View Full Version : Airtricity League
26/02/2010, 2:01 PM
christ lads, almost 3 pages of mostly moaning, dont like the name, why is it not .ie, amount must be embarrassingly small, Its a veiled threat from the FAI.... jaysus. Fact is, a league that is in awful shape has managed to get sponsorship in an economy that is in awful shape. that is a monumental achievement. A 'glass half full' approach is badly needed.
I'd agree with some of that. I actually emailed the FAI saying well done for getting sponsorship given the state of the league and the economy.
That said, it's not necessarily a monumental achievement unless the money is decent, and I do agree that swapping between "league" and "league of Ireland" doesn't help to build a brand. I couldn't care less about the domain registration.
26/02/2010, 2:01 PM
I don't know how you can call it monumental unless you know the amount. The sponsorship deal could have been for free electricity to the FAI offices for all you know. Foot.ie could afford that ffs.
So why didn't you get invoved adam? :D
If you listen to some here, the league should be done away with, so for an upwardly mobile company to agree to attach their name to it, then its fairly big
Perception sometimse means more than reality
Soccer Mom
26/02/2010, 2:11 PM
Wow, you've learned a lot in the last week seeing as you claimed to have no interest in the league?
Well actually I have learned a lot thanks to you and others so it's been worth the effort even if I did have to suffer the slings and arrows at times.
I never said that I have no interest in the League. I may not be as passionate about it as you, and others, might wish me to be, but I definitely do have an interest in it. I wouldn't be on this forum otherwise
christ lads, almost 3 pages of mostly moaning, dont like the name, why is it not .ie, amount must be embarrassingly small, Its a veiled threat from the FAI.... jaysus. Fact is, a league that is in awful shape has managed to get sponsorship in an economy that is in awful shape. that is a monumental achievement. A 'glass half full' approach is badly needed.
Didn't mean to be negative and of course you're right that it is an achievement to secure sponsorship in the current climate but I would still like to know both sides of the deal. Presumably it will come out at some stage.
mr.untitled
26/02/2010, 2:37 PM
I don't know how you can call it monumental unless you know the amount. The sponsorship deal could have been for free electricity to the FAI offices for all you know. Foot.ie could afford that ffs.
fair enough, maybe 'monumental' was a bit of a stretch but you get my point. No disrespect to foot.ie, but having a large established company associate itsself with the the league can only be good, no matter what the amount. It will certainly help individual clubs get sponsorship if the business world sees that the brand is worth sponsoring.
26/02/2010, 2:40 PM
So why didn't you get invoved adam? :D
I offered them a fiver and a handjob, but Airtricity outbid me. Apparently the monetary amount was the same, but the considerations were improved upon significantly. I wasn't willing to go any further than the handjob. ;)
fair enough, maybe 'monumental' was a bit of a stretch but you get my point. No disrespect to foot.ie, but having a large established company associate itsself with the the league can only be good, no matter what the amount. It will certainly help individual clubs get sponsorship if the business world sees that the brand is worth sponsoring.
I'm not knocking it, just saying that people shouldn't attach too much significance to it. Foot.ie could get a mainline sponsor tomorrow if we gave it up for nothing.
Anyway, I'm not as big a fan of Airtricity as I used to be, so I'm probably just being bitchy. :)
Well actually I have learned a lot thanks to you and others so it's been worth the effort even if I did have to suffer the slings and arrows at times.
I never said that I have no interest in the League. I may not be as passionate about it as you, and others, might wish me to be, but I definitely do have an interest in it. I wouldn't be on this forum otherwise
I didn't mean that question mark at the end. I was actually saying that even though you're a relatively new fan, you've hit it spot on
redobit
26/02/2010, 2:56 PM
Thank You
sligorover
26/02/2010, 3:54 PM
Spot on too.
People are still calling it the Eircom League, including some managers recently.
On the other hand, it's all very positive to get a new sponsor onboard, let's hope now we all get free electricity with our season ticket purchase.
This quote is from the Airtricity League website ffs!!
Paul Cook is currently sampling his first taste of the eircom League of Irelandhttp://www.airtricityleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=23&Itemid=22
26/02/2010, 4:22 PM
sounds like a bad comic book concisting of superheroes such as super ted and captian planet, possibly the gayest name possible but moneys money i guess
26/02/2010, 4:46 PM
Might start calling it the "Atrocious League"
ped_ped
26/02/2010, 4:52 PM
Unfortunate that it's the Airtricity League and not League of Ireland but if there's any money in it for the League, who's really complaining? The fact that the site hasn't been uploaded in months bothers me though. No club site still has last years tables, why should the official league site?
Might start calling it the "Atrocious League"
Beat me to it (sort of) I was hoping to be the first to brand it the "Atrocity League".
bluemovie
26/02/2010, 5:27 PM
If you listen to some here, the league should be done away with, so for an upwardly mobile company to agree to attach their name to it, then its fairly big
Perception sometimse means more than reality
Agree. On the flipside, if I was a marketing executive with a service I wanted to portray as dynamic, progressive and efficient, the last thing I'd sponsor is a league where nobody knew who'd be in what division til 10 days before the season started.
