View Full Version : Town announces new manager

16/12/2009, 3:14 PM
www.ltfc.ie

just hot off the press! Tony Cousins is the new town manager!

16/12/2009, 3:20 PM
Oh well. Good luck to him anyway, at least we've some bit of continuity with Phillip Coffey staying on.

16/12/2009, 3:24 PM
you are right there Longfordian plus I would guess Derek Glynn will stay too.. Will that mean a lot of last seasons squad will stay cos of Philip Coffey?

16/12/2009, 3:27 PM
Cronin was planning on keepng 10 or 11 of them apparently if he stayed so I'd assume Phillip Coffey will mention the ones he feels should be kept to Tony Cousins. I don't know enough about Coffey's relationship with the players to say whether that would mean they'll be sticking around but at least he'll know all about them.

Tallanted
16/12/2009, 3:29 PM
a positive move by the club bringing someone in so quick. This could turn out to be a good appointment. As for galway fans not liking him they dont like gough, kenna and now foster too so thats irrelevant. Best of luck to tony and philip heres hopin for an improved season

16/12/2009, 3:33 PM
a positive move by the club bringing someone in so quick. This could turn out to be a gone appointment. As for galway fans not liking him they dont like gough, kenna and now foster too so thats irrelevant. Best of luck to tony and philip heres hopin for an improved season

I assume tallanted that you meant to say good appointment and not gone appointment!:D

16/12/2009, 4:13 PM
Meh....

16/12/2009, 5:38 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Cousins

some interesting facts on him on the great manager to be himself.. I remember in December 1990 buying Match magazine and reading the lineouts in it.. on the bench in that particular issue for Liverpool that day but didnt come on was a certain Tony Cousins!

Keen2win
16/12/2009, 6:43 PM
How do you remember that?

16/12/2009, 7:01 PM
I remember him being on the bench for Liverpool a few times back in the day alright. Before you were born Keen2Win!. When Liverpool used to win leagues.

16/12/2009, 7:15 PM
liverpool won things? wow :) best of luck tony.. youl need it..

Awwwwh Farrell
16/12/2009, 8:09 PM
Will he attract any new players?

17/12/2009, 7:13 AM
Anyone was going to be a bit "meh", but at least it's an early appointment and he'll get a full preseason. Some of the things that were an issue with Galway will be less so with us (being Dublin based for one). Galway are the new bohs in terms of being fickle anyway.

On the other hand...

I remember him being on the bench for Liverpool a few times back in the day alright.
Cousins OUT. YSB :D

Salmon Coloured
17/12/2009, 11:21 AM
Will he be available to give Taxi lifts from the Flansiro after matches?

L.T.F.C.
17/12/2009, 1:19 PM
I remember him being on the bench for Liverpool a few times back in the day alright. Before you were born Keen2Win!. When Liverpool used to win leagues.

I just don't get it...

Man United fans watch Man United TV
Chelsea fans watch Chelsea TV
Arsenal fans watch Arsenal TV

But why do Liverpool fans watch the History Channel?

Keen2win
17/12/2009, 3:58 PM

How do you know when I was born? :D

17/12/2009, 3:59 PM
Unless you're a particularly "special" secondary school student (you've said before you're in school) you weren't born when Liverpool last won the league!.

Keen2win
17/12/2009, 4:09 PM
True! Anyway, I'm not going to make any judgements until the first half of the season is over!

17/12/2009, 4:09 PM
Unless you're a particularly "special" secondary school student (you've said before you're in school) you weren't born when Liverpool last won the league!.
a guy did his leaving in moyne (last year i think) at the young age of 36 :)

gufc2000
17/12/2009, 4:17 PM
All this thing about Galway fans being fickle is rubbish. No team likes losing their manager particularly to their rivals.

Tony Cousins had to go. He played horrible football, and had a huge budget, a big source of our crippling debts today. He also said that every player had to move to Galway, when he was going remaining in dublin himself. Most of the players were unhappy with this. It proved out to be a masterstroke replacing him with Kenna

The hatred towards Kenna was because he committed himself for the 2009 season, and got on the payroll for a month. He then walked when Pats job came around

The so called hatred towards Foster is not the opinion of all Galway fans. We are dissappointed that he has gone to Dundalk, but he hadn't a choice given the conditions he had to work in last year. Most of the hatred has materialised as a result of whats came out in the papers about arguements in the dressing room. I for one am thankful for Foster's work last year, he did a good job on minimal resources.

