. :p
passerrby
24/12/2010, 10:23 AM
I hate to be the one to point it out to you, however since it was a response to my post it's just kind of normal. You've just said Fingal were established for reasons other than football, true, they play a large role in a number of community development programmes and initiatives that have been very successful - I've personal experience of this in the area my parents live in. So true on that one.
Your regret the demise of Bohs, but not Sporting Fingal - because you veer towards the latter buying their way to success. Hmm, odd that, I thought the ott contracts, bank loans and squandering of the good will and support of loyal supporters would be classed as attempting to buy success. Similar to Shels, Cork, Derry etc. Or is there another reason why you'd prefer to see a league club go out of existence?
no not at all I firmly believe it was a experiment doomed to failure sooner rather than later. I never liked the idea of parachuting teams into the league until they can show there ability to last the pace ,Bohs were foolish ,reckless even and i hope they pay the price but will survive in some form or other because of the fanbase and history.
and as i said if the powers that run the league spend more time trying to improve the clubs rather than looking for replacement clubs with even more frailities then our league might have some hope.
24/12/2010, 1:36 PM
no not at all I firmly believe it was a experiment doomed to failure sooner rather than later. I never liked the idea of parachuting teams into the league until they can show there ability to last the pace ,Bohs were foolish ,reckless even and i hope they pay the price but will survive in some form or other because of the fanbase and history.
and as i said if the powers that run the league spend more time trying to improve the clubs rather than looking for replacement clubs with even more frailities then our league might have some hope.
Wherever did you get the idea Fingal have more frailties than the other clubs? They have a lower than average attendance but other than that they have a much smaller debt level than any other club in the league. Their current problem is of liquidity and possibly setting their sights a little too high. That's much easier to fix than the chronic debt problems facing half last year's Premier Division.
superjohnny
24/12/2010, 1:53 PM
Who ever thought fingal would have made it longer than a few years are deluded.
Gretna are a perfect example...!! its time to wake up and smell the coffee, thay are donald ducked.
Buile Shuibhne
24/12/2010, 3:33 PM
If they did manage to secure any new supporters from Dublin 15, what happens when they go to Lusk?
They sit in a nice new stadium watching football.
How do they access the arsehole of Lusk from D15?
Down the M50 and the M1 and follow the signs to Lusk.
They can't even get to Morton.
"We have long been conscious of the fact that Santry is not an easy place to get to from this area. Phibsborough, however, is readily accessible by public transport from most parts of the county."
The Lep
24/12/2010, 5:11 PM
They have cars out in D15 these days not just horses.
24/12/2010, 5:14 PM
Mr Corr, meanwhile, [...] warned the majority of Irish clubs would have to turn part-time to survive
What planet is this guy on?
de bowez
24/12/2010, 6:58 PM
They have cars out in D15 these days not just horses.
Special cars that go to Lusk and Phibsboro but not Santry? Welcome to Dalymount btw, make sure to feel at home in the bars aswell.
The Lep
24/12/2010, 8:06 PM
What planet is this guy on?
He has a point. Joe that is.
The Lep
24/12/2010, 8:07 PM
Special cars that go to Lusk and Phibsboro but not Santry? Welcome to Dalymount btw, make sure to feel at home in the bars aswell.
Trust me. they went to santry as well :) Thanks for the welcome, the bars are a big plus :)
Spudulika
24/12/2010, 8:13 PM
And Monaghan entered the league how????/ Look, if you're going to purely go by fanbase, then Mons would be gone, you'd get rid of Mervue, Salthill, or any other club starting out, or worse still, clubs who are having hard times. You can blame the "powers that run the league" with it's ills, but Fran Gavin didn't force Nutsy to sign up whoever he could, or for clubs to pay under the table, or for Derry to by-pass Monaghan on the way back up. If you hit Fingal with the criteria you've stated, then there are a lot of clubs who deserve to be thrown out, unless they have a fanbase and history of course.
24/12/2010, 8:39 PM
He has a point. Joe that is.
http://www.rankia.com/blog/familyoffice/uploaded_images/London-Herald-Titanic-Sinks-101070-748591.jpg
sullanefc
25/12/2010, 6:54 AM
More fans would obviously be an advantage to help a football club survive, but I've never heard of history saving a football club. :rolleyes:
I also find it quite sad that a fan from a sh*t club like UCD is taking joy/trolling in the possible demise of Sp Fingal. If we made a league table of clubs we'd like to see go under, then UCD would be higher up than Sp Fingal.
25/12/2010, 7:46 AM
What? Christmas eve. That club of yours really does make yous the most blackhearted. :p
Miserable because I am dying with a cold. Eugh... spring out the tiny violins.
Sullane, that's not entirely true. Nothing in essence was wrong with the creation of Spingal. What exercised everyone was how the FAI mollycoddled them at the expense of clubs that we already had that were struggling.
The other issue was that a Dublin-centric league far from needing another Dublin club actually needed less.
passerrby
25/12/2010, 11:30 AM
Wherever did you get the idea Fingal have more frailties than the other clubs? They have a lower than average attendance but other than that they have a much smaller debt level than any other club in the league. Their current problem is of liquidity and possibly setting their sights a little too high. That's much easier to fix than the chronic debt problems facing half last year's Premier Division.
qiute simply they had nothing but aspirations and a man with his own agenda that was all fingal had to offer and when he fell the whole deck of cards would follow, with no imbedded history like bohs to cusion the fall.
I was not expounding the virtues of a massive fanbase as the only way forward but was saying it should be a requisite for joingingfthe LOI otherwise you are only replacing clubs with more potentially doomed cliubs
Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/12/2010, 11:58 AM
More fans would obviously be an advantage to help a football club survive, but I've never heard of history saving a football club. :rolleyes:
I also find it quite sad that a fan from a sh*t club like UCD is taking joy/trolling in the possible demise of Sp Fingal. If we made a league table of clubs we'd like to see go under, then UCD would be higher up than Sp Fingal.
Oh no they wouldn't....
How are UCD a sh*t club exactly? They're in the league for over 30 years and I can't remember them ever being involved in a bad news story for the league (certainly open to correction there). I think they're a credit to the league in all the time they've been here.
**FrOsTy**
25/12/2010, 12:21 PM
And have also developed some top top players in the league
orielabu
25/12/2010, 5:33 PM
"...quite simply they had nothing but aspirations..." Anybody know the name of any club of whom the same couldn't be said. Since when were aspirations a crime. The whole bloody LOI consists of clubs with 'nothing but aspirations'.
What else have they got. And don't say history...that's what St James's Gate, Cork Celtic and Transport had in spades...and look where it got them.
peadar1987
25/12/2010, 11:02 PM
The Fingal-bashing is quite frankly pathetic. Sure, they don't have much history behind them, and they were reliant on cash input from one man, but there's not exactly the same special level of hatred reserved for Wexford Youths.
As for the fanbase, UCD seem to manage fine with small attendances, and nobody is pleasuring themselves while imagining Salthill Devon running into financial trouble. Also, Lusk is a major catchment area if the club ever manage to get to there.
I, for one, wish Sporting Fingal FC the best, and hope that they can put together a sensible budget and reasonable team for next season to compensate for the loss of income due to Gannon pulling out.
White Horse
26/12/2010, 9:30 AM
The Fingal-bashing is quite frankly pathetic. Sure, they don't have much history behind them, and they were reliant on cash input from one man, but there's not exactly the same special level of hatred reserved for Wexford Youths.
Is it hatred for Fingal or for the danger they pose to the league?
When sugar-daddy funded entities enter the lague, it puts pressure on supporter funded clubs to increase spending to match their new rivals. Clubs with a histories going back a hundred years can self-destruct in such an event.
Entities like Fingal offer nothing to the league except problems.
Apart from some inter-Dublin squabbling on this thread, I think recognition of this danger forms the basis of the lack of goodwill towards them.
