View Full Version : Sean Connor new manager of gufc
The Betting Man
11/01/2010, 12:59 PM
Expect Galway to play hoof ball in every game next season and when Galway lose it wont be the players fault it will be the Ref because they have it in for Sean.I also expect to see Connor sign players from Sunderland and Coventry as he is good mates with Steve Bruce and Chris Coleman
Paddyfield
11/01/2010, 1:00 PM
I just heard from a native Galwegian [apply a Galway accent] that "Sean Connery is going to be the new Galway united manager"
The Bond girls should help increase the crowds. :D
KBurke
11/01/2010, 2:18 PM
Apparently its a 3 year deal for Connor. Billy Clery & Gareth gorman will be part of the coaching team
thesilverfox
11/01/2010, 2:20 PM
Bout 100 here in supermacs. Its a 3 year contract. Gareth Gorman is assistant. Confirmed the "Turner Clause" exists but cant afford him. Free pizza and tea for all.
Dillonman
11/01/2010, 2:31 PM
3 year deal...wtf???
3 years is a long, long time in the LOI. Given that the man has such a record of falling out with clubs he works for it's a serious gamble to hand out such a long deal.
decent signing for Galway and Connor actually (no budget, no pressure, no expectations). Despite Connor being a spoofer in my book i think this could work out alright for both parties.
3 year contract though? Madness given Connors track record.
GerByrne
11/01/2010, 2:44 PM
"Tomorrow at 3pm at Supermacs eyre square."
Liam Burns must be signing so..
gufc2000
11/01/2010, 2:48 PM
As mentioned on our forum, there is probably a get out clause for both parties, or a review at the end of a certain amount of time
Dillonman
11/01/2010, 3:11 PM
He was on a one year rolling contract with us so unless its somethign similar but with the option of 2 further years at the end of this year or something like that but 3 years...BUT seriously, what has Leeson been doing over Xmas!
11/01/2010, 3:14 PM
He was on a one year rolling contract with us so unless its somethign similar but with the option of 2 further years at the end of this year or something like that but 3 years...BUT seriously, what has Leeson been doing over Xmas!
talking to sean connor :) hes screwed with his head
weecountyman
11/01/2010, 3:17 PM
Probably a 1+2 deal and called a 3 year deal, par for the course.
weecountyman
11/01/2010, 3:18 PM
After all Nick Leeson has been through in his relatively short life, SC probably seems normal! But then again......
gufc2000
11/01/2010, 3:30 PM
Sean Connor will be moving to Galway aswell
Only1Rovers
11/01/2010, 3:43 PM
Connor also said the squad will be made up primarily of local based talent. He suggested that the usual Connor gang of Mansuram et al will not be in toe.
Paddyfield
11/01/2010, 3:50 PM
Sean Connor
11/01/2010, 3:59 PM
Sean Connor
sexy beoir
11/01/2010, 4:03 PM
He is a fellow northernerHe's from Donegal.
Conroy
11/01/2010, 4:25 PM
Really can't see Connor sticking to a squad of mainly locals. He has his gang which travel with him, I'm sure one or two with follow suit.
Not sure what to make of the situation, Don't know how Galway can afford him. Was there any mention of budget at the meeting?
rovers100%
11/01/2010, 4:26 PM
strange move for seanie, i think he will struggle if has no budget to bring players in. in fairness he is not a bad manager but he is a major tosser. my gut feeling is he will ruin the club. gufc are welcome to him. at least we will get to give him stick from the stands when back at the showgrounds !!!
Dillonman
11/01/2010, 4:26 PM
Sean Connor really should have his own thread on this forum just like Bohs, Cork and Derry!!:D
Ona serious note, is he to be fullt ime or part time with Galway?
by the looks of it there were more sligo fans than gufc fans there.....and the queue for autographs at the end ? I thought sligo fans hated him ?
Paddyfield
11/01/2010, 4:46 PM
by the looks of it there were more sligo fans than gufc fans there.....and the queue for autographs at the end ? I thought sligo fans hated him ?
