View Full Version : Moral Compensation for the FAI
04/12/2009, 11:45 AM
Maybe we might be the invited team for the Copa America in 2011 instead of Japan. Fifa are kicking up a fuss about non-South American teams playing in the South American Federations tournament - (2 teams are always invited from outside South America, one is always Mexico, the other usually Costa Rica, but sometimes USA or even Japan). In 2001 Argentina and Canada opted out so there were 3 invitees (Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras). I could see Blatter pulling strings and getting us an invite. It's in Argentina, which would be a fantastic place to watch the team play in an international tournament.
Now that would be fantastic, with the emphasis on fan! While I'd normally sneer at such ideas and "compensations", jaysus, it's the Copa America! We'd get destroyed on the field, but at the same time we'd get destroyed off it too:D
Apparently there are questions over Mexico and Japan being able to play in it, according to wiki. Who knows.
Claret Murph
04/12/2009, 11:52 AM
I am sorry but all I can do is laugh , now about 18 swear words come to mind .............
dan o d
04/12/2009, 11:53 AM
cud u imagine the craic if we won the copa america!
i think confederations cup is a more likely option though
Wolfie
04/12/2009, 12:35 PM
Its time for us all to step away from the madness now. Be gone, madness.
Lets summarise what has brought us to this:
We played brilliantly.
We should have won it within the 90 minutes.
We were cheated in the concession of a goal.
We failed to equalise.
We won't be at the World Cup.
Blatter can shove his moral compensation.
Both team and supporters should absorb all of this injustice and hurt and begin to try and turn it into our motivation for next time. What don't kill you - makes you stronger.
FAI would do us all a great service by telling FIFA to shove their moral compensation - as these f*ckers wouldn't understand what is morally right if it booted them up the hole.
04/12/2009, 12:49 PM
I'm largely with Wolfie though I think the FAI should try and obtain as nmuch political capital as possible.
I'm amazed that people think a change in our seeding is a possibility. It'd make a mockery of the concept and it'd affect other teams. It's just not going to happen. Stop deluding yourselves.
Metrostars
04/12/2009, 1:17 PM
I'm largely with Wolfie though I think the FAI should try and obtain as nmuch political capital as possible.
I'm amazed that people think a change in our seeding is a possibility. It'd make a mockery of the concept and it'd affect other teams. It's just not going to happen. Stop deluding yourselves.
Yes a seeding upgrade is not fair to other countries. The ONLY way that would be fair is if Ireland and France swopped seedings.
Barna Bee
04/12/2009, 1:30 PM
Its time for us all to step away from the madness now. Be gone, madness.
Lets summarise what has brought us to this:
We played brilliantly.
We should have won it within the 90 minutes.
We were cheated in the concession of a goal.
We failed to equalise.
We won't be at the World Cup.
Blatter can shove his moral compensation.
Both team and supporters should absorb all of this injustice and hurt and begin to try and turn it into our motivation for next time. What don't kill you - makes you stronger.
FAI would do us all a great service by telling FIFA to shove their moral compensation - as these f*ckers wouldn't understand what is morally right if it booted them up the hole.
Actually Wolfie , whatmakes it all the worse is WE DID win it within the 90 mins ...we conceded the goal in extra time ....Extra Time in itself was an injustice ...we didn't enjoy extra time in Dublin to get that equaliser for example.....it was enevitable that they were going to score with another 30 mins added to the clock......what you mean to say is we should have been out of site after the 90 mins so as not to let it get to extra time!.that's the big injustice along with the obvious aberation
I'm amazed that people think a change in our seeding is a possibility. It'd make a mockery of the concept
Just like rewarding cheats makes a mockery of FIFA Fair Play concept, so they have form ;)
But I reckon it will be some sort of investment or grant to compensate for some of the revenue the
FAI will miss out on by not being in the World Cup.
Jebus, talk about adding insult to injury ... just got this email ...
Dublin, 4th December 2009 For immediate release
FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by Coca-Cola to visit Ireland
Details were announced today, Friday December 4th, of the inclusion of Ireland
as one of the destinations for the "FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by
Coca-Cola". The trophy will visit 86 countries during a nine month journey in
anticipation of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ Finals in South Africa. This will be
the first time the FIFA World Cup™ trophy has visited Ireland. It will spend a
total of four days in Ireland including a stopover in Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Wolfie
04/12/2009, 2:22 PM
Jebus, talk about adding insult to injury ... just got this email ...
Dublin, 4th December 2009 For immediate release
FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by Coca-Cola to visit Ireland
Details were announced today, Friday December 4th, of the inclusion of Ireland
as one of the destinations for the "FIFA World Cup™ Trophy Tour by
Coca-Cola". The trophy will visit 86 countries during a nine month journey in
anticipation of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ Finals in South Africa. This will be
the first time the FIFA World Cup™ trophy has visited Ireland. It will spend a
total of four days in Ireland including a stopover in Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Jim Bowen will be the guest of honour.
"Here's what you could have won. Right lads, send it back".
04/12/2009, 2:24 PM
But I reckon it will be some sort of investment or grant to compensate for some of the revenue the
FAI will miss out on by not being in the World Cup.Did they not say that financial compensation wouldn't be offered, though that would be fair alright.
If I was Thierry Henry's publicist I'd tell him to offer his world cup qualification bonus towards some football development project in Ireland.
One of the biggest downers of the situation is that it may have cost valuable investment in the game here and we may miss out on a new geneartion of Duffs and Keanes being attracted to football over GAA and rugby.
04/12/2009, 2:46 PM
yes exactly stutts, but hopefully it we will qualify for the euros and do well and whole new generation will be spawned.
04/12/2009, 2:51 PM
Referring to an increase in the birth rate?
Noelys Guitar
04/12/2009, 3:38 PM
The what might have beens are kicking in again today watching this draw.
Scooby Doo
04/12/2009, 4:21 PM
Feel exactly the same. I'm depressing myself by thinking how exciting tonight could have been.:(
Hope France get an horrendous draw.
Agree, this is painful, in contrast to the excitment buzz that we could as a country be now experiencing. Is it just me or was the draw on a sun in the past or at least a sat?
As for the moral compensation, it means SFA, we wont get a seeding increase, an entry to the Confed or anything worthwhile in a footballing sense. At best the FAI may get some sort of financial assistance.
Junior
04/12/2009, 11:18 PM
Maybe we might be the invited team for the Copa America in 2011 instead of Japan. Fifa are kicking up a fuss about non-South American teams playing in the South American Federations tournament - (2 teams are always invited from outside South America, one is always Mexico, the other usually Costa Rica, but sometimes USA or even Japan). In 2001 Argentina and Canada opted out so there were 3 invitees (Mexico, Costa Rica and Honduras). I could see Blatter pulling strings and getting us an invite. It's in Argentina, which would be a fantastic place to watch the team play in an international tournament.
With The Celtic Cup fixtures announced for 2011 and EURO12 Qualifying fixtures in the year would we be able to partake though?
Id love it...just love it if we did play in Argentina for this though.
Scooby Doo
05/12/2009, 1:08 AM
Will never happen, but would be brilliant. Would be really exciting watch the Boys in Green at the CA. Realistically though, moral compensation is more likely going to come in the form of a sh!tty award and a pat on the back. Fu*k Sepp Blatter...
05/12/2009, 7:48 AM
I have a horrible feeling that the Trophy coming to Ireland as mentioned above for 4 days, including time in Belfast is our "Moral Compensation."
Personally, I think the concept of "Moral Compensation" is utter hokum we neither want nor need, and smacks very much of bribery at least. However, and I do know it is only really in the gift of COMEBOL, I would jump at any chance of the Copa America in Argentina. What is particularly nice about that idea is that no-one loses out for us to get it if Japan or Mexico should pull out as they are suggesting.
irishfan86
05/12/2009, 7:49 AM
Someone should contact the FAI about this, I'd love to see Ireland in the Copa America.
briancool21
05/12/2009, 1:09 PM
yeah but if there complaining about mexico and japan not being south american that hardly gives us an added chance are we south american......eh....no! Confederations Cup would be a laugh though
Closed Account 2
05/12/2009, 7:52 PM
With The Celtic Cup fixtures announced for 2011 and EURO12 Qualifying fixtures in the year would we be able to partake though?
Id love it...just love it if we did play in Argentina for this though.
I think the Celtic Cup would be over by the time the Copa America would start. The Celtic Cup finishes in May, and the Copa America would commence in end June / all of July. It would be a superb opportunity for the players to really develop in competitive football. Argentina is probably the safest country to visit in Latin America (so there would be no fears for player saftey) and much of the Argentine population look favourably on Ireland.
UEFA is proposing to ban all nations from playing in continential competitions outside their continental zones (hence the doubts about Mexico and Japan playing). It's a bit rich IMO for UEFA to carp on about this given countries like Israel, Kazakhstan etc are in UEFA rather than the AFC - I've no idea why UEFA is getting involved in Mexican / Latin American football issues. In any case it's unlikely the proposed ban will happen and even if it did 2011 would be too early to implement it. I'm fairly certain if the FAI pushed for it, Blatter and Platini would have no problems with Ireland playing in the Copa America.
Looking at probable venues for the next few World Cups and European Championships, the Copa America in 2011 could be the best venue to watch a team live for the next decade or so.
dan o d
06/12/2009, 12:07 PM
did someone start this copa america compensation here or has anyone actually came out and confirmed it as a possibility?
think it would be brilliant if it actually happened. both for the fans, players and our world ranking.
someone should get on to the fai about it, before fifa forget about "henrygate"
06/12/2009, 12:26 PM
Ireland in Copa America?
Delusional madness from some here.
musicinmouth
06/12/2009, 12:41 PM
When the World Cup trophy comes, we should all bring flowers with RIP FIFA Fair Play cards.
Would be cool to get an invite to Copa America or even Confederations Cup, but seems unlikely. I don't think FIFA care about us at all. Feel so bad for our players, really hope we can get to the Euros.
amaccann
06/12/2009, 6:29 PM
Thanks to FIFA, the qualifying campaign was already made a mockery of. Switching seedings would be the least crime FIFA had committed at this point.
Did they not say that financial compensation wouldn't be offered, though that would be fair alright.
Ah sorry, didnt realise they had already ruled it out. Really dont know what they
could do so?