26/12/2010, 10:04 AM
The strategy of Wexford Youths was to invest heavily in the infrastructure of the club and in youth development in order to create a base for the future. On the other hand, Fingal have followed the nomadic Dublin City model of pumping funds into the wages of the first team squad while neglecting to create a home for themselves. You cannot compare those two strategies. They're polar opposites.
peadar1987
26/12/2010, 10:20 AM
But the level of spending from Fingal doesn't come close to the arms race between the likes of Cork, Shels and Bohs. It also has done nowhere near the same amount of damage to the league, and yet again, very few people without hooped jerseys are on the Bohs thread hoping the club go out of existence.
Don't get me wrong, I don't agree with Fingal's financial or footballing strategy, and I think that unless they start cutting the wage bill and investing more significantly in expanding their fanbase, they will go to the wall, but I'm not as happy as some people on here seem to be about that prospect
White Horse
26/12/2010, 11:10 AM
But the level of spending from Fingal doesn't come close to the arms race between the likes of Cork, Shels and Bohs.
It would be interesting to compare the non-supporter funded spending of Fingal to that of the other clubs you mention.
passerrby
26/12/2010, 11:15 AM
nobody I dont think takes any pleasure in seeing a club fold, I think the point most posters are making is this situation was fortold on day one as an accident waiting to happen. and now that its come to pass it gives the naysayers in the media another chance to rip the crap out of our league
Lamper.sffc
26/12/2010, 1:12 PM
When sugar-daddy funded entities enter the lague, it puts pressure on supporter funded clubs to increase spending to match their new rivals. Clubs with a histories going back a hundred years can self-destruct in such an event.
Apart from some inter-Dublin squabbling on this thread, I think recognition of this danger forms the basis of the lack of goodwill towards them.
For some its a hatred thing, others its genuine concern.
I take certain points made by yourself and other posters but if other clubs increase their spending because the likes of fingal have money then thats not our fault, its the other clubs. We only spent the money we had unlike other clubs in the league. We no longer seem to have that money so if we now carry on as if we still have that cash and make promises we cant keep, dont pay wages and renege on contracts then we are doing things completely wrong and deserve any critique thrown at us but that hasnt happened as of yet and I will be the first one to hold my hand up if it does happen.
There has been a lot iv wanted to say lately but im going to keep it to myself for now.
Personally I hope no teams go out of business as the league needs a sustained period of stability.
The Lep
26/12/2010, 4:04 PM
nobody I dont think takes any pleasure in seeing a club fold, I think the point most posters are making is this situation was fortold on day one as an accident waiting to happen. and now that its come to pass it gives the naysayers in the media another chance to rip the crap out of our league
What accident has come to pass.? Having a reduced budget is not an accident now is it and Fingal hasnt given any media a reason to rip the crap out of the league. There is a tad bit of resentment from some fans of the smaller teams or those on a small budget towards the budget we had and our style of play which was complemented in the media often.
The Lep
26/12/2010, 4:25 PM
QUOTE=White Horse;1436523]Is it hatred for Fingal or for the danger they pose to the league?
Apart from some inter-Dublin squabbling on this thread, I think recognition of this danger forms the basis of the lack of goodwill towards them.[/QUOTE]
What Danger? A danger to a clubs league position?
Clubs from the start always try and improve each season depending on the money they have and the players available to them and what way they want to use that money. I cant see a club trying to seek the same budget as say Fingal last year or Shells and cork and bohs etc before as that would be just silly .
Clubs have self destruct before Fingal came on the scene and its like saying the probs at Bohs and galway etc are down to Fingal.
I disagree, Fingal has brought in fresh air to league which was stagnatting between the same few teams. It has brought in more fans to the league no matter how many that is who didnt follow any other league team before .
The only danger Fingal pose is to the league postitions and your clubs chances of winning ( by your club i mean any league club ) which i believe is the key point in many of the hatred towards Fingal. Now dont get me wrong, a lot of posters have made perfect sense in their views regarding Fingal and the league etc and i for one respect those views and take them on board.
26/12/2010, 4:51 PM
This is my last post on the thread and on the board . I enjoyed the discussion no matter if it was postitive or negative against Fingal but there isnt a point to carry on posting if your posts keep getting removed for so called trolling even if those posts are made in reply to obvious wind up posts.
Thanks and goodbye.
Well that didn't last long.
Dude, as long as you've decided to stay, could you try to learn how to quote a bloody post correctly? It's a nuisance trying to read through this sort of crap:
If they did manage to secure any new supporters from Dublin 15, what happens when they go to Lusk?
They sit in a nice new stadium watching football.
How do they access the arsehole of Lusk from D15?[/QUOTE]
Down the M50 and the M1 and follow the signs to Lusk.
QUOTE=White Horse;1436523]Is it hatred for Fingal or for the danger they pose to the league?
What Danger? A danger to a clubs league position?
Clubs from the start always try and improve each season depending on the money they have and the players available to them and what way they want to use that money. I cant see a club trying to seek the same budget as say Fingal last year or Shells and cork and bohs etc before as that would be just silly .
Clubs have self destruct before Fingal came on the scene and its like saying the probs at Bohs and galway etc are down to Fingal.
I disagree, Fingal has brought in fresh air to league which was stagnatting between the same few teams. It has brought in more fans to the league no matter how many that is who didnt follow any other league team before .
The only danger Fingal pose is to the league postitions and your clubs chances of winning ( by your club i mean any league club ) which i believe is the key point in many of the hatred towards Fingal. Now dont get me wrong, a lot of posters have made perfect sense in their views regarding Fingal and the league etc and i for one respect those views and take them on board.
26/12/2010, 4:54 PM
Dude
Dear God, Aberdonian Stu's gotten to you too! :eek:
L.T.F.C.
26/12/2010, 5:34 PM
Well that didn't last long.
Dude, as long as you've decided to stay, could you try to learn how to quote a bloody post correctly? It's a nuisance trying to read through this sort of crap:
People that can't quote properly, or throw up rags of posts should be removed from the forum.
I take certain points made by yourself and other posters but if other clubs increase their spending because the likes of fingal have money then thats not our fault, its the other clubs. We only spent the money we had unlike other clubs in the league. We no longer seem to have that money so if we now carry on as if we still have that cash and make promises we cant keep, dont pay wages and renege on contracts then we are doing things completely wrong and deserve any critique thrown at us but that hasnt happened as of yet and I will be the first one to hold my hand up if it does happen.
There has been a lot iv wanted to say lately but im going to keep it to myself for now.
You'll be the first one to hold your hand up if the club does fold/go bankruptcy? You deserve critique if it does? Well fair play to you. Fair play to you.
If Fingal don't have that money they had, and carry on as if they still have that cash and make promises they cant keep, don't pay wages and renege on contracts and are doing things completely wrong, knowing what Cork, Derry, Shelbourne, and now Bohemians did they should be dissolved on the spot.
26/12/2010, 6:57 PM
Dude
http://digitalpolyphony.webs.com/waynes-world_l.jpg
:p
redobit
26/12/2010, 7:23 PM
For some its a hatred thing, others its genuine concern.
Personally I hope no teams go out of business as the league needs a sustained period of stability.
Thats begs the question how ye could have made a loss of 75K in a Cup winning and promotion sucessful season? (open to correction on that btw)
The Lep
26/12/2010, 9:50 PM
People that can't quote properly, or throw up rags of posts should be removed from the forum.
You'll be the first one to hold your hand up if the club does fold/go bankruptcy? You deserve critique if it does? Well fair play to you. Fair play to you.
If Fingal don't have that money they had, and carry on as if they still have that cash and make promises they cant keep, don't pay wages and renege on contracts and are doing things completely wrong, knowing what Cork, Derry, Shelbourne, and now Bohemians did they should be dissolved on the spot.
Agreed, whatever the ruling is should be applied. Wouldnt have an argument on that one.
Oz Student
27/12/2010, 11:34 PM
I also find it quite sad that a fan from a sh*t club like UCD is taking joy/trolling in the possible demise of Sp Fingal. If we made a league table of clubs we'd like to see go under, then UCD would be higher up than Sp Fingal.Bankruptcy isn't decided by popularity, it's decided by whether you build up debts you can't pay.