Ha ha. i saw 3 lads with Sligo Rovers hats/shirts.
Maybe they were players looking for contracts?
gufc2000
11/01/2010, 5:28 PM
Sean Connor really should have his own thread on this forum just like Bohs, Cork and Derry!!:D
Ona serious note, is he to be fullt ime or part time with Galway?
Not sure, he will be based in Galway though
geezer
11/01/2010, 5:44 PM
How long before he has the Galway public believing the rest of the country, LOI and FAI are out to get them?
I really can't believe there are people still ridiculously stupid enough to hire people like Connor and Shoddy over and over again. Galway fans should be calling on whoever appointed him to resign immediately.
within seconds of the press conference finishing two officials of the League summoned leeson over to a table and the conversation didnt look pretty
eamoss
11/01/2010, 5:49 PM
Sean Connor will be moving to Galway aswell
Jeez wouldnt want to be his landlord. He was evicted from his house in Dundalk due to none payment of rent.
Not sure, he will be based in Galway though
Has to be fulltime........................never heard of a PARTIME Bu**Sh****!
My sides are sore, still laughing..............god we are a gullable lot in this country.
WoodquayBoy
11/01/2010, 6:02 PM
within seconds of the press conference finishing two officials of the League summoned leeson over to a table and the conversation didnt look pretty
They were trying to decide what toppings to have on the pizza - was a big row over the merits of pineapple as a pizza topping
brianw82
11/01/2010, 6:59 PM
Bout 100 here in supermacs. Its a 3 year contract. Gareth Gorman is assistant. Confirmed the "Turner Clause" exists but cant afford him. Free pizza and tea for all.
Was Keith Foy there?
3 years is a long, long time in the LOI. Given that the man has such a record of falling out with clubs he works for it's a serious gamble to hand out such a long deal.
Given the rumours of how small a budget Galway have Id imagine it's a bit of a trade. They pay him a small wage but he wants a long contract in return.
Connor has to know he's running out of clubs, a bit of stability would mean more than a slightly bigger wage in the short term
Celdrog
11/01/2010, 8:27 PM
What will be Steve Bruces roles in Galway United?He'll have a piece in the programme for every game
Paddyfield
11/01/2010, 10:10 PM
Interview with Connor up TV3 on now
http://www.tv3.ie/sport.php?request=&tv3_preview=&video=18150
Dillonman
11/01/2010, 10:20 PM
He seems to have more less hair every time he's on tv, role on Dundalk v Galway first weeened of the season.
Every club hes been at he leaves ina better position, eh we broke even last year now we are 200k in debt!
11/01/2010, 11:30 PM
I don't know the ins and outs but €200k is a fair amount of money to lose in one season and I'd have thought it'd take more than SC getting a bit carried away. The board should be responsible for that kind of a loss, through optimism or naivete. We lost a similar amount and more one season and in fairness have been paying for it since.
11/01/2010, 11:37 PM
Every club hes been at he leaves ina better position, eh we broke even last year now we are 200k in debt!
I'd imagine he's talking about in a footballing sense, which is the only area he has control over and is technically true.
If your board was stupid enough to give him a budget that cost ye 200k at the end of the year then there's one group of people responsible for that- the board.
Every manager on the face of the planet will ask for as big a budget as they can get away with.
Putting the blame on Connor makes it nice and easy since he's gone so if it were his fault it'd al be over, but the people responsible for your financial recklessness are still there. Point the finger where it belongs.
I don't know the ins and outs but €200k is a fair amount of money to lose in one season
I disagree, I dont think €200k is that much seeing that I was told by a club member of mervue that they lost €75k last season when they were run on an amatuer basis. The main costs were travel and food.
Ezeikial
12/01/2010, 10:09 AM
What he said was thay he left every club in a better position on the pitch - this is indisputably true at each of Sligo, Bohs and Dundalk in terms of league placings.
I don't know the ins and outs but €200k is a fair amount of money to lose in one season and I'd have thought it'd take more than SC getting a bit carried away. The board should be responsible for that kind of a loss, through optimism or naivete. We lost a similar amount and more one season and in fairness have been paying for it since.
