View Full Version : DUP

Pages : 1 [2]

08/01/2010, 10:45 AM
I think she isnt bad for her age, does that make me mad?:confused:

I'd throw a leg over Dana quicker. Christ I'd throw a leg over Dana INTERNATIONAL quicker.

08/01/2010, 10:47 AM
I think she isnt bad for her age, does that make me mad?:confused:
No.

Just sick.:D

08/01/2010, 11:06 AM
Wonder what was the real reason your fella went to the BBC - dont buy that rubbish he spouted, wonder did BBC sweeten it for him?

They said he'd received nothing for it.

As a former chaplain, presumably quite a religious man, perhaps he couldn't accept Robinson's attempts to portray what she was doing as in line with God's wishes?

I actually thought he (the advisor) and Kirk McCambley both came across quite well myself.

jinxy lilywhite
08/01/2010, 11:26 AM
I feel a bit sorry for Peter, almost forgive him for invading the village near my parents house many moons ago and I can see how he found it difficult to shop his wife of 40 years in favour of his minsterial code which he has only sworn in to a few short years agon.

I also admire her for her toyboy, but I doubt even I could deal with a 40 year age gap. That would mean that my future lover is years away from being born. Yuck.

Its good that they are seeing that even god fearing religious types can make mistakes and maybe she will be less judgemental in the future.

I don't want to have a go at you magicme but i don't feel one bit sorry for the Robinsons at all. When Mrs. Robinson comes out with rhetoric about homosexuals being inhuman and they should be shot, whilst knowingly breaking one of the 10 commandments or even one of the 7 deadly sins, while earlier this week Mr Robinson being probably the only prominent person not to offer condolences for the death of cardinal daly these folks are trapped in a cocoon in their own little world and think they are above reproach. They portray this wholesome family life that they had in Gods little utopia and really any skeletons that they had in their closets where always going to come out.

Seen this last night, was very interesting.
Heard this morning that Robinson might sue BBC as he infact was mentioned but there was no concrete evidence showing his involvement. Of course as husband he might have known but still he could win this in a court of law:)

I don't know if he has a case. I was always led to believe that spouses under the eyes of the law are the one person. could be wrong though

08/01/2010, 11:46 AM
Have no sympathy for her Jinxy, just feel sorry for him coz he is got to be hurt over it all. He is human.

And having checked Kirk out I now admire Iris and wanna be her when I grow up. Yum.

08/01/2010, 11:56 AM
I don't know if he has a case. I was always led to believe that spouses under the eyes of the law are the one person. could be wrong though

Yeah i dont know either, its an interesting one.
But whatever the afters, its pretty embarrassing for your fella that his wife was having it off with a teen. Jesus:) - its funny though

08/01/2010, 12:02 PM
Also what do you guys think of all the texts. IMHO I think its a little immoral for anyone to disclose what was private texts to the media.

He was a publicly funded employee and he was being used as her personal bulter. Anything you text/email to your public-employed assistant is not private. They're publicly owned and it's fair enough for their contents to be made public.

Mrs. Robinson comes out with rhetoric about homosexuals being inhuman and they should be shot, whilst knowingly breaking one of the 10 commandments or even one of the 7 deadly sins

Two commandments actually. She tried to kill herself.

jinxy lilywhite
08/01/2010, 12:07 PM
Two commandments actually. She tried to kill herself.

sorry showing my lack of commandments knowledge but is suicide one of the ten commandment. if it is then I never knew that

08/01/2010, 12:18 PM
sorry showing my lack of commandments knowledge but is suicide one of the ten commandment. if it is then I never knew that

Covered by 'Thou shalt not kill', iirc.

08/01/2010, 12:24 PM

I'd say it's fairly well covered by Thou Shalt Not Kill. Though I once had it explained to me by a minister of the Free Presbyterian Church that what looks like like a fairly unequivocal commandment is actually about as water tight as a collander.
He went on to explain that according to the bible (or his preferred chinese whisper translation of it at any rate) that particular commandment refers only to the taking of life amongst the private and unauthorised citizenry. State sanctioned killings/executions are not only exempt but are INSISTED upon as a form of punishment elsewhere in the 'Good Book'.

08/01/2010, 1:11 PM
I'd say it's fairly well covered by Thou Shalt Not Kill. Though I once had it explained to me by a minister of the Free Presbyterian Church that what looks like like a fairly unequivocal commandment is actually about as water tight as a collander.
He went on to explain that according to the bible (or his preferred chinese whisper translation of it at any rate) that particular commandment refers only to the taking of life amongst the private and unauthorised citizenry. State sanctioned killings/executions are not only exempt but are INSISTED upon as a form of punishment elsewhere in the 'Good Book'.
Yes. A better translation is "Thou Shalt Not Murder", murder being rather more legalistic.

My first reaction was one of sympathy, but I'm not sure how much sympathy a corrupt, homophobic, hypocritical philanderer is deserving of.

08/01/2010, 1:15 PM
He was a publicly funded employee and he was being used as her personal bulter. Anything you text/email to your public-employed assistant is not private. They're publicly owned and it's fair enough for their contents to be made public.

Yeah I am aware of that, but still I think its a little low to make public texts that are private, considering that she was mentally unstable as well

08/01/2010, 1:48 PM
Yeah I am aware of that, but still I think its a little low to make public texts that are private, considering that she was mentally unstable as well

Oh come on Bennocelt you're not buying the mentally unstable toss are you? (well other than her default setting being mad as a bag o'rats). I'm pretty sure I told a (soon to be ex) girlfriend back in my salad days that I was in the away stand all the time because I was mental when truth probably was NASA could've certified me fit to fly and I'd still have been off chasin' tail.

jinxy lilywhite
08/01/2010, 1:58 PM
Covered by 'Thou shalt not kill', iirc.

sorry about that had a jinx moment :D.
I did think of that only one but i would of took kill/murder in reference to somebody and not oneself but yeah I get the meaning. apologies

08/01/2010, 3:44 PM
elsewhere in the 'Good Book'.That's what's fun about the bible though, everything is ok somewhere in there. It's a licence to do what you damned well please. ;)

08/01/2010, 4:09 PM

I don't think it's low at all. Any personal emails I send from my Govt email address are public property. If they're read by someone else or made public, that's fair enough.
And aye, I don't really buy the whole 'mentally unstable' thing either. And even if it's true, it doesn't excuse breaking the law.

08/01/2010, 6:21 PM
That's what's fun about the bible though, everything is ok somewhere in there. It's a licence to do what you damned well please. ;)
My personal favourite is 2 Kings 2:23-24: God sends bears to eat children for telling a prophet to "Feck off, baldie" (Or words to that effect).

08/01/2010, 6:38 PM
Poor woman must have missed the 10 commandments in her haste to compare homosexuals to child abusers.

08/01/2010, 6:58 PM
My personal favourite is 2 Kings 2:23-24: God sends bears to eat children for telling a prophet to "Feck off, baldie" (Or words to that effect).

Yeah, I looked it up. so what?

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=2%20Kings%202&version=NIV

From there Elisha went up to Bethel. As he was walking along the road, some youths came out of the town and jeered at him. "Go on up, you baldhead!" they said. "Go on up, you baldhead!"

He turned around, looked at them and called down a curse on them in the name of the LORD. Then two bears came out of the woods and mauled forty-two of the youths.

Mad Moose
08/01/2010, 10:20 PM

An exhausted Moses had little time for the finer details of the just delivered commandments.

Incredible story and I have no sympathy for Iris (or Irish as I heard her called tonight on a BBC broadcast :D ) whatsoever and I've smiled the last few days over these revelations. I've no problem with anybody making a mistake. We all do but to be in the midst of an adulterous relationship with a teenager, while spouting publicly that homosexuality and the lying of men together and women together is an abomination, shows her for the shallow little person she really was and is.

There's more to follow no doubt and I have every confidence this will unravel in time. Peter Robinson has been given one week (a development in the last hour) to clear his name of any impropriety in this matter.

Not Brazil
13/01/2010, 9:55 AM
When Mrs. Robinson comes out with rhetoric about homosexuals being inhuman and they should be shot, whilst knowingly breaking one of the 10 commandments or even one of the 7 deadly sins, while earlier this week Mr Robinson being probably the only prominent person not to offer condolences for the death of cardinal daly

I'm no fan of "The Robinsons", or the Party they represent (in Iris's case, represented) for a variety of reasons (I'm a constituent of Peter Robinson), but it's important to stick to facts.

1. Iris Robinson's misguided rant about homosexuals did not include any reference to "they should be shot".

2. Peter Robinson did offer his condolences on the death of Cardinal Daly.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8438316.stm

13/01/2010, 2:26 PM
I'm no fan of "The Robinsons", or the Party they represent (in Iris's case, represented) for a variety of reasons (I'm a constituent of Peter Robinson), but it's important to stick to facts.

1. Iris Robinson's misguided rant about homosexuals did not include any reference to "they should be shot".

]

She does however have the opinion that they are worse morally than paedophiles

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200708/cmgeneral/nigc/080617/80617s02.htm

There can be no viler act, apart from homosexuality and sodomy, than sexually abusing innocent children.

13/01/2010, 3:40 PM
She does however have the opinion that they are worse morally than paedophiles

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200708/cmgeneral/nigc/080617/80617s02.htm

I don't think Not Brazil is trying to soften the criticism in any way, just trying to ensure that she is only criticised for the vile comments she did actually make.

old git
13/01/2010, 9:38 PM

2. Peter Robinson did offer his condolences on the death of Cardinal Daly.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8438316.stm

condolences offered 4 days after he died and after robinson criticised by former church of ireland primate lord eames and senior ex political rivals .. ;)

Gather round
13/01/2010, 10:02 PM
condolences offered 4 days after he died and after robinson criticised by former church of ireland primate lord eames and senior ex political rivals .. ;)

I've no brief for Robinson, but maybe given his and his wife's problems he had slightly more pressing concerns than Daly's funeral, or Eames's and Mallon's gurning?

Closed Account 2
14/01/2010, 12:02 AM
There can be no issue with the age gap - and there are many men who go out with much younger women so why can't it be the other way around. The age is legal and plenty of men go out with younger women. I think it's bad she did it when in a long term relationship. Even if there were mitigating circumstances, e.g. her husband not being able to satisfy her or whatever, she should have ended one relationship before starting the other. I guess it naive to think such things don’t happen in the modern world but if you are in the spotlight such transgressions will always be highlighted, and you will see things of ridicule like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRwTj6iXnSI&feature=related

The bad thing is she seems to have manipulated the guy, offering him £45,000 which could be interpreted as a form of solicitation. Perhaps he would have done it anyway irrespective of money changing hands. But I would imagine that a significant percentage of single men would have done it for £45 - it's a significant amount of money and while her best years might be behind her she is not totally abhorrent from a looks perspective from certain angles.

Even though I’m not a fan of her husband, you have to feel an element of sympathy for him. He must be the butt of a thousand jokes and snide remarks at Stormont – we all know politics is full of hecklers and back-stabbers. He must have a pretty low level of self esteem at this moment in time and with one revelation after another it must be hard to pull himself together. But if he has breached the law then there will be consequences.

Gather round
14/01/2010, 7:59 AM
But if he has breached the law then there will be consequences

Even if he hasn't I can't see him returning to the top gig- the ridicule you mention will see to that.

Both Robbo himself (and President Arlene speaking on his behalf) have stressed he hasn't done anything illegal. Maybe not- and it looks as if the two main witnesses, Black and McCambley, might be flaky. But if he has breached the MP/MLA/ councillor code(s) up here by turning a blind eye to dodgy financial dealings, surely he's toast even if no fraud or other specific offence has been committed?

14/01/2010, 11:55 AM
maybe given his and his wife's problems he had slightly more pressing concerns than Daly's funeral, or Eames's and Mallon's gurning?

I don't really buy that. He'd been dealing with his wife's problems since March. The story about the affair hadn't broke by that stage. It felt as though he didn't really want to make a comment about Eames, but felt he had to.

Both Robbo himself (and President Arlene speaking on his behalf) have stressed he hasn't done anything illegal.

He hasn't really been accused of doing anything illegal himself though, has he? It's more that he didn't report something illegal.
Either way, I don't see how he'll recover from this.

Dodds next FM? The deal on policing and justice seems a wee bit closer this week, and I reckon if Robinson isn't coming back, they'll want that sorted asap. I doubt SF would elect a new FM and DFM without it, and the DUP are terrified of an Assembly election.

14/01/2010, 2:41 PM
Who cares - members of one homophobic religion not commiserating with members of another homophobic religion... In the scheme of the story it's irrelevant imo.

old git
14/01/2010, 10:32 PM
Who cares - members of one homophobic religion not commiserating with members of another homophobic religion... In the scheme of the story it's irrelevant imo.

who cares :confused:.... for a leader of one of the biggest unionist partys in n.ireland and first minister for northern ireland assembly part of a new goverment trying to repair problems, unite communities in n.ireland surely it makes sense to offer condolences on cardinal daly's death a man who was heavily involved in the process that established peace in the north........ and maybe it would help mend a few more bridges for a lot of catholics in n.ireland ... so it is relevent in story as the story has a bigger picture.

The Fly
15/01/2010, 5:31 PM
Oh please God............let the latest rumours be true!!! :eek:

Gather round
15/01/2010, 6:28 PM
The singing nun and a r*nt b*y is it?

16/01/2010, 9:07 AM
Oh please God............let the latest rumours be true!!! :eek:

The stuff in that email floating about that Spotlight have the evidence of?

Some mad stuff there. Couldn't all be true though. Could it?

16/01/2010, 9:51 AM
who cares :confused:.... for a leader of one of the biggest unionist partys in n.ireland and first minister for northern ireland assembly part of a new goverment trying to repair problems, unite communities in n.ireland surely it makes sense to offer condolences on cardinal daly's death a man who was heavily involved in the process that established peace in the north........ and maybe it would help mend a few more bridges for a lot of catholics in n.ireland ... so it is relevent in story as the story has a bigger picture.

It woldn't have mended one single bridge. There's isn't a person aliove who'd have changed their opinion on Robinson had he gave his condolences.

However in not givig them he gave another stick for the people who already hate him to beat him with

awec
16/01/2010, 6:07 PM
19 and 59?

Beef curtains springs to mind.

The Fly
16/01/2010, 8:38 PM
The singing nun and a r*nt b*y is it?

That's the one GR.
I'm not sure whether that one is going to break or not, but it seems fairly certain that the Jeffrey Donaldson story will break tomorrow in the NOTW.

17/01/2010, 11:13 AM
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:mRDwuR36rknbGM%3Ahttp://ustorzit.com/img/misc/GASP.jpg

Not Brazil
17/01/2010, 6:56 PM
I'm not sure whether that one is going to break or not, but it seems fairly certain that the Jeffrey Donaldson story will break tomorrow in the NOTW.

No raunchy tales about Wee Jeffrey, or the Rockin Rev, in the Sunday's today then?

Nevermind - Suzanne Breen made up for it in her further detailing of the lies and covering up of another political leader in the Tribune.

ArdeeBhoy
17/01/2010, 10:53 PM
So they're all as bad as each other? Just the ones in power are worse.

Anyway the Robinsons are typical of their constituency;Good riddance to them both, hopefully.

Rasputin
18/01/2010, 4:36 PM
and maybe it would help mend a few more bridges for a lot of catholics in n.ireland ... so it is relevent in story as the story has a bigger picture.
Bizarre that you seem to assume that Cardinal Daly is some form of representative of the Nationalist Community.
It will take alot more than some condolensces from a bigot to a dead witch doctor who helped accomodate paedophiles to heal centurys of sectarianism that has its roots in the wider socio-economic context of Northern Ireland and not in the respective houses of worship.