View Full Version : Preseason fixtures 2010
31/01/2010, 4:12 PM
Tuesday 2nd February v Shamrock Rovers 8 pm
Saturday 13th February v Cork City (tbc)
Frdiay 19th February v UCD (tbc)
the day after that we play Sporting Fingal away in the LSC (tbc)
Salmon Coloured
01/02/2010, 7:31 AM
Any update on the Cork game Marty? Will it be down in the South??
01/02/2010, 8:18 AM
Any update on the Cork game Marty? Will it be down in the South??
the games in flancare salmon coloured!
02/02/2010, 8:00 PM
hows the game tonight going? is many at it??
02/02/2010, 8:03 PM
3-0 to Rovers at moment according to their forum.
02/02/2010, 11:34 PM
Lost 4-0. They were much sharper and faster but we tried to play football. Individual errors cost us a couple of goals. We looked like a team getting to know each other but there's some handy players to work with. Lester needs some conditioning work however!. Bit more hard training and a few games we should improve. Good Rovers crowd down fair play to them paid all the expenses and a bit more!.
sorbothegreek
03/02/2010, 9:20 AM
Yea pretty much as you said longfordian. A couple of deacent players at a first division standard, JP McDonagh looked the pick last night in my opinion. Even though it was 0-4 I don't think it's too much to be worried about at this stage. Their a higher standard team than we'll be meeting 95% of the time and we have only been together short of two weeks. Most of that Rovers team would have started a lot of games for them last season.
The main worry from last night was the new sub keeper. Very poor Vic..
03/02/2010, 4:39 PM
The team from last night (correct me if Im wrong ) was : Conlon,tyrell,K Cronin,Lester,Deans,McDonagh, Brady,Hyland,Freeman,Hynes,McArdle.. Subs: shanahan, mooney. Ian Byrne (shamrock rovers A as per related thread)
Conlon was very nervy.. Mick Lee was at the game and was out sick..I agree with Sorbo on McDonagh he was excellent..
03/02/2010, 4:58 PM
him being nervy could have been to do that it was his debut and against rovers so shall give him the benefit of the doubt but would preferr shanahan as first choice
03/02/2010, 5:27 PM
on the eleven a side website it has 7.45 pm ko for both cork and ucd games..
03/02/2010, 6:01 PM
The team from last night (correct me if Im wrong ) was : Conlon,tyrell,K Cronin,Lester,Deans,McDonagh, Brady,Hyland,Freeman,Hynes,McArdle.. Subs: shanahan, mooney. Ian Byrne (shamrock rovers A as per related thread)
Conlon was very nervy.. Mick Lee was at the game and was out sick..I agree with Sorbo on McDonagh he was excellent..
Gary Cronin came on as well. Has Ian Byrne signed or was he on trial or what?. He looked a good footballer. Don't see you mentioning him in any related thread.
04/02/2010, 4:10 PM
Gary Cronin came on as well. Has Ian Byrne signed or was he on trial or what?. He looked a good footballer. Don't see you mentioning him in any related thread.
sorry longfordian,
I missed out on Gary Cronin. Ian Byrne I know nothin about him I assume he was one of the Shamrock rovers players on trial with us..
04/02/2010, 4:17 PM
Don't think so. One of the lads supposedly coming, Don Cowen, came on for Rovers against us. I don't know the other lad's name. I can see why you got mixed up on that though, I didn't word it very well when I said he came on in my other post.
04/02/2010, 4:47 PM
Don't think so. One of the lads supposedly coming, Don Cowen, came on for Rovers against us. I don't know the other lad's name. I can see why you got mixed up on that though, I didn't word it very well when I said he came on in my other post.
no hassle Longfordian.. Cowen was lively.. Would these be loan moves for the season? I wonder who this Ian Byrne was?
on a different fact, when I was bored at work today I did a google search on Paul Keegan today and see that he is now with Airdrie Utd...
04/02/2010, 4:59 PM
I'd imagine they'd review things in July like with McCarthy last season. Just had a snoop on Rovers' site and Ian Byrne played for their A team last year. I don't know what his situation is now.
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/teams/a-championship-section/a-championship-squad
Rocky77
04/02/2010, 6:20 PM
Michael O'Neill is a big fan of Cowan, had him in match day squads a good bit last year ahead of Padraig Amond. He's fast as fook, seriously quick. Can't remember him scoring but he missed a great chance in the last minute against Fingal in the Cup last season when it was 2-2 in Santry, would have obviously changed the outcome of the competition.