That's the lesson the league needs to learn.
28/12/2010, 12:40 AM
How did UCD get an opportunity to join the league in the first place? A Cork club went bust for the umpteenth and not the last time. Thirty one years in LOI senior football and counting. There's a lot less people calling for our heads than there were five or so years ago. You've had as many reincarnations that the Dalai Lama, instead of baying for our blood you might take a few lessons from us in sustainability for your latest go.
28/12/2010, 12:57 PM
Its a reflection of the league, and not UCD, that they've been in the premier division more often than not.
If the "big clubs" can't get past a club with no money and no mans, whats the point in being a "big club"?
I genuinely mean no disrespect to UCD when I say if the rest of the clubs got their act together they'd have no place in a thriving premier division. But as long as other clubs fail, they'll be there.
28/12/2010, 1:12 PM
I genuinely mean no disrespect to UCD when I say if the rest of the clubs got their act together they'd have no place in a thriving premier division.
I think UCD fans have said that as often as anyone else on here.
28/12/2010, 1:48 PM
I don't think that's fair. There are teams in most leagues around Europe that have small budgets and fanbases and are content to just keep the show on the road each year.
28/12/2010, 2:06 PM
I read it as that we wouldn't be able to get promoted into the Premier cos the "bigger" teams would keep finishing ahead of us. Any team has a place in any division if they get there fairly (the more so if they're sustainable).
28/12/2010, 2:10 PM
Well at the rate clubs go bust in this country he might just have a point.
edit: actually no that's circular reasoning
CSFShels
28/12/2010, 2:25 PM
I read it as that we wouldn't be able to get promoted into the Premier cos the "bigger" teams would keep finishing ahead of us. Any team has a place in any division if they get there fairly (the more so if they're sustainable).
And to be fair, UCD had to go head to head with one of the biggest budgets in Ireland to get promoted. They earned their place in the Premier Division through excellent football on a low budget, and kept it the same way. I don't think they'll ever have a secure place in the Premier Division, but they'll do a grand enough job of yo-yoing for a long time imo.
Thats it. There's absolutely no doubt that UCD are in the Premier Division on merit.
I don't think that's fair. There are teams in most leagues around Europe that have small budgets and fanbases and are content to just keep the show on the road each year.
My own club being one of them for most of its existence.
My point is that arguing that UCD shouldn't be in the league is ridiculous when they've proved they can compete, even with the handicap of no money/fans. If fans of other teams think thats wrong, they have it arseways IMO as its the clubs with money/fans that continue to fail that are the problem
28/12/2010, 2:40 PM
but they'll do a grand enough job of yo-yoing for a long time imo.
This is going off topic, but our two recent relegations were both in ten-team leagues. With a 12-team Premier, we've never really been a yo-yo side. I think our success is down to the niche we have - other clubs go for experienced players, often at the expense of good, young players (look at the amount of players we've picked up who've been discarded from other Dublin clubs), whereas we're the only ones really focussing on youth development. That's also our restriction too though, cos you need experienced players in a squad to progress, I think.
I admire UCD, decent stadium, lovely set up, play a lovely brand of football, never in financial trouble.
D.24saint
29/12/2010, 1:42 PM
The immediate concern for Fingal has be working capital if they have enough to form some sort of a budget for next season they will survive but if they do survive they will radically have to change there philosophy try to get young player for the area like wexford do , it looks like their days of being one the big boys are gone.
redobit
29/12/2010, 4:46 PM
The immediate concern for Fingal has be working capital if they have enough to form some sort of a budget for next season they will survive but if they do survive they will radically have to change there philosophy try to get young player for the area like wexford do , it looks like their days of being one the big boys are gone.
In fairness were they ever. There is a massive difference between being a big club and paying big wages.
peadar1987
29/12/2010, 6:49 PM
In fairness were they ever. There is a massive difference between being a big club and paying big wages.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009_FAI_Cup_Final