View Full Version : Confirmed signings

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

15/12/2009, 11:10 PM
ex premier players will only mean something if they are quality and they are what scully is looking for.we had several ex premier players last season and look where we finished.hopefully scully will get the players he needs to take us foward.

any news on peter white bish or where gary sheehan is ending up?

15/12/2009, 11:11 PM
i think scully will def.... sign defenders he was fuming with the defending last season it was driving him nuts granted we had alot of injurys in our backline but we still need serious strenghtening in that department.
if the club keep stephan o fylnn that would be a massive coup. also need a midfielder and a winger.

easy said than done i know ;)

agreed but we have our outside left and right allready signed in tracy and kavanagh

oscar
16/12/2009, 12:57 AM
what if one gets injured?

Stewie
16/12/2009, 10:20 AM
ex premier players will only mean something if they are quality and they are what scully is looking for.we had several ex premier players last season and look where we finished.hopefully scully will get the players he needs to take us foward.

Very valid point. Hope that there is not an influx of Dubs like over the past few years. Good talent here albeit we do lack and have lacked some seasoned pros over the past couple of seasons.

Monkfish
16/12/2009, 1:02 PM
Hope that there is not an influx of Dubs like over the past few years. .

What influx of dubs? :confused: and sure if the talent is not there at local level then it has to be got elsewhere.

L37Ultra
16/12/2009, 2:01 PM
Majority of squad already sign are from Limerick or from Munster.

I don't care where the players are from as long as they are the best players available and affordable.

bluewhitearmy
16/12/2009, 2:45 PM
Majority of squad already sign are from Limerick or from Munster.

I don't care where the players are from as long as they are the best players available and affordable.

Have to agree with you on this.
And id love to know what influx of Dubs stewie is talking about:confused:

Stewie
What influx of dubs? :confused: and sure if the talent is not there at local level then it has to be got elsewhere.

I just remember under a previous regime players coming down from Dublin. Not having a dig.
But as said above if the talent is not there then the manager will have to look elsewhere. There is the nucleus of a good young squad there and hopefully one or two experienced campaigners might be attracted.
Regardless of who Limerick sign still going to a tough division to get out of.
Hopefully a good pre season we give Limerick that start they will need.

Very valid point. Hope that there is not an influx of Dubs like over the past few years. Good talent here albeit we do lack and have lacked some seasoned pros over the past couple of seasons.

Off the top of my head John Lester and Niall Donnelly are the only dubs i can think of in the past 4 or 5 years that have played with Limerick. I'm sure there might be one or two more but i wouldn't call that an influx.

L37Ultra
16/12/2009, 2:51 PM
And Austin O' Neill a few seasons ago but that's about it I'd say.

bluewhitearmy
16/12/2009, 2:54 PM
There was another we got him off Dublin City i think when we were in Hogan McCauley i think but cant remember for sure if thats the right name. I know he kept getting sent off.

16/12/2009, 3:14 PM
There was another we got him off Dublin City i think when we were in Hogan McCauley i think but cant remember for sure if thats the right name. I know he kept getting sent off.

Ah yes i remember him, Thomas McCauley. If i remember correctly he returned after suspension only to be sent off after a few minutes on the field. Played for Dundalk more recently i think.

16/12/2009, 4:03 PM
Ah yes i remember him, Thomas McCauley. If i remember correctly he returned after suspension only to be sent off after a few minutes on the field. Played for Dundalk more recently i think.

He got sent of in three games in a row. Basically, although two of them were ludicrous decisions it was amazing. Probably will be best remembered for being 'assaulted' by the then club owner whilst walking for the dressing room after the third sending off...

Monkfish
16/12/2009, 5:19 PM
Probably will be best remembered for being 'assaulted' by the then club owner ...

The passion that man (DD) had for the club was second to none. He still is the spiritual leader of the Limerick Ultra movement, the Godfather if you will.

Sadly missed. :(

16/12/2009, 5:56 PM

.....but never forgotten.

16/12/2009, 7:27 PM

thomas mccauleys last club was at athlone town last season lads..

16/12/2009, 7:28 PM
The passion that man (DD) had for the club was second to none. He still is the spiritual leader of the Limerick Ultra movement, the Godfather if you will.

whats DD doing these days lads?

da bishop
16/12/2009, 10:23 PM
selling chinese beer amongst other things.

Monkfish
17/12/2009, 12:15 AM
whats DD doing these days lads?

He's busy been a legend.

L.E.G.E.N.D.

Monkfish
17/12/2009, 2:20 PM
Brian Collopy and a load of the 20's (Aaron Leahy included) have signed.