26/02/2010, 5:29 PM
Sure it'd be no fun if there was any sort of organisation or competence involved!
bluemovie
26/02/2010, 5:38 PM
True. Wait til you see the First Division!
26/02/2010, 6:17 PM
picture of the launch on sportsfile.com
http://www.sportsfile.com/id/405451/
Doomofman
26/02/2010, 6:17 PM
So has everyone done the Atricity League fan survey?
picture of the launch on sportsfile.com
http://www.sportsfile.com/id/405451/
*thanks* for Georgia Salpa.
26/02/2010, 7:54 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF566/405452.jpg
Sives: "What the hell is this?"
Salpa: "It's called the Premier Division Trophy Craig - don't get too used to holding it - you won't be seeing it for a good few seasons"
Buile Shuibhne
27/02/2010, 8:06 AM
The prize money isn't even decided yet
.............. Certainly, this year's launch was markedly different to the more salubrious affairs of recent times. Managers weren't invited, while there were no press releases about prize money because the powers that be haven't decided whether they will reduce it or not.
FAI CEO Delaney defended the delay in an announcement until next week, in addition to arguing that the Abbotstown authorities were blameless in the Cork affair and an emerging controversy with respect to the transfer of Limerick FC's licence from one company to another, with Jack McCarthy, the original holder, claiming to be left in the dark.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/electric-launch-to-new-season-2082480.html?
27/02/2010, 9:58 AM
personally am glad it was a "less salubrious affair" this season. Like all companies, the FAI are gotta be feeling the pinch a little and its better that the spend what money they have on things that will help the league than wasting it feeding dignatries, chairman and managers at a big lauch event. All the really needed was the press attention and they got that by announcing the Airtricity deal and drafting in some beautiful young ladies to poss with the trophy and players. Well done FAI for not wasting money and for getting such a visible sponsor on board.
Buller
27/02/2010, 12:22 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF566/405452.jpg
Sives: "What the hell is this?"
Salpa: "It's called the Premier Division Trophy Craig - don't get too used to holding it - you won't be seeing it for a good few seasons"
Haha! Uncalled for... :p
Airtricty League of Ireland would have been far better but what can ye do.... Did they have to completely change the logo too? I quite liked the one we had. Suffice to say, I'll be still calling it LoI anyway.
Buile Shuibhne
27/02/2010, 8:09 PM
Call me an old cynic but:
The last League launch I was at was 4 or 5 years ago in the Law Library in Blackhall Place.There was no food or drink provided and I'd imagine the hall hire was cheap enough.
The norm at league launches is to provide lots of photo ops and interviews with managers mainly and players also, to provide plenty of copy and publicise the upcoming league.
No managers were invited this year for fear they might speak out of turn.
The D4 Berkley Court Hotel doesn't come cheap - but the rooftop where all the photos were set up provided an opportunistic backdrop of the Aviva Stadium
27/02/2010, 9:05 PM
Im just concerned about whether we have to get new jerseys, we already have the LOI logo sublimated into the jersey.
28/02/2010, 1:28 PM
Call me an old cynic but:
The last League launch I was at was 4 or 5 years ago in the Law Library in Blackhall Place.There was no food or drink provided and I'd imagine the hall hire was cheap enough.
The norm at league launches is to provide lots of photo ops and interviews with managers mainly and players also, to provide plenty of copy and publicise the upcoming league.
No managers were invited this year for fear they might speak out of turn.
The D4 Berkley Court Hotel doesn't come cheap - but the rooftop where all the photos were set up provided an opportunistic backdrop of the Aviva Stadium
Cynic!
The rumour that the managers werent invited due to them speaking out was just that, a rumour. Originally all they wanted was a player from each squad for the photos and the press. The chairmen were then invited out of courtesy. People will always look for something to throw at the FAI even when there is no substance to the claims.
The Berkley probably have a deal with the FAI as the new Aviva stadium will bring them lots of business so they are eager to work with them so I doubt it cost much. And I think the roof with the Aviva stadium in the background was the perfect place to take the pics as the new stadium is something football (and Rugby of course) can be really really proud of.
I'll save the back slapping when we see the actual benefits to the league, thanks. At the moment, all we know is they've sold the name down the swanny for some undisclosed sum, of which the league might get zero net benefit.
01/03/2010, 8:05 AM
Disappointed to see Airtricity have a massive front and back page spread on the Metro this morning that makes no mention of the league whatsoever. Not the best of starts, maybe they'll do something later in the week.
Fester
01/03/2010, 9:40 AM
Disappointed to see Airtricity have a massive front and back page spread on the Metro this morning that makes no mention of the league whatsoever. Not the best of starts, maybe they'll do something later in the week.
Would not hold my breath, but here's hoping.
marinobohs
01/03/2010, 1:25 PM
Haha! Uncalled for... :p
Airtricty League of Ireland would have been far better but what can ye do.... Did they have to completely change the logo too? I quite liked the one we had. Suffice to say, I'll be still calling it LoI anyway.
funnily enough everyone I spoke to about it over the weekend called it the "Airtricty league of Ireland" as well, hopefully people power will make that name stick !
