View Full Version : Raf gone to Bohs
Only1Rovers
15/12/2009, 10:11 AM
Weekender Headline.....
"Ex-Rovers icon Cretaro signs for Bohemians"
goes on to say he has a medical in Dublin tomorrow and he is quoted "if everything goes well I will be a Bohs player after that".
Sin É....
akearins
15/12/2009, 10:27 AM
Might be a blessing in disguise frees up a huge wage that may help bring in 2 players who actually want to play for the club and not the wage.
15/12/2009, 10:50 AM
There's only one Conor O'Grady.
CF1989
15/12/2009, 2:54 PM
Weekender Headline.....
"Ex-Rovers icon Cretaro signs for Bohemians"
goes on to say he has a medical in Dublin tomorrow and he is quoted "if everything goes well I will be a Bohs player after that".
when he f**ks up and warms the bench there for the season and realises he was wrong, i don't want to see him crawling back and ever in a rovers jersey again
Only1Rovers
15/12/2009, 3:48 PM
when he f**ks up and warms the bench there for the season and realises he was wrong, i don't want to see him crawling back and ever in a rovers jersey again
harsh..... he gave the club every opportunity to retain him. If he was going to a top English side we'd all be saying good luck great to see him further himself....
Boo_Boy
15/12/2009, 4:00 PM
harsh..... he gave the club every opportunity to retain him. If he was going to a top English side we'd all be saying good luck great to see him further himself....
There's a big difference between going to a top English side and Dublin over a few hundred quid which he may or may not get.
I'll wish him all the best, but I don't think it will work out.
Joxter
15/12/2009, 4:02 PM
Fair play to the lad, Hope he gets on well. Hes been an absolute legend for Rovers. What a great season he had. Cook relly go the best out of him. While im not fully sure he'll get on well at Bohs I hope he does. Cant really blame him, getting more money and a better chance of silverware. Very few players would turn that down.
CF1989
15/12/2009, 4:07 PM
Fair play to the lad, Hope he gets on well. Hes been an absolute legend for Rovers. What a great season he had. Cook relly go the best out of him. While im not fully sure he'll get on well at Bohs I hope he does. Cant really blame him, getting more money and a better chance of silverware. Very few players would turn that down.
he would need to be getting a good 5 or 600 euro more per week for it to be a worthwhile move for money. hes the one who kicked up a fuss in mid season wanting to leave to go to shams. legend :rolleyes:
Only1Rovers
15/12/2009, 4:15 PM
hes the one who kicked up a fuss in mid season wanting to leave to go to shams. legend :rolleyes:
Hearsay as far as we know... and even if he was approached by a team at the top of the league mid season, it would break the concentration of most players. He owes the club very little... But I think this discussion has been exhausted before. I'd welcome him back next season or the one after.
Joxter
15/12/2009, 4:15 PM
Im not sure how much extra hes getting at Bohs but 500 or 600 seems an awful lot, I doubt hes getting that. If hes even getting 300 euro extra a week its worth it as thats adds up to over 15 grand a year. A lot of money!!!
srfc1928
15/12/2009, 6:08 PM
cretaro went to bohs for the money,not the football,
Amond came to Rovers for the football, not the money.
I know which one I'd rather playing for my club.
1st time post
15/12/2009, 6:29 PM
Hearsay as far as we know... and even if he was approached by a team at the top of the league mid season, it would break the concentration of most players. .
The man himself has admitted how close he came to signing for them in the summer??As for people saying players dont owe anything to the club i dont buy it especially with Raf. He's turned into 1 of the leagues best players since he came back from Galway and im sure he made a healthy earning of our club in the years he been here and i taught he owed us, THE FANS WHO PAID HIS WAGES, a lot more than the sh1t he pulled at the Cup final and then selling himself to Shams and Bohs in the media and hour later. Just like to see him not score in his first few games and see how well hes gettin on with the boez fans.....
15/12/2009, 6:44 PM
I'm happy he's gone. Sick of seeing him wandering back from offside positions, roaring in team mates faces, diving, mouthing off at refs for no reason when he should be concentrating on the game, not passing, trying to beat 3 men in his own half and losing possession and whoring himself out to the papers about his prospective clubs next year when he should have been worrying about relegation and cup finals for people and a club that have paid him a living for the majority of a decade.
The final insult was kissing the crest and half an hour later saying that it's probably his last game for the club while there was still people in tears in stand. There's no loyalty in football but some people manage to maintain a bit of integrity and respect.
Rocky77
15/12/2009, 6:48 PM
I presume this will free up sufficient room in the budget to bring in The Wex?
15/12/2009, 6:50 PM
I'm happy he's gone. Sick of seeing him wandering back from offside positions, roaring in team mates faces, diving, mouthing off at refs for no reason when he should be concentrating on the game, not passing, trying to beat 3 men in his own half and losing possession and whoring himself out to the papers about his prospective clubs next year when he should have been worrying about relegation and cup finals for people and a club that have paid him a living for the majority of a decade.
The final insult was kissing the crest and half an hour later saying that it's probably his last game for the club while there was still people in tears in stand. There's no loyalty in football but some people manage to maintain a bit of integrity and respect.
I don't think he kissed the crest then, just patted it to his heart in front of us on cup final day.
He did do it here though.
MMVIII
15/12/2009, 7:02 PM
He kissed the crest at the cup final.
Not heartbroken about him going. Was a brilliant player last year and so very vital and has served the club well.
Hope his heart is in the right place.
sligorover
15/12/2009, 7:43 PM
As a matter of interest when was the last time a rovers player scored as many in a season as Raf did this year?
He's a massive loss to the club no matter what way you look at it. If it wasn't for Raf's goals we'd be looking at first division football next season. How anyone calling themselves a fan of any football club can be happy to see their best player leave is beyond me.
15/12/2009, 7:52 PM
As a matter of interest when was the last time a rovers player scored as many in a season as Raf did this year?
He's a massive loss to the club no matter what way you look at it. If it wasn't for Raf's goals we'd be looking at first division football next season. How anyone calling themselves a fan of any football club can be happy to see their best player leave is beyond me.
He's not our best player, Gavin Peers is. If Peers had left I would have been heartbroken but respected his decision because he's never given less than 100% for us and didn't disrepect the club, his manager and his team mates by throwing a hissy fit in July to get out of the club and then talk up moves to other clubs constantly in the media since then.
15/12/2009, 8:06 PM
Also a club he's given fantastic service to for most of the decade,He's been one of our best players for most of the time he's been here,I'm probably in the minority here but I wish him luck
15/12/2009, 8:22 PM
Also a club he's given fantastic service to for most of the decade,He's been one of our best players for most of the time he's been here,I'm probably in the minority here but I wish him luck
I agree but that all that has been tarnished in my opinion by the change in attitude this season. I'm not saying good riddance or I hope he fails I'd just rather have players who are 100% committed to Sligo Rovers.
bingoballs
15/12/2009, 9:01 PM
I wish him the best too, his goals this season kept us up, but I wish the whole situatuion was sorted out by now. The longer it goes on the the the harder it is for us to move on. There are more important things happening at the Showgrounds then Rafs imminent departure.
forza rovers
15/12/2009, 9:08 PM
best of luck to him,but if he starts playing around against us i.e diving and all that he deserves to be abused.
15/12/2009, 9:10 PM
He's not our best player, Gavin Peers is. If Peers had left I would have been heartbroken but respected his decision because he's never given less than 100% for us and didn't disrepect the club, his manager and his team mates by throwing a hissy fit in July to get out of the club and then talk up moves to other clubs constantly in the media since then.
I agree but that all that has been tarnished in my opinion by the change in attitude this season. I'm not saying good riddance or I hope he fails I'd just rather have players who are 100% committed to Sligo Rovers.
This.