I do believe we have enough players for the season now. :eek:

http://www.limerickfc.ie/Home/home.html

SeniorBlue
19/12/2009, 5:07 PM
Hear Scully on Live 95 this morning and was sounding very focused that everything will be ready well before the season starts. He didn't mention names but said 6 players are being targeted and he has signed most of what he wanted from last year. Fair play to everyone it seems like we will be ready for the off and hopefully a season where we are in contention, any news on season tickets yet

da bishop
19/12/2009, 11:58 PM
any news on peter white bish or where gary sheehan is ending up?

jez,sorry gael forgot to get back to you,i would expect p.white to sign for us as the euro,s are good though their is one slight hitch which i would expect will be overcome.g.sheehan ,well you know all about that already surely,dont you sure didn,t he meet pat,pat and mr,magoo recently,had a good chat etc.i am sure his friend paul will fill you in.scully as you know has a target and has come up short on a couple of them so he has i would assume plan b in action,hopefully he will get them,certainly with the money being offered maybe 4,possibly 5 players to arrive.

20/12/2009, 12:53 AM
jez,sorry gael forgot to get back to you,i would expect p.white to sign for us as the euro,s are good though their is one slight hitch which i would expect will be overcome.g.sheehan ,well you know all about that already surely,dont you sure didn,t he meet pat,pat and mr,magoo recently,had a good chat etc.i am sure his friend paul will fill you in.scully as you know has a target and has come up short on a couple of them so he has i would assume plan b in action,hopefully he will get them,certainly with the money being offered maybe 4,possibly 5 players to arrive.

no, its allright take your time...are the euros good are we rich? thats good to hear about both for a minute there i thought you had GS heading to distant lands. whos mr magoo? i love your little slags :) think gary was in with the NOC the other day so wex might still be an option

20/12/2009, 1:02 AM
http://www.limerickfc.ie/tickets/index.html

Monkfish
20/12/2009, 2:11 AM
http://www.limerickfc.ie/tickets/index.html

Fantastic! :)

leather
21/12/2009, 9:50 AM
see that limerick are tapping up junior players again... I thought that there was an agreed system whereby the Senior club(manager,officer) would approach the junior club(officers) and speak to the club first and then speak to the player.This is not happening..and people wonder why junior clubs get annoyed with the senior club??? a little bit of courtesy would go a long way in fostering good will and good relations betwen both levels of football in limerick. I imagine i will get the usual anti-junior baller tripe from the lunatic fringe on here but how would you like if another club was tapping up you players in mid-season without having the courtesey to approach the club first??

beenaway42long
21/12/2009, 10:49 AM
well said. i presume its shane clarke you're talking about

Monkfish
21/12/2009, 12:31 PM
see that limerick are tapping up junior players again...

Why would they bother?
Care to name players and clubs or are you just gonna bitch and cry like a little girl?

leather
21/12/2009, 12:50 PM
Why would they bother?
Care to name players and clubs or are you just gonna bitch and cry like a little girl?

the lunatic fringe speak....i think that my clubs crest would tell you what club and they are bothering so as to have a plan B if their 1st choice center foward does not sign..

beenaway42long
21/12/2009, 1:08 PM
Why would they bother?

its all slags and bad jokes with you isnt it. muppet

21/12/2009, 1:31 PM
see that limerick are tapping up junior players again... I thought that there was an agreed system whereby the Senior club(manager,officer) would approach the junior club(officers) and speak to the club first and then speak to the player.This is not happening..and people wonder why junior clubs get annoyed with the senior club??? a little bit of courtesy would go a long way in fostering good will and good relations betwen both levels of football in limerick. I imagine i will get the usual anti-junior baller tripe from the lunatic fringe on here but how would you like if another club was tapping up you players in mid-season without having the courtesey to approach the club first??

While i don't agree with Limerick tapping up players (if that is what they are even doing), don't tell me the top clubs in Limerick aren't tapping up players from other smaller junior clubs. Its been happening for years at all levels, from under age up. So i don't think anyone can take a moral high ground here.

Monkfish
21/12/2009, 1:33 PM
the lunatic fringe speak....i think that my clubs crest would tell you what club and they are bothering so as to have a plan B if their 1st choice center foward does not sign..

Are you going to give names? Or shall we speculate wildly?

Monkfish
21/12/2009, 1:34 PM
muppet

Well done for coming down to my level. :rolleyes:

21/12/2009, 6:19 PM
leather.....”see that limerick are tapping up junior players again...
Me...are they?”
Me: Why are you on here bitching about it why havent you rang the club and voiced your opinion there?

leather: “I thought that there was an agreed system whereby the Senior club(manager,officer) would approach the junior club(officers) and speak to the club first and then speak to the player.”

Me: Find out before you post before you come on and say “i thought”

leather: “This is not happening..and people wonder why junior clubs get annoyed with the senior club??? a little bit of courtesy would go a long way in fostering good will and good relations betwen both levels of football in limerick.”

Me: again this is something you should have said to Limerick FC and not on an open internet forum. It spretty wisshy washy **** talk when you come on here talking on one hand about bad limerick then start on about “fostering good will”

leather: “I imagine i will get the usual anti-junior baller tripe from the lunatic fringe on here but how would you like if another club was tapping up you players in mid-season without having the courtesey to approach the club first??

Me: Trying to somehow protect yourself and your post by calliing all respondies as “lunatic fringe” is typical coward speak. I would ask you as a person on the line at a fine club like the boro to show Limerick FC the courtasy of recieving a phone call instead of idle speculation, thinking, immagining, patronising, and more speculaton..just ring the club people you know the same ones your club men were complimenting on here when Shane Clarke went back to junior after a few games.
Pm me if your chariman wants their numbers

da bishop
21/12/2009, 11:29 PM
B GOR,gael i didn,t think you had it in you.

leather
22/12/2009, 9:19 AM
Gael353
FYI..pat scully rang our team manager and asked for s.Clarkes Number.Manager informed him that he had to go through the proper channels and told him to ring any of the clubs officers.Pat scully got S.clarkes phone number and proceeded to phone the player directly ignoring what he had been informed was the correct way to proceed. I have dealt directly with M.O'sullivan on numerous occassions in these situations and found him to be a top class bloke to work with.Mo'sullivan has my phone why did limerick not have the courtesy to use it... it is not the boro business to phone limerick to ask them if they had approached a signed boro player...i am far from a coward by the way and if your manager had show the same respect that my club has show your club this would not be a problem.. please dont patronise me as i find it only hightlights your total lack of respect for everything that is not SENIOR football..

Monkfish
22/12/2009, 9:46 AM
i am far from a coward by the way ..

So why not contact the people you have a problem with instead of coming on here crying?
Seriously, very few people involved with the club even view this site, what exactly do you hope to achieve on here?

Besides, is Clarke better than the likes of O'Flynn, Sheehan, Flood and Berminghan? (the type of forwards needed for a promotion push)

Id have thought we would have been after a certain midfielder from the Boro instead?

22/12/2009, 9:53 AM
So why not contact the people you have a problem with instead of coming on here crying?
Seriously, very few people involved with the club even view this site, what exactly do you hope to achieve on here?

Besides, is Clarke better than the likes of O'Flynn, Sheehan, Flood and Berminghan? (the type of forwards needed for a promotion push)

Id have thought we would have been after a certain midfielder from the Boro instead?

or a center half! as monkfish said why bring it on here. grand if you say the club didnt contact you, and then you say its not my business to contact Limerick but how else are you gonna get your problem resolved? an open frum where half the posters hiding behind avatars isnt going to solve your problem.

L37Ultra
24/12/2009, 2:39 AM
Gael353
FYI..pat scully rang our team manager and asked for s.Clarkes Number.Manager informed him that he had to go through the proper channels and told him to ring any of the clubs officers.Pat scully got S.clarkes phone number and proceeded to phone the player directly ignoring what he had been informed was the correct way to proceed. I have dealt directly with M.O'sullivan on numerous occassions in these situations and found him to be a top class bloke to work with.Mo'sullivan has my phone why did limerick not have the courtesy to use it... it is not the boro business to phone limerick to ask them if they had approached a signed boro player...i am far from a coward by the way and if your manager had show the same respect that my club has show your club this would not be a problem.. please dont patronise me as i find it only hightlights your total lack of respect for everything that is not SENIOR football..

Pat Scully had Shane Clarke's number from when he played under him at Limerick earlier this season so that story is just unture.

leather
24/12/2009, 10:01 AM
you are wrong..fact..he asked for the number...fact. have a happy xmas.....

bluewhitearmy
24/12/2009, 2:24 PM
you are wrong..fact..he asked for the number...fact. have a happy xmas .....

How could we possibly have a happy xmas with this scandal going on with our club. How could it have gone so bad that our manager has actually tried to sign someone :eek:. Get over it man Boro tap up enough players themselves without asking the club they are with FACT

the only 1
25/12/2009, 3:27 PM
How could we possibly have a happy xmas with this scandal going on with our club. How could it have gone so bad that our manager has actually tried to sign someone :eek:. Get over it man Boro tap up enough players themselves without asking the club they are with FACT

havent boro tapped up half corbally team over the years:D

25/12/2009, 6:32 PM
you are wrong..fact..he asked for the number...fact. have a happy xmas.....

thank you and you too. but scully would have had Shanes number and i very much doubt he was ringing looking to sign shane for the third time for the club. Scully would be in touch with all the managers in the prem division so theres nothing new about scully contacting any manager. now wheather he'd want to sign anybody, thats anybody for the senior team i very much doubt. our under 19s/20s (make up yer mind FAI) will be the way forward for the best of the local talent this year.

oscar
26/12/2009, 5:27 PM
havent boro tapped up half corbally team over the years:D

more than half i'd say;)

26/12/2009, 7:18 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/loi/news.asp?n=37812

LK37oldskool
28/12/2009, 7:48 AM
Thanks Gael,good article.my reading of the situation is that if he cant get a club in England that he'll stay with us.Thats fair enough i think.

29/12/2009, 11:35 PM
Can we be expecting some more signings early in the new year? Been quiet over the festive period. I know Colbert was injured a lot last season but is there any word on him signing for the coming season?

bluewhitearmy
30/12/2009, 3:23 PM
Wayne does not want to play for limerick.

30/12/2009, 8:21 PM
Wayne does not want to play for limerick.

Great player and a big loss but thats fair enough. Good Luck to him. Hopefully we'll see him back with us again in the future.

Monkfish
31/12/2009, 12:33 AM
Been quiet over the festive period.

In fairness..........its Christmas!!!!!!!!!