The responsibility for the €200k deficit rests with the board, although Seans fingerprints were all over a number of the issues that contributed to this. The origin and authenticity of the "letter of confirmation" from Barcelona about the friendly game, the shambles of the Michael Collins registration, and the expensive settling of the contracts disputes at the end of the season have never been adequately explained - and the probability of litigation means that they will not be.
The nature and complexity of the character is such that in his world SC will put his needs in terms of team budget and strength above all other considerations, and will scheme and plan dubious strategies to extract the maximum from the club. Small issues like promising bonuses, gross wage dressed as net, contracts to December, signing-on fees etc etc to players without board approval are the thin end of the wedge. Galway should also beware of the sudden rise in player sponsorship offers that will magically appear.
If the club don't make good these unauthorised promised payments its always possible that Paddy Power, Ladbrokes or Boyle Sports could step in to make up these shortfalls
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 10:10 AM
I'd imagine he's talking about in a footballing sense, which is the only area he has control over and is technically true.
If your board was stupid enough to give him a budget that cost ye 200k at the end of the year then there's one group of people responsible for that- the board.
Every manager on the face of the planet will ask for as big a budget as they can get away with.
Putting the blame on Connor makes it nice and easy since he's gone so if it were his fault it'd al be over, but the people responsible for your financial recklessness are still there. Point the finger where it belongs.
I really dont think you can lecture me on financial reclessness of a club's board!!!;)
Edit, Seanie boy put the whoel squad up in a hotel in Sligo for a pres season game, some additional costs so yes, he is involved in some degree to that loss!
12/01/2010, 10:15 AM
getting back on track. leeson has stated in a local interview that one person (galway based, and a supporter of the club) has heavily invested in the club for the coming season and this has given Connor a substantially larger budget than first forecasted.
he was reluctant to say his name but said it was fairly obvious who it was, so, first guesses are that it is Pat McDonagh, Owner of Supermacs.
Interview currently
being broadcast live on galwaybayfm with Connor.
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 10:18 AM
getting back on track. leeson has stated in a local interview that one person (galway based, and a supporter of the club) has heavily invested in the club for the coming season and this has given Connor a substantially larger budget than first forecasted.
he was reluctant to say his name but said it was fairly obvious who it was, so, first guesses are that it is Pat McDonagh, Owner of Supermacs.
Interview currently
being broadcast live on galwaybayfm with Connor.
Do they have podcasts, if so coudl you post a link up here for it as Im currently at work and cant listen to it!
12/01/2010, 10:23 AM
its over now, basically hes looking forward to his next 3 years in galway. he wants the supporters to come out and will be in talks with last seasons players today and tomorrow as well as others. He also stated that there will be no official signings unless you hear them from his own lips.
12/01/2010, 11:11 AM
not going to read back through it all to see if this was posted already, but, gareth gorman and billy clery were named in his coaching staff. probably 2 former players who know the local junior leagues inside out, for some home grown talent.
12/01/2010, 11:46 AM
I really dont think you can lecture me on financial reclessness of a club's board!!!;)
Edit, Seanie boy put the whoel squad up in a hotel in Sligo for a pres season game, some additional costs so yes, he is involved in some degree to that loss!
Why not? At least I know who's to blame down here.
So Sean Connor put the whole team up using the clubs money but the board knew nothing about it?
Paddyfield
12/01/2010, 12:36 PM
swiped from a local newspaper....
http://www.galwaynews.ie/10608-new-boss-aiming-high
New boss aiming high
January 12, 2010
Connor pledges retaining Premier Div status is only a start
NEW Galway United manager Sean Connor says the only goal he has for the coming season is ensuring Premier Division survival – but claims there is no reason why the club can’t be challenging for league honours in the coming years.
The Belfast native was unveiled as the new United manager yesterday on a three year contract, making United his fourth club in six seasons, having also served as manager of Sligo Rovers, Bohemian FC and Dundalk. He will be joined on the United bench by two former players and crowd favourites, with Gareth Gorman acting as his assistant manager and Billy Clery completing the management team.
Speaking after his unveiling yesterday, Connor said Gorman played a major part in him deciding to apply for, and accept, the position of United manager; an appointment which he admitted will present him with the toughest test of his career.
“Gareth sold the club to me, he spoke very highly of the club. He lives locally and I think it is important to have a local feel to it [management] and that is why I have brought him and Billy Clery with me.
“Galway is a big city in a very sporting province, and we need to build the club into something the people can be proud of. The thing about United now is it is very much a team, and that is part of the challenge for me, to make it a club - right now it is only about the first team.
“We need to build links with the local community, be that with underage sides, educational courses, things like that. I want to make this club one which the people of Galway can be proud of, and also to turn it into the club young players in the area want to play for,” he said.
United CEO Nick Leeson, who presented Connor to the large gathering in Supermacs (which owns the Irish franchise for Papa Johns pizza, United’s main sponsor), said there were two exceptional candidates in the running for the job, and that of those, Connor was the “very clear winner”.
“He has an outstanding knowledge of football, he has the drive and ambition we were looking for, and he is a very good coach, and as we have limited resources at our disposal, Sean’s coaching skills will be invaluable,” he said.
Connor had spoken to some of the United squad before yesterday’s press conference, and he intended to speak to the others yesterday evening. He said all will be invited to attend the first day of preseason training, which will be held this coming Saturday.
He confirmed that Derek O’Brien and Alan Murphy have confirmed their interest in staying at United; he was “100% confident” Seamus Conneely will also be at United for the coming season; while he said that John Russell has attracted interest from one club in England, but if he decides to stay in Ireland, it will be with United.
New manager aims to freshen squad with new faces, page 22
Dillonman
12/01/2010, 12:54 PM
He said that exact same this time last year with us, blah blah blah we are a big club, should be challenging at the top and avoiding relegation in his first season would be the main priority and he was looking to unearth some youthful talent which never really materialised
Maroon 7
12/01/2010, 1:57 PM
I'm not a fan of Sean Connor but there was hardly a rake of talented managers looking to take the job with a club that will have the lowest budget in the league next year and a squad which will be made up in the main of young local players.
Given how football managers jobs in Ireland are bascially an act of musical chairs it was only a matter of time until a Roddy Collins or in this case a Sean Connor ended up at United.
Should make for some interesting viewing next season if you've got a seat in the stand right behind the dugout at Terryland anyway.
CarrickFan
12/01/2010, 2:13 PM
its over now, basically hes looking forward to his next 3 years in galway. he wants the supporters to come out and will be in talks with last seasons players today and tomorrow as well as others. He also stated that there will be no official signings unless you hear them from his own lips.
i will be amazed if he is there in 12 months time.
weecountyman
12/01/2010, 2:20 PM
Micls, I hope to god this isn't the same in Cork this season, your new boss left his last 4 clubs mired in debts due to overspending and signing behind the scenes contracts. I don't know if SC will be the same, but he does seem to get relatively little out of it for himself.
On that article, Nick Leeson said 2 high quality candidates, yet they plumped for SC. I wonder who had interviewed for the job? I wouldn't be surprised if it was SC and RC!
WoodquayBoy
12/01/2010, 3:39 PM
On that article, Nick Leeson said 2 high quality candidates, yet they plumped for SC. I wonder who had interviewed for the job? I wouldn't be surprised if it was SC and RC!
Tom French was the other 1 in the '2' - Foster's assistant last year
eamo1
13/01/2010, 11:57 PM
A question for Dundalk fan's mostly as ye were his former club.Was wondering what kind of tactics does Connor use?When he was Sligo manager a few years ago Sligo beat us in Terryland 2-0 and played us off the park that night with a lovely passing game.Last season however in Terryland i seen Dundalk play hoofball for most of the games.I know in one of those games they beat us 3-0 but they just overpowered us physically that night. I know he has his team's play physcially(disgracefull red card record) and are hard working but i just hope we are not in for a season of hoofball, are we??Kenna and Foster kept us up without playing hoofball so i hope Connor will aswell.