CF1989
15/12/2009, 9:13 PM
he was fantastic for us last season, nobody is disputing that. the lads who have followed the team to home and away games have seen his change in attitude, every friday or saturday night of the season...his cockyness, giving out to others for mistakes he made and so on. he NEVER had that attitude until this season, he was a legend to everyone. nobody had any problems with him. since July he has changed and has tarnished his reputation with alot of the supporters. He was a great player for us down through the years, and was a massive part in our cup run and league survival.
nobody is saying anything different to that. We all love Sligo Rovers, and any supporter would give anything to be in the position he is in, top scorer the bit o'red, a hero with the supporters, but he has thrown it back in our faces and shown a lack of respect IMO. grabbing the crest/kissing the crest, whatever, its the same thing....he gave an interview after the game, when supporters were sitting in the stands in tears, stating that he was probably looking for another club.
he should have had a bit of respect for the people who have supported him and the team, sang his name every week, and paid his wages. can't wait to see the love the bohs fans show him if he dosn't settle in straight away
sligorover
15/12/2009, 9:25 PM
So he should stay at Sligo Rovers for the duration of his career because the fans love him? Football is his job at the end of the day. He has to look out for number one no matter how he feels about the club, same as any of us do in our own careers.
I completely understand why people are hurt by this, but I think the lad deserves our respect having been such a great player for us for so long.
sligorover
15/12/2009, 9:26 PM
He's not our best player, Gavin Peers is.
Fair point:D
CF1989
15/12/2009, 9:28 PM
as i said before id rater be guaranteed my wages for the year than going near a ticking time bomb
bingoballs
15/12/2009, 9:35 PM
he was fantastic for us last season, nobody is disputing that. the lads who have followed the team to home and away games have seen his change in attitude, every friday or saturday night of the season...his cockyness, giving out to others for mistakes he made and so on. he NEVER had that attitude until this season, he was a legend to everyone. nobody had any problems with him. since July he has changed and has tarnished his reputation with alot of the supporters. He was a great player for us down through the years, and was a massive part in our cup run and league survival.
nobody is saying anything different to that. We all love Sligo Rovers, and any supporter would give anything to be in the position he is in, top scorer the bit o'red, a hero with the supporters, but he has thrown it back in our faces and shown a lack of respect IMO. grabbing the crest/kissing the crest, whatever, its the same thing....he gave an interview after the game, when supporters were sitting in the stands in tears, stating that he was probably looking for another club.
he should have had a bit of respect for the people who have supported him and the team, sang his name every week, and paid his wages. can't wait to see the love the bohs fans show him if he dosn't settle in straight away
is it not better for all parties that he is gone then? good luck to him, but the club always has and always will be bigger then him. I'm goin to have a few euro on Amond to be the leagues top scorer and when I'm goin to collect next year Raf will be a distant memory:D
Brian Boru
15/12/2009, 10:48 PM
I thought Raf was a fantastic footballer for us. He was an entertainer. I take the point a few of you made regarding his performances post July. In hindsight you have point. Looking positively, I believe Amond will score as many as Raf, but won't be as entertaining. Best of luck to Raf. Amond will be every bit as effective. Runnin down the wing hear the Rovers sing : Viva Amondo....
akearins
16/12/2009, 11:08 AM
Adios Raf.Will have a pieces on the trust site sometime today or tomorrow as too much to put in one post. But basically ****es me off when I herad Raf talk of the chance to play European football was a major factor, **** up it'll be 4 games at max and who's to say he'llbe playing in them.If Bohs offered €500 a week and european football would raf have gone.Dont think so.
lads saying Raf owes us nothing is bull. Remember he was winger come right full till cookie made him the player he was. Cookie said a long time back his only worry with raf was he didnt realsie how good he was but when he did would if effect him. Well it seems it did.
We're all ****ed because we would have prefered to see hims stay as he is a quality player, cant blame us being mad.... but gimee the committment of Danny Conor Peers Keane and Blinkhorn any day.
Adios Raf....More to come
red_away
16/12/2009, 11:30 AM
good luck to him....lets just move on and forget about raf and look to the future!
LondonRover
16/12/2009, 12:48 PM
Again, may be in the minority but I wish Raf all the best. There's a rake of ifs and buts about what he shoulda coulda achieved but at the end of the day he scored a lot of important goals for us over the years so cheers and good luck to him. That said, I hope he scores a few own goals against us next season...
dublinred
16/12/2009, 1:05 PM
Again, may be in the minority but I wish Raf all the best. There's a rake of ifs and buts about what he shoulda coulda achieved but at the end of the day he scored a lot of important goals for us over the years so cheers and good luck to him. That said, I hope he scores a few own goals against us next season...
Agree , he will probably get a nice signing-on fee and will be one of the highest paid barmen in Dublin and get plenty of opportunity to play a bit of football as well at bohs , if it works out he gets a few medals if not he will be welcome back and would probably get another signing on fee.
Well Red
16/12/2009, 2:09 PM
good luck to him....lets just move on and forget about raf and look to the future!
Totally agree with you it is just boring now post after post on Raf. one last thing though was he out of contract or will we get a fee?
16/12/2009, 3:03 PM
Totally agree with you it is just boring now post after post on Raf. one last thing though was he out of contract or will we get a fee?
Out of contract.
Only1Rovers
16/12/2009, 4:44 PM
I've heard from a very capricious source that Bohs have offered Rovers €500,000, but the club will hold out for €750,000.
16/12/2009, 6:16 PM
its a good question.. Padraig Moran was very prolific for ye in the nineties so I would hazard a guess it would be Padraig.. Ash would probably know the answer for that one considering hes his favourite player of all time??;)
akearins
17/12/2009, 11:58 AM
lads mya be woring but is the transfer embargo still on Bohs
Is raf gone or not now???
And if he is its time to let him go and concentrate on replacing him, instead of being bitter about him leaving. you have to remember he is out of contract so no he owes noting to Sligo Rovers and only has to look out for the best deal for himself and Rovers have to do the same for themselves. They have 11 first team players, subs, an A team, coaching staff and office officials to give contracts to as well and not just be worrying about paying over the odds for one player, hes going to get stuck in no mans land with no team wanting him if he doesn't decide quickly on what he is doing.
Also Rovers should set a deadline on him accepting their contract or Raf and other players wont have any value on them as a club if theres always an open door for them.
Only1Rovers
17/12/2009, 3:56 PM
so what's going on with Raf, are they trying to call the FAI's bluff?
thesilverfox
17/12/2009, 6:13 PM
He has signed a 2 year contract with Bohemians.
18/12/2009, 5:54 PM
He has signed a 2 year contract with Bohemians.
is that confirmed that Raf has signed?
18/12/2009, 5:58 PM
is that confirmed that Raf has signed?Yes, confirmed by the player himself.
20/12/2009, 3:33 PM
I was lucky enough to talk to him again this week, and id love if everyone with such negative feelings towards him would be able to talk to him, he told us a few reasons. He is a very very nice guy
Delighted to hear of your luck and hope you will be very happy together.
Well Red
21/12/2009, 6:22 PM
Oh has Raf gone to Bohs !!!!
Guts&Glory
22/12/2009, 12:33 AM
I was lucky enough to talk to him again this week, and id love if everyone with such negative feelings towards him would be able to talk to him, he told us a few reasons. He is a very very nice guy
TBOR website isn't sharing your love of the Raffer
http://www.thebitored.com/?p=1075
Only1Rovers
05/01/2010, 5:46 AM
I see Pat Fenlon is in the running to take on the Dundee United job vacated by Craig Laveen. I wonder might this jepordise Raff's move to Bohemians? I gather Raff's signed a contract with Bohs but considering the embargo that's inplace it may not be recognised by the FAI.
I guess I should just let it go....
Only1Rovers
05/01/2010, 12:38 PM
Raf isn't going just for Fenlon in fairness.
I hope Fenlon leaves for Dundee, would open the league up even more.
True, but it depends on who is coming into the club and what players they may bring with them. For example, there's a guy called Sean Connor who's at a lose end.... he likes to bring the Sean Connor All Stars with him and their my be no room for Raff.
sligored
05/01/2010, 12:44 PM
True, but it depends on who is coming into the club and what players they may bring with them. For example, there's a guy called Sean Connor who's at a lose end.... he likes to bring the Sean Connor All Stars with him and their my be no room for Raff.
its a bit unlikely that sean connor will go back to bohs after all that has gone on
Only1Rovers
05/01/2010, 1:20 PM
its a bit unlikely that sean connor will go back to bohs after all that has gone on
Do you think!!!????