PS maybe Sives did not recognise the trophy without the red and black ribbons on it :D
kid creole
01/03/2010, 1:37 PM
Im just concerned about whether we have to get new jerseys, we already have the LOI logo sublimated into the jersey.
Yeah 3 weeks to get it on.
02/03/2010, 10:24 PM
So has everyone done the Atricity League fan survey?
I just took part in it. Seems like they really want to find out what the league needs to have to improve from a match day experience point of view.
Riddickcule
02/03/2010, 10:27 PM
But once again, they don't need our opinion, they need to get the barstoolers take on things, thats when we'll know how to improve the league.
02/03/2010, 10:29 PM
But once again, they don't need our opinion, they need to get the barstoolers take on things, thats when we'll know how to improve the league.
I got the impression they also want to know what do we think would get the barstoolers out to games though.
Riddickcule
03/03/2010, 3:26 PM
I got the impression they also want to know what do we think would get the barstoolers out to games though.
No because we'll go to the games anyway, however most likely the barstooler brigade will say 2 things: Quality of the football and Facilities, one is improving ever so slightly while the other is still back in the 50's
And if we fix them, they'll come up with some other excuse. Mind you, the financial state of the league excuse has gone very quiet in recent times. Time to forget them and concentrate on ourselves.
Go on then Riddickule, regale us with tales of LOI football in the 50s
I could be wrong Dodge,but i think he is saying the stadia/facilities are outdated and the football is steadily improving.
04/03/2010, 10:59 AM
I know shep, I was riddiculing (see what I did there?) a tennager making references to the 50s (when most clubs would've had grass banks as spectator facilities.)
Regardless of his views, facilities have improved. Not to the degree most would like but thats what happens when clubs have very little income
Riddickcule
04/03/2010, 8:17 PM
I know shep, I was riddiculing (see what I did there?) a tennager making references to the 50s (when most clubs would've had grass banks as spectator facilities.)
Regardless of his views, facilities have improved. Not to the degree most would like but thats what happens when clubs have very little income
It was a saying ffs, why does every point someone makes to you have to be "backed up"?
If you're not happy with the 50's make it the 70's then or the 80's then, god.
It really is true the older you get the more pessemistic you become, not looking forward to that anyway.
Btw, because clubs have "very little income" means the thing requires change, but of course you dont agree Mr Conservatist.
05/03/2010, 12:40 AM
Btw, because clubs have "very little income" means the thing requires change, but of course you dont agree Mr Conservatist.
Where have I ever said that change wasn't welcome? I just have a pain in my eye with idiots saying "we should change, we should change!!!" and then not proposing anything remotely plausible. Your ideas are awful, so please don't use them as a working example.
And for the record... The grounds now are the best they've ever been. If you were watching LOI football in the 80s or 90s you'd know that.
monsexile
05/03/2010, 9:40 AM
League reveals plans to attract more supporters
http://notthenuacht.com/?p=429
05/03/2010, 10:22 AM
League reveals plans to attract more supporters
http://notthenuacht.com/?p=429
Was just about to post that link as I think it is the best idea yet! ;) :D
05/03/2010, 11:13 AM
Was just about to post that link as I think it is the best idea yet! ;) :D
So the Monkey Knife Fighting initiative has been put on the back burner then?
05/03/2010, 11:28 AM
Yeah, they felt it might just be a step too far until they got the crowds up a little first
marinobohs
05/03/2010, 11:31 AM
So the Monkey Knife Fighting initiative has been put on the back burner then?
confined to Bohs V Shams perhaps ? ;)
05/03/2010, 1:07 PM
Prize money for 2010. (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0305/airtricityleague.html)
A few little oddities in there. For example if you finish 6th rather than 7th in D1 you get an extra €750 (wooo!) but move up another place to 5th and it's only a €250 increase.
In general I think the 1st prizes should be pared back a bit more to reduce the incentive to gamble. This has already happened to some extent, which a step in the right direction.
Edit: once I put the figures side by side I see the top prizes are down a lot why further down is unchanged. Seems sensible, kudos to the FAI on that one.
This year's figures:
Premier Division
Position
1 €200,000
2 €100,000
3 €75,000
4 €60,000
5 €50,000
6 €47,000
7 €45,000
8 €42,000
9 €41,000
10 €40,000
First Division
1 €50,000
2 €20,000
3 €13,000
4 €11,000
5 €10,000
6 €9,750
7 €9,000
8 €8,500
9 €8,000
10 €7,500
11 €7,250
12 €7,000
Total fund €911,000.
Last year's figures for comparison:
Premier Division
1. €280,000
2. €130,000
3. €82,000
4. €60,000
5. €50,000
6. €47,000
7. €45,000
8. €42,000
9. €41,000
10. €40,000
Total €852,000
FIrst Division
1. €66,000
2. €36,000
3. €13,000
4. €11,000
5. €10,000
6. €9,750
7. €9,000
8. €8,500
9. €8,000
10. €7,500
11. €7,250
12. €7,000
Total: €193,000
Total for both leagues: €1,045,000
yeah, interesting that prize money went down, despite the arrival of a new title sponsor