04/02/2010, 6:35 PM
He was burning Lester for pace anyway not that that was hard the other night. I hope it all works out anyway Trevor Croly seemed to think it'd be good for him to come down for a while anyway.
08/02/2010, 3:25 PM
We're doing Pats a favour and playing them on Wednesday night in Richmond. Should be another good workout which won't do us any harm.
http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=3451
Tallanted
08/02/2010, 4:06 PM
and apparently playing in rathcoole tonight too?
08/02/2010, 4:37 PM
Didn't hear anything about that one. Doubt Rathcoole would want the expense of a LOI ref so probably just a "training session"
08/02/2010, 4:51 PM
just heard the news of the friendly on i02fm just now.Anyone goin to it? I have just booked a half days holiday request just now so hopefully I will go... It will be a good workout for them from playin Pats.. Wonder what sort of reaction will Johnny Lester get from the Pats fans?
Tallanted
08/02/2010, 5:10 PM
just on lsl forum. We are playin rathcoole tonight in frank cox park.
08/02/2010, 5:21 PM
anyone be able to post the score up here or know were i could find it later? what league are rathcoole in??
08/02/2010, 5:22 PM
I see, well keep an eye out for the score and any other details you might find Tallanted. Games tonight, Wednesday and Saturday should bring the fitness along. They should get more out of it than training anyway.
Tallanted
08/02/2010, 5:43 PM
they play leinster senior 1b. Im headin over to it so ill post the score when i get home after it
08/02/2010, 5:59 PM
good man thanks :)
Tallanted
08/02/2010, 8:35 PM
Town were 6 nil up when I left with bout ten minutes to go, goals scored by hynes 3, glynn, McArdle and lester. Team was Shanahan, K Cronin, G Cronin, McArdle, Hyland, Lester, Craig Mooney, Hynes, Glynn. Not sure who the right full and other centre half were. Conlon and ian byrne came on at half time and two other lads i wasnt sure of. The only thing I could really take from the game was that Rathcoole are absolute muck, a good few players stood out but the opposition were poor
08/02/2010, 8:53 PM
its good confidence wise anyway! chances are we will loose to ucd and pats but could get another win against cork so its a decent pre-season playing more games than usual anyway :)
09/02/2010, 9:11 AM
just on lsl forum. We are playin rathcoole tonight in frank cox park.
raging that game was only posted up last night ... oh well hopefully will make it for weds nite..
09/02/2010, 9:13 AM
Town were 6 nil up when I left with bout ten minutes to go, goals scored by hynes 3, glynn, McArdle and lester. Team was Shanahan, K Cronin, G Cronin, McArdle, Hyland, Lester, Craig Mooney, Hynes, Glynn. Not sure who the right full and other centre half were. Conlon and ian byrne came on at half time and two other lads i wasnt sure of. The only thing I could really take from the game was that Rathcoole are absolute, a good few players stood out but the opposition were poor
good match report tallanted do you know who the conlon bloke is that came on as sub?
09/02/2010, 10:42 AM
Stephen Conlon the sub keeper presumably
Tallanted
09/02/2010, 12:28 PM
Ye the sub keeper, congo as they call him, played for sacred heart up til start of this season and then went to rovers A team,a very good keeper that will hopefully give shanahan a good test for the number one jersey. another sub called dotsy came on(might have been Jp Mcdonagh), game finished 7-0 from what i hear
09/02/2010, 12:53 PM
Might have been Cathal Brady (Cotsy?) maybe?. What did he look like?. The other centre back was probably Deans or Philip Byrne.
Tallanted
09/02/2010, 1:11 PM
I thought the other centre half might of been byrne but wasnt 100% still aint either as he was very young, a young centre half came on second half and they were callin him deano, he looked like dean clarke but not sure if he is still around or not, the winger was small with black hair could well of been cotsy they were calling him
Tallanted
09/02/2010, 1:13 PM
think the right full was derek tyrell, not 100% sure of that either, i only posted the names i was sure of
09/02/2010, 1:35 PM
think the right full was derek tyrell, not 100% sure of that either, i only posted the names i was sure of
it could be Dean Clarke was Dean a big tall player with jet black hair? I have got my half day off for tomorrow night so will definitely be going to inchciore tomorrow nite! yipee! are you goin to it tallonted? :)
Tallanted
09/02/2010, 1:42 PM
looked the spit of mccarthy, country accent id almost certainly say it was clarke
09/02/2010, 2:15 PM
I thought the other centre half might of been byrne but wasnt 100% still aint either as he was very young, a young centre half came on second half and they were callin him deano, he looked like dean clarke but not sure if he is still around or not, the winger was small with black hair could well of been cotsy they were calling him
Brady is fair haired from recollection so probably wasn't him. Doesn't matter too much ayway.
looked the spit of mccarthy, country accent id almost certainly say it was clarke
Probably was, I know they were wanting to keep him on this year anyway and he was to make up his mind. Looks like he'll be around so. A good prospect by all accounts.
Tallanted
09/02/2010, 2:20 PM
He didnt look out of place but as i said earlier the opposition was poor, they couldnt cope with our wingers or any of our attacking play, could have been a much larger score line
Rocky77
09/02/2010, 9:36 PM
Is Dean Clarke not a Dub originally, but living in Mullingar?
09/02/2010, 9:51 PM
Family lives in Killucan I think but don't know if he's of Dub stock. Could well be. Vinny used to rate him very highly when he was here a couple of seasons ago, Dean would have been 17 or so at the time I think.
10/02/2010, 9:39 AM
Family lives in Killucan I think but don't know if he's of Dub stock. Could well be. Vinny used to rate him very highly when he was here a couple of seasons ago, Dean would have been 17 or so at the time I think.
Dean Clarke played for us against Premiership legends in 2008 under Vinny Perth. He hasnt made his first time debut as of yet but has played in friendlies in the past for us..
11/02/2010, 9:30 AM
Town lost two nil to St Pats Ath last night in Incicore. Town played pretty well throughout and only for two errors one from the sub keeper Conlon who conceded a peno and a derek glynn I thought we were worthy of a draw. Town team is as follows:
Aaron Shanahan(MOM imo) ,tomas hyland,Kevin Cronin, Derek Tyrell,Philip Byrne, John Lester, JP McDonagh, Mark Sammon(triallist ex Athlone Town thanks ruairi h!),Peter Hynes, Derek Glynn,Ian Byrne(shamrock rovers A ). Subs: Cathal Brady, Niall O'Reilly(ex Athlone town), Chris Deans,Stephen Conlon, Dean Clarke)
Pats look very strong this coming season and had a variety of new signings on display.. shame on the pats gouriers who spat at one of our lads and his wee brother at the game:mad:. They were at our side in the first half acting the big man.. I was ever so glad to have seen them disappear in the second half..
Derek Glynn missed a great chance to equalise whilst on one to one with Gary Rogers and Rogers saved easily from him..there was no sign of David Freeman at the game so I am wondering has there being a change of heart with him coming back?
RockofGibraltar
11/02/2010, 10:07 AM
I am wondering has there being a change of heart with him coming back?
pardon the pun there marty!!
11/02/2010, 10:10 AM
pardon the pun there marty!!
dont get what you mean ROG...
Rocky77
11/02/2010, 10:18 AM
Saw Mark Sammon play for Pat's last year against Chelsea when he was on trial. I thought looked really good but they never signed him. He ended up at Drogheda but I can't remember him playing. He was a Wolves when he was a chissler.....
Tallanted
11/02/2010, 10:19 AM
He had heart problems when he was with us and thats why he couldnt play for the last few months he was with us, but we looked after him through it all then he did the dirt on us
11/02/2010, 11:50 AM
Did the dirt on you by moving to Longford for a pittance?
Thought your no 7 last night (JP something) looked a good footballer. Centrehalves knew what they were doing too.
Happy enough with our performance. Early days but lots of optimism about (for a change)
A few out of the crowd were thrown out (some were stopped going in too). Disgraceful carry on from a few drunk teens.
Tallanted
11/02/2010, 12:09 PM
Thrown out cause I told the stewards I was leaving after been spat on disgusting little s**mbags, freeman got a cup final jersey and was a no show on the day. a young lad could of got to experience cup final day if he had of been just upfront about it
11/02/2010, 1:01 PM
Yeah he got cup final gear and a new suit etc . Not to mention the extra three weeks wages we paid him because the manager wanted him to be part of things on the day. Still there's no point going on about it forever more. If he's back then hopefully he can contribute something on the field.