View Full Version : Sean Connor new manager of gufc

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

shep
10/01/2010, 8:34 PM
one thing is for sure,Galway are now gonna sign a lot of half decent players,attitude and wages wise a disaster...but expect an exciting year.A good short term appointment IMO

abcd
10/01/2010, 8:42 PM
I wonder will Dave Rogers still be on our radar?:confused:

dublinred
10/01/2010, 9:02 PM
Good appointment by Galway , will never win the league but can't ever see any of his teams getting relegated either , 4th with us , 3rd with Bohs who were in the doldroms the season before and 5th with a new team and a bunch of loopers at Dundalk isn't a bad record ,does talk a lot of ****e though.

Hairy Bowsie
10/01/2010, 9:06 PM
How long before he has the Galway public believing the rest of the country, LOI and FAI are out to get them?

I really can't believe there are people still ridiculously stupid enough to hire people like Connor and Shoddy over and over again. Galway fans should be calling on whoever appointed him to resign immediately.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 9:13 PM
Good appointment by Galway , will never win the league but can't ever see any of his teams getting relegated either , 4th with us , 3rd with Bohs who were in the doldroms the season before and 5th with a new team and a bunch of loopers at Dundalk isn't a bad record ,does talk a lot of ****e though.

WHo exactly are you referring to...us, the fans or the players and staff he appointed?????

Paddyfield
10/01/2010, 9:14 PM
How long before he has the Galway public believing the rest of the country, LOI and FAI are out to get them?

I really can't believe there are people still ridiculously stupid enough to hire people like Connor and Shoddy over and over again. Galway fans should be calling on whoever appointed him to resign immediately.

Galway United fans should applaud whoever hired Connor and be grateful it wasn't Roddy Collins, Paul McGee or Pat Dolan.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 9:15 PM
Galway United fans should applaud whoever hired Connor and be grateful it wasn't Roddy Collins, Paul McGee or Pat Dolan.

Havnt you heard...Pat Dolan is too big of a TV star for the LOI scene now-a-days!

Boo_Boy
10/01/2010, 9:16 PM
WHo exactly are you referring to...us, the fans or the players and staff he appointed?????

Obviously the players who had like 18 red cards.

Loopers.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 9:18 PM
Obviously the players who had like 18 red cards.

Loopers.

Thats alright then! Yeah there where a few "head the balls" alright but I must say, there was a group of lads there that really knew how to play football and Im glad I can say I got to see some of them play weeek in week out for a season. Lads like Shaun kelly, Mickey McGowan, Mchael Daly, Chris Turner and Liam Burns.

CarrickFan
10/01/2010, 9:19 PM
Getting a bit sick of this praise for getting Dundalk to 5th place last season......its a 10 team league for staters...Spoofer and Dundalk spent money and brought a lot of decent players in..from the start of the season Bray and Drogs(with the greatest of respect lads before ye go mad!!..were more or less going to be the bottom 2...we had a really bad first half to the season and therefore were down there...Pats were awful often and Galway finished where many predicted they would so it wasnt really that much of an achievement really....granted at the start of the season i would have predicted Us and Pats to finish higher than Dundalk but the reason we didnt was down to Rovers and Pats and not any brilliance by Connor.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 9:22 PM
Getting a bit sick of this praise for getting Dundalk to 5th place last season......its a 10 team league for staters...Spoofer and Dundalk spent money and brought a lot of decent players in..from the start of the season Bray and Drogs(with the greatest of respect lads before ye go mad!!..were more or less going to be the bottom 2...we had a really bad first half to the season and therefore were down there...Pats were awful often and Galway finished where many predicted they would so it wasnt really that much of an achievement really....granted at the start of the season i would have predicted Us and Pats to finish higher than Dundalk but the reason we didnt was down to Rovers and Pats and not any brilliance by Connor.

We didnt exaclyt get off to the best possible starts lad! We lost our first two games, and couldnt put two results together. It was the middle of the season where we put together a decent run and flew up the table.

10/01/2010, 9:24 PM

In saying that, are you saying that Connor was unable to get any points accumulated from the matches between dundalk and sligo, and, dundalk and pats?

P.S. Honestly cant remember any of those results.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 9:27 PM
In saying that, are you saying that Connor was unable to get any points accumulated from the matches between dundalk and sligo, and, dundalk and pats?

P.S. Honestly cant remember any of those results.

He picked up 7 out of 12 points from Sligo, 1 of those playing versus a Sligo team at Oriel with 3 men sent off with 30 mins to go! But on the other hand he was suspended for our win at the start of the season down in Sligo so Joe Miller gets that credit. Pats beat us 3 out of 4 times last season, we drew the other one nil all!

10/01/2010, 9:30 PM
He picked up 7 out of 12 points from Sligo, 1 of those playing versus a Sligo team at Oriel with 3 men sent off with 30 mins to go! But on the other hand he was suspended for our win at the start of the season down in Sligo so Joe Miller gets that credit. Pats beat us 3 out of 4 times last season, we drew the other one nil all!

he definitely had nothing to do with sligos poor season so !

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 9:37 PM
he definitely had nothing to do with sligos poor season so !

Definitely not man, definitely not!

CarrickFan
10/01/2010, 9:38 PM
i never suggested he did...my point was 2 teams i would have predicted to finish above Dundalk didnt because of their own inadequacies not Connor being a brilliant manager....they desereved to beat us that first game in Sligo..we won up in oriel..we were 3-1 with 20 mins to go and contrived to lose in the 2nd Showgrounds game..i was at the 2-2 in Oriel and strange as it may sound i think we would have won had Dundalk stayed with 11 or even 10 men..we were thet better team before it descended into a farce...i may be wrong Dillionman but i'd be happier with Foster if i was a Dundalk fan.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 9:48 PM
i never suggested he did...my point was 2 teams i would have predicted to finish above Dundalk didnt because of their own inadequacies not Connor being a brilliant manager....they desereved to beat us that first game in Sligo..we won up in oriel..we were 3-1 with 20 mins to go and contrived to lose in the 2nd Showgrounds game..i was at the 2-2 in Oriel and strange as it may sound i think we would have won had Dundalk stayed with 11 or even 10 men..we were thet better team before it descended into a farce...i may be wrong Dillionman but i'd be happier with Foster if i was a Dundalk fan.

I am and I am not if thats clear!! I am however willing to give the chap a chance to prove himself, unlike some who have written him completely off but with the lack of signings atm, him not actually in the country til tomorrow and no app bother to contact or sign any of our better players form last year and making fans hysterical and creating a cause for concern, our only signings to date are a 35 year old virtually unknown Englishman but I have heard of him from watching Gillette Soccer Saturday most weekends and Alan Cawley who Pats fans where happy to see the back off.

One things for sure with Foster, he aint guna ask or spend money he hasnt got, he said it himself compared to Connor who needs a big budget. For example: Connor signed Michael McGinlay and didnt even release a statem,ent to say he was signed, he played in the Celtic friendly last February and was therer til the last game of the season. He gavce hima full time deal and played him 3 times all season as a sub, he barely got into the squad with youths getting in ahead of him and yet he was still kept the whole seaosn on a full time deal I must strive to point out and the chap was a waster, he was hammered every weekend in Dundalk's finest nightclubs and one incident summed it all up, he was found unconscience on top of a bin round the corner form a night club the night before an A side's away match and he was app the captain of that side!! This behaviour was tolerated non stop under a certain person so to sum up, I am happy we have Foster.

PS Sorry for all the spelling mistakes, I write too quick!

Sean South
10/01/2010, 9:59 PM
Maawahahaha fs Galway scraping the bottom of the barrel now. All together now Sean Connors maroon army :D

CarrickFan
10/01/2010, 10:03 PM
Fair points...i think Cawley is a decent player..who is the English lad?

sheao
10/01/2010, 10:03 PM
He could do a decent job at Galway i think .

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 10:06 PM
Fair points...i think Cawley is a decent player..who is the English lad?

Wayne Hatswell, he was/is(whatever way you wana look at it as he is emploted with them til they find a replacement) Cambridge's player of the seaosn alst year and captain. He is our new number two/coach/centre half.

Anyways to bring it back to topic, COnnor may well work a miralce at Galway and I for one am looking forward to our clashes as it will add of spice to the encounters.

One things for sure, with reported Galway lads connected with joining us, this will prob change their minds and keep them at Galway for another seaosn.

CarrickFan
10/01/2010, 10:10 PM
or could have them running to Dundalk quicker!!..time will tell roll on March 5th!

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 10:14 PM
or could have them running to Dundalk quicker!!..time will tell roll on March 5th!

It has to be down now as Dundalk v Galway opening weekend!

10/01/2010, 10:28 PM
Wayne Hatswell, he was/is(whatever way you wana look at it as he is emploted with them til they find a replacement) Cambridge's player of the seaosn alst year and captain. He is our new number two/coach/centre half.

Anyways to bring it back to topic, COnnor may well work a miralce at Galway and I for one am looking forward to our clashes as it will add of spice to the encounters.

One things for sure, with reported Galway lads connected with joining us, this will prob change their minds and keep them at Galway for another seaosn.

There's a rake of hurlers in Clare who don't want to play anymore. Made for Seanie.

10/01/2010, 10:36 PM
There's a rake of hurlers in Clare who don't want to play anymore. Made for Seanie.
since when is 'a rake' a unit of mesaurement?

10/01/2010, 10:41 PM

Hello?

10/01/2010, 10:49 PM
Hello?
hello there :) yes i cant spell get over it mate :) i'd assume people would be used to it by now.. and somtimes typos may accour we cant all be as perfect as your lordship here:rolleyes:

sligofan4ever
10/01/2010, 10:51 PM
hello there :) yes i cant spell get over it mate :) i'd assume people would be used to it by now.. and somtimes typos may accour we cant all be as perfect as your lordship here:rolleyes:

How did you manage to get into college so ?

WoodquayBoy
10/01/2010, 10:57 PM
'A rake' is a pervcectly acceptable unit of measurement outside of Dublin.
Agree with Dillonman, Utd v Dundalk has got to be a certainty for opening weekend of the season.
With Connor in charge, will be an interesting season, now 2 people at the club whose word I would take witha pinch of salt, but would be confident of avoiding relegation with RPS at the helm

10/01/2010, 10:59 PM
How did you manage to get into college so ?
i'm quite the wordsmith i just cant spell said words correctly from time to time.. :rolleyes:and i'm in art college not much spelling exams go on there and i think i got a 'B' in english back in the day.....:cool: now enough of this sillines.. back to the matters at hand... :) an no i dont realy like nor dislike the ma.. he certianly makes things more intresting and is a decent manager result wise.. will do a decent job i'm sure

geezer
10/01/2010, 11:24 PM
Plenty of action guaranteed, Galway teams always too nice in all codes. Everyone else will hate us now so it might bring out something that we have lacked. Might be no harm to to have a sharper, no bull**** relationships with the two local pretenders, no doubt connor will stir it and i look forward to it. Red Mists, red cards and red pants the best christmas present United fans could have hoped for

Boo_Boy
10/01/2010, 11:25 PM
Me love the Supermacs.

Ciaran W
11/01/2010, 12:03 AM
For some reason i feel galway will do brilliant next season

PartySaint
11/01/2010, 12:06 AM
Yeah? You'd have a different opinion if he ever managed Pats.

If we were in the same situation as Galway are supposed to be in i would gladly take Connor as our manager, I think getting someone with good experince just might save Galway from the drop this year

MeathDrog
11/01/2010, 12:15 AM
Why, have you seen their 'teamsheet'?

higgins
11/01/2010, 1:11 AM

it's not too hard to do well in the first division ;)

KevBGUFC
11/01/2010, 1:12 AM
I can't really see any argument against Connor's appointment. He is the most qualified of the applicants who were still interested having heard about our financial situation. We desperately needed an experienced manager in place to prevent further losses to our squad.

Besides, with only 10 top-flight teams now managers with experience, but without a job can't be too picky. We may not have a huge budget, but we're in the right league, and Connor can hopefully keep us there. Welcome aboard Sean, and good luck!

weecountyman
11/01/2010, 5:42 AM
While Seanie's a bit beyond being an oddball, and can be as erratic as a meerkat on speed, he does seem to be lucky, and maybe that luck is from getting the best from players or good tactics. Last year was a rollercoaster with us but at the same time it was a tough gig to come into. It's interesting to see that he got the Galway job after being recommended and turned down for the Floriana job. (Really, he gave an interview in the Maltese media - after being introduced by Roddy - about how he'd love the challenge)

Paddyfield
11/01/2010, 6:45 AM
Any truth in the rumours that Jim Flannagan will be Connors number two?

I bet it will be Gareth Gorman. He is a fellow northerner who played with Galway United in the 90's. He was previously No.2 at Sligo and Dundalk. He married a Galway woman a few years ago and lives in Galway.

11/01/2010, 7:52 AM
Tomorrow at 3pm at Supermacs eyre square.

When I read this in the other thread I thought it was a Fat Joke and I laughed

11/01/2010, 8:23 AM
I'm quite the wordsmith i just cant spell said words correctly from time to time.. and I'm in art college not much spelling exams go on there and i think i got a 'B' in English back in the day.....:cool: now enough of this silliness.. back to the matters at hand... Sean Connor is a cnut!! an no i don't really like nor dislike the ma.. he certainly makes things more interesting and is a decent manager result wise.. will do a decent job I'm sure

I think this guy is seriously on the brink of an automatic life-time ban from this forum.
I mean, he can't spell, he supports 50 different teams and he's not only a student but an Art Student :eek: Jeez, standards of moderation is seriously dipping here.

Oh and i fixed that post for you :p

Mayo Red
11/01/2010, 8:57 AM
Galway teams always too nice in all codes.

You're joking....right???;)

11/01/2010, 9:03 AM
I think this guy is seriously on the brink of an automatic life-time ban from this forum.
I mean, he can't spell, he supports 50 different teams and he's not only a student but an Art Student :eek: Jeez, standards of moderation is seriously dipping here.

thanks sam i love you too..:rolleyes: mods feel free to move the discussion about my spelling to rubbish and call it ''the inadequacies of the irish education system''..

Dillonman
11/01/2010, 10:07 AM

I doubt ye would be complaining if he supported every LOI club!:rolleyes:

11/01/2010, 10:14 AM
I doubt ye would be complaining if he supported every LOI club!:rolleyes:
i do if their in europe! i'd even want athlone to win....(i feel dirty for saying that):o

Shano Mac
11/01/2010, 11:33 AM
The FAI wont approve a budget that Galway can’t afford. It will be interesting to see how he does on a tight budget. Lets be fair to him, he has done ok so far at every club he has been at.

eamoss
11/01/2010, 11:50 AM
Wouldnt be surprised now if Shaun Kelly and Liam Burns sign for Galway.

eelmonster
11/01/2010, 11:58 AM
I don't know how Galway are going to afford Seanie's babes on a 3-4000 playing budget, but Michael McGinley is a sure thing :D

11/01/2010, 12:23 PM
thanks sam i love you too..:rolleyes: mods feel free to move the discussion about my spelling to rubbish and call it ''the inadequacies of the irish education system''..

I doubt ye would be complaining if he supported every LOI club!

Sarcasm detectors broken lads?

Redie
11/01/2010, 12:40 PM

Everyone knows that 'a rake' is more than 'loads' but less than 'Pucks':cool: