View Full Version : Transfer rumours - January 2010
Wangball
06/01/2010, 8:31 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/celtic/exclusive-celtic-target-preston-north-end-defender-sean-st-ledger-1.996388
Because St Ledger has played for PNE & Middlesborough this season won't that stop him from being able to play for Celtic?
Isn't there some rule about only being able to play for 2 different sides in one season?
06/01/2010, 8:43 AM
Limerick's Stephen O'Flynn signs for Northampton: http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/Stephen-O39Flynn-signs-for-Northampton.5955962.jp
Junior
06/01/2010, 8:44 AM
Because St Ledger has played for PNE & Middlesborough this season won't that stop him from being able to play for Celtic?
Isn't there some rule about only being able to play for 2 different sides in one season?
Does that still matter if it is across different footballing bodies i.e. the English FA and the Scottish FA?
£3m for St-Ledger? I like the look of him from the Irish matches Ive seen him play in. However, his form was questionable at Boro from what Ive read, other than that he's had a good season or two at PNE.
For Celtic to splash £3m on a CB - they will definitely need to offload McManus or Caldwell first IMO - Other parts of the team need strenghtening as well and we just dont have the cash.
Wangball
06/01/2010, 8:45 AM
Limerick's Stephen O'Flynn signs for Northampton: http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/Stephen-O39Flynn-signs-for-Northampton.5955962.jp
They've also offered Kevin Thornton a deal
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11739_5832964,00.html
06/01/2010, 11:53 AM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12874_5836664,00.html
Darren McCauley - Derry City, could be on his way to Celtic
co. down green
06/01/2010, 12:51 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12874_5836664,00.html
Darren McCauley - Derry City, could be on his way to Celtic
For £250,000? (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2009/09/14/celtic-prepare-swoop-for-derry-city-young-star-darren-mccauley-86908-21671939/) - surely this is wrong.
For £10,000? (http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/editor-s-picks-ignore/tony-mowbray-eyes-irish-defender-1.996522) - Sounds more like it
Should the player secure a move to full-time football in England or Scotland, then Derry's interests would be protected under UEFA's Under-23 Ruling which would identify the compensation to be paid not only to Derry City but also to his junior club, Top of the Hill Celtic, who have developed the player's talents over the past decade.
Not sure how this works?
danthesaint
06/01/2010, 12:58 PM
For £250,000? (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2009/09/14/celtic-prepare-swoop-for-derry-city-young-star-darren-mccauley-86908-21671939/) - surely this is wrong.
For £10,000? (http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/editor-s-picks-ignore/tony-mowbray-eyes-irish-defender-1.996522)- Sounds more like it
Should the player secure a move to full-time football in England or Scotland, then Derry's interests would be protected under UEFA's Under-23 Ruling which would identify the compensation to be paid not only to Derry City but also to his junior club, Top of the Hill Celtic, who have developed the player's talents over the past decade.
Not sure how this works?
hope they get 250k, pain in me hole, english and scottish teams getting decent players for nothing.
dr_peepee
06/01/2010, 2:22 PM
There is something there limmiting the amount of clubs are player can sign for alright... I'm not certain but it may not apply to loan moves (which was the case in the innitial Boro move). Stokes was at Palace and Sheffeild from Sunderland last year. I've often read about players going out on loan to a couple of clubs over the course of a season too.
For £10,000? (http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/editor-s-picks-ignore/tony-mowbray-eyes-irish-defender-1.996522) - Sounds more like it
Not sure how this works?
explained pretty well here.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4529&Itemid=318
when Deegan moved to Coventry i got my head around how it works.
With no exceptions, Irish teams are all category 2 clubs meaning that their fixed compensation amount is euro60,000 for each year the player was with the club prior to age 23. Depending on whether he was in or out of contract determines, i think, how much, if any, coimpensation TOTH Celtic would be entitled to...
Tottenham are ready to offer captain Robbie Keane as bait to secure a deal for Aston Villa striker John Carew. Full story: Daily Star
Magpies boss Chris Hughton has received a setback after Sheffield United centre-back Matt Kilgallon decided he will remain at Bramall Lane until his contract expires in the summer, despite the clubs having agreed £2m fee.
Full story: The Sun
The Blades want to take Kyle Naughton back from Tottenham on loan - the full-back has played only once since his joint £12m summer transfer with Kyle Walker.
Full story: Daily Mail
the doc
07/01/2010, 9:55 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/celtic/2010/01/07/exclusive-celtic-target-sean-st-ledger-tipped-as-new-paul-mcgrath-86908-21948323/
Junior
07/01/2010, 11:29 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/celtic/2010/01/07/exclusive-celtic-target-sean-st-ledger-tipped-as-new-paul-mcgrath-86908-21948323/
This one is gathering momentum.
No doubt Celtic will be looking to strenghten the CB position. £3m price tag is the top end for us though, unless we can offload McManus in a Part-ex and reduce the cash outlay.
Still no quotes from Celtic though. Just team mates and journalists.
Will be interesting to see if Darren Ferguson has an opinion on it soon.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11787_5839729,00.html
yapster
07/01/2010, 11:38 AM
I think you can certainly call this one a dud... 27 years of age and going to a nothing club, good luck to the lad as I'm sure he will be on better money but a prospect for Ireland no chance.
yapster
07/01/2010, 11:44 AM
Ahh, so that is why you know nothing about soccerball!
Are you from Ireland ?
Strongbow10
07/01/2010, 11:50 AM
I think you can certainly call this one a dud... 27 years of age and going to a nothing club, good luck to the lad as I'm sure he will be on better money but a prospect for Ireland no chance.
Listen mate, it gets very annoying very quickly listening to an amateur critique such as yourself.
Some people on here take an interest on how Irish players are faring regardless of whether they are relevant to the national team.
How about you go over and post on the premier league forum as that where football seems to start and end with you.
07/01/2010, 12:23 PM
Where did I say he would be a prospect? In case you haven't noticed, this forum is for all Irish players outside the domestic league.
Ozymandias
07/01/2010, 12:59 PM
tets..why do you bother...ignore ..ignore ignore
or else drop bait and go fishing..less frustrating then
Where did I say he would be a prospect? In case you haven't noticed, this forum is for all Irish players outside the domestic league.
Interesting piece with Stephen Paisley and Darren Sheridan ( i think it was) on newstalk last night on basically young lads going over to the UK at 16/17 and not making it. All seemed to advocate the Kevin Doyle route ie stay in Ireland till late teens, maybe early 20s. Playing underage with LOI clubs while getting an education first. The % of lads who play in the youth teams/reserve teams and actually make it through to the first team is ridiculously small.
Ozymandias
07/01/2010, 1:06 PM
Interesting piece with Stephen Paisley and Darren Sheridan ( i think it was) on newstalk last night on basically young lads going over to the UK at 16/17 and not making it. All seemed to advocate the Kevin Doyle route ie stay in Ireland till late teens, maybe early 20s. Playing underage with LOI clubs while getting an education first. The % of lads who play in the youth teams/reserve teams and actually make it through to the first team is ridiculously small.
heard this as well..good interview....would be good for the league here as well...Norwegian model
yapster
07/01/2010, 1:30 PM
The one bad thing about that is and Roy Keane said it as well, that he was relieved that Forest got him at 19 cos he felt that 2 more seasons in the LoI and he would have picked up the bad habits and the style of a LoI player and no English club will touch him because it would be too late for them to break those habits. Doyle is an exception but his pace is still too slow for Premiership football. btw good luck to o Flynn and I hope he has great success.:cool:
07/01/2010, 1:38 PM
The one bad thing about that is and Roy Keane said it as well, that he was relieved that Forest got him at 19 cos he felt that 2 more seasons in the LoI and he would have picked up the bad habits and the style of a LoI player and no English club will touch him because it would be too late for them to break those habits. Doyle is an exception but his pace is still too slow for Premiership football. btw good luck to o Flynn and I hope he has great success.:cool:
paul mcgrath and kevin moran are two among many more
irishultra
07/01/2010, 1:38 PM
what about keith fahey?
yapster
07/01/2010, 1:52 PM
paul mcgrath and kevin moran are two among many more
yes, it took Kevin a while to adapt, and as of Paul McGrath? that man was a class footballer,he transended all levels :cool:
Paddy Garcia
07/01/2010, 2:10 PM
[QUOTE=yapster;1301807]yes, it took Kevin a while to adapt, [QUOTE]
Really - how do you know that ? Also do you know what age he was signed by Man U - hardly a seasoned LOI player btw.
07/01/2010, 2:23 PM
it's on the NewsTalk Listen Back feature: http://media.newstalk.ie/listenback/
Scroll down, click Off The Ball, and it's in part 3 of yesterday's show
yapster
07/01/2010, 2:50 PM
[QUOTE=yapster;1301807]yes, it took Kevin a while to adapt, [QUOTE]
Really - how do you know that ? Also do you know what age he was signed by Man U - hardly a seasoned LOI player btw.
My point exactly, read my first post again...
07/01/2010, 2:51 PM
yes, it took Kevin a while to adapt:cool:
proof please?
i would suspect it didnt:
signed by utd in 1978, debut for utd in april '79, Ireland debut '80 and played 5 games in spain '82 qualifying campaign
yapster
07/01/2010, 3:02 PM
proof please?
i would suspect it didnt:
signed by utd in 1978, debut for utd in april '79, Ireland debut '80 and played 5 games in spain '82 qualifying campaign
Of course the FAI would give him a quick cap as anyone that time and sometimes now got played a few first teams games for an English club were picked due to the lack of quality.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/b/birmingham_city/8446613.stm
Pity would like to see the lad leave Celtic, done as much as hes going to do there.
07/01/2010, 4:23 PM
Of course the FAI would give him a quick cap as anyone that time and sometimes now got played a few first teams games for an English club were picked due to the lack of quality.
team v france 1981:
mc donagh, oleary, moran, langan, hughton, lawrenson, brady, whelan, martin, stapleton, robinson.
think we won that match too against a team that got to the wc semi a year later and won the euros 3 yrs later. plenty of quality there i think!
Razors left peg
07/01/2010, 4:36 PM
team v france 1981:
mc donagh, oleary, moran, langan, hughton, lawrenson, brady, whelan, martin, stapleton, robinson.
think we won that match too against a team that got to the wc semi a year later and won the euros 3 yrs later. plenty of quality there i think!
Ah sure Hughton and Lawrenson only played with us cos they wouldnt get near an England team and Brady was only good cos his mother was english;)
07/01/2010, 4:45 PM
nothing to do with Moran's quality so?
yapster
07/01/2010, 8:34 PM
Ah sure Hughton and Lawrenson only played with us cos they wouldnt get near an England team and Brady was only good cos his mother was english;)
Hughton wanted to play for Ireland and considers himself Irish, it's the "granny" ****e I object to as I've said. Lawrenson is English and considers himself English ad he made the decision at Preston and later regretted it as he went on to great sucess at Liverpool. I just mentioned the fact that Bradys mom is English.
and later regretted it as he went on to great sucess at Liverpool.
And you are basing this on what exactly???
yapster
07/01/2010, 8:58 PM
And you are basing this on what exactly???
Asked in 1986 would he have liked to be going to Mexico with England,he said he would in a heartbeat but he had made his decision to play for Ireland cos he thought it would further his career. Now I commend Lawrenson because he was a great player for Ireland because of his proffessional integrity.
Mickey Walsh said the same year that he's following his 'heart' and saying England will win the WC.
Manc Irish Wolf
07/01/2010, 11:00 PM
Definitely think there is merit to staying with the LOI clubs for a couple of years, if not just to stop young lads coming over without any proper parental supervision and getting stuck in to the demon drink.