Now getting back on topic, Cousins should prove a good appointment for ye. A major hindrance for us in his spell was that not too many players were willing to come to Galway, whereas for ye, ye are alot closer.

17/12/2009, 4:21 PM
All this thing about Galway fans being fickle is rubbish. No team likes losing their manager particularly to their rivals.

Tony Cousins had to go. He played horrible football, and had a huge budget, a big source of our crippling debts today. He also said that every player had to move to Galway, when he was going remaining in dublin himself. Most of the players were unhappy with this. It proved out to be a masterstroke replacing him with Kenna

The hatred towards Kenna was because he committed himself for the 2009 season, and got on the payroll for a month. He then walked when Pats job came around

The so called hatred towards Foster is not the opinion of all Galway fans. We are dissappointed that he has gone to Dundalk, but he hadn't a choice given the conditions he had to work in last year. Most of the hatred has materialised as a result of whats came out in the papers about arguements in the dressing room. I for one am thankful for Foster's work last year, he did a good job on minimal resources.

Now getting back on topic, Cousins should prove a good appointment for ye. A major hindrance for us in his spell was that not too many players were willing to come to Galway, whereas for ye, ye are alot closer.
much closer to nothing the middle of no-where..........

17/12/2009, 4:26 PM
It's closer to Dublin which is what he meant.

gufc2000
17/12/2009, 4:31 PM
Sorry didn't make myself clear, thanks

17/12/2009, 4:47 PM
yeah i knew that mate i'm hardly that thick give me some credit.. i was just making the point that longford is a dead zone i cant really think of any reason other than proximity to family or need of a job that would make this place an appealing proposition to live

17/12/2009, 4:59 PM
How do you remember that?

I am a lot older than you think and have a memory of these sort of things!!:D

RiffRaff
17/12/2009, 5:35 PM
The fact we have a manager who's last acheivement was getting a team relegated out of the league doesnt fill me with confidence. I'd rather have taken an unproven manager over someone who's been proven to be sh1te.

17/12/2009, 5:38 PM
The fact we have a manager who's last acheivement was getting a team relegated out of the league doesnt fill me with confidence. I'd rather have taken an unproven manager over someone who's been proven to be sh1te.
i just pray and hope he has learnt from his mistakes and is out to prove a point.
There is not many managers out there that hav'nt done atleast 1 bad job

17/12/2009, 5:59 PM
yeah i knew that mate i'm hardly that thick give me some credit.. i was just making the point that longford is a dead zone i cant really think of any reason other than proximity to family or need of a job that would make this place an appealing proposition to live

True enough but nobody would expect the players or managers to be based in Longford as they'll be part time. A lot of players are Dublin based and Longford is handy enough really.

Salmon Coloured
17/12/2009, 6:27 PM

Money.

Tallanted
17/12/2009, 6:38 PM

Gareth Cronin got Waterford relegated too before he came to us, so whats the difference in his appointment and cousins??
None as far as I can see.

gufc2000
17/12/2009, 6:50 PM
Gareth Cronin got Waterford relegated too before he came to us, so whats the difference in his appointment and cousins??
None as far as I can see.
Cousins got Kildare relegated into the A Championship, Cronin was in the Premier with Waterford.

Anyways, I don't think Cousins' stint with Kildare has a huge impact. He was only there for four games, and they had feck all points, and a squad that was clearly low on confidence and morale. If he had been there all year, I'd say something.

Tallanted
17/12/2009, 6:56 PM
I wouldnt read anthin into his stint with kildare, not his squad he was only there a few games he wasnt gonna do miracles, I think he deserves a fair go with us and pass judgement mid season when he has a squad and we have played, he doesnt have much to do to improve on the last few managers we have had, 8th place is improvement on this season

MyTown
17/12/2009, 10:57 PM
Best of luck to all in Longford with Tony Cousins & best of luck to the man himself.

I wonder did he talk to Goughie before taking the job?

He brought Jay O'Shea to Galway & Colin James did great when he left us for Fingal via Longford.

There was so much bile spewed in Cousins' direction when he got the boot. I thought it was in poor taste. I think everyone in Galway saw us heading through the trap door & big money was lashed out to players on Tony's say so. (It seems so long ago but this was pre-recession building boom Galway).
Trust broke down & in fairness, the football on offer was a world away from what Foster gave us last season.

But the best of luck to all concerned

18/12/2009, 1:34 AM
Have some idea that gough and cousins fell out. Could be wrong on that. Anyhow we all seem prepared to give him a shot so good luck to him.

18/12/2009, 7:09 AM
I'm not sure they necessarily are, but it'd be harsh to blame him for financial budgets. Managers will only work with the budgets they are given, and iirc most people could see Galway going full time was a nonsense, regardless of the results. Handy for the people in charge that it's the managers that get it in the neck.

Redkenrover
20/12/2009, 1:16 AM
Have some idea that gough and cousins fell out. Could be wrong on that. Anyhow we all seem prepared to give him a shot so good luck to him.

Yep, they didnt have any falling out, but both were in for the job when Gough got it. Hope ye do something next season, always liked the trip to Flancare. Best of luck.

Redkenrover
20/12/2009, 1:17 AM
Heard that training will be held in Dublin, any truth in that?

20/12/2009, 6:18 PM

thats news to me.. Where did you hear this redkenrover?

21/12/2009, 11:49 AM
more importantly have we any players???

22/12/2009, 7:40 AM
Haven't heard one way or the other, but other managers have done that. I wouldn't be that bothered to be honest as most of the players likely to be dublin based, once it was near enough cost neutral.

22/12/2009, 9:32 AM
more importantly have we any players???

Sligoman sent me a text last night and said that he spoke to Sean Kerr Sligo Rovers under 20 player.He told sligoman that hes signing for us and he played upfront with their under20s last season... Sligoman specifically asked for this to be put up on this forum ..

22/12/2009, 10:27 AM
Sligoman specifically asked for this to be put up on this forum ..I said you can put it up if ya want...as in it wasn't a secret;).

I'm only going by what the man himself said anyway, don't quote me on it.

22/12/2009, 11:59 AM
Is he any addition?.

Keen2win
22/12/2009, 12:03 PM
I hope some of our U-18's/U-20's get a chance to train with the team and maybe get a place on the bench!

22/12/2009, 12:07 PM
There was a few of them around the squad last year so I'm sure there will be again. They'll be needed for cover for injuries and stuff anyway as we can't afford a big squad.

Awwwwh Farrell
22/12/2009, 12:08 PM
I hope some of our U-18's/U-20's get a chance to train with the team and maybe get a place on the bench!
Bita Wenger style :D

22/12/2009, 7:32 PM
Good interview with the new man in the leader this week. Hopes to be into double figures as regards signings by the first week in January. He's spoken to some of last year's squad and is waiting to hear back from them with their decision apparently. He wasn't spouting anything too unrealistic to start with anyway.

23/12/2009, 9:32 AM
There was a few of them around the squad last year so I'm sure there will be again. They'll be needed for cover for injuries and stuff anyway as we can't afford a big squad.

I really hope Justin Perrin will be given a chance this season as he has being talked up a lot over the last year...

23/12/2009, 9:33 AM
Good interview with the new man in the leader this week. Hopes to be into double figures as regards signings by the first week in January. He's spoken to some of last year's squad and is waiting to hear back from them with their decision apparently. He wasn't spouting anything too unrealistic to start with anyway.

From reading the interview with Cousins compared to Alan Gough theres a vast difference between the two men in their ambitions for the club.. I have heard since that Sean Kerrs not coming after all.. Good thing Sligoman it wasnt a secret eh???;)

Awwwwh Farrell
23/12/2009, 6:18 PM
I really hope Justin Perrin will be given a chance this season as he has being talked up a lot over the last year...
Where does he play?:confused: