View Full Version : DUP

Mr_Parker
06/01/2010, 2:34 PM
Those who have an interest in politics in the North should keep a wee eye on the 'smoke and mirrors' surrounding Iris Robinson and her "depression." Big announcement coming soon....

06/01/2010, 2:40 PM
Peter to follow I hear......

Mr_Parker
06/01/2010, 2:45 PM
Peter to follow I hear......

Seems so. High Court injunctions being sought too to keep the press quiet...;)

06/01/2010, 4:08 PM
http://www.politics.ie/northern-ireland/121731-iris-robinson-having-affair-behind-husband-peters-back-story-about-break.html

One of the rumours.

I am sure like myself Mr P you have heard a few of the other floating about today.

06/01/2010, 5:17 PM
At least it wasn't something completely depraved, like going to mass in a Catholic church for a funeral....

06/01/2010, 5:49 PM
I've said it many times before but the phonic emphasis' is much changed now - Iris Robinson you old dog you.:cool:

old git
06/01/2010, 8:36 PM
I've said it many times before but the phonic emphasis' is much changed now - Iris Robinson you old dog you.:cool:

any names on who her brief affair was with !!! jeffrey donaldson always looked like a sly old dog :D

06/01/2010, 8:42 PM
Tiger Woods has issued a statement saying he didn't have an affair with Iris Robinson.

06/01/2010, 9:18 PM
any names on who her brief affair was with !!!

I'd give my right leg (r my left, can never remember which is which...) for it to be either Martin McGuinness or Bertie Ahern

old git
06/01/2010, 9:20 PM
I'd give my right leg (r my left, can never remember which is which...) for it to be either Martin McGuinness or Bertie Ahern

what about gerry adams now that would do wonders for the peace process :D:D

prince20
06/01/2010, 9:24 PM
what about gerry adams now that would do wonders for the peace process :D:D

It was hardly his brother anyway:eek:

sligobhoy67
06/01/2010, 11:45 PM
Aint karma a bitch!!! :D

weecountyman
07/01/2010, 5:16 AM
Unless it was Peter having the affair Jeffrey Donaldson is out of the running. What about the old man of the north, Mr. Paisley being the lothario!

Fr Damo
07/01/2010, 8:19 AM
Sunday Tribune were on morning Ireland this morning questioning the timing of it all. Robinson found out ten months ago, it was spoken about in corners in Storement (ie in the domain) and it seems Robinson was dealing with it fine up till now.
There are suggestions that a storey is about to break in relation to one or the others finances and that this is a bit of a smoke screen, to gain some public sympathy. (familar eh??)

Perhaps they should have got Brian Dobo up to the do the interview!
Tommy Gorman would have just asked about the children !!

07/01/2010, 8:22 AM
I think there may have been a TV documentary ready to role about the affair which may have prompted the revelations yesterday.

However the suspicion that there is more to come from the Robinson's remains.

weecountyman
07/01/2010, 8:23 AM
That's something that he mentioned on tv, that he hadn't lost 2-3 million on shares etc. But what I couldn't connect was, he's not an obviously wealthy man AFAIK, so how was he losing (if it was the case) such money on shares.

07/01/2010, 8:26 AM
any names on who her brief affair was with !!! jeffrey donaldson always looked like a sly old dog :D

No names I know of but reading through the link Mariborkev provided there are seemingly some rumours that the individual is indeed (blesses himself) catholic.

Fr Damo
07/01/2010, 8:28 AM
I'd say Horses and the football pools but isn't that frowned up by our Scots Protestant friends?? (a bit like adultry)

07/01/2010, 8:35 AM
I'd say Horses and the football pools but isn't that frowned up by our Scots Protestant friends?? (a bit like adultry)

perhaps. But I do recall reading an age ago of a particularily rabid Klan grand wizard who was partial to nothing more of a weekend than some randying with delictable black booty ...though I doubt he could spell ironic.

07/01/2010, 11:52 AM
That's something that he mentioned on tv, that he hadn't lost 2-3 million on shares etc. But what I couldn't connect was, he's not an obviously wealthy man AFAIK, so how was he losing (if it was the case) such money on shares.
Maybe it wasn't his money?

07/01/2010, 11:56 AM
BBC are considering bringing forward the Spotlight programme about the Robinsons, scheduled for two weeks time, to this evening.

"No woman would have put up with what she tolerated from her husband when he was president." - Iris speaking in 2008 about Hillary Clinton. :D

07/01/2010, 12:50 PM

As a couple they earn over £500,000 per annum from their positions at Stormont and Westminister.

Robinson's use of the word "I" all the time in relation to the financial impropriety may be telling;)

weecountyman
07/01/2010, 5:23 PM
Maybe it wasn't his money?

Then he's in serious trouble for pocketing funds or some such.

07/01/2010, 5:29 PM
Lads, can we drop the idle speculation please? It's nonsensical and it's likely to get someone sued.

dcfc_1928
07/01/2010, 6:06 PM
Spotlight has been given the go-ahead and will be on at 10.35 tonight.

It is believed that the programme will reveal Iris' lover as the co-owner of Lock-keepers Inn - a business that has received financial support from Castlereagh Borough Council.

The Robinsons have a lot of influence in Castlereagh Council - the council even renamed the local leisure centre "The Robinson Centre" in recognition of Peter's contribution to the borough and council.

07/01/2010, 6:13 PM
According to this evenings RTE radio 1 the chap she played an away fixture with is 21 years old. I'm little more than half her age and if I went away with a 21 year old I've a fair suspicion I'd be looked upon as having brought the game into disrepute.

awec
07/01/2010, 6:55 PM
If he does turn out to be 21, the young lad just bagged himself a milf and a half.

07/01/2010, 7:00 PM
This thread brings a new meaning to the 'Current Affairs' section..

07/01/2010, 8:07 PM
If he does turn out to be 21, the young lad just bagged himself a milf and a half.

She is not even one quarter of a milf, She is an ugly ugly woman. Would not touch her with a barge pole.

07/01/2010, 9:04 PM
Heard earlier on the radio that UTV are saying he's 19.

Aberdonian Stu
07/01/2010, 10:02 PM
I'm watching the Spotlight special, I'm about 20 minutes behind as I DVRed it. Wow.

07/01/2010, 10:14 PM
Balls, missed it.

General gist (or juicy details)?

dcfc_1928
07/01/2010, 10:16 PM
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y102/mr_patrick_brightside/ulstersaysho.jpg

07/01/2010, 10:24 PM
Balls, missed it.

She was friends with a butcher who had a son, and after the guy died, she wanted to look after his son. She got developers to give / lend 25 grand each to help him set up his own cafe / pub business when he was 19, was on the council / commitee that awarded him the lease on the property, and at some point a sexual relationship developed between the two of them. When that went sour, she wanted the money back, initially for herself and her church, but when her husband found out (about the money, if nothing else), he wanted it paid back to those it had come from.

Both of them, but her in particular, broke plenty of rules by not informing the relevant authorities about the money received and about pecuniary interests in the cafe.

The whole story was broken by her former taxpayer-funded political advisor, who decided he couldn't stay quiet any longer.

Very brief synopsis there.

07/01/2010, 10:25 PM
Balls, missed it.

Your man was 19 at the time. She got two property developers to give her £25k each to give to the fella to start up a café, one of whom is now dead.
She was on Castlereagh council when he got approval for the café.
She didn't declare the interest she had in the café, breaking the law.
The fella paid her £5k back from the £45k.
She feel out with the fella (Kirk McCambley) and then demanded the money back. A cheque for half was to go to a church, the other was to be written out to her (maybe to give back to the developer, but they don't know).
Peter Robinson found out about, and tried to tell her to sort it out with soliticors, but didn't go public. (As First Minister he is sworn to put the public interest before anything else.)
The fella she said doing a lot of work on this issue was publicly funded (he was interviewed in the program.)

dcfc_1928
07/01/2010, 10:34 PM
Don't forget - the pastor of that church is Peter Robinson's sister?!?!

A cheque for half was to go to a church, the other was to be written out to her

old git
07/01/2010, 10:40 PM

he was only 19 at the time of the affair with 59 year old iris ;)

old git
07/01/2010, 10:48 PM
Your man was 19 at the time. She got two property developers to give her £25k each to give to the fella to start up a café, one of whom is now dead.
She was on Castlereagh council when he got approval for the café.
She didn't declare the interest she had in the café, breaking the law.
The fella paid her £5k back from the £45k.
She feel out with the fella (Kirk McCambley) and then demanded the money back. A cheque for half was to go to a church, the other was to be written out to her (maybe to give back to the developer, but they don't know).
Peter Robinson found out about, and tried to tell her to sort it out with soliticors, but didn't go public. (As First Minister he is sworn to put the public interest before anything else.)
The fella she said doing a lot of work on this issue was publicly funded (he was interviewed in the program.)

spot on with above but also seems the two 25 k donations were also gifts to iris robinson from the developers which they did not expect to be paid back ...:confused: peter robinson only made statement yesterday to press/ media as he had received a letter from bbc asking these questions above on tuesday .. seems he knew about all above in late 2008 .. looks like he tried a sad approach to public about wifes attempted suicide and marriage problems to try and lessen the damage before s**t hit the fonight an on bbc spotlight .

07/01/2010, 10:56 PM
It's all going to go downhill very quickly, I reckon.
I don't think Peter Robinson can carry on as FM. Assuming he resigns, we'll more than likely have another election, with the TUV eating into the DUP vote, SF becoming the largest party and Marty McGuinness as FM (if he gets the cross-community supports, that is.)

The BBC are being very direct about this. No mincing of words in this article: Iris Robinson business deal broke law (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8447383.stm)
This part will kill of Peter: "When Peter Robinson found out about his wife's financial dealings, he insisted that the money should go back to whence it came.

However he did not tell the proper authorities what he knew about the transaction despite being obliged by the ministerial code to act in the public interest at all times. "

Mad stuff altogether.

07/01/2010, 10:59 PM
The Castlereagh Cougar....:D

I'll tell you something, I'd want more than a cafe!!

"Here's to you Mrs. Robinson, Jesus loves you more than words can say....hey hey hey hey".

Prophetic.

07/01/2010, 11:42 PM
Not being overly familiar with the said Mrs Robinson up to yesterday I did a quick images search and, much and all as I appreciate older women sometimes, no, just no. On the topic itself was discussing it earlier with someone who generally would never have been pro Peter Robinson and he was giving him the sympathy vote which surprised me to say the least. As has been said I'm not sure how he can carry on as FM with it being shown that he's known of these irregularities for a good period of time.

07/01/2010, 11:53 PM
Cheers lads. Seems the rumour mill had it pretty much spot on

This facebook group wasn't longin turning up

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/group.php?gid=415667265334&ref=nf

(apparently the bloke's own facebook is(was) public too but I can't be arsed viewing it)

The Fly
08/01/2010, 12:50 AM
For God and Ulster's sake, Mrs. Robinson. Here we are. You got me into your house. You give me a drink of the Devils Buttermilk. You... put on music by the East Belfast Protestant Boys Flute Band. Now you start opening up your personal life to me and tell me your husband won't be home for hours. Mrs. Robinson, you're trying to seduce me! ;)

weecountyman
08/01/2010, 7:17 AM
This is insane, such god fearing people, who look down their snouts at odd types like same sexers and fiendish papists, and all along they realise they're human after all. But like good old George Bush, just go and pray and god will forgive you, to do whatever you want again. Isn't that what big Ian did!

Gather round
08/01/2010, 9:02 AM
For God and Ulster's sake, Mrs. Robinson. Here we are. You got me into your house. You give me a drink of the Devils Buttermilk. You... put on music by the East Belfast Protestant Boys Flute Band. Now you start opening up your personal life to me and tell me your husband won't be home for hours. Mrs. Robinson, you're trying to seduce me! ;)

I like it. You're a bad man, Fly ;)

More like the Sound of Silence from Iris now...

08/01/2010, 10:00 AM
I feel a bit sorry for Peter, almost forgive him for invading the village near my parents house many moons ago and I can see how he found it difficult to shop his wife of 40 years in favour of his minsterial code which he has only sworn in to a few short years agon.

I also admire her for her toyboy, but I doubt even I could deal with a 40 year age gap. That would mean that my future lover is years away from being born. Yuck.

Its good that they are seeing that even god fearing religious types can make mistakes and maybe she will be less judgemental in the future.

08/01/2010, 10:09 AM
Its good that they are seeing that even god fearing religious types can make mistakes and maybe she will be less judgemental in the future.

Or we're seeing that right wing zealots have no morals at all, and they're as corrupt and depraved as the people they spout bile about.

08/01/2010, 10:15 AM
Or we're seeing that right wing zealots have no morals at all, and they're as corrupt and depraved as the people they spout bile about.

It helps show that underneath it all we are all the same and capable of doing things that we might see as wrong but at the time feel right!

08/01/2010, 10:25 AM
It helps show that both Robinsons are muppets.

08/01/2010, 10:27 AM
Seen this last night, was very interesting.
Heard this morning that Robinson might sue BBC as he infact was mentioned but there was no concrete evidence showing his involvement. Of course as husband he might have known but still he could win this in a court of law:)
Also what do you guys think of all the texts. IMHO I think its a little immoral for anyone to disclose what was private texts to the media. Wonder what was the real reason your fella went to the BBC - dont buy that rubbish he spouted, wonder did BBC sweeten it for him?
I think she isnt bad for her age, does that make me mad?:confused:

http://thm-a04.yimg.com/image/0e8a229ca950d244