Remember meeting loads of the Young Forest Irish players in a bar in Nottingham watching the Ireland v Iran away game (Keith Foy, David Freeman and a few other characters) - they were all ruined and looked like they were constantly on the tear, boasting how they regularly defied Paul Hart's instructions to stay in. They had Andy Reid on the phone mocking him for being the only one who stayed in that night (I bet he's gutted). Ended up getting battered giving them a lecture about how they were "the future of Irish football and had one chance" like some sort of p*ssed up football supporting Eminem in Eight Mile, before contributing to their ultimate demise by ordering them all a round of doubles. Great days.
How many other similar talents have fallen by the wayside? Keiron Brady (although he did actually make it to be fair - before being diagnosed with liver trouble), Tony Sheridan at Coventry and more recently Kevin Thornton. Even Keith Andrews nearly fell by the wayside after getting a bit too fond of the Emerald Club in Wolverhampton when the gaelic was on. I know that the FAI are looking to rectify this as they have recently appointed Terry Conroy (ex-stoke striker) to look after the young kids who have just come over to ensure that they are catered for and fitting in OK.
If coaching is an issue in the LOI - maybe some sort of centre of excellence is needed for the best young players to train (there was some talk of this - is this no longer going ahead). What are the coaching standards like - is there a similar FA coaching badge accreditation?
Manc Irish Wolf
07/01/2010, 11:12 PM
Back on topic, it appears that both Wolves and Sunderland are both after Stephen Hunt, who are skint and in desperate need to reduce their wage bill. Hope to God we get him and can't understand why we didn't go for him at the start of the season. Seems that it could have legs as Phil Brown has been quoted on BBC Humberside saying that two clubs are interested and one bid has been rejected. Sounds to me as if they are trying to stoke up interest and create a bidding war as there was no outright condemnation of the bids.
http://www.hullcityindependent.net/?page=news_archive&groups=true&news_group_id=3&news_id=76
08/01/2010, 2:06 AM
Darragh Sheridan I'd say. Played for Galway and Longford Town a few years ago and ran further education schemes for young players returning from England.
yapster
08/01/2010, 2:25 AM
Definitely think there is merit to staying with the LOI clubs for a couple of years, if not just to stop young lads coming over without any proper parental supervision and getting stuck in to the demon drink.
Remember meeting loads of the Young Forest Irish players in a bar in Nottingham watching the Ireland v Iran away game (Keith Foy, David Freeman and a few other characters) - they were all ruined and looked like they were constantly on the tear, boasting how they regularly defied Paul Hart's instructions to stay in. They had Andy Reid on the phone mocking him for being the only one who stayed in that night (I bet he's gutted). Ended up getting battered giving them a lecture about how they were "the future of Irish football and had one chance" like some sort of p*ssed up football supporting Eminem in Eight Mile, before contributing to their ultimate demise by ordering them all a round of doubles. Great days.
How many other similar talents have fallen by the wayside? Keiron Brady (although he did actually make it to be fair - before being diagnosed with liver trouble), Tony Sheridan at Coventry and more recently Kevin Thornton. Even Keith Andrews nearly fell by the wayside after getting a bit too fond of the Emerald Club in Wolverhampton when the gaelic was on. I know that the FAI are looking to rectify this as they have recently appointed Terry Conroy (ex-stoke striker) to look after the young kids who have just come over to ensure that they are catered for and fitting in OK.
If coaching is an issue in the LOI - maybe some sort of centre of excellence is needed for the best young players to train (there was some talk of this - is this no longer going ahead). What are the coaching standards like - is there a similar FA coaching badge accreditation?
Good post Manc but whether they stay in Ireland or not it's down to Personal Responsibity at the end of the day.
The coaching standards in Ireland are crap and you got the likes of Don Givens running the U21's ffs. There are plenty young kids in Ireland playing soccer and there is talent to be trawled but the whole structure from top tp bottom of the FAI is a joke.You see how they ran the International squad for years so you can only imagine how inept it was down the ranks. It is a good idea to help the kids settle abroad and I hope it helps.
08/01/2010, 9:53 AM
Phil Brown has dismissed the a rumour linking Stephen Hunt with Wolves though: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=722183&cc=5739
dr_peepee
08/01/2010, 10:58 AM
Asked in 1986 would he have liked to be going to Mexico with England,he said he would in a heartbeat but he had made his decision to play for Ireland cos he thought it would further his career. Now I commend Lawrenson because he was a great player for Ireland because of his proffessional integrity.
In fairness to you on this one, I read a different comment with similar connetations from Lawrenson a few years ago. Basically that he committed to Ireland too soon, before he realised the career he was about to have. Went off him big time afterwards. I mean ye can think those things but to openly say it..... Also You need to work on your WUMMING too, dude. Amatuer stuff!!! Compared to Ealing Green you're in the Hay'penny place!!!!
dr_peepee
08/01/2010, 11:09 AM
I think the bridge between the LOI and Schoolboy set up is a Huge factor here. I fail to see why the Pats, Bohs of this world don't have a school boy set up of the Calibre of Cherry Orchard or something at this stage of the game. A fliud conveyer will keep more players in the country and maintain the interest of many more talented players that don't catch the eye across the water by 14,15 or 16.
Razors left peg
09/01/2010, 11:51 PM
Rumours persisting that St Ledger will be sold to Celtic: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1241993/New-Preston-boss-Ferguson-sell-Irelands-Sean-St-Ledger.html
The Doc has been telling us about that long before it was even in the papers, hes definately his agent I reckon:)
the doc
10/01/2010, 11:50 AM
The Doc has been telling us about that long before it was even in the papers, hes definately his agent I reckon:)
Well I'm a gent, but not an agent! I'm just a fan with my ear to the ground!
co. down green
10/01/2010, 12:00 PM
Preston have warned Celtic they will not land Sean St Ledger on the cheap after claiming the Hoops were nowhere near meeting their valuation of the player.
The Glasgow giants have reportedly offered £1.25million with £500,000 in add-ons for the Republic of Ireland international - well short of Preston's £3million valuation of the 25-year-old.
Preston chairman Derek Shaw told the Sunday Mail: "Celtic's offer was way below our valuation. There's no way we'd accept anything near the figure put to us. We are not being greedy. Sean is an established internationalist and players of his calibre come at a price."
He added: "I know a Championship club that has put a £4million price tag on a defender who only has six months left on his contract.
"But we understand Sean wants to play at a higher level and has his international career to think of. So the ball is in Celtic's court."
http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5iEd4mLvhKPF-cRNx2h13GvB3hg7A
Manc Irish Wolf
10/01/2010, 12:29 PM
Apparently Strachan is lining up Wes Hoolahan as a replacement for Adam Johnson and has agreed a deal to bring in Willo Flood.
If true, could be good moves for us as they are only just off the play-offs and wouldn't be surprised to see them make a late surge, so we could have a couple of additions to our Premiership Numbers next season.
Then again I did read it in the Star, so it is probably completely unfounded.
Junior
11/01/2010, 10:31 AM
Flood is definitely wanted by Strachan and Mowbray would be glad to offload him, so that one has legs, though it might be on a Loan deal as Strachan is in for Caldwell, Robson and McDonald as well - he wont be 'buying' them all.
11/01/2010, 10:39 AM
Rumours persisting that St Ledger will be sold to Celtic: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1241993/New-Preston-boss-Ferguson-sell-Irelands-Sean-St-Ledger.html
Celtic have just bought a central defender from the league champions here in Sweden. Seems to rule out a move for St Ledger.
But personally I think it's interesting that Preston are so keen to get rid of him given their current league position.
11/01/2010, 10:43 AM
Celtic have just bought a central defender from the league champions here in Sweden. Seems to rule out a move for St Ledger.
But personally I think it's interesting that Preston are so keen to get rid of him given their current league position.
and they had a very good defencive record aswell so i think this guy could be good
Junior
11/01/2010, 11:04 AM
Dont rule out McManus being shipped out as well as Caldwell though, so still room for manoeuvre though not at £3m PNE would have to come down in their vaulation. I agree its more